Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Uskert (US 9143023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn due to the amendment to claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 11-13 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radzikh (US 20230133959) in view of Uskert.
1. Radzikh teaches:
An electric propulsion engine 300 comprising:
an engine housing 310 forming an outer stator chamber (containing stators 350 with coils 355, fig 3) and an inner rotor chamber (containing rotors 340 with blades having magnets 345 on their tips, fig 3), the outer stator chamber surrounding and concentric with the inner rotor chamber (fig 3), the inner rotor chamber having an intake opening/inlet opening 320 and an exhaust opening/exhaust nozzle 360;
an electromagnetic stator 350 configured within the outer stator chamber (fig 3);
a plurality of rotors 340 disposed within the inner rotor chamber (fig 3) along a central axis of the inner rotor chamber (fig 3), each of the plurality of rotors having a plurality of rotor blades (see fig 3 and para 0023 for bladed rotors) configured to rotate around the central axis of the inner rotor chamber (in response to the field produced by the stator) thereby compressing (for the functionality of the first set of rotor blades and how they compress the air from the inlet, see para 0024) a fluid as the fluid passes from the intake opening of the engine housing through the inner rotor chamber toward the exhaust opening of the engine housing (see para 0024 which describes the air flow from inlet to exhaust),
each of the plurality of rotor blades having a magnetic rotor blade edge/magnets 345 responsive to the electromagnetic stator; and
an engine controller (the controller is not shown but described, see para 0023) configured to provide a control signal to the electromagnetic stator to cause the plurality of rotor blades of at least a portion of the plurality of rotors to rotate around the central axis of the inner rotor chamber (for operation of the stator in relation to the controller and the rotors, see para 0023) thereby producing thrust from the flow of the fluid from the intake opening toward the exhaust opening (the thrust being produced is inherent by the air flow from the inlet towards the exhaust, MPEP 2112); but does not explicitly teach that the engine housing having an outer wall surrounding and concentric with an inner wall, the outer wall and the inner wall that forms the stator chamber between the outer and inner walls with the inner wall forming the rotor chamber; the engine housing having an intake opening to the inner rotor chamber and an exhaust opening from the inner rotor chamber; and the fluid passes from the intake opening of the engine housing through the inner rotor chamber toward the exhaust opening of the engine housing (Examiner note: all of the limitations that are not explicitly taught are implied as the stator is housed and not exposed to the elements…MPEP 2112).
Uskert teaches that the engine housing/ cowl 162 having an outer wall (see Uskert fig 1) surrounding and concentric with an inner wall (see Uskert fig 1), the outer wall and the inner wall that forms the stator chamber (the cowl houses the stator which comprises electromagnetic elements 400, figs 1 & 3) between the outer and inner walls with the inner wall forming the rotor chamber (see Uskert fig 1); the engine housing having an intake opening (see Uskert figs 1 & 3) to the inner rotor chamber and an exhaust opening (see Uskert figs 1 & 3) from the inner rotor chamber (see Uskert figs 1 & 3); and the fluid passes from the intake opening of the engine housing through the inner rotor chamber toward the exhaust opening of the engine housing(this feature is evident due to its structure, see Uskert figs 1 & 3 and MPEP 2112) to protect the stator from the outside elements which prolongs the life of the engine.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it with the engine housing having an outer wall surrounding and concentric with an inner wall, the outer wall and the inner wall that forms the stator chamber between the outer and inner walls with the inner wall forming the rotor chamber; the engine housing having an intake opening to the inner rotor chamber and an exhaust opening from the inner rotor chamber; and the fluid passes from the intake opening of the engine housing through the inner rotor chamber toward the exhaust opening of the engine housing, as taught by Uskert so as to prolong the life of the engine.
2. Radzikh teaches:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, wherein the engine housing forms the inner rotor chamber so that the inner rotor chamber tapers downward from the intake opening to the exhaust opening (fig 3).
7. Radzikh teaches:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, further comprising: a shaft 330 located along and concentric with the central axis on the inner rotor chamber (fig 3); and a plurality of bearings 390 disposed along the shaft, wherein each of the plurality of bearings is configured to rotatably couple one of the plurality of rotors to the shaft (fig 3).
