DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on June 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ambient light sensor” of claims 1-10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). NOTE: Reference numeral 1345 refers to the ambient light sensor. However, the lead line does not appear to indicate anything other than the electronic chip 1375. More specifically, the electronic chip 1375 and the temperature sensor 1345 are both represented by the same rectangular shape.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an electronic chip disposed on the PCB between the display assembly and the PCB, the electronic chip including an ambient light sensor; wherein the battery is spaced apart from the electronic chip to define a gap between the battery and the ambient light sensor.” The first italicized portion recites that the electronic is positioned on the PCB such that the electronic chip is located between the PCB and the display assembly. However, the second italicized portion recites a gap between the battery and the ambient light sensor. This recited structure is confusing and inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure. Claim 1 corresponds to the embodiments described with respect to Figures 11-13. An annotated version of Figure 13 is shown below. As shown in Figure 13 (and consistent with Figures 11 and 12), the electronic chip 1375 is secured to the underside of the PCB 1377 such that the PCB 1377 is disposed between the electronic chip 1375 and the display assembly 1306.
The two italicized claim limitations are contradictory. It appears Applicant intended to recite “an electronic chip disposed on the PCB between the battery and the PCB.” This interpretation of the first limitation is consistent with the second limitation in which the gap is between the ambient light sensor and the battery. Moreover, it is not only consistent with Figures 11-13, but it is also not contradicted by any other portion of Applicant’s disclosure. In fact, the only conceivable structural configurations for both claim limitations to be true (i.e., (1) electronic chip being between PCB and display assembly and (2) the gap being between the battery and the ambient light sensor) is for (a) the battery to be disposed above the PCB such that the battery is between the PCB and the display assembly or (b) the electronic chip to be secured to the top of the PCB with the ambient light sensor extending through a hole of the PCB (i.e., reverse-mounted) such that the ambient light sensor is disposed on the opposite (bottom) side of the PCB. Neither of these configurations are supported by Applicant’s disclosure. As such, the two claim limitations are contradictory and one having ordinary skill in the art could not resolve their ambiguity in light of Applicant’s disclosure. Claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purposes of a compact prosecution, Examiner is interpreting the relevant portion of claim 1 as follows:
an electronic chip disposed on the PCB between the battery and the PCB, the electronic chip including an ambient light sensor;
wherein the battery is spaced apart from the electronic chip to define a gap between the battery and the ambient light sensor.
This interpretation is consistent with the disclosure as discussed above.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1. As such, claims 2-10 are indefinite based on their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “first third edge is disposed between the battery and the display assembly….” It appears that claim 5 has a typographical error with “first third edge.” However, based on Applicant’s disclosure, it appears that the intended edge is not the first edge nor the third edge but instead the second edge. “The second edge 1271 can be disposed underneath the battery 1216, in other words between the battery 1216 and the display assembly of the device 1200….” ([0126]).
For the purpose of a compact prosecution, Examiner is interpreting the relevant portion of claim 5 as reciting “ the second edge is disposed between the battery and the display assembly….” As discussed above, this amendment is consistent with [0126].
Claims 6-8 depend from claim 5 and are also indefinite based on their dependency.
Claim 12 recites “the battery is separated from the display assembly to form a gap between the battery and the display assembly; the first edge defines a first portion of the electronic chip disposed outside the air gap; and the second edge defines a second portion of the electronic chip disposed within the air gap.”
Claim 12 depends from claim 11, which recites that the PCB is “disposed between the battery and the display assembly.” Claim 11 then recites that the PCB includes “an electronic chip” having first, second, third, and fourth edges. Claim 12 then recites “a gap” between “the battery and the display assembly” and then transforms this gap to “the air gap.” However, at least with respect to the specific claim limitation in claim 12, an “air gap” is a misnomer. Claim 12 recites “the battery is separated from the display assembly to form a gap between the battery and the display assembly.” With the subsequent use of “air gap,” one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the claim is requiring an uninterrupted space between the two elements. However, Applicant does not describe any embodiment in which uninterrupted space extends between the battery and the display assembly. Instead, the PCB and the electronic chip are positioned between the battery and the display assembly. (see, e.g., Figures 11-13). However, there is uninterrupted space between the battery 1316 and the PCB 1377.
In addition to the above issue, claim 12 is indefinite because one having ordinary skill in the art would not understand the meaning of “air gap” that is defined “between the battery and the display assembly [or PCB].” As shown above in the annotated Figure 13, a common space (i.e., “air gap”) exists between the battery and the display assembly (or PCB). Each of the edges of the electronic chip 1375 are within this same common space or air gap. However, Applicant attempts to apportion the common air gap into two separate air gaps (labeled 347 and 1349 shown in Figure 13 above). Dividing a common space into separate air gaps is difficult to characterize within a claim such that one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the metes and bounds of the claim. As best understood by the Examiner, these separate air gaps could only be understood if there was an orientation or view recited in claim 12. Figure 11 is a view in the direction from the rear of the device to the display assembly (or PCB) and demonstrates how the battery partially overlaps with the electronic chip.
Based on the above issues and for the purpose of a compact prosecution, Examiner is interpreting claim 12 as follows:
12. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein:
the battery is separated from the PCB to form a gap between the battery and the PCB;
when viewed in a direction from a rear of the device to the PCB, the battery partially overlaps with the electronic chip such that the first edge defines a first portion of the electronic chip that is disposed entirely within the air gap behind the battery[[;]] and the second edge defines a second portion of the electronic chip that is disposed entirely within the air gap but not behind the battery.
Claims 13-15 depend from claim 12 and are also indefinite based on their dependency.
