DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (WO 2019/244265 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Maeda teaches a printing system (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a printing device 1; and
a vehicle 2 (i.e., the wheeled cart 2) comprising:
a plurality of shelf sections 23, each shelf section configured to support an exchangeable member 6 for a printing process (see paragraph [0018] of the English translation); and
an opening section communicating with an outside (see paragraph [0018]);
wherein the shelf sections 23 of the plurality of shelf sections are aligned at predetermined intervals in a vertical direction (see Figs. 2-3, paragraph [0018]), and
wherein the plurality of shelf sections and the opening section are provided in an accommodation rack 22 conveyed by the vehicle 2 (paragraph [0018]),
wherein the printing device 1 is configured to receive the vehicle 2 (Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [0011], [0017]),
wherein the printing device is configured to exchange at least one exchangeable member 6 supported by one of the shelf sections 23 of the accommodation rack 22, the accommodation rack 22 being movable between an upper position (Fig. 3) and a lower position (Fig. 2),
wherein in the upper position of the accommodation rack 22, a front side of an upper part of the printing device 1 above an opening for receiving the exchangeable member 6 is blocked by the accommodation rack 22 (see Fig. 3), and
wherein in the lower position of the accommodation rack 22, the front side of the upper part of the printing device 1 above the opening for receiving the exchangeable member 6 is not blocked by the accommodation rack 22 and is not blocked by the vehicle 2 (see Fig. 2). Particular attention is invited to Figures 1-3 and the attached English language translation of Maeda attached to this Office Action.
Note that the opening for receiving the exchangeable member (i.e., mask 6) on the front side (i.e., the left-hand side of Figure 1) of the printing device 1 in Figure 1 of Maeda is adjacent to the screen mask holder 11 in the horizontal direction at approximately the area where the housing 15 begins to overhang the rest of the body of the device. Thus, Figures 2-3 of Maeda illustrate the relationship of the accommodation rack and a front side of an upper part of the printing device above an opening for receiving the exchangeable member as recited in the last 6 lines of the claim.
With respect to claim 4, Maeda teaches the printing system according to claim 7 wherein each of the shelf sections 23 has a same size, as shown in Figures 2-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (WO 2019/244265 A1) in view of Losiewicz et al. (US 2020/0396843 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Maeda teaches a printing system as recited including a vehicle, but fails to specifically teach that the vehicle is configured to travel autonomously. Losiewicz et al. teaches a movable cart or vehicle configured to support replacement and/or replenishment items in a screen printer, wherein the movable cart is configured to travel autonomously. See, in particular, paragraph [0066] and [0089]-[0090] of Losiewicz et al. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vehicle of Maeda to be configured to travel autonomously to allow for fully automatic travel of the cart for exchange of the screen masks in the printing system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 4, and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Atomura (JP H06-71847 A) teaches a screen printing machine with a storage rack for holding replacement screen plates having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/Leslie J Thompson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853