11. Radzikh teaches:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of rotors and its respective plurality of rotor blades forms an impeller (since the rotor rotates and has blades).
12. Radzikh teaches:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of rotors and its respective plurality of rotor blades forms a turbine (since the rotor rotates and has blades which compress air from an intake and expel that compressed air out of an exhaust).
13. Radzikh teaches:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, wherein the engine controller provides control signals to a plurality of electromagnetic stators, each of which causes a corresponding one of the plurality of rotors to rotate around the central axis of the inner rotor chamber (paras 0023 and 0024 and fig 3).
19. Radzikh teaches:
An electric propulsion engine 300 comprising:
an engine housing 310 forming an inner rotor chamber (containing rotors 340 with blades having magnets 345 on their tips, fig 3), the inner rotor chamber having an intake opening/inlet opening 320 and an exhaust opening/exhaust nozzle 360;
an electromagnetic stator 350 configured within the outer stator chamber (fig 3);
a plurality of rotors 340 disposed within the inner rotor chamber (fig 3) along a central axis of the inner rotor chamber (fig 3), each of the plurality of rotors having a plurality of rotor blades (see fig 3 and para 0023 for bladed rotors) configured to rotate around the central axis of the inner rotor chamber (in response to the field produced by the stator) thereby compressing (for the functionality of the first set of rotor blades and how they compress the air from the inlet, see para 0024) a fluid as the fluid passes from the intake opening of the inner rotor chamber toward the exhaust opening of the inner rotor chamber (see para 0024 which describes the air flow from inlet to exhaust),
each of the plurality of rotor blades having a magnetic rotor blade edge/magnets 345 responsive to the electromagnetic stator; and
an engine controller (the controller is not shown but described, see para 0023) configured to provide a control signal to the electromagnetic stator to cause the plurality of rotor blades of at least a portion of the plurality of rotors to rotate around the central axis of the inner rotor chamber (for operation of the stator in relation to the controller and the rotors, see para 0023) thereby producing thrust from the flow of the fluid from the intake opening of the inner rotor chamber toward the exhaust opening of the inner rotor chamber (the thrust being produced is inherent by the air flow from the inlet towards the exhaust, MPEP 2112).
Claims 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Radzikh in view of Uskert and in further view of Drolet et al. (US 20230050939).
3. Radzikh has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach an induction heater concentric with the central axis of the inner rotor chamber configured to provide additional heat to the fluid flowing through inner rotor chamber, thereby increasing thrust of the electric propulsion engine.
Drolet et al. teach that an induction heater 300 concentric with the central axis 11 of the inner rotor chamber/interior duct 42 configured to provide additional heat to the fluid flowing through inner rotor chamber (figs 1 and 3c and paras 0014, 0016, 0022, and 0031), thereby increasing thrust of the electric propulsion engine (para 0003) which makes the engine more efficient.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it with an induction heater concentric with the central axis of the inner rotor chamber configured to provide additional heat to the fluid flowing through inner rotor chamber, thereby increasing thrust of the electric propulsion engine, as taught by Drolet et al. so as to make the engine more efficient.
4. Radzikh in view of Drolet et al. teach:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 3, wherein the induction heater (of Drolet et al.) is disposed proximate to the exhaust opening of the inner rotor chamber (of Drolet et al.).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radzikh in view of Uskert and in further view of Hollenbeck et al. (CA 2622790).
8. Radzikh has been discussed above, re claim 7; but does not teach that each of the plurality of rotors further comprises a rotor housing.
Hollenbech et al. teach that each of the plurality of rotors (in this example there is only one rotor 24) further comprises a rotor housing 26 to shield the blades 30 which prolongs the service life of the blades.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it such that each of the plurality of rotors further comprises a rotor housing, as taught by Hollenbeck et al. so as to prolong the service life of the blades.
9. Radzikh in view of Hollenbeck et al. teach:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 8, wherein the plurality of the rotor blades (of Radzikh) are fixed/retained to the rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.), wherein the rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.) is fixed/retained to a plurality of spokes 58 (of Hollenbeck et al.) that collectively couple the rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.) to one of the plurality of bearings 390 (of Radzikh) but in this example, the single bearing 50 (of Hollenbeck et al.).