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 1, as explained above in the Section 112(b) rejection, Applicant’s disclosure does not support an electronic chip disposed on the PCB between the display assembly and the PCB. One skilled in the art would not have recognized that the inventor was in possession of the invention as claimed in view of the disclosure. The only conceivable designs in which the two limitations could be true are not described or even suggested by Applicant’s disclosure. Moreover, the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not have permitted the ordinary artisan to immediately envisage these alternative designs. (MPEP 2163, I.A).
With respect to claim 12, as explained above in the Section 112(b) rejection, Applicant does not describe any embodiment that has uninterrupted space between the battery and the display assembly. One skilled in the art would not have recognized that the inventor was in possession of the invention as claimed in view of the disclosure. Moreover, the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not have permitted the ordinary artisan to immediately envisage the recited device. (MPEP 2163, I.A).
Accordingly, claim 1 (and claims 2-10 based on their dependency) and claim 12 are rejected for lack of written description.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 9 depends from claim 2, which recites “a temperature sensor,” and further recites “wherein the temperature sensor comprises an ambient temperature sensor.” As discussed above in the Section 112(b) rejection, claim 9 corresponds to the embodiments shown and described with respect to Figures 11-13.
The temperature sensor in Figure 13 does not have access to “ambient” air. As best understood by the Examiner, the temperature sensor is integrated with and positioned adjacent to the ambient light sensor in order to provide compensation for the effects that temperature may have on the ambient light sensor. (see, e.g., BESLING discussed below). If the temperature sensor was an “ambient” temperature sensor (i.e., detect the temperature of the external space in which the wearer is located), the temperature sensor would have access to the external space. (see, e.g., GOTO discussed with respect to claim 9 below).
However, the temperature sensor is attached to the PCB. Although there appears to be a through-hole in the PCB adjacent to the temperature sensor (but see NOTE below), this through-hole only provides access to more internal space. It does not provide access to any external space, which would be necessary to detect the ambient temperature. With this in mind, Applicant’s disclosure does not provide any direction as to how to detect temperature without access to external space. The disclosure does not provide any working examples. Moreover, the temperature sensor is positioned within the middle of the interior of the device. Considering the nature of the invention and state of the prior art, Applicant’s disclosure should provide some description as to how the ambient temperature can be detected. As such, a person skilled in the art would not be able to make and use the invention without undue experimentation.
NOTE: Examiner suspects that the ambient light sensor and the temperature sensor in Figure 13 should be switched. Applicant may wish to confirm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”).
With respect to claim 1 (and as interpreted in view of the Section 112(b) rejection), HAN teaches an electronic device (Title and Abstract). See Figure 1 shown below. The electronic device of HAN comprising:
a display assembly (“display assembly 220” shown in Figure 6 and [0073]) including: a display (“touch panel 313” shown in Figure 6 and [0073]); and a transparent cover defining an external surface (“front plate 215” shown in Figure 6 and [0074]: “The front plate 215 may be installed on the front surface of the display assembly 220 to protect the display assembly 220.” Figure 6 shows the front plate defining an external surface or “first surface 211”).
a battery (see 290 in Figure 6, which is described as “an internal electronic component (e.g., a battery….” at [0088]: See also [0067]: “A main circuit board 240, a display assembly (e.g., the display assembly 220 of FIG. 3), a battery, and electronic components may be mounted in an inner space formed by the inner surface 217 a of the side member 217.”), the display disposed between the battery and the transparent cover. See Figure 6 in which the touch panel 313 being disposed between the battery 290 and the transparent front plate 215.
a printed circuit board (PCB). See Figure 6 and [0072]: “[T]he electronic device 101 may include a housing (e.g., the housing 210 of FIG. 2), the display assembly 220, the flexible circuit board 280, and the photosensor module 230.”
an electronic chip disposed on the PCB between the battery and the PCB, the electronic chip including an ambient light sensor. HAN discloses a “photosensor module 230” that includes a “sensor substrate 231 (e.g., a sensor IC)…” (i.e., an electronic chip). ([0087]). The photosensor module 230 discloses an ambient light sensor. “The photosensor module 230 may generate an electrical signal or data value corresponding to an internal operating state or ambient environmental state of the electronic device 101.” ([0062]; see also HAN’s description of the purpose of the photosensor module in [0005]: “In a wearable electronic device, the brightness of a display assembly or a keypad assembly is automatically adjusted according to the illuminance value of an ambient environment by embedding a photosensor module (e.g., an illuminance sensor module) around the periphery of an active area.”). Notably, the ambient light sensor is disposed between the PCB and the battery. “The photosensor module 230 may be disposed under the flexible circuit board 280, with at least a part thereof positioned to correspond to the second opening 352 of the flexible circuit board 280.” ([0086]).
wherein the battery is spaced apart from the electronic chip to define a gap between the battery and the ambient light sensor. “The photosensor module 230 and the device 290 [battery] may be disposed to be spaced apart from each other by a specified gap (e.g., a first distance g). For example, the second surface 231 b of the sensor substrate 231 may be disposed to be spaced apart from the support member 291, and the spaced area may form an air gap.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0070337 A1 (hereinafter “BESLING”).
Claim 2 depends from claim 1, which is taught by HAN as explained above in the Section 102 rejection.
HAN does not teach the device further comprising a temperature sensor disposed on a first portion of the electronic chip; the ambient light sensor is disposed on a second portion of the electronic chip; and the second portion is disposed between the battery and the display assembly.
BESLING teaches an integrated circuit having multiple environmental sensors, including a light sensor and a temperature sensor. (Abstract and, e.g., [0025] and [0081]). “[T]he integrated circuit includes a further sensor 7, which comprises an ambient light sensor including one or more photo diodes. For correct operation of the ambient light sensor 7, it is necessary that light must be able to pass through the cap layer 70. However, it is also desirable in some cases that light is prevented from passing through the cap layer 70. One example of this is the case where a temperature sensor such as one of the environmental sensors 6A and 6B shown in FIG. 11 is provided in the substrate 2. Known temperature sensors provided in semiconductor devices are sensitive to exposure to light.” ([0081]).
