DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on August 17, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 9 and 18, has canceled claims 1-8 and 19-20 and has newly added claims 21-30.
Claims 9-18 and 21-30 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-18 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 has been amended and claims 21 and 29 have been newly added to include the phrase “a lensless aperture” that is not fully and explicitly supported by the specification of originally filed.
Claim 9 has been amended and claims 21 and 29 have been newly added to include the phrase “lensless aperture without intervening optics” that is not fully and explicitly supported by the specification of originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Sun (US 2024/0393572 A1) in view of US patent issued to Murray et al (PN. 12,510,688).
Claims 1 and 18 have been significantly amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Sun teaches, with regard to claim 9, an infrared telescope serves as the optical device that is comprised of a lensless aperture (12, Figure 1) configured to receive incident light, a first waveband optics (including lens 34 and MWIR exit pupil 40 with sensor, please see paragraphs [0020] to [0022]), a second waveband optics (including lens 36 and SWIR exit pupil 42 with sensor) and a multiband dichroic beamsplitter (28) configured to receive the incident light from the lensless aperture to split the incident light to a first waveband and a second waveband to transmit the first waveband (that includes the MWIR) with a transmission value towards the first waveband optics, to reflect the second waveband (that includes the SWIR) with a reflection value toward second waveband image device to provide optical power for the second waveband (implicitly provided by the lens 36). The first waveband optics may comprise sensor that is able to process the first waveband to retrieve information included in the first waveband, (please see paragraph [0022]).
This reference does not teach explicitly that the transmission of first waveband is of high transmission value and the reflection of the second waveband is of high reflection value. However, it is implicitly true that the transmission of the first waveband or primary radiation with high transmission value and the reflection of the second waveband or the second radiation with a high reflection value, since the high transmission value and the high reflection value are each arbitrarily defined.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the multiband dichroic beamsplitter is a multiband dichroic metamirror.
Murray et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an infrared system that is comprised a metamaterial filter (320’) that serves as the multiband dichroic metamirror or beamsplitter configured to split the incident light into a first waveband and a second waveband, (390B’ and 390C’, please see the abstract) and to provide optical power for the second waveband (390C’).
With regard to the amended feature, receive the incident light from the lensless aperture without intervening optics, as demonstrated by Murray et al Figure 3, the metamaterial filter or beamsplitter is capable of receiving the incident light from a lensless aperture without intervening optics. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the device of Sun accordingly in order to rearrange the working parts as desired.
With regard to claim 15, in light of the amendment to base claim 9, Sun teaches that the first waveband comprises a mid-wave infrared band (MWIR) and the second waveband comprises a short-wave infrared band (SWIR, please see paragraphs [0020]).
With regard to claim 16, both Sun and Murray et al teach that the optical power is a focusing function, (please see Figures 1 and 2 of Sun and please see Figures 3 and 4 of Murray).
With regard to claim 17, Sun teaches that the second waveband image device comprises a SWIR exit pupil (42) including sensor for capturing image, (please see paragraph [0022]).
With regard to claim 18, Sun teaches that the first waveband optics comprises at least one lens and a focal plane at the MWIR exit pupil (40) wherein a sensor or a focal plane array may be included to form an image at the focal plane based on the first waveband, (please see paragraph [0022]).
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun and Murray et al as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US patent issued to Lenef et al (PN. 11,226,082).
The infrared telescope taught by Sun in combination with the teachings of Murray et al as described in claim 9 above has met all the limitations of the claims.
With regard to claim 10, these reference does not teach explicitly that the metamaterial filter serves as the multiband dichroic metamirror comprises a dielectric mirror. Lenef et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a dichroic metamirror that is capable of transmitting a primary radiation and reflecting a second radiation, (please see the Abstract), wherein the metamirror is comprised of a dielectric mirror (4, Figure 18) and a metasurface (5) comprising diffractive optical element configured to provide optical power for a second waveband, (please see column 14, line 9). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Lenef et al to modify the metamaterial to specifically include a dielectric mirror and a metasurface for the benefit of controlling the specific reflection/transmission spectrum for the metamirror by controlling the dielectric mirror.
