DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 04/27/2026. In the instant amendment, claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 12-14, 16, 18 and 20 were amended; claims 9, 11, 17 were cancelled; claims 21-24 are new; claims 1 and 16 are independent claims. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-16 and 18-24 are pending in this application. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The claim objections to claims 9, 16 and 17 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) and further in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827)
Regarding claim 1, Duraisingh discloses a method for onboarding security devices coupled to a building network of a physical building serviced by a building management system, the method comprising: (Duraisingh, [0002], [0063]-[0064] describes a BMS as controlling, monitoring and managing equipment in or around a building and the BMS can include a security system. It uses automatic equipment discovery across BMS communications buses and protocols)
transmitting a plurality of commands on the building network, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; (Duraisignh, in [0162]-[0164]; [0002], [0063] describes sending information requests to newly detected devices on system, zone, and sensor/actuator buses. The system requests equipment models, point values, device type, model number and data-point information from devices. The system establishes a BMS that may contain a security system and multiple building-system/equipment types)
receiving a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the security devices via the building network; (Duraisingh in [0162]-[0164] describes receiving equipment information and device responses)
identifying a plurality of security subsystems on the building network based on whether the plurality of responses contain identifying containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on the building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; (Duraisingh in [0162]-[0165] describes devices respond to information requests with equipment models, device type, model number, point types, or other device information. New devices are identified based on the information returned in response to the request and generates lists of devices on each BMS bus. Returned device information may include device type, model number, equipment model, and point-type information. The system supports discovery across multiple communications protocols. Returned device information can identify device type and model)
generating an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings on the building network and (ii) the security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and
(Duraisingh in [0165]-[0166, [0282]-[0284] describes generating a device tree that is a hierarchy of BMS devices. Devices on each zone bus are placed hierarchically under the associated zone coordinator. It also creates and stores a device-system point hierarchy in the cloud platform. [0165]-[0166], [0283]. The device tree places field devices beneath their corresponding coordinator or system device. The cloud data structure includes device, system and point relationships. )
onboarding the security devices within each identified security subsystem, (Duraisingh in [0167]-[0178], [0277]-[0284] describes automatically creating or obtains equipment models, interacts with devices using those models, creates cloud device shadows, associates devices with customer/site records, creates system information, and stores the device-system-point hierarchy)
Duraisignh fails to explicitly disclose transmitting a plurality of commands on the building network, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; receiving a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the security devices via the building network; identifying a plurality of security subsystems on the building network based on whether the plurality of responses contain identifying containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on the building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; generating an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings on the building network and (ii) the security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and onboarding the security devices within each identified security subsystem.
However, in an analogous art, Tawfik discloses transmitting a plurality of commands on the building network, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; (Tawfik, [0015]-[0019] describes devices including cameras and control points, connect to a local network such as in an office building, advertise service and are discovered, and subsequently communicate; [0005], [0033]-[0035] The system generates and sends discovery messages through multiple protocol plug-ins and sends requests for service lists; [0004]-[0005], [0022]-[0023] each discovery message is translated from the generic application layer format into the format required by the protocol associated with the selected plug-in; [0017], [0034]-[0036], [0045]-[0047] describe discovery messages may target a particular service or class of services. Devices advertise different services through different discovery protocols)
receiving a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the security devices via the building network; (Tawfik in [0033]-[0036] describes receiving discovery messages and requested service lists from multiple devices)
identifying a plurality of security subsystems on the building network based on whether the plurality of responses contain identifying containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on the building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; (Tawfik, [0034]-[0036] describes the system determines whether the returned service information is supported or of interest and aggregates service information from devices using different protocols; [0018], [0033]-[0036], [0049] describe discovery messages contain lists of services or references permitting retrieval of service lists. The policy manager parses and translates those messages into a common format; [0020]-[0024], [0033] describes the protocol is identified by the discovery protocol and associated plug-in through which the message is received; [0017]-[0018], [0033]-[0036] describes the service advertisement or returned service list identifies the service or capability offered by the device)