BESLING teaches that it may be beneficial to positioning two sensors within a relatively small area. “[O]ne of the sensors may be an environmental sensor requiring direct physical access, while the other sensor may not require such access. Nevertheless, it may be beneficial from a design perspective to co-locate the various sensors in the integrated circuit into a small area (e.g. central to the substrate 2). In such examples, the fact that a sensor not requiring direct physical access to the surrounding environment nevertheless has such access may not necessarily be detrimental to the operation of the sensor.” ([0064]). BESLING also teaches an embodiment similar to HAN’s that could be connected to the underside of a PCB. (see, e.g., Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify to include an integrated circuit that includes the photosensor and a temperature sensor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to co-locate the two sensors to reduce the space necessary for two separate sensors. Both portions of the integrated circuit would be positioned over the battery. As such, the second portion, which includes the ambient light sensor, would be positioned between the battery and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as BESLING teaches that two environmental sensors can be formed with the same integrated circuit.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0070337 A1 (hereinafter “BESLING”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2021/0389795 A1 (hereinafter “CHANG”).
With respect to claim 3, HAN does not explicitly teach that the electronic device further comprises an electronic component; the gap is a first gap; and the electronic component is separated from the temperature sensor to form a second gap defined between the electronic component and the temperature sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, CHANG teaches an electronic device (e.g., smartwatch) having a design that enables a component to be positioned adjacent to a battery within an internal volume. (Abstract). CHANG is concerned about maximizing performance while minimizing
[AltContent: textbox (Portion of Fig. 1D of Han)][AltContent: textbox (Battery)][AltContent: textbox (Battery)][AltContent: textbox (Haptic Engine)][AltContent: textbox (Haptic Engine)][AltContent: textbox (Different gaps)]space. “The architecture and components of the electronic devices described herein can allow for configurations and designs that can maximize the available space or volume in an internal volume defined by a housing of the device that is available to be occupied by one or more components. For example, certain aspects of device performance, such as battery life, can be improved by increasing the size or volume of the battery of the device. Additionally, or alternatively, the device itself could be reduced in size while achieving similar or even improved levels of performance.” ([0059]). “In order to maximize the size of the battery 422, and thus maximize the performance of the device, it can be desirable to have as large a battery as possible and to arrange the components of the device to allow for a relatively large battery volume.” ([0076]).
Notably, CHANG teaches that the adjacent component is positioned either very close to the battery or positioned in contact with the battery. “[T]he distance between the exterior of the battery 422 and an adjacent component can be less than about 0.3 mm, less than about 0.2 mm, less than about 0.1 mm, or even smaller. In some examples, a portion of the exterior of the battery 422 can directly abut or contact an adjacent component or a portion thereof.” ([0077]). More importantly, the design of the adjacent component (i.e., haptic engine) requires a height that is less than the height of the battery. “[P]ortions of the haptic feedback module 424, such as electronic components and/or flexible electrical connectors 429 can be sized, shaped, and positioned to fit below the flange 426 of the battery in order to enable the battery 422 to be positioned relatively close to the haptic feedback module 424 or other components, thereby allowing for a larger available battery volume, and thus, a larger available capacity.” ([0080]). With the battery 422 and haptic engine 424 arranged as shown in Figure 2D, different air gaps would necessarily exist with the planar display assembly 312 above the two components. (See Figure 1D). “In some examples, a transition between a top surface of the enclosure 525 and side surfaces can be substantially curved or rounded, for example, to provide clearance for adjacent components….” ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a haptic engine adjacent to the battery and position the modified HAN module having two sensors such that the temperature sensor is positioned over the electronic component while the light sensor is positioned over the battery. First, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the haptic engine because it provides many advantages for the user to interact with electronic device and the CHANG design enables positioning both the haptic engine and the battery adjacent to each other within the same internal volume. Second, the enlarged dual-sensor module would be disposed within the internal volume along with the battery and the haptic engine. Because both sensors would be within the same internal volume with the battery and the haptic engine, each sensor would form two gaps, one gap between the battery and the respective sensor and the other gap between the haptic engine and the corresponding sensor. Alternatively, the ambient light sensor would be positioned over the battery near the edge of the battery, as taught in HAN, and the added portion of the sensor module that accommodates the temperature sensor would extend over the adjacent haptic engine, thereby forming the gap between the temperature sensor and the haptic engine. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as CHANG teaches that the haptic engine and the battery can be positioned within the same internal volume.
With respect to claim 4, HAN does not explicitly teach that the electronic device further comprises an electronic component adjacent the battery; the electronic chip is disposed between the electronic component and the display assembly; and the electronic chip is disposed between the battery and the display assembly.
