DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 11302079 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both of claims are essentially the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
The following table illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Instant Appl.
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
reference patent
1
2
3-8
1
1
1
1, 2
1
Claims of the instant application are compared to claims of Reference Patent in the following tables.
Instant Application
reference patent
1. A system for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment,
comprising:
a mobile device having a processor, a memory, a camera, a microphone, a locator, a display that provides an interactive interface for a user of the mobile device wherein the interactive interface includes a wireless transceiver capable of implementing one or more of Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and cellular communications,
wherein the locater includes a GPS receiver that wirelessly determines its location;
wherein information of an environment is captured using one or more of the camera, microphone, and locater;
wherein the information is sent to a server that communicates with the mobile device;
wherein the mobile device receives from the server, the dynamic real- world environment and at least one ARBit;
wherein the display provides a view of at least part of the dynamic real- world environment containing the ARBit to the user;
wherein the user makes an input to the mobile device to manipulate the view;
and wherein in response to selection of the ARBit within the view by the user,
the user interacts with the view.
1. A method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment created from images captured from a real-world environment, said method comprising:
providing a mobile computing device having a processor, memory, a display and software stored in said memory;
capturing information of a real-world environment using one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a locator of the mobile computing device;
sending the information to a server;
said software including a feature identifier that processes environment information against a feature database to generate one or more identified features corresponding to images or audio data captured by said camera and said microphone;
receiving, from the server, the information and at least one ARBit, wherein said ARBit includes a data object that has one or more characteristics matched to said identified features and said data object being displayable on said mobile computing device;
said software further including an environment generator that utilizes said identified features to generate a dynamic real world environment display that resembles said real-world environment;
displaying a view on said display of at least part of the dynamic real-world environment containing the ARBit collection to the user;
providing an ARBit interactive module that allows a user of mobile device to interact with each selected matched ARBit and generic ARBit;
manipulating the view based upon user input, wherein the user input is a user selection on said display of one of said matched ARBit or generic ARBit displayed within a view of said dynamic real-world environment; and
in response to selection of the ARBit collection within the view by the user, interacting with the user based upon a type of the ARBit.
Instant Application
reference patent
2. The system of claim 1, wherein:the ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website.
Instant Application
reference patent
2. The system of claim 1, wherein: the ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website.
Instant Application
reference patent
3. The system of claim 1, wherein: the user interacts with the view by at least one the following displayed to the user: a game, an image, a video, a coupon, a sound, or a link to a website.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein:
the ARBit type of the at least one ARBit is a game, and executing an interactive game and interacting with the user to play the game.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein:
the ARBit type of the at least one ARBit is an image and displaying an image to the user.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein:
the ARBit type of the at least one ARBit is video and displaying a video to the user.
6. The method of claim 2, wherein:
the ARBit type of the at least one ARBit is a coupon and displaying a coupon to the user.
7. The method of claim 2 wherein:
the ARBit type of the at least one ARBit is sound and playing a sound to the user.
8. The method of claim 2 wherein:
the ARBit type of the at least one ARBit is link to a website and displaying a selectable link to a website to the user.
Instant Application
reference patent
4. The system of claim 1, wherein: the dynamic real-world environment being generated based upon identified features captured from the environment, the identified features being generated from environment information against an ARBit database.
1. A method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment created from images captured from a real-world environment, said method comprising:
providing a mobile computing device having a processor, memory, a display and software stored in said memory;
capturing information of a real-world environment using one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a locator of the mobile computing device;
sending the information to a server;
said software including a feature identifier that processes environment information against a feature database to generate one or more identified features corresponding to images or audio data captured by said camera and said microphone;
receiving, from the server, the information and at least one ARBit, wherein said ARBit includes a data object that has one or more characteristics matched to said identified features and said data object being displayable on said mobile computing device;
said software further including an environment generator that utilizes said identified features to generate a dynamic real world environment display that resembles said real-world environment;
displaying a view on said display of at least part of the dynamic real-world environment containing the ARBit collection to the user;
providing an ARBit interactive module that allows a user of mobile device to interact with each selected matched ARBit and generic ARBit;
manipulating the view based upon user input, wherein the user input is a user selection on said display of one of said matched ARBit or generic ARBit displayed within a view of said dynamic real-world environment; and
in response to selection of the ARBit collection within the view by the user, interacting with the user based upon a type of the ARBit.