10. Radzikh in view of Hollenbeck et al. teach:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of rotors (of Radzikh) further comprises a rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.), wherein the rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.) is configured to mount to the engine housing (of Radzikh) within the inner rotor chamber (of Radzikh), wherein the rotor blades of the rotor (of Radzikh) are configured to rotate within and relative to the rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.) and around the central axis of the inner rotor chamber (of Radzikh).
Claim(s) 14 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radzikh in view of Uskert and in further view of Rabbi et al. (US 20220009644).
14. Radzikh has been discussed above, re claim 13; but does not teach that the engine controller provides controls signals that cause some of the plurality of rotors to rotate at different angular rates than others of the plurality of rotors.
Rabbi et al. teach that the engine controller (para 0188 describes the controller and how it controls two separate rotors) provides controls signals that cause some of the plurality of rotors 320 to rotate at different angular rates than others of the plurality of rotors 320 (para 0188 describes the controller and how it controls two separate rotors) which makes the engine more efficient.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it so that the engine controller provides controls signals that cause some of the plurality of rotors to rotate at different angular rates than others of the plurality of rotors, as taught by Rabbi et al. so as to make the engine more efficient.
15. Radzikh has been discussed above, re claim 13; but does not teach that the engine controller provides controls signals that cause some of the plurality of rotors to rotate in different directions than others of the plurality of rotors.
Rabbi et al. teach that the engine controller (para 0188 describes the controller and how it controls two separate rotors) provides controls signals that cause some of the plurality of rotors 320 to rotate at different directions than others of the plurality of rotors 320 (para 0188 describes the controller and how it controls two separate rotors) which makes the engine more efficient.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it so that the engine controller provides controls signals that cause some of the plurality of rotors to rotate in different directions than others of the plurality of rotors, as taught by Rabbi et al. so as to make the engine more efficient.
Claim(s) 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radzikh in view of Uskert and in further view of Simonetti et al. (US 20220228505)
16. Radzikh teaches:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, further comprising a shaft 390 to which each of the plurality of rotors is affixed (fig 3) , thereby rotating each of the plurality of rotors; but does not teach at least one magnetic bearing on which the shaft rotates.
Simonetti et al. teach that at least one magnetic bearing (para 0045 last sentence) on which the shaft 140 rotates which makes for more efficient use of natural resources in the aircraft as opposed to oil filled bearings.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it so that at least one magnetic bearing on which the shaft rotates, as taught by Simonetti et al. so as to make the aircraft usage more efficient.
17. Radzikh has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach a shaft; and a plurality of magnetic bearings, each of the plurality of magnetic bearings rotatably affixed between the shaft and a corresponding one of the plurality of rotors upon which the corresponding one of the plurality of rotors rotates, whereby each of the plurality of rotors rotates independently from the shaft and from each other.
Simonetti et al. teach that a shaft 140; and a plurality of magnetic bearings , each of the plurality of magnetic bearings (para 0045 last sentence) rotatably affixed between the shaft and a corresponding one of the plurality of rotors 175 upon which the corresponding one of the plurality of rotors rotates (para 0045 last sentence and fig 3), whereby each of the plurality of rotors rotates independently from the shaft and from each other (para 0012 last two sentences) which makes the engine more efficient.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Radzikh being effectively filed to modify it with a shaft; and a plurality of magnetic bearings, each of the plurality of magnetic bearings rotatably affixed between the shaft and a corresponding one of the plurality of rotors upon which the corresponding one of the plurality of rotors rotates, whereby each of the plurality of rotors rotates independently from the shaft and from each other, as taught by Simonetti et al. so as to make the engine more efficient.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radzikh in view of Uskert and in further view of Simonetti et al. and Hollenbeck et al..
18. Radzikh in view of Simonetti et al. and Hollenbeck et al. teach:
The electric propulsion engine of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of magnetic bearings (of Simonetti et al.), each of the plurality of magnetic bearings (of Simonetti et al.) rotatably affixed between a rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.) associated with each of the plurality of rotors (of Radzikh) and the plurality of rotor blades (of Radzikh) upon which the plurality of rotor blades (of Radzikh) rotate within the rotor housing (of Hollenbeck et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834