As explained above, CHANG, like HAN, is concerned about maximizing performance while minimizing space. CHANG teaches that the adjacent component is positioned either very close to the battery or positioned in contact with the battery. “[T]he distance between the exterior of the battery 422 and an adjacent component can be less than about 0.3 mm, less than about 0.2 mm, less than about 0.1 mm, or even smaller. In some examples, a portion of the exterior of the battery 422 can directly abut or contact an adjacent component or a portion thereof.” ([0077]). More importantly, the design of the adjacent component (i.e., haptic engine) requires a height that is less than the height of the battery. “[P]ortions of the haptic feedback module 424, such as electronic components and/or flexible electrical connectors 429 can be sized, shaped, and positioned to fit below the flange 426 of the battery in order to enable the battery 422 to be positioned relatively close to the haptic feedback module 424 or other components, thereby allowing for a larger available battery volume, and thus, a larger available capacity.” ([0080]). With the battery 422 and haptic engine 424 arranged as shown in Figure 2D, different air gaps would necessarily exist with the planar display assembly 312 above the two components. (See Figure 1D). “In some examples, a transition between a top surface of the enclosure 525 and side surfaces can be substantially curved or rounded, for example, to provide clearance for adjacent components….” ([0083]). HAN teaches that the ambient light sensor is positioned over the battery near and edge of the battery. (See, e.g., Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a haptic engine adjacent to the battery and position the modified HAN module over the electronic component and the battery such that the sensor module (i.e., electronic chip) is positioned between the battery and the display assembly and also positioned between the electronic component and the display assembly. First, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the haptic engine because it provides many advantages for the user to interact with electronic device and the CHANG design enables positioning both the haptic engine and the battery adjacent to each other within the same internal volume. Second, the enlarged dual-sensor module would be disposed within the internal volume along with the battery and the haptic engine. HAN shows the light sensor positioned over the battery and also shows an end or edge of the battery. The modified sensor module with the extended portion accommodating the temperature sensor would extend over the haptic engine, which also provides more space as taught in CHANG. As such, the sensor module would be positioned between the display assembly and the battery and also positioned between the electronic component and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as CHANG teaches that the haptic engine and the battery can be positioned within the same internal volume.
Claims 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0070337 A1 (hereinafter “BESLING”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2021/0389795 A1 (hereinafter “CHANG”) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2017/0141019 A1 (hereinafter “ARRIGONI”).
With respect to claim 5, HAN teaches the electronic chip having a rectangular board that includes a first edge opposite a second edge and a third edge opposite a fourth edge. See Figures 6 and 8 in which each edge of the sensor substrate 231 is disposed between the display assembly (220) and the battery (290).
HAN does not explicitly describe electrical pins electrically coupling the electronic chip to the PCB at the first edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge. However, HAN clearly describes electrically connecting the sensor substrate to the PCB 280 using solder balls and one having ordinary skill in the art understand that it is necessary to have both signal and ground contacts of the sensor substrate (i.e., electronic chip) electrically connected to the PCB. Moreover, HAN teaches a desire to reduce the size and space for electronic devices carried by users (see, e.g., [0005), and describes a technique that enables removing at least one circuit board. (see, e.g., [0009]).
ARRIGONI teaches a four-sided semiconductor device in which three sides have electrical contact leads and the fourth side is free of electrical contact leads (i.e., leadless). (Abstract, [0015], and Figure 1). ARRIGONI suggests there are advantages to using a leadless edge, such as a reduced footprint and a reduced overall cost for the semiconductor device, ([0012], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the photosensor module to include a sensor substrate having electrical pins electrically soldered to the PCB and the electronic chip at the first edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge but not the second edge (i.e., leadless edge), as taught by ARRIGONI. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the leadless edge as it enables a reduced footprint, which HAN generally desires as it enables reducing the size of the device, and can reduce the cost of manufacturing the semiconductor device. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as ARRIGONI teaches that a leadless edge can be manufactured while maintaining the usability of the device.
However, HAN does not explicitly teach the second edge being disposed between the battery and the display assembly and the first edge being disposed between the electronic component and the display assembly.
As discussed above with respect to claim 4, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a haptic engine adjacent to the battery and position the modified HAN module over the electronic component and the battery such that the sensor module (i.e., electronic chip) is positioned between the battery and the display assembly and also positioned between the electronic component and the display assembly. CHANG teaches an electronic device (e.g., smartwatch) having a design that enables a component to be positioned adjacent to a battery within an internal volume. (Abstract). CHANG is concerned about maximizing performance while minimizing space. “The architecture and components of the electronic devices described herein can allow for configurations and designs that can maximize the available space or volume in an internal volume defined by a housing of the device that is available to be occupied by one or more components. For example, certain aspects of device performance, such as battery life, can be improved by increasing the size or volume of the battery of the device. Additionally, or alternatively, the device itself could be reduced in size while achieving similar or even improved levels of performance.” ([0059]). “In order to maximize the size of the battery 422, and thus maximize the performance of the device, it can be desirable to have as large a battery as possible and to arrange the components of the device to allow for a relatively large battery volume.” ([0076]).
Notably, CHANG teaches that the adjacent component is positioned either very close to the battery or positioned in contact with the battery. “[T]he distance between the exterior of the battery 422 and an adjacent component can be less than about 0.3 mm, less than about 0.2 mm, less than about 0.1 mm, or even smaller. In some examples, a portion of the exterior of the battery 422 can directly abut or contact an adjacent component or a portion thereof.” ([0077]). More importantly, the design of the adjacent component (i.e., haptic engine) requires a height that is less than the height of the battery. “[P]ortions of the haptic feedback module 424, such as electronic components and/or flexible electrical connectors 429 can be sized, shaped, and positioned to fit below the flange 426 of the battery in order to enable the battery 422 to be positioned relatively close to the haptic feedback module 424 or other components, thereby allowing for a larger available battery volume, and thus, a larger available capacity.” ([0080]). With the battery 422 and haptic engine 424 arranged as shown in Figure 2D, different air gaps would necessarily exist with the planar display assembly 312 above the two components. (See Figure 1D). “In some examples, a transition between a top surface of the enclosure 525 and side surfaces can be substantially curved or rounded, for example, to provide clearance for adjacent components….” ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify HAN photosensor module such that the second edge is disposed between the battery and the display assembly and the first edge is disposed between the electronic component and the display assembly. Both HAN and CHANG are concerned with minimizing space and HAN specifically teaches there being a gap between the battery and the photosensor module. CHANG teaches that more space can be made immediately adjacent to the battery over the haptic engine. In order to gain the advantages of a haptic engine, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the internal volume where the battery is located to accommodate the haptic engine. As such, the leadless edge of ARRIGONI would be positioned over the battery. Consequently, the second edge would be disposed between the battery and the display assembly and the first edge would be disposed between the electronic component and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the combination of CHANG and HAN teach that the photosensor module can be positioned over the battery and haptic engine.