With regard to claim 11, Lenef et al teaches that the metasurface comprises a plurality of metaatoms, (5, please see Figures 17 aad18) and at least a portion of the metaatoms comprise non-identical shape with respect to each other. The metaatoms is configured to provide optical power for the second waveband by introducing an interference effect through an arrangement of the metaatoms. Lenef et al teaches that the metasurface (5, Figure 18) has an arrangement of the metaatoms and is configured to implement a spatially varying phase delay between 0 and 2p for wavelength associated with the incident light implicitly include the second waveband. The varying phase delay is imparted by light passing through the metasurface structure.
With regard to claim 12, Lenef et al teaches that the dielectric mirror comprises a substrate (3, Figure 18) and a plurality of dielectric layers (4, Figure 18 and 41 and 42, Figure 11). Lenef et al teaches that the substrate may comprise phosphor or sapphire, (please see column 8, line 45) and the dielectric layers comprise alternating thin films of titanium dioxide and silicon dioxide, (please see column 10, lines 33).
With regard to claim 14, Lenef et al teaches that the dielectric mirror comprises a plurality of dielectric layers, (41 and 42, Figure 11). The dielectric layers comprises alternating thin films of titanium dioxide (with refractive index 2.20) and silicon dioxide (with refractive index of 1.48, please see column 10, lines 34-36). The refractive indices are between 1.3 and 4.0.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun and Murray et al and Lenef et al as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of the US patent issued to Byrnes et al (PN. 10,132,465).
The infrared telescope taught by Sun in combination with the teachings of Murray et al and Lenef et al as described in claims 9 and 10 above has met all the limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 7, Lenef et al teaches that the metasurface comprises metaatoms or pillars that with a height of 200 to 1000 nm, (please see column 13, lines 58-59). Lenef et al teaches that he period or the lattice constant of the pillars or metaatoms may be controlled using the algorithm disclosed in the US patent issued to Byrnes et al (PN. 10,132,465). Furthermore, Byrnes et al teaches that the period for metalens (Figure 9A) may have the value of 50 to 1000 nm, (please see column 7, lines 50-65). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to make the metamirror has the height and period taught by Lenef et al and Byrnes et al which include the claimed values.
Claim(s) 21-23, 25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Sun (US 2024/0393572 A1) in view of US patent issued to Murray et al (PN. 12,510,688).
Claims 21-23, 25, and 27-28 have been newly added to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Sun teaches, with regard to newly added claim 21, an infrared telescope serves as the optical device that is comprised of a lensless aperture (12, Figure 1) configured to receive incident light, a first waveband optics (including lens 34 and MWIR exit pupil 40 with sensor, please see paragraphs [0020] to [0022]), a second waveband optics (including lens 36 and SWIR exit pupil 42 with sensor) and a multiband dichroic beamsplitter (28) configured to receive the incident light from the lensless aperture to split the incident light to a first waveband and a second waveband to transmit the first waveband (that includes the MWIR) with a transmission value towards the first waveband optics, to reflect the second waveband (that includes the SWIR) with a reflection value toward second waveband image device to provide optical power for the second waveband (implicitly provided by the lens 36). The first waveband optics may comprise sensor that is able to process the first waveband to retrieve information included in the first waveband, (please see paragraph [0022]). Sun teaches that the second waveband image device (lens 36 and SWIR exit pupil 42) is configured to respond to receive the second waveband reflected from the multiband dichroic beamsplitter (28, Figure 1).
This reference does not teach explicitly that the transmission of first waveband is of high transmission value and the reflection of the second waveband is of high reflection value. However, it is implicitly true that the transmission of the first waveband or primary radiation with high transmission value and the reflection of the second waveband or the second radiation with a high reflection value, since the high transmission value and the high reflection value are each arbitrarily defined.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the multiband dichroic beamsplitter is a multiband dichroic metamirror.
Murray et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an infrared system that is comprised a metamaterial filter (320’) that serves as the multiband dichroic metamirror or beamsplitter configured to split the incident light into a first waveband and a second waveband, (390B’ and 390C’, please see the abstract) and to provide optical power for the second waveband (390C’).
With regard to the amended feature, receive the incident light from the lensless aperture without intervening optics, as demonstrated by Murray et al Figure 3, the metamaterial filter or beamsplitter is capable of receiving the incident light from a lensless aperture without intervening optics. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the device of Sun accordingly in order to rearrange the working parts as desired.
With regard to newly added claim 22, Sun teaches that the first waveband optics comprises at least one lens (34, Figure 1) and focal plane at MWIR exit pupil (40) and to process the first waveband by sensor to retrieve information included in the first waveband and first waveband optics are configured to form an image on the focal plane based on the first waveband, (please see paragraph [0022]).