Instant Application
reference patent
5. The system of claim 4, wherein:
the ARBit database is searched for ARBits that match the identified features and adding the matched ARBits to an ARBit collection; and
subsequently wherein the dynamic real-world environment and the ARBit collection is sent to the mobile device.
1. A method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment created from images captured from a real-world environment, said method comprising:
providing a mobile computing device having a processor, memory, a display and software stored in said memory;
capturing information of a real-world environment using one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a locator of the mobile computing device;
sending the information to a server;
said software including a feature identifier that processes environment information against a feature database to generate one or more identified features corresponding to images or audio data captured by said camera and said microphone;
receiving, from the server, the information and at least one ARBit, wherein said ARBit includes a data object that has one or more characteristics matched to said identified features and said data object being displayable on said mobile computing device;
said software further including an environment generator that utilizes said identified features to generate a dynamic real world environment display that resembles said real-world environment;
displaying a view on said display of at least part of the dynamic real-world environment containing the ARBit collection to the user;
providing an ARBit interactive module that allows a user of mobile device to interact with each selected matched ARBit and generic ARBit;
manipulating the view based upon user input, wherein the user input is a user selection on said display of one of said matched ARBit or generic ARBit displayed within a view of said dynamic real-world environment; and
in response to selection of the ARBit collection within the view by the user, interacting with the user based upon a type of the ARBit.
Instant Application
reference patent
6. The system of claim 4, wherein: one or more generic ARBits are determined based upon at least one location defined within the captured information and adding the generic ARBits to the ARBit collection.
1. A method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment created from images captured from a real-world environment, said method comprising:
providing a mobile computing device having a processor, memory, a display and software stored in said memory;
capturing information of a real-world environment using one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a locator of the mobile computing device;
sending the information to a server;
said software including a feature identifier that processes environment information against a feature database to generate one or more identified features corresponding to images or audio data captured by said camera and said microphone;
receiving, from the server, the information and at least one ARBit, wherein said ARBit includes a data object that has one or more characteristics matched to said identified features and said data object being displayable on said mobile computing device;
said software further including an environment generator that utilizes said identified features to generate a dynamic real world environment display that resembles said real-world environment;
displaying a view on said display of at least part of the dynamic real-world environment containing the ARBit collection to the user;
providing an ARBit interactive module that allows a user of mobile device to interact with each selected matched ARBit and generic ARBit;
manipulating the view based upon user input, wherein the user input is a user selection on said display of one of said matched ARBit or generic ARBit displayed within a view of said dynamic real-world environment; and
in response to selection of the ARBit collection within the view by the user, interacting with the user based upon a type of the ARBit.
Instant Application
reference patent
7. The system of claim 6, wherein: the matched ARBits and the generic ARBits each have an ARBit type selected from the group including a game, an image, a video, a coupon, sound, and a link to a website.
1. A method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment created from images captured from a real-world environment, said method comprising:
providing a mobile computing device having a processor, memory, a display and software stored in said memory;
capturing information of a real-world environment using one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a locator of the mobile computing device;
sending the information to a server;
said software including a feature identifier that processes environment information against a feature database to generate one or more identified features corresponding to images or audio data captured by said camera and said microphone;
receiving, from the server, the information and at least one ARBit, wherein said ARBit includes a data object that has one or more characteristics matched to said identified features and said data object being displayable on said mobile computing device;
said software further including an environment generator that utilizes said identified features to generate a dynamic real world environment display that resembles said real-world environment;
displaying a view on said display of at least part of the dynamic real-world environment containing the ARBit collection to the user;
providing an ARBit interactive module that allows a user of mobile device to interact with each selected matched ARBit and generic ARBit;
manipulating the view based upon user input, wherein the user input is a user selection on said display of one of said matched ARBit or generic ARBit displayed within a view of said dynamic real-world environment; and
in response to selection of the ARBit collection within the view by the user, interacting with the user based upon a type of the ARBit.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website.