With respect to claim 7, HAN does not teach the third edge including a first length defining the first portion of the electronic chip and a second length defining the second portion of the electronic chip; and at least one pin of the electrical pins is disposed along the first length; and the second length is disposed between the battery and the display assembly and is free of any pins of the electrical pins.
However, ARRIGONI specifically teaches that the perpendicular edges that extend to the leadless edge are free of leads near the leadless edge. “FIGS. 2 to 4 otherwise show that…leads at regions of the lead frame 20 near the package centerline (axis A-A′) may be omitted e.g. in order not to interfere with cutting….” ([0043]).
Moreover, as discussed above, CHANG teaches using a common internal volume that includes an electronic component (i.e., haptic engine) adjacent to the battery such that differently sized gaps are formed between the above display assembly and the haptic engine and battery.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the HAN device such that the portion of the third edge that is leadless (and adjacent to the leadless edge) would be positioned between the battery and the display assembly along with the leadless edge. Both HAN and CHANG are concerned with minimizing space and HAN specifically teaches there being a gap between the battery and the photosensor module. CHANG teaches that more space can be made immediately adjacent to the battery over the haptic engine. In order to gain the advantages of a haptic engine, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the internal volume where the battery is located to accommodate the haptic engine. As such, the leadless edge of ARRIGONI would be positioned over the battery. Consequently, the second length of the third edge that is free of any pins would be positioned with the leadless edge between the battery and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the combination of CHANG and HAN teach that the photosensor module can be positioned over the battery and haptic engine.
With respect to claim 8, HAN does not teach the fourth edge includes a first length defining the first portion of the electronic chip and a second length defining the second portion of the electronic chip; and at least one of the electrical pins is disposed along the first length; and the second length is disposed between the battery and the display assembly and is free of electrical pins.
However, ARRIGONI specifically teaches that the perpendicular edges that extend to the leadless edge are free of leads near the leadless edge. “FIGS. 2 to 4 otherwise show that…leads at regions of the lead frame 20 near the package centerline (axis A-A′) may be omitted e.g. in order not to interfere with cutting….” ([0043]).
Moreover, as discussed above, CHANG teaches using a common internal volume that includes an electronic component (i.e., haptic engine) adjacent to the battery such that differently sized gaps are formed between the above display assembly and the haptic engine and battery.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the HAN device such that the portion of the fourth edge that is leadless (and adjacent to the leadless edge) would be positioned between the battery and the display assembly along with the leadless edge. Both HAN and CHANG are concerned with minimizing space and HAN specifically teaches there being a gap between the battery and the photosensor module. CHANG teaches that more space can be made immediately adjacent to the battery over the haptic engine. In order to gain the advantages of a haptic engine, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the internal volume where the battery is located to accommodate the haptic engine. As such, the leadless edge of ARRIGONI would be positioned over the battery. Consequently, the second length of the fourth edge that is free of any pins would be positioned with the leadless edge between the battery and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the combination of CHANG and HAN teach that the photosensor module can be positioned over the battery and haptic engine.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0070337 A1 (hereinafter “BESLING”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2021/0389795 A1 (hereinafter “CHANG”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2017/0141019 A1 (hereinafter “ARRIGONI”) as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2009/0278245 A1 (hereinafter “BONIFIELD”).
However, HAN does not explicitly describe that the electronic chip includes a via electrically connecting a ground contact at or near the second edge to at least one electrical pin of the electrical pins.
BONIFIELD teaches a “IC die includes a substrate having an active top surface and a bottom surface, wherein the top surface includes integrated circuitry including an input pad, an output pad, a power supply pad, and a ground pad, and a plurality of through-substrate vias (TSVs) including an electrically conductive filler material and a dielectric liner.” (Abstract). BONIFIELD teaches using through substrate vias (TSVs) in integrated circuits to couple input/ouput, ground, and power paths. ([0005]). BONIFIELD also teaches that redirect metal layers (RDLs) may be used on the bottom of the IC to remove alignment needs. ([0005]). “[T]he presence of grounded TSVs coupled in a low electrical and thermal resistance path to the grounded die pad improves the ground connection (e.g., reduced resistance to ground) and the thermal dissipation….” ([0006]). Moreover, “[a] significant advantage obtained using TSV comprising ICs in face-up configuration according to embodiments of the invention is that there is no longer a need to use up die space in BEOL (metal) layers of the IC for the large rectangular P/G pads needed for use in the standard face-down FC-QFN packages, since the TSVs allocated for the P/G connections will generally be much smaller and thus use up less die space. Although not shown, the IC will generally include TSVs that generally align to the P and G strips 175 and the periphery pads 190, although an RDL layer on the backside of the IC can relax the alignment need. As known in the art, these strips extend to the package edge as separate lead pins that get soldered to a package substrate, such as a customer's PCB to couple common connections.” ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify HAN’s sensor substrate such to include a ground pin that electrically couples the electronic chip to an electrical ground and an electrical via electrically connecting a ground contact to the ground pin at or near the second edge. One having ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification in order to protect the photosensor from electromagnetic interference (EMI) as it is well known by those skilled in the art that sensors (e.g., photosensors) are susceptible to EMI and that it is common to use shielding (i.e., through ground planes, vias, and contacts) to protect the sensor. (MPEP 2144(I); see, e.g., US-20100045642-A1, US-20230288252-A1, TI Designs Backlight and Smart Lighting Control by Ambient Light and Proximity Sensor (2015), and AN218241 PSoC 6 MCU hardware design considerations (Infineon, 2023-11-01)). As such, the ARRIGONI substrate would be manufactured to include TSVs and RDLs, as taught by BONIFELD, so that the cut edge would still maintain grounding/shield for EMI. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as BONIFIELD teaches that integrated circuits can use TSVs and RDLs for grounding.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0070337 A1 (hereinafter “BESLING”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0036956 A1 (hereinafter “GOTO”).
