DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lange (US PGP 2023/0259714).
As per claim 1, Lange teaches a method comprising:
configuring a set of tools on an interface system, wherein at least one or more tools are each configured to access external data, and wherein the interface system hosts an agent configured to access a large language model (LLM); (Lange: [0104]-[0110]; [0118]-[0121])
receiving, from a user of a client device, a user query via a chatbot application, wherein the user query relates to an order of the user; for one or more iterations, performing using the agent; (Lange: [0109]-[0115])
providing a prompt for input to the LLM, the prompt specifying at least one or a combination of the user query, contextual information, the set of tools, and a request to output an action; (Lange: [0109]-[0121])
receiving a response for a current iteration generated by executing the LLM on the prompt; (Lange: [0118]-[0121])
parsing the response from the LLM to extract a selected action and action inputs for the selected action; and (Lange: [0118]-[0121])
triggering execution of a respective tool corresponding to the selected action with the action inputs to generate one or more observations; (Lange: [0117]-[0121])
generating, based on the one or more observations, a response to the user query; and (Lange: [0121]-[0125])
transmitting the response to the client device to cause display of the response at the client device. (Lange: [0121]-[0125])
As per claim 2, Lange teaches further comprising: creating an indexed database indexing one or more articles and documents from a knowledge base, wherein the one or more tools include a tool for identifying portions of the indexed database that are relevant to an input, and wherein for at least one iteration, the selected action is triggering execution of the tool using the user query as the action inputs to identify portions of the indexed database that are relevant to the user query. (Lange: [0016]-[0021], [0033]-[0036])
As per claim 3, Lange teaches wherein the one or more tools include a tool for invoking an application programming interface (API) call to an endpoint, and wherein for at least one iteration, the selected action is triggering the tool to invoke the API call with the action inputs as parameters to the API call. (Lange: [0034]-[0036])
As per claim 4, Lange teaches wherein the one or more tools include a tool for executing code in a REPL environment, and wherein for at least one iteration, the selected action is triggering the tool to execute code specified in the action inputs within the REPL environment. (Lange: [0033]-[0036])
As per claim 5, Lange teaches wherein the contextual information includes a user identifier associated with a user of the user query and an order identifier associated with an order of the user. (Lange: [0028]; [0031]-[0033])
As per claim 6, Lange teaches further comprising: receiving a second user query ; determining that the second user query should not be responded to by the chatbot application; and routing the second user query to a live agent. (Lange: [0012]; [0041])
As per claim 7, Lange teaches wherein the prompt includes a description for each tool in the set of tools, and one or more inputs for each tool in the set of tools. (Lange: [0033]-[0036])
As per claim 8, Lange teaches wherein accessing the external data comprises accessing data provided by an online system. (Lange: [0003], [0033]-[0036])
As per claims 9-16, these claims are substantially similar to claims 1-8, respectively, and are therefore rejected in the same manner as these claims, as set forth above.
As per claims 17-20, these claims are substantially similar to claims 1-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected in the same manner as these claims, as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER V LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/Jeffrey A. Smith/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3688