Instant Application
reference patent
8. The system of claim 5, wherein: the matched ARBits of the ARBit collection are embedded within the dynamic real-world environment.
1. A method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment created from images captured from a real-world environment, said method comprising:
providing a mobile computing device having a processor, memory, a display and software stored in said memory;
capturing information of a real-world environment using one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a locator of the mobile computing device;
sending the information to a server;
said software including a feature identifier that processes environment information against a feature database to generate one or more identified features corresponding to images or audio data captured by said camera and said microphone;
receiving, from the server, the information and at least one ARBit, wherein said ARBit includes a data object that has one or more characteristics matched to said identified features and said data object being displayable on said mobile computing device;
said software further including an environment generator that utilizes said identified features to generate a dynamic real world environment display that resembles said real-world environment;
displaying a view on said display of at least part of the dynamic real-world environment containing the ARBit collection to the user;
providing an ARBit interactive module that allows a user of mobile device to interact with each selected matched ARBit and generic ARBit;
manipulating the view based upon user input, wherein the user input is a user selection on said display of one of said matched ARBit or generic ARBit displayed within a view of said dynamic real-world environment; and
in response to selection of the ARBit collection within the view by the user, interacting with the user based upon a type of the ARBit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchflower et al. (US 20120263154 A1), referred herein as Blanchflower in view of IDS Cohen (US 20130272574 A1), referred herein as Cohen.
Regarding Claim 1, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches a system for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment, comprising (Blanchflower- Claim 9: where once a user activates an icon or other object within the augmented reality scenario ( [0026]: each trigger may be previously defined to correspond to an augmented reality that may be presented on a display screen of a mobile computing device):
a mobile device having a processor, a memory, a camera, a microphone, a locator, a display that provides an interactive interface for a user of the mobile device wherein the interactive interface includes a wireless transceiver capable of implementing one or more of Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and cellular communications, wherein the locater includes a GPS receiver that wirelessly determines its location (Blanchflower- FIG. 1 and 3.110: mobile computing device; Abst: a first mobile computing device equipped with a display screen and a wireless communication module; [0017] Each of the mobile computing devices also includes an image processing module coupled with the video camera; [0024] the mobile computing device 110 may also include global position system (GPS) application 325 coupled with the GPS device 326 and configured to generate GPS information that may be included in the image or video stream captured by the image capturing application 305);
wherein information of an environment is captured using one or more of the camera, microphone, and locater (Blanchflower- [0024] capturing and storing images or video streams that include images of the triggers. The image processing application 310 may be configured to analyze the images or the video streams that include the images of the triggers and generate characteristics information of the triggers; [0026] each trigger may be previously defined to correspond to an augmented reality that may be presented on a display screen of a mobile computing device. The augmented reality may be related an event, a video, an audio, or any form of multimedia that can be presented on a display screen of a mobile computing device; Claim 6: captured in the frames of a video stream being recorded on a mobile computing device with a built in video camera application, video camera lens, and microphone ... as well as geographical information of the location);
wherein the information is sent to a server that communicates with the mobile device (Blanchflower- [0023]: The application transmits the characteristics information of the trigger object and the background, as well as geographical information of the location of the trigger objects over to a server);
wherein the mobile device receives from the server, the dynamic real- world environment and at least one ARBit (Blanchflower- [0034]: The augmented reality simulation engine brings the characteristics of the real-world 3D object including its depth, image, and lighting characteristics inside the augmented reality processing system and treated in a similar manner to virtual objects in the augmented reality environment; [0043]: augmented reality information is received from the server computing devices);
Blanchflower does not teach a dynamic real- world environment. However, Cohen discloses systems and methods of interacting with a virtual space, in which a mobile device is used to electronically capture image data of a real-world object, and the image data is used to identify information related to the real-world object, which is analogous to the present patent application. Cohen teaches
a dynamic real- world environment (Cohen- [0009] The combination of real world situation and virtual world situation can also be almost anything. For example, the real world situation can vary from relatively static (such as an advertisement in a magazine) to relatively dynamic (such as cloud formations, images on a television set, location of a person or automobile). Moreover, the virtual world situation can independently vary from relatively static (such as an option to purchase virtual money or other resources) to relatively dynamic (such as the positions of virtual characters in a video game)).