With respect to claim 9 (and in view of the Section 112 rejection), HAN does not explicitly teach wherein the temperature sensor comprises an ambient temperature sensor.
GOTO teaches wrist-mounted temperature gauge measurement device 8. ([0120]). GOTO teaches that one drawback to portable temperature measurement devices that are used while in contact with the human body is that the temperature sensor can be affected by the body temperature of the human body. ([0005]). GOTO further teaches that “by using a sensor part that measures two different thermal flows, accurate deep temperatures and external air temperatures can be measured with a single device, even when worn on the body. In addition, even with temperature devices such as wristwatch-type or patch-type devices that perform measurements while worn on the human body or the like, deep temperatures and external air temperatures can be accurately measured with a single device having a simple structure.” ([0012]). GOTO’s sensor can be manufactured using similar technologies as those described in BESLING. (see, e.g., [0046], [0047], and [0051]). “Devices that convert temperatures to resistance values that may be used are chip thermistors, flexible substrates printed with thermistor patterns, and platinum temperature measurement resistors. In addition, devices that can be used for converting temperature to voltage values include thermocouple elements, PN junction elements, and diodes.” ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the temperature sensor of the modified HAN sensor module to detect the external air temperature, thereby being an ambient temperature sensor, because it is desirable to know the temperature of the air that surrounds the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the BESLING design to include the GOTO design and further modify the HAN device to allow access to external air. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as BESLING teaches that multiple sensors can be fabricated with the same sensor module and GOTO teaches that a temperature module can be fabricated on an integrated circuit.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2017/0141019 A1 (hereinafter “ARRIGONI”).
Claim 10 depends from claim 1, which is taught by HAN as discussed above.
With respect to claim 10, HAN teaches the electronic chip including a rectangular board having a first edge opposite a second edge, the second edge disposed between the display assembly and the battery and a third edge opposite a fourth edge. See Figures 6 and 8 in which each edge of the sensor substrate 231 is disposed between the display assembly (220) and the battery (290).
HAN does not explicitly describe electrical pins electrically soldered to the PCB and the electronic chip at the first edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge and the second edge being free of the electrical pins. However, HAN clearly describes electrically connecting the sensor substrate to the PCB 280 using solder balls and one having ordinary skill in the art understand that it is necessary to have both signal and ground contacts of the sensor substrate (i.e., electronic chip) electrically connected to the PCB. Moreover, HAN teaches a desire to reduce the size and space for electronic devices carried by users (see, e.g., [0005), and describes a technique that enables removing at least one circuit board. (see, e.g., [0009]).
ARRIGONI teaches a four-sided semiconductor device in which three sides have electrical contact leads and the fourth side is free of electrical contact leads (i.e., leadless). (Abstract, [0015], and Figure 1). ARRIGONI suggests there are advantages to using a leadless edge, such as a reduced footprint and a reduced overall cost for the semiconductor device, ([0012], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the photosensor module to include a sensor substrate having electrical pins electrically soldered to the PCB and the electronic chip at the first edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge but not the second edge (i.e., leadless edge), as taught by ARRIGONI. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the leadless edge as it enables a reduced footprint, which HAN generally desires as it enables reducing the size of the device, and can reduce the cost in manufacturing the semiconductor device. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as ARRIGONI teaches that a leadless edge can be manufactured while maintaining the usability of the device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2017/0141019 A1 (hereinafter “ARRIGONI”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2009/0278245 A1 (hereinafter “BONIFIELD”).
With respect to claim 11, HAN teaches an electronic device (Title and Abstract). See Figure 1 shown below. The electronic device of HAN comprising:
a display assembly (“display assembly 220” shown in Figure 6 and [0073]).
a battery (see 290 in Figure 6, which is described as “an internal electronic component (e.g., a battery….” at [0088]: See also [0067]: “A main circuit board 240, a display assembly (e.g., the display assembly 220 of FIG. 3), a battery, and electronic components may be mounted in an inner space formed by the inner surface 217 a of the side member 217.”)
a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed between the battery and the display assembly (See Figure 6 and [0072]: “[T]he electronic device 101 may include a housing (e.g., the housing 210 of FIG. 2), the display assembly 220, the flexible circuit board 280, and the photosensor module 230.” As shown in Figure 6, the flexible circuit board 280 is disposed between the battery 290 and the transparent front plate 215), the PCB comprising an electronic chip. HAN discloses a “photosensor module 230” that includes a “sensor substrate 231 (e.g., a sensor IC)…” (i.e., an electronic chip). ([0087]). The electronic chip including:
a first edge opposite a second edge, the second edge disposed between the display assembly and the battery and a third edge opposite a fourth edge. See Figures 6 and 8 in which each edge of the sensor substrate 231 is disposed between the display assembly (220) and the battery (290).
HAN does not explicitly describe electrical pins electrically soldered to the PCB and the electronic chip at the first edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge. However, HAN clearly describes electrically connecting the sensor substrate to the PCB 280 using solder balls and one having ordinary skill in the art understand that it is necessary to have both signal and ground contacts of the sensor substrate (i.e., electronic chip) electrically connected to the PCB. Moreover, HAN teaches a desire to reduce the size and space for electronic devices carried by users (see, e.g., [0005), and describes a technique that enables removing at least one circuit board. (see, e.g., [0009]).
