DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, line 10, no antecedent basis for outer core (amend to mantle). Claim 2, no antecedent basis for the first radio-opaque filler and second first radio-opaque filler. Claim 5, no antecedent basis for the first radio-opaque filler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro et al (5,810,678) in view of Sullivan et al. (2012/0184396). Claims 1-2, Cavallaro discloses a golf ball comprising a core made from polybutadiene, a mantle, and a cover (col. 6, lines 14-21). The core includes barium sulfate (radio-opaque filler) in the amount of 20.5-25.8% by weight (table 1). The core has a density less than 1.2 (col. 14, lines 27-28). Cavallero discloses the core includes a polybutadiene, zinc diacrylate, zinc oxide, and peroxide but does not disclose zinc stearate and organic sulfur. Sullivan teaches a core composition comprising polybutadiene, zinc diacrylate, zinc oxide, peroxide, zinc stearate and organic sulfur [0031, 0032, 0039]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included zinc stearate and organic sulfur to add in processing, since such ingredients are known in the golf ball art. The mantle is made from an ionomer (col. 12, lines 6-7) with a thickness from 0.025 to 0.125 inch (col. 14, lines 15-16) and a Shore D hardness of 60 (col. 16, lines 14-18). The cover includes barium sulfate (radio-opaque filler) in the amount of 30% by weight (col. 14, lines 38-41). Cavallero does not disclose different fillers in the layers. However, Sullivan teaches interchangeable fillers including barium sulfate, bismuth, and tungsten [0036]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the type of filler as an obvious design choice, Sullivan teaches the fillers as interchangeable [0036]. Claim 3, the cover layer is made from an ionomer (col. 12, lines 29-34). Claims 4-5, Cavallaro discloses a golf ball comprising a core made from polybutadiene, a mantle made from butadiene materials (col. 11, line 48), and a cover (col. 6, lines 14-21). The core includes barium sulfate (radio-opaque filler) in the amount of 20.5-25.8% by weight (table 1). The core has a density less than 1.2 (col. 14, lines 27-28). Cavallero discloses the core includes a polybutadiene, zinc diacrylate, zinc oxide, and peroxide but does not disclose zinc stearate and organic sulfur. Sullivan teaches dual core compositions comprising polybutadiene, zinc diacrylate, zinc oxide, peroxide, zinc stearate and organic sulfur [0030, 0031, 0032, 0039]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included zinc stearate and organic sulfur to add in processing, since such ingredients are known in the golf ball art. The cover includes barium sulfate (radio-opaque filler) in the amount of 30% by weight (col. 14, lines 38-41). Cavallero does not discloses different fillers in the layers. However, Sullivan teaches interchangeable fillers including barium sulfate, bismuth, and tungsten [0036]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the type of filler as an obvious design choice, Sullivan teaches the fillers as interchangeable [0036]. Claim 6, the cover layer is made from an ionomer (col. 12, lines 29-34). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the type of filler as an obvious design choice, Sullivan teaches the fillers as interchangeable [0036].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,318,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘354 claims anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,712,604. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘604 claims anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,083,390. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘390 claims anticipate the instant claims.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
June 15, 2026