DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CORHODZIC et al. US 8994231 B1.
CLAIM 1
CORHODZIC et al. discloses a power supply system for a data center (abstract, FIG.2, DATA CENTER 202)), the data center comprising a power distribution device and at least one server, the power distribution device being configured to distribute power supplied by the power supply system to the at least one server, and the power supply system comprising a substation (FIG. 2, 208) and a power distribution system; wherein the 220kV/20kV substation is connected to a power grid (FIG. 2, 210) and the power distribution system, respectively, and is configured to convert a 110KV voltage outputted by the power grid into a 15kV voltage and output the 15kV voltage to the power distribution system; and the 15kV power distribution system is connected to the power distribution device (FIG.2, 206a,206b, PARAGRAPH 16) of the data center, and is configured to distribute the 15kV voltage outputted by the substation to the power distribution device of the data center.
The reference does not disclose the 220kV voltage outputted by the power grid
into a 20kV voltage and output the 20kV voltage to the power distribution system; and
the 20kV power distribution system is connected to the power distribution device of the
data center, and is configured to distribute the 20kV voltage outputted by the substation to the
power distribution device of the data center.
CORHODZIC et al. however does teach (17) The medium voltage aisles 206a-206b draw power from a medium voltage line 206, which is supplied with power from a substation 208 that steps down power from a high voltage (e.g., 110 kV or higher) power transmission line 210 down to medium voltage (through one or multiple transformations). In some implementations, the medium voltage aisles 206a-206b may be connected to multiple medium power lines 206 so that the power capacity can be shared across the data center 202.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the distribution system to distribute the higher KV (220KV/20KV) to the data center 202, this is considered a design choice and is within the level of skill one of ordinary skill in the art would have.
CLAIM 2
CORHODZIC et al. discloses the power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the substation comprises an input terminal, a main transformer, and an output terminal connected in sequence; the input terminal is connected to the power grid, and is configured to receive the 220kV voltage from the power grid; the main transformer is configured to reduce the 220kV voltage to the 20kV voltage; and the output terminal is connected to the power distribution system, and is configured to output the 20kV voltage to the power distribution system.
CLAIM 3
CORHODZIC et al. discloses the power supply system according to claim 1 further comprising: an incoming cabinet (FIG.2, 212a) connected to the substation, the incoming cabinet being configured to receive the 20kV voltage outputted by the substation; a busbar connected to the incoming cabinet, the busbar being configured to receive the 20kV voltage distributed by the incoming cabinet; an outgoing line connected to the busbar, the outgoing line being configured to transmit the 20kV voltage from the busbar to a step-down transformer; and the step-down transformer connected to the outgoing line and the power distribution device of the data center, respectively, the step-down transformer being configured to convert the 20kV voltage into a voltage equivalent to a voltage level of the data center.
(19) Each power access unit 212a-212e provides a number of medium voltage tee-offs. A transformer can be connected to a given medium voltage tap. For example, the transformer 214a draws power from the power access unit 212a, the transformer 214b draws power form the power access unit 212b, and the transformers 214c and 214d draw power from the power access unit 212h. In various implementations, zero, one, two, three, four, or more transformers may be configured to draw power from each of the power access units 212a-212h.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 allowed.
Claims 4,5,6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
September 4, 2025
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836