ARRIGONI teaches a four-sided semiconductor device in which three sides have electrical contact leads and the fourth side is free of electrical contact leads (i.e., leadless). (Abstract, [0015], and Figure 1). ARRIGONI suggests there are advantages to using a leadless edge, such as a reduced footprint and a reduced overall cost for the semiconductor device, ([0012], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the photosensor module to include a sensor substrate having electrical pins electrically soldered to the PCB and the electronic chip at the first edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge but not the second edge (i.e., leadless edge), as taught by ARRIGONI. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the leadless edge as it enables a reduced footprint, which HAN generally desires as it enables reducing the size of the device, and can reduce the cost in manufacturing the semiconductor device. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as ARRIGONI teaches that a leadless edge can be manufactured while maintaining the usability of the device.
However, HAN does not explicitly describe that the electrical pins including a ground pin electrically coupling the electronic chip to an electrical ground and an electrical via electrically connecting a ground contact to the ground pin at or near the second edge.
BONIFIELD teaches a “IC die includes a substrate having an active top surface and a bottom surface, wherein the top surface includes integrated circuitry including an input pad, an output pad, a power supply pad, and a ground pad, and a plurality of through-substrate vias (TSVs) including an electrically conductive filler material and a dielectric liner.” (Abstract). BONIFIELD teaches using through substrate vias (TSVs) in integrated circuits to couple input/ouput, ground, and power paths. ([0005]). BONIFIELD also teaches that redirect metal layers (RDLs) may be used on the bottom of the IC to remove alignment needs. ([0005]). “[T]he presence of grounded TSVs coupled in a low electrical and thermal resistance path to the grounded die pad improves the ground connection (e.g., reduced resistance to ground) and the thermal dissipation….” ([0006]). Moreover, “[a] significant advantage obtained using TSV comprising ICs in face-up configuration according to embodiments of the invention is that there is no longer a need to use up die space in BEOL (metal) layers of the IC for the large rectangular P/G pads needed for use in the standard face-down FC-QFN packages, since the TSVs allocated for the P/G connections will generally be much smaller and thus use up less die space. Although not shown, the IC will generally include TSVs that generally align to the P and G strips 175 and the periphery pads 190, although an RDL layer on the backside of the IC can relax the alignment need. As known in the art, these strips extend to the package edge as separate lead pins that get soldered to a package substrate, such as a customer's PCB to couple common connections.” ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify HAN’s sensor substrate such to include a ground pin that electrically couples the electronic chip to an electrical ground and an electrical via electrically connecting a ground contact to the ground pin at or near the second edge. One having ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification in order to protect the photosensor from electromagnetic interference (EMI) as it is well known by those skilled in the art that sensors (e.g., photosensors) are susceptible to EMI and that it is common to use shielding (i.e., through ground planes, vias, and contacts) to protect the sensor. (MPEP 2144(I); see, e.g., US-20100045642-A1, US-20230288252-A1, TI Designs Backlight and Smart Lighting Control by Ambient Light and Proximity Sensor (2015), and AN218241 PSoC 6 MCU hardware design considerations (Infineon, 2023-11-01)). As such, the ARRIGONI substrate would be manufactured to include TSVs and RDLs, as taught by BONIFELD, so that the cut edge would still maintain grounding/shield for EMI. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as BONIFIELD teaches that integrated circuits can use TSVs and RDLs for grounding.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0187869 A1 (hereinafter “HAN”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2017/0141019 A1 (hereinafter “ARRIGONI”) and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2009/0278245 A1 (hereinafter “BONIFIELD”) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2021/0389795 A1 (hereinafter “CHANG”).
With respect to claim 12 (and in light of the Section 112 rejection), HAN teaches that the battery is separated from the display assembly to form a gap between the battery and the display assembly. Specifically, HAN teaches that the battery (i.e., the device 290) is spaced apart from the photosensor module, which is mounted to the PCB. “The photosensor module 230 and the device 290 may be disposed to be spaced apart from each other by a specified gap (e.g., a first distance g). For example, the second surface 231 b of the sensor substrate 231 may be disposed to be spaced apart from the support member 291, and the spaced area may form an air gap.” ([0088]).
However, HAN does not explicitly teach the first edge defines a first portion of the electronic chip disposed outside the air gap and the second edge defines a second portion of the electronic chip disposed within the air gap.
In the same field of endeavor, CHANG teaches an electronic device (e.g., smartwatch) having a design that enables a component to be positioned adjacent to a battery within an internal volume. (Abstract). CHANG is concerned about maximizing performance while minimizing space. “The architecture and components of the electronic devices described herein can allow for configurations and designs that can maximize the available space or volume in an internal volume defined by a housing of the device that is available to be occupied by one or more components. For example, certain aspects of device performance, such as battery life, can be improved by increasing the size or volume of the battery of the device. Additionally, or alternatively, the device itself could be reduced in size while achieving similar or even improved levels of performance.” ([0059]). “In order to maximize the size of the battery 422, and thus maximize the performance of the device, it can be desirable to have as large a battery as possible and to arrange the components of the device to allow for a relatively large battery volume.” ([0076]).