generating an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings on the building network and (ii) the security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and (Tawfik in [0025], [0035]-[0036] describes aggregating the devices and services discovered through the various protocols)
onboarding the security devices within each identified security subsystem, (Tawfik, [0045]-[0048] describes after discovery, determines the communication method for the selected service and communicates with the target device to perform the service)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tawfik with the method/system of Duraisingh include transmitting a plurality of commands on the building network, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; receiving a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the security devices via the building network; identifying a plurality of security subsystems on the building network based on whether the plurality of responses contain identifying containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on the building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; generating an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings on the building network and (ii) the security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and onboarding the security devices within each identified security subsystem. One would have been motivated to provide an extensible network discovery system (Tawfik, [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Duraisingh discloses a building management system, comprising: (Duraisingh, [0002], [0063] describes a BMS that monitors and manages equipment in or around a physical building and may include a security system)
a communications bus; (Duraisingh, [0003], [0064], [0080]-[0084], Figures 2A-2B describe a bus architecture)
a plurality of security subsystems coupled to the communications bus and configured to communicate on the communications bus, (Duraisingh, [0002], [0063] describes the BMS may include a security system, HVAC, lighting and fire-alerting systems)
wherein the plurality of security subsystems each comprise one or more security devices configured to monitor a state or condition of a physical building that is serviced by the building management system; (Duraisingh, [0002], [0063] the BMS may include a security system, HVAC lighting, and fire-alerting systems; [0002]-[0003], [0063] describes the building equipment monitors or affects building conditions. The BMS may include a security system)
a cloud platform communicably coupled to the communications bus; and (Durasignh, [0003], [0123], [0128], Figures 9-10 describe a cloud-based data platform connected to the system manager which is connected to the equipment over the system bus, Figures 9-10 show the system manager between the bus equipment and the cloud platform)
a first device coupled to the communications bus comprising a processing circuit comprising one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (Duraisignh, [0080]-[0084], [0108] describes system manager 302 is coupled to system bus 354 and connected equipment; [0111]-[0112], processing circuit 406 includes processor 408 and memory 410. The processor executes instructions stored in the memory)
transmit a plurality of commands on the communications bus, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; (Duraisignh in [0162]-[0164] describes the system manager requests information, equipment models, point values and other information from newly detected devices; [0064] describes discovery across multiple buses and protocols; The BMS may include a security system and multiple building-system types)
receive a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the plurality of security subsystems via the communications bus; (Duraisingh in [0162]-[0164] describes receiving equipment information and device responses)
identify the plurality of security subsystems based on the plurality of responses containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on a building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; (Duraisignh in [0162]-[0165] describes user active-node and returned device information to identify devices and generate device lists and devices respond to information requests with equipment models, device type, model number, point types, or other device information. New devices are identified based on the information returned in response to the request and generates lists of devices on each BMS bus. Returned device information may include device type, model number, equipment model, and point-type information. The system supports discovery across multiple communications protocols. Returned device information can identify device type and model)
generate an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings and (ii) the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and (Duraisingh in [0165]-[0166, [0282]-[0284] describes generating a device tree that is a hierarchy of BMS devices. Devices on each zone bus are placed hierarchically under the associated zone coordinator. It also creates and stores a device-system point hierarchy in the cloud platform. [0165]-[0166], [0283]. The device tree places field devices beneath their corresponding coordinator or system device. The cloud data structure includes device, system and point relationships)
onboard the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem, (Duraisingh in [0167]-[0178], [0277]-[0284] describes automatically creating or obtains equipment models, interacts with devices using those models, creates cloud device shadows, associates devices with customer/site records, creates system information, and stores the device-system-point hierarchy)
Duraisignh fails to explicitly disclose transmit a plurality of commands on the communications bus, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; receive a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the plurality of security subsystems via the communications bus; identify the plurality of security subsystems based on the plurality of responses containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on a building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; generate an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings and (ii) the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and onboard the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem.