Blanchflower in view of Cohen further teaches
wherein the display provides a view of at least part of the dynamic real- world environment containing the ARBit to the user (Blanchflower- [0023]: a computer-generated method is configured to generate a shared experience of augmented reality on a display of each participants mobile computing device);
wherein the user makes an input to the mobile device to manipulate the view (Blanchflower- [0023]: A server may send one or many augmented reality scenarios to the application to display on the display screen and allow the user of the mobile computing device to select a given augmented reality scenario to become a part of ;[0034]: displaying the augmented reality scenario based on the position and orientation view point of that video camera ... provide object-centric information, such as orientation, area, or shape of an object);
and wherein in response to selection of the ARBit within the view by the user, the user interacts with the view (Blanchflower- Claim 9: performs a pre-configured anticipated implicit behavior that the application resident on the mobile device is detecting for), wherein the ARBit is a data object, displayable within the dynamic real-world environment, with associated virtual data ( [0033]: The signature information may then be used by the augmented reality server 515 to identify a corresponding augmented reality stored in the augmented reality database 520. The identified augmented reality may then be retrieved, transmitted to the mobile computing devices 360, 370 and presented within the bounding boxes on the display screens 361, 371 of the mobile computing devices 360, 370; [0045]: These sets of virtual reality data may correspond to different variations of the sensor data based on changes in angles, orientation as simulated by an augmented reality simulation application). Any digital data related to augmented reality are interpreted as ARBit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Blanchflower to incorporate teachings of Cohen, and applying the dynamic virtual object identification according to user’s location, as taught by Cohen into the method for implementing shared experiences using mobile computing devices.
Doing so would increase the amount of interaction the user in a virtual game world in the system and method for displaying and interacting with a dynamic real-world environment.
Regarding Claim 4, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: the dynamic real-world environment being generated based upon identified features captured from the environment (Cohen- [0026] In FIG. 1, a first exemplary class of processes 100 includes: step 110 wherein a user captures at least one image of an object using a mobile device; step 120 wherein at least part of the image, or information derived therefrom, or both, is sent via a network to a distal server; step 130 wherein the server recognizes at least one object in the image; and step 140 wherein the server determines some information, based on the identity of the object and other information, such as the current time, the observed state of the object, the location of the user; [0029] In FIG. 2, another class of methods 200 of interacting with a virtual space, comprises: step 210 of using a mobile device to electronically capture image data of a real-world object; step 220 of using the image data to identify information related to the real-world object), the identified features being generated from environment information against an ARBit database (Blanchflower [0033] The signature information may then be used by the augmented reality server 515 to identify a corresponding augmented reality stored in the augmented reality database 520. The identified augmented reality may then be retrieved, transmitted to the mobile computing devices 360, 370 and presented within the bounding boxes on the display screens 361, 371 of the mobile computing devices 360, 370; [0034] the augmented reality database 520 may be configured to store information that is generated using markerless tracking).