[AltContent: textbox (Portion of Fig. 1D of Han)][AltContent: textbox (Battery)][AltContent: textbox (Battery)][AltContent: textbox (Haptic Engine)][AltContent: textbox (Haptic Engine)][AltContent: textbox (Different gaps)]Notably, CHANG teaches that the adjacent component is positioned either very close to the battery or positioned in contact with the battery. “[T]he distance between the exterior of the battery 422 and an adjacent component can be less than about 0.3 mm, less than about 0.2 mm, less than about 0.1 mm, or even smaller. In some examples, a portion of the exterior of the battery 422 can directly abut or contact an adjacent component or a portion thereof.” ([0077]). More importantly, the design of the adjacent component (i.e., haptic engine) requires a height that is less than the height of the battery. “[P]ortions of the haptic feedback module 424, such as electronic components and/or flexible electrical connectors 429 can be sized, shaped, and positioned to fit below the flange 426 of the battery in order to enable the battery 422 to be positioned relatively close to the haptic feedback module 424 or other components, thereby allowing for a larger available battery volume, and thus, a larger available capacity.” ([0080]). With the battery 422 and haptic engine 424 arranged as shown in Figure 2D, different air gaps would necessarily exist with the planar display assembly 312 above the two components. (See Figure 1D). “In some examples, a transition between a top surface of the enclosure 525 and side surfaces can be substantially curved or rounded, for example, to provide clearance for adjacent components….” ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify HAN photosensor module such that a first edge defines a first portion of the sensor substrate disposed outside the air gap and the second edge defines a second portion of the sensor substrate disposed within the air gap. Both HAN and CHANG are concerned with minimizing space and HAN specifically teaches there being a gap between the battery and the photosensor module. CHANG teaches that more space can be made immediately adjacent to the battery over the haptic engine. In order to gain the advantages of a haptic engine, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the internal volume where the battery is located to accommodate the haptic engine. As such, the leadless edge of ARRIGONI would be positioned over the battery. Consequently, a first edge defining a first portion of the sensor substrate would be disposed outside the air gap and the second edge defining a second portion of the sensor substrate would be disposed within the air gap. Likewise, when viewed in a direction from a rear of the device to the PCB, the battery of the modified HAN device would partially overlap the electronic chip such that the first edge of the electronic chip would be disposed entirely within the air gap behind the battery and the second edge of the electronic chip would be disposed entirely within the air gap but not behind the battery. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the combination of CHANG and HAN teach that the photosensor module can be positioned over the battery and haptic engine.
With respect to claim 13 (depending from claim 12), HAN does not explicitly teach wherein the second portion is free of electrical pins soldered to the PCB of the electrical pins soldered to the PCB.
ARRIGONI teaches a leadless edge. As explained above with respect to claim 12, due to the constrained space above the battery, the leadless edge would be positioned above the battery while the other edges (i.e., those with leads) would be positioned above the haptic engine where there is more available space.
With respect to claim 14 (depending from claim 12), HAN does not explicitly teach wherein the third edge comprises: a first length defining the first portion and including at least one electrical pin soldered to the PCB of the electrical pins soldered to the PCB; and a second length defining the second portion, the second length being free of electrical pins soldered to the PCB of the electrical pins soldered to the PCB.
However, ARRIGONI specifically teaches that the perpendicular edges that extend to the leadless edge are free of leads near the leadless edge. “FIGS. 2 to 4 otherwise show that…leads at regions of the lead frame 20 near the package centerline (axis A-A′) may be omitted e.g. in order not to interfere with cutting….” ([0043]).
Moreover, as discussed above, CHANG teaches using a common internal volume that includes an electronic component (i.e., haptic engine) adjacent to the battery such that differently sized gaps are formed between the above display assembly and the haptic engine and battery.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the HAN device such that the portion of the third edge that is leadless (and adjacent to the leadless edge) would be positioned between the battery and the display assembly along with the leadless edge. Both HAN and CHANG are concerned with minimizing space and HAN specifically teaches there being a gap between the battery and the photosensor module. CHANG teaches that more space can be made immediately adjacent to the battery over the haptic engine. In order to gain the advantages of a haptic engine, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the internal volume where the battery is located to accommodate the haptic engine. As such, the leadless edge of ARRIGONI would be positioned over the battery. Consequently, the second length of the third edge that is free of any pins would be positioned with the leadless edge between the battery and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the combination of CHANG and HAN teach that the photosensor module can be positioned over the battery and haptic engine.
With respect to claim 15 (depending from claim 14), HAN does not explicitly teach wherein the fourth edge comprises: a first length defining the first portion and including at least one electrical pin soldered to the PCB of the electrical pins soldered to the PCB; and a second length defining the second portion, the second length being free of electrical pins soldered to the PCB of the electrical pins soldered to the PCB.
However, ARRIGONI specifically teaches that the perpendicular edges that extend to the leadless edge are free of leads near the leadless edge. “FIGS. 2 to 4 otherwise show that…leads at regions of the lead frame 20 near the package centerline (axis A-A′) may be omitted e.g. in order not to interfere with cutting….” ([0043]).
Moreover, as discussed above, CHANG teaches using a common internal volume that includes an electronic component (i.e., haptic engine) adjacent to the battery such that differently sized gaps are formed between the above display assembly and the haptic engine and battery.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the HAN device such that the portion of the fourth edge that is leadless (and adjacent to the leadless edge) would be positioned between the battery and the display assembly along with the leadless edge. Both HAN and CHANG are concerned with minimizing space and HAN specifically teaches there being a gap between the battery and the photosensor module. CHANG teaches that more space can be made immediately adjacent to the battery over the haptic engine. In order to gain the advantages of a haptic engine, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the internal volume where the battery is located to accommodate the haptic engine. As such, the leadless edge of ARRIGONI would be positioned over the battery. Consequently, the second length of the fourth edge that is free of any pins would be positioned with the leadless edge between the battery and the display assembly. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the combination of CHANG and HAN teach that the photosensor module can be positioned over the battery and haptic engine.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TI [Texas Instruments] Designs Backlight and Smart Lighting Control by Ambient Light and Proximity Sensor (2015) describes the implementation of environmental sensors, including ambient light sensors, and the importance of protecting them from electromagnetic interference.
Conclusion
/JASON P GROSS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797 /SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797