DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to the application filed on September 6, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert E. Urbanek (US Publication 2014/0080467) hereafter Urbanek, in view of Porras et al. (US Publication 2024/0251248) hereafter Porras.
As per claim, Urbanek discloses a method comprising: identifying, by a mobile operator with clients for which an independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation provides a mobile telecommunication enhancement, a mapper file that specifies that indicates outbound communication preferences of the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that was generated based on input from the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation regarding outbound communication from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (paragraphs 39-40, 51: customize mobile phone according to embedded functions/application parameters); and applying, by the mobile operator with the clients for which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation provides the mobile telecommunication enhancement, the mapper file to an event detected by the mobile operator such that the mobile operator automatically reports the event to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that provides the mobile telecommunication enhancement for the clients of the mobile operator in a manner that conforms to the outbound communication preferences of the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation as indicated by specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (paragraphs 40, 49: automatically configure mobile configuration from the user to prevent conflict with the service features provided or supported by the service provider). Although, Urbanek discloses customization of a mobile device to register with a service provider, but he fails to expressly disclose a data serialization language specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that includes outbound communication preferences of the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation.
However, in the same filed of endeavor, Porras discloses the claimed limitation of a data serialization language specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that includes outbound communication preferences of the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (paragraphs 33, 53, 56: subscribing to mobile operators’ network with customer application with use of YAML).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Porrass’ teaching of defending, preventing, SMS based activities, with Urbanek. One would be motivated to use different data language to have the mobile operator to have services corresponding to subscribers.
As per claim 2, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile telecommunication enhancement comprises a cable-television option, a secure Wi-Fi Internet connection option, an international calling option, a cloud storage option, a Voice Over Internet Protocol option, a streaming content service membership option, or a device insurance option (paragraphs 31, 75: streaming and cloud computing environment).
As per claim 3, Urbanek discloses the method wherein: the mobile operator provides an application programming interface that enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to proactively edit a field of an authoritative profile that is maintained by the mobile operator and that is specific to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation or is specific to a client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement; and the field of the authoritative profile comprises a specification of whether the mobile telecommunication enhancement has been applied as a bolton to the authoritative profile that is specific to the client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement (paragraphs 47, 51).
As per claim 4, Urbanek discloses the method further comprising the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation editing the field of the authoritative profile comprising the specification of whether the mobile telecommunication enhancement has been applied as the bolton to the authoritative profile that is specific to the client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement such that a status of the bolton is switched (paragraphs 32, 47, 51).
As per claim 5, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile operator provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with an application programming interface that further provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with limited read/write access to an internal database that the mobile operator relies on as part of the mobile operator providing telecommunication services to the clients (paragraphs 24, 26, 51).
As per claim 6, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile operator provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with an application programming interface that authenticates the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation prior to enabling the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to proactively edit a field of an authoritative profile that is maintained by the mobile operator and that is specific to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation or is specific to a client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement (paragraphs 39-40, 49).
As per claim 7, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile operator provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with an application programming interface that further provides a graphical user interface to streamline a process of onboarding the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with the mobile operator such that configuring how the mobile operator and the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation are integrated is performed by the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (paragraphs 31, 35-36).
As per claim 8, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile operator charges for the mobile telecommunication enhancement and also for providing telecommunication service to a respective client in a same statement (paragraphs 39-40, 47).
As per claim 9, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile operator provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with an application programming interface that enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to dynamically specify the outbound communication preferences that the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation has for subscribing to outbound communications from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (paragraphs 47, 51)
As per claim 10, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the application programming interface enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to dynamically specify preferences that the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation has for subscribing to outbound communication from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation such that the preferences can vary according to different values of different respective variables including an event variable and a platform variable (paragraphs 39-40, 51).
As per claim 11, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the event variable specifies between changes in a status of a client (paragraphs 31-33, 51).
As per claim 12, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the event variable specifies between changes in the status of the client at least in part by specifying a switch from active to suspended status, a switch revoking suspension, a switch activating service, a switch deactivating service, a switch transferring to a distinct mobile network, or a switch from one device using a first mobile operating system platform and a second device having a second and distinct mobile operating system platform (paragraphs 45, 66).
As per claim 13, Urbanek discloses the method wherein: the mobile operator provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with an application programming interface that translates between data structures for fields that record mobile service operation details in a format that the mobile operator uses internally and second data structures for corresponding fields that record corresponding mobile service operation details in a distinct format that the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation uses internally; and the corresponding data structures record at least two of the mobile station international subscriber directory number, the international mobile equipment identity, the subscriber identity module, the integrated circuit card identifier, a subscription status, an account balance, a roaming status, a device make, a device model, or an authentication credential (paragraphs 66, 75).
As per claim 14, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the mobile operator provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with an application programming interface that enables the mobile operator to generate the data serialization language specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that indicates the outbound communication preferences of the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation based on input from the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation regarding outbound communication from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (paragraphs 51, 66, 75).
As per claim 15, Urbanek discloses the method wherein the application programming interface generates the mapper file based on the data serialization language specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation and a distinct source data serialization language specification file for the mobile operator (paragraphs 31, 39-40, 51).
As per claim 16, Although, Urbanek discloses customization of a mobile device to register with a service provider, but he fails to expressly disclose the method wherein the data serialization language specification file comprises a YAML file.
However, in the same filed of endeavor, Porras discloses the claimed limitation of the method wherein the data serialization language specification file comprises a YAML file (paragraphs 33, 53, 56: subscribing to mobile operators’ network with customer application with use of YAML).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Porrass’ teaching of defending, preventing, SMS based activities, with Urbanek. One would be motivated to use different data language to have the mobile operator to have services corresponding to subscribers.
Claims 17 and 19 is an Independent claim with similar limitation but different in preamble and hence are rejected based on the rejection provided in claim 1.
Claims 18 and 20 are listed all the same elements of claim 2. Therefore, the supporting rationales of the rejection to claim 2 apply equally as well to claims 18 and 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SERNA et al. (US Publication 2018/0110081) discloses method and a system for accessing through a second mobile telecommunication network to services offered by a first mobile telecommunication network comprising the steps of establishing a first communication channel with the second network, based on a secondary SIM card; establishing a second communication channel with the first network using the first communication channel, wherein a user of the mobile communication device is authenticated using a primary SIM card; registering, through the second communication channel, the user of the mobile communication device into the first network using the information stored in the primary SIM card; and accessing from the mobile communication device to services offered by the first network through the second communication channel.
Seif et al. (US Publication 2010/0279688) discloses a telecommunication network with a mobile equipment (10,20) comprising a mobile communication device (10) and a personal token (20), the method operating an algorithm (25) which selects at least one network to be operated by the mobile equipment among a plurality of available networks, wherein in the method, the algorithm is stored and run in the personal token (20).
/FARZANA B HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455