Regarding Claim 5, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 4, and further teaches wherein:
the ARBit database is searched for ARBits that match the identified features and adding the matched ARBits to an ARBit collection (Blanchflower [0033] The signature information may then be used by the augmented reality server 515 to identify a corresponding augmented reality stored in the augmented reality database 520. The identified augmented reality may then be retrieved, transmitted to the mobile computing devices 360, 370 and presented within the bounding boxes on the display screens 361, 371 of the mobile computing devices 360, 370); and
subsequently wherein the dynamic real-world environment and the ARBit collection is sent to the mobile device (Blanchflower [0033] The identified augmented reality may then be retrieved, transmitted to the mobile computing devices 360, 370 and presented within the bounding boxes on the display screens 361, 371 of the mobile computing devices 360, 370).
Regarding Claim 6, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 4, and further teaches wherein: one or more generic ARBits are determined based upon at least one location defined within the captured information and adding the generic ARBits to the ARBit collection (Blanchflower [0033] the GPS information may also be transmitted by the mobile computing device along with the characteristics information. Time information related to when the corresponding image or the video stream is captured may also be transmitted by the mobile computing device. The GPS information and/or time information may be used by the augmented reality server 515 to quickly search for and identify the desired augment reality).
Regarding Claim 8, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 5, and further teaches wherein: the matched ARBits of the ARBit collection are embedded within the dynamic real-world environment (Cohen [0041] This simulation may be superimposed on the image of the real-world scene).
4. Claim(s) 2, 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchflower et al. (US 20120263154 A1), referred herein as Blanchflower in view of IDS Cohen (US 20130272574 A1), referred herein as Cohen further in view of Langseth (US 20130178257 A1), referred herein as Langseth.
Regarding Claim 2, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach claimed limitations herein.
However, Langseth teaches wherein: the ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website (Langseth- [0008]: the virtual object content may include any text, pictures, graphics, audio, video, icons, games, software, virtual currency, real currency that can be exchanged for actual cash or electronic credits, maps, offers, coupons, or other content or virtual items embedded in or otherwise associated with the virtual objects and any designs or other customizations that have been applied thereto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Blanchflower in view of Cohen to incorporate teachings of Langseth, and to replace the game described in Blanchflower with image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website.
Doing so would increase the amount of interaction the user has with the augmented reality presented to them.
Regarding Claim 3, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach claimed limitations herein.
However, Langseth teaches wherein: the ARBit has an ARBit type selected from the group including game, image, video, coupon, sound, and link to a website (Langseth- [0008]: the virtual object content may include any text, pictures, graphics, audio, video, icons, games, software, virtual currency, real currency that can be exchanged for actual cash or electronic credits, maps, offers, coupons, or other content or virtual items embedded in or otherwise associated with the virtual objects and any designs or other customizations that have been applied thereto; [0018] the other applications 135 may include a social networking application that the augmented reality application 130 may use to interact with friends, contacts, or other users (e.g., notifying friends that the user associated with the mobile device 110 has created a virtual object to interact with, finding virtual objects that friends have created, etc.). In one implementation, the mobile device 110 may further include a database or repository containing media content 125, which may include text, pictures, graphics, audio, video, icons, games, software, or other content or virtual items that may be embedded in or associated with virtual objects that the user interacts with via the augmented reality application 130). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Regarding Claim 7, Blanchflower in view of Cohen teaches the system of claim 6, and further teaches wherein: the matched ARBits and the generic ARBits each have an ARBit type selected from the group including a game, an image, a video, a coupon, sound, and a link to a website (Langseth- [0008]: the virtual object content may include any text, pictures, graphics, audio, video, icons, games, software, virtual currency, real currency that can be exchanged for actual cash or electronic credits, maps, offers, coupons, or other content or virtual items embedded in or otherwise associated with the virtual objects and any designs or other customizations that have been applied thereto; [0018] the other applications 135 may include a social networking application that the augmented reality application 130 may use to interact with friends, contacts, or other users (e.g., notifying friends that the user associated with the mobile device 110 has created a virtual object to interact with, finding virtual objects that friends have created, etc.; Blanchflower [0066] The application such as, for example, a signature generation application to identify and match with possible augmented reality, when executed on the server computing device 204-1, causes the server computing device 204-1 to display windows and user interface screens on a portion of a media space, such as a web page).
Conclusion
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617