However, in an analogous art, Tawfik discloses transmit a plurality of commands on the communications bus, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; (Tawfik, [0015]-[0019] describes devices including cameras and control points, connect to a local network such as in an office building, advertise service and are discovered, and subsequently communicate; [0005], [0033]-[0035] The system generates and sends discovery messages through multiple protocol plug-ins and sends requests for service lists; [0004]-[0005], [0022]-[0023] each discovery message is translated from the generic application layer format into the format required by the protocol associated with the selected plug-in; [0017], [0034]-[0036], [0045]-[0047] describe discovery messages may target a particular service or class of services. Devices advertise different services through different discovery protocols)
receive a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the plurality of security subsystems via the communications bus; (Tawfik in [0033]-[0036] describes receiving discovery messages and requested service lists from multiple devices)
identify the plurality of security subsystems based on the plurality of responses containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on a building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; (Tawfik, [0034]-[0036] describes the system determines whether the returned service information is supported or of interest and aggregates service information from devices using different protocols; [0018], [0033]-[0036], [0049] describe discovery messages contain lists of services or references permitting retrieval of service lists. The policy manager parses and translates those messages into a common format; [0020]-[0024], [0033] describes the protocol is identified by the discovery protocol and associated plug-in through which the message is received; [0017]-[0018], [0033]-[0036] describes the service advertisement or returned service list identifies the service or capability offered by the device)
generate an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings and (ii) the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and (Tawfik in [0025], [0035]-[0036] describes aggregating the devices and services discovered through the various protocols)
onboard the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem, (Tawfik, [0045]-[0048] describes after discovery, determines the communication method for the selected service and communicates with the target device to perform the service)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tawfik with the method/system of Duraisingh include transmit a plurality of commands on the communications bus, each command comprising protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a corresponding subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types; receive a plurality of responses to the plurality of commands from the plurality of security subsystems via the communications bus; identify the plurality of security subsystems based on the plurality of responses containing one or more strings specified by the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for the plurality of security subsystem types, wherein each string of the one or more strings indicates both (1) a security protocol used to communicate on a building network and (2) a security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types that implements the security protocol; generate an asset hierarchy comprising (i) the plurality of security subsystems identified by the one or more strings and (ii) the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems; and onboard the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem. One would have been motivated to provide an extensible network discovery system (Tawfik, [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Duraisignh and Tawfik disclose the building management system of claim 16.
Duraisingh further discloses comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: identify a subset of the one or more security devices within each identified security subsystem; (Duraisignh, [0109]-[0110] describes the system manager includes processor 408 and memory 410; the processor executes instructions stored in memory to perform the disclosed processes; [0232]-[0234] describes the system determines which equipment properties to bind and monitors only those selected properties; An offline device is removed from the reported network tree leaving the remaining devices as a subset; [0113]-[0190 describes organizing devices hierarchically beneath associated zones coordinators and identifies equipment connected directly or indirectly through zone buses )
obtain device data for the one or more security devices; (Duraisignh, [0233]-[0234] describes the system subscribes to selected properties, receives responses or COV notifications containing current property values, and posts samples for present and reliable properties)
and provide the device data to a data platform, (Duraisignh, [0231]-[0234] describes the timeseries process collects and sends timeseries data to cloud platform 901, including posting samples to timeseries service 1316)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Nesler et al (“Nesler,” US 20100324962).
Regarding claim 2, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose further comprising operating the security devices using the protocol-specific subsystem criteria.
However, in an analogous art, Nesler discloses further comprising operating the security devices using the protocol-specific subsystem criteria (Nesler, [0024], [0030], [0034]-[0035] describes the security subsystem includes occupancy sensors, video-surveillance cameras, digital video recorders, video-processing servers, intrusion-detection devices, access-control devices and servers. Conversion for each protocol is based on stored modules for the corresponding systems or devices. The modules may be tables, scripts, schema maps, protocol descriptions, or plug-in drivers and may be vendor specific or standards-based; the building-subsystem normalization component uses the stored protocol modules to translate messages to and from the protocol used by the corresponding subsystem or device. Control decisions produce “on” or other commands that pass through the integration layer, are properly formatted or protocolled for the particular subsystem and are forwarded for receipt and action. A normalized control decision is translated into a subsystem or controller specific command. For multiple disparately protocolled subsystems, it is converted into multiple different commands for receipt and action)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nesler with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik include further comprising operating the security devices using the protocol-specific subsystem criteria. One would have been motivated to provide systems and methods for integrating a building management system with smart grid components and data (Nesler, [0002]).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Kim et al (“Kim,” US 20180129810).
Regarding claim 3, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria comprises a unique network port and an identifying string for each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types.
However, in an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria comprises a unique network port and an identifying string for each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types, (Kim, [0032], [0048], [0053]-[0060] describe identifying a network service or