With regard to newly added claims 23 and 25, Sun teaches that the second waveband reflected from the multiband beamsplitter (28, Figures 1 and 2) to be received by the second waveband image device. Sun teaches that the second waveband image device is comprised of a sensor at the SWIR exit pupil, (42, please see paragraph [0022]) and has a focal plane at the SWIR exit pupil to respond to receive the second waveband reflected from the multiband dichroic beamsplitter. The sensor implicitly allows a signal based on the sensing the second waveband be sent. The lens also allows the image be formed on the focal plane based on the second waveband, (please see paragraph [0022]).
With regard to newly added claim 27, both Sun and Murray et al teach that the optical power is a focusing function, (please see Figures 1 and 2 of Sun and please see Figures 3 and 4 of Murray).
With regard to newly added claim 28, Sun teaches that the first waveband comprises a mid-wave infrared band (MWIR) and the second waveband comprises a short-wave infrared band (SWIR, please see paragraphs [0020]).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun and Muray et al as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of US patent application publication by Marron et al (US 2017/0269214 A1).
The infrared telescope taught by Sun in combination with the teachings of Murray et al as described in claim 21 above has met all the limitations of the claim.
With regard to newly added claim 24, Sun teaches that the second waveband reflected from the multiband beamsplitter (28, Figures 1 and 2) to be received by the second waveband image device. These references however do not teach explicitly that the second waveband image device comprises a transmitter. Marron et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a laser beam projection system that is comprised of a second waveband image device for SWIR waveband that is comprised of a transmitter (407, Figure 4, please see paragraph [0029]) configured to transmit the second waveband for projection into an object space, (406).
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Marron et al to modify the device to include a transmitter for the benefit of allowing the SWIR waveband be transmitted to an object space.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun and Muray et al as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of US patent issued to Lenef et al (PN. 11,226,082).
The infrared telescope taught by Sun in combination with the teachings of Murray et al as described in claim 21 above has met all the limitations of the claim.
With regard to newly added claim 26, these reference does not teach explicitly that the metamaterial filter serves as the multiband dichroic metamirror comprises a dielectric mirror. Lenef et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a dichroic metamirror that is capable of transmitting a primary radiation and reflecting a second radiation, (please see the Abstract), wherein the metamirror is comprised of a dielectric mirror (4, Figure 18) and a metasurface (5) comprising diffractive optical element configured to provide optical power for a second waveband, (please see column 14, line 9). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Lenef et al to modify the metamaterial to specifically include a dielectric mirror and a metasurface for the benefit of controlling the specific reflection/transmission spectrum for the metamirror by controlling the dielectric mirror.
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Ross et al (US 2016/0305774 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Marron et al (US 2017/0269214 A1).
Claims 29 and 30 have been newly added to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Ross et al teaches, with regard to newly added claim 29, an optical device that is configured to receive incident light, (please see Figure 1). The incident light comprises a laser signal aimed at a specific object of scene and generated from the object of scene contains a first information. Ross et al teaches that the incident light comprises a first information is received by the optical device (118, Figure 1) that is comprised of a lensless aperture configured to receive the incident light, a first waveband optics (134 and 122), a second waveband image device (134 and 130) and a multiband dichroic beamsplitter (124) to receive the incident light from the lensless aperture without intervening optics, to split the incident light into a first waveband and a second waveband to transmit the first waveband with a reflection value toward the first waveband optics and to reflect the second waveband with a reflection value towards the second waveband image device to provide optical power for the second waveband (via the lens 134). The first waveband optics are configured to process the first waveband to retrieve first information of the object, (please see paragraph [0037]) and the second waveband comprises second information.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference however does not teach explicitly that the laser signal light from the object of scene is generated by aiming the laser signal at the object of scene and to form a reflected laser signal. Marron et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a laser bean projection system wherein the incident beam is formed by laser light aimed at an object (101, Figure 5) reflected from the object. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Marron et al to make the incident light comprises object information from a reflected light from the object for the benefit of allowing the incident beam with reflected object information.
With regard to newly added claim 30, it is within general level skilled in the art to modify and design the first information and the second information to include the distance between the optical device and the object and the image of the specific object as desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended and newly added claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended and newly added claims that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872