DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2019/02305454 to Liou et al. (hereinafter Liou).
In regard claim 1, Liou teaches or discloses a method for determining a quasi co-location reference signal, comprising:
determining a second-type frequency domain bandwidth corresponding to a first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0046], [0050], [0059], and [0064], the UE may use channel access Type 2 for transmissions in subframes n+l+i where i=0,1,K d−1, irrespective of the channel access Type signaled in the UL grant for those subframes, if the end of UE transmission occurs in or before subframe n+l+d−1. The UE may transmit on carrier c.sub.i ∈ C using Type 2 channel access procedure);
transmitting information in response to detecting a beam failure event based on a first-type reference signal of the first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0710], [0812], and [0815], the following signals can be configured for detecting beam failure by UE and for identifying new potential beams by UE. UE monitors gNB response for beam failure recovery request. Beam failure detection RS at least includes periodic CSI-RS for beam management), wherein the information comprises the following information: reference signal index information of a second-type reference signal and frequency domain bandwidth index information of the first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0142], and [0777], cyclic shift for DM RS and OCC index 3 bits. FFS details (e.g., tag-based where the tag refers to previous CSI-RS resources, BPL-based, referring to previous measurement reports, indication one resource (set) out of multiple resource (set)s configured by RRC, CSI-RS resource/port index based, etc.)); and
acquiring a quasi co-location reference signal of a downlink signal in the second-type frequency domain bandwidth based on the information from a predetermined moment (see paragraphs [0064], [0070], [0471], and [0472], a eNB may indicate Type 2 channel access procedure in the DCI of an UL grant scheduling transmission(s) including PUSCH on a carrier in subframe n when the eNB has transmitted on the carrier. If the eNB indicates Type 2 channel access procedure for the UE in the DCI, the eNB indicates the channel access priority class used to obtain access to the channel in the DCI. QCL of a DM-RS antenna port with other RS types. QCL considering channel reciprocity).
In regard claim 10, Liou teaches or discloses an apparatus for determining a quasi co-location reference signal, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory having execution instructions stored thereon, wherein the execution instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform:
determining a second-type frequency domain bandwidth corresponding to a first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0046], [0050], [0059], and [0064], the UE may use channel access Type 2 for transmissions in subframes n+l+i where i=0,1,K d−1, irrespective of the channel access Type signaled in the UL grant for those subframes, if the end of UE transmission occurs in or before subframe n+l+d−1. The UE may transmit on carrier c.sub.i ∈ C using Type 2 channel access procedure);
transmitting information in response to detecting a beam failure event based on a first-type reference signal of the first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0710], [0812], and [0815], the following signals can be configured for detecting beam failure by UE and for identifying new potential beams by UE. UE monitors gNB response for beam failure recovery request. Beam failure detection RS at least includes periodic CSI-RS for beam management), wherein the information comprises the following information: reference signal index information of a second-type reference signal and frequency domain bandwidth index information of the first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0142], and [0777], cyclic shift for DM RS and OCC index 3 bits. FFS details (e.g., tag-based where the tag refers to previous CSI-RS resources, BPL-based, referring to previous measurement reports, indication one resource (set) out of multiple resource (set)s configured by RRC, CSI-RS resource/port index based, etc.)); and
acquiring a quasi co-location reference signal of a downlink signal in the second-type frequency domain bandwidth based on the information from a predetermined moment (see paragraphs [0064], [0070], [0471], and [0472], a eNB may indicate Type 2 channel access procedure in the DCI of an UL grant scheduling transmission(s) including PUSCH on a carrier in subframe n when the eNB has transmitted on the carrier. If the eNB indicates Type 2 channel access procedure for the UE in the DCI, the eNB indicates the channel access priority class used to obtain access to the channel in the DCI. QCL of a DM-RS antenna port with other RS types. QCL considering channel reciprocity).
In regard claim 19, Liou teaches or discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform:
determining a second-type frequency domain bandwidth corresponding to a first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0046], [0050], [0059], and [0064], the UE may use channel access Type 2 for transmissions in subframes n+l+i where i=0,1,K d−1, irrespective of the channel access Type signaled in the UL grant for those subframes, if the end of UE transmission occurs in or before subframe n+l+d−1. The UE may transmit on carrier c.sub.i ∈ C using Type 2 channel access procedure);
transmitting information in response to detecting a beam failure event based on a first-type reference signal of the first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0710], [0812], and [0815], the following signals can be configured for detecting beam failure by UE and for identifying new potential beams by UE. UE monitors gNB response for beam failure recovery request. Beam failure detection RS at least includes periodic CSI-RS for beam management), wherein the information comprises the following information: reference signal index information of a second-type reference signal and frequency domain bandwidth index information of the first-type frequency domain bandwidth (see paragraphs [0142], and [0777], cyclic shift for DM RS and OCC index 3 bits. FFS details (e.g., tag-based where the tag refers to previous CSI-RS resources, BPL-based, referring to previous measurement reports, indication one resource (set) out of multiple resource (set)s configured by RRC, CSI-RS resource/port index based, etc.)); and
acquiring a quasi co-location reference signal of a downlink signal in the second-type frequency domain bandwidth based on the information from a predetermined moment (see paragraphs [0064], [0070], [0471], and [0472], a eNB may indicate Type 2 channel access procedure in the DCI of an UL grant scheduling transmission(s) including PUSCH on a carrier in subframe n when the eNB has transmitted on the carrier. If the eNB indicates Type 2 channel access procedure for the UE in the DCI, the eNB indicates the channel access priority class used to obtain access to the channel in the DCI. QCL of a DM-RS antenna port with other RS types. QCL considering channel reciprocity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of US Pub. 2020/0267048 to Yu et al. (hereinafter Yu).
In regard claims 7 and 16, Liou may not explicitly teach or disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein further comprises from the predetermined moment: acquiring a spatial transmission filter of an uplink signal in the second-type frequency domain bandwidth based on a spatial receiving filter for receiving the second-type reference signal.
However, Yu teaches or discloses acquiring a spatial transmission filter of an uplink signal in the second-type frequency domain bandwidth based on a spatial receiving filter for receiving the second-type reference signal (see paragraph [0033], it should be noted that the term “beam” may be replaced by “spatial filter”. For example, when the UE reports a new candidate beam (e.g., a gNB TX beam), the UE is essentially selecting a spatial filter used by the gNB. The term “beam information” may represent information indicating which beam is used or which spatial filter is selected. In one implementation, individual reference signals may be transmitted by applying individual beams (or spatial filters). Thus, beam information may be represented by reference signal resource indexes).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a network element of Pallec by including the two time providers suggested by Farra. This modification would provide to support flexible configurations for accommodating various next generation communication requirements read in paragraph [0025].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476