DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Woodcock (US 9,897,816) in view of Belly. (EP 2816723)
With respect to claim 1, Woodcock teaches an automatic leveling base comprising: an adapter plate (tilting table 3); a top housing (top of 3) on said adapter plate; a bottom housing (base 2) comprising an inclinometer (position sensor) and one or more motors (drives 8, 9, motors 10); and a bellows (folding bellows 18) between said top housing and said bottom housing. (col. 4, line 45-63, col. 5, lines 23-33, 48-61, Figs. 1-4)
Woodcock does not teach two or more height-adjustable swivels disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel is configured to incline said adapter plate; two or more motors disposed in said bottom housing, wherein each height- adjustable swivel operatively connects to one of the motors; and a third swivel disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein said third swivel supports said adapter plate.
Belly teaches a leveling base comprising: an adapter plate (movable plate 12); a bottom housing (fixed plate 11); two or more height-adjustable swivels (actuators A1, A2) disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel is configured to incline said adapter plate; two or more motors (V1, V2) disposed in said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel operatively connects to one of the motors; and a third swivel (A3) disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein said third swivel supports said adapter plate. (translation pages 2-3, Figs. 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Woodcock to include adjustable swivels, as taught by Belly, in order to improve the positioning accuracy of the device.
With respect to claim 2, Woodcock, as modified by Belly, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except for explicitly stating that one or more of the two or more motors are stepper motors. However, stepper motors are very well-known and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the structure of Woodcock such that the motors are stepper motors in order to provide precise and well-understood control of the leveling apparatus.
With respect to claim 3, Woodcock, as modified by Belly, teaches the two or more height-adjustable swivels are configured to independently incline said adapter plate. (Belly, pages 2-3)
With respect to claim 4, Woodcock, as modified by Belly, teaches an electronic (control) disposed in said bottom housing and configured to provide instructions to said two or more motors. (Woodcock, col. 5, lines 48-61, Figs. 1-4)
With respect to claim 5, although Woodcock, as modified by Belly, does not explicitly state that the electronic is configured to communicate with a software, it is generally understood that a control includes communication with software to some degree to provide programming.
With respect to claim 6, Woodcock, as modified by Belly, teaches the bottom housing further comprises a center, and the third swivel and the two or more adjustable-height swivels are positioned rotationally symmetrically about the center of the bottom housing. (Belly, pages 2-3, Figs. 1-2)
With respect to claim 7, Woodcock, as modified by Belly, teaches the third swivel has a fixed height. Note that the third swivel of Belly is capable of being left at a fixed height and this is considered to be sufficient to teach the claimed structure.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodcock in view of Belly, as in the above rejection, and further in view of Augustyn. (US 2018/0341002)
With respect to claim 8, Woodcock, as modified by Belly, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except wherein the adapter plate is configured to attach to a pyranometer.
Augustyn teaches a pyranometer (irradiance sensor 201) mounted on an automatic leveling base (motor 203). (par. 26-31, Figs. 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the structure of Woodcock to have a pyranometer mounted on the surface in order to provide the leveling structure of Woodcock to a sun irradiance sensor.
Claim(s) 9-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustyn. (US 2018/0341002) in view of Belly.
With respect to claim 9, Augustyn teaches a system for measuring solar irradiance comprising: a pyranometer (irradiance sensor 201) and a base (motor 203). (par. 26-31, Figs. 1-2)
Augustyn does not teach wherein the base is an automatic leveling base comprising i) an adapter plate connected to said pyranometer such that said pyranometer inclines when said adapter plate inclines; ii) a bottom housing connected to said adapter plate; iii) a fixed-height swivel disposed in said bottom housing and configured to support said adapter plate; iv) two or more motors disposed in said bottom housing; and v) two or more height-adjustable swivels disposed at least partly in said bottom housing, wherein each swivel operatively connects to one of said motors and is configured to independently incline said adapter plate and said pyranometer.
Belly teaches a leveling base comprising: an adapter plate (movable plate 12); a bottom housing (fixed plate 11); two or more height-adjustable swivels (actuators A1, A2) disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel is configured to incline said adapter plate; two or more motors (V1, V2) disposed in said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel operatively connects to one of the motors; and a third swivel (A3) disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein said third swivel supports said adapter plate. (translation pages 2-3, Figs. 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Augustyn to include adjustable swivels, as taught by Belly, in order to improve the positioning accuracy of the device.
With respect to claim 10, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches an electronic (control) disposed in said bottom housing, operatively connected to said two or more motors and configured to provide instructions to the two or more motors. (Belly, pages 2-3)
With respect to claim 11, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches the data from said pyranometer is used to determine the incline of one or more solar panels connected to said automatic leveling base. (Augustyn, par. 26-31)
With respect to claim 12, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches said electronic is configured to communicate with a software. (Augustyn, par. 58-61)
With respect to claim 14, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches one or more solar panels connected to said automatic leveling base. (Augustyn, par. 29-30)
With respect to claim 15, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches said automatic leveling base is configured to incline said pyranometer to the same incline of said one or more solar panels. (Augustyn, par. 29-30)
With respect to claim 16, Augustyn teaches a method of measuring solar irradiance comprising: inclining a pyranometer (irradiance sensor 201) to a specific angle via an automatic leveling base (motor 203); and measuring the output of said pyranometer. (par. 26-31, Figs. 1-2)
Augustyn does not teach wherein said automatic leveling base comprises: a) an adapter plate connected to said pyranometer such that said pyranometer inclines when said adapter plate inclines; b) a bottom housing connected to said adapter plate; c) a fixed-height swivel disposed in said bottom housing and configured to support said adapter plate; d) two or more motors disposed in said bottom housing; and e) two or more height-adjustable swivels disposed in said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel operatively connects to one of said motors and is configured to independently incline said adapter plate and thereby said pyranometer.
Belly teaches a leveling base comprising: an adapter plate (movable plate 12); a bottom housing (fixed plate 11); two or more height-adjustable swivels (actuators A1, A2) disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel is configured to incline said adapter plate; two or more motors (V1, V2) disposed in said bottom housing, wherein each height-adjustable swivel operatively connects to one of the motors; and a third swivel (A3) disposed between said top housing and said bottom housing, wherein said third swivel supports said adapter plate. (translation pages 2-3, Figs. 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Augustyn to include adjustable swivels, as taught by Belly, in order to improve the positioning accuracy of the device.
With respect to claim 17, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches attaching said automatic leveling base to a solar panel. (Augustyn, par. 29-30)
With respect to claim 18, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches the specific angle is determined by a software. (Augustyn, par. 31)
With respect to claim 19, although Augustyn, as modified by Belly, does not explicitly teach wherein the specific angle is horizontal, this would inherently be a potential angle to be measured.
With respect to claim 20, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches wherein the specific angle corresponds to the angle to which a solar panel is inclined. (Augustyn, par. 26-31)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustyn in view of Belly, as in the above rejection, and further in view of Woodcock.
With respect to claim 13, Augustyn, as modified by Belly, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection except for explicitly teaching said automatic leveling base further comprises a top housing between said adapter plate and said bottom housing, and a bellows between said bottom housing and said top housing.
Woodcock teaches an automatic leveling base comprising: an adapter plate (tilting table 3); a top housing (top of 3) on said adapter plate; a bottom housing (base 2) comprising an inclinometer (position sensor) and one or more motors (drives 8, 9, motors 10); and a bellows (folding bellows 18) between said top housing and said bottom housing. (col. 4, line 45-63, col. 5, lines 23-33, 48-61, Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the structure of Augustyn to include the housing and bellows, as taught by Woodcock, in order to smoothly support the operation of the base.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE 102005042478 teaches an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853