DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
As cited the specification first direction is X-axis, second direction is Y-axis, and third direction is Z-axis (page 10)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“First module unit”, “Second module unit”, “Front panel unit”, “Display and a manipulations unit”, in claim 1 and “Support frame unit” in claim 3.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As defined in the specifications a first module unit is a filter that generates purified water or ice [Page 11]. Second module unit is a water outlet [Page 11]. Front panel unit is a covering for the housing [Page 13]. Display and a Manipulations unit is an interface that can select water or ice [Page 13]. Support frame unit is an internal support that protects first and second module unit from force [Page 12].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (KR 20200124586 A, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, a water purifier (abstract), comprising: a housing having an internal space and an opening (Fig 1, 10 240); a first module unit accommodated in the internal space of the housing and configured to generate purified water or ice (Page 23 paragraph 2 “the water treatment…” ); a second module unit accommodated in the internal space through the opening of the housing so as to be detachable from the housing in a first direction (Fig 35, 240a, Page 4 Paragraph 6), at least partially exposed through the opening while coupled to the housing, and connected to the first module unit through a detachable flow path to discharge purified water or ice generated in the first module unit to the outside (Fig 41b, 240 131 144,120, see detachable flow path in Fig 41b, 131 and 162); and a front panel unit including at least one of a display unit and a manipulation unit (Fig 2, 14 260, page 4 paragraph 7), and having a size and shape capable of covering at least the opening of the housing and coupled to the housing to be opened and closed through linear or rotational motion to conceal the opening
in a closed state and to expose the opening in an open state (Fig 2, 20 260 14 M3).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches water filter of claim 1, wherein the front panel unit comprises at least one hinge shaft part on one side thereof, and wherein the housing comprises: a guide part having a length in the first direction, accommodating the hinge shaft part and supporting a linear or rotational motion of the hinge shaft part (Fig 42, 111 113, Page 26 Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches water filter of claim 2, wherein the housing further comprises a support frame unit provided in the internal space of the
housing to support the second module unit and having the guide part (Fig 2, 110 111 112 113).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches water filter of claim 2, wherein the hinge shaft part is provided on both sides of the front panel unit in a second direction, and wherein the guide part comprises a guide groove accommodating the hinge shaft part (Fig 42, 113, page 26 paragraph 5), and a guide rail (Fig 42, 111) forming an edge of the guide groove and guiding movement of the hinge shaft part, and is provided on both sides of the housing in the second direction corresponding to the hinge shaft part (Fig 42, 110a 113 112, page 26 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches water filter of claim 4, wherein the hinge shaft part (Fig 42, 113, page 26 paragraph 5) comprises: an extension bar (Fig 42, 114) having a length corresponding to the guide groove; and a cylindrical rotation shaft (Fig 42, 287 287a) protruding from an end of the extension bar in the second direction (Fig 42, 114 page 26 paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches water filter of claim 5, wherein the guide groove (Fig 42, 111) comprises: a first groove (Fig 42, 112) formed at one end in the first direction and having a size and shape that can accommodate the rotation shaft; a second groove (Fig 42, 113) formed at the other end in the first direction and having a size and shape that can accommodate the rotation shaft; and a rail groove connecting the first groove and the second groove and supporting the rotation shaft to be movable between the first groove and the second groove (Page 25 paragraph 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches water filter of claim 2, wherein in the front panel unit, the hinge shaft part is formed on the lower side thereof in a third direction, and the hinge shaft part is moved in a linear motion in the first direction along the guide part, and then the upper side in the third direction is tilted downward and rotated around the hinge shaft part to expose the opening to the outside. Claim 11 assumes a certain orientation in space that is claimed, however that orientation is not defined, leading to confusion. For example, if water filter is laid on its side (11) now side 11 is on the Z axis. Therefore, rotating Kim water filter can achieve claimed orientation
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches water filter of claim 2, wherein in the front panel unit, the hinge shaft part is formed on the upper side thereof in a third direction, and the hinge shaft part is moved in a linear motion in the first direction along the guide part, and then the lower side in the third direction is tilted upward and rotated around the hinge shaft part to expose the opening to the outside.
See argument for claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim teaches water filter of claim 11, wherein the front panel unit further comprises at least one hook coupling part detachably coupled to the housing on one side of an edge in the second direction or third direction (Fig 13, 227 261, bottom of page 15).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim teaches water filter of claim 11, wherein the front panel unit further comprises an inner cover having a size and shape capable of covering a surface facing the second module unit (Fig 42, 280).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches water filter of claim 12, wherein the front panel unit further comprises at least one hook coupling part detachably coupled to the housing on one side of an edge in the second direction or third direction (Fig 13, 227 261, bottom of page 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baum et al (US 20190170427 A1, hereinafter Baum).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches water filter of claim 6, but Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hinge shaft part further comprises a damping member that adjusts the rotational motion speed of the rotation shaft. However, Baum discloses wherein the hinge shaft further comprises a damping member that adjusts the rotational motion speed of the rotation shaft ¶ [0145]. Baum and Kim are considered analogous to claim invention because both dispenser of water/ice with rotational elements. Baum discloses a damping member that is configured to limit axial movement ¶ [0145], therefore is wowould beous of one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the claim inventions to combine the damping member of Baum with hinge assembly of Kim to control the speed of
filter opening.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches water filter of claim 7, wherein the damping member is composed of an O-ring member fitted to the outer circumferential surface of the rotation shaft ¶[Baum 0145], and wherein the second groove is in contact with the outer circumferential surface of the O-ring member during rotation of the rotation shaft to generate friction (Baum Fig 29, 460 478, a O-ring member placed on Kim locking protrusion 287a naturally increase friction because there is more surface area in contact with rotation shaft)
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim teaches water filter of claim 6, wherein the guide rail disposed in a third direction of the rail groove further has an opening hole of a size that allows the rotation shaft to be separated or coupled (Kim Page 22 paragraph 2, see Fig 32). It would be obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the guild rail direction to open from bottom to top for ease of access see MPEP 2144 VI C.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kim teaches water filter of claim 6, wherein the first groove and the second groove further form a hill part on the inner surface of the guide rail connected to the rail groove (Fig 42, 111 112 113, page 26 paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YOON et al (US 20210001253 A1, hereinafter YOON).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches water filter of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises a splash prevention plate (Fig 1, 30) but fails to explicitly teach detachably coupled to the bottom surface of the front panel unit in a third direction however YOON teaches splash prevention plate detachably coupled to the bottom surface of the front panel unit in a third direction [0168]. YOON and Kim are considered analogous to claim invention because both dispenser of water/ice with rotational elements. It would be obvious of one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the claim inventions to incorporate detachably splash prevention plate, to improve the easy of cleaning spills.
Conclusion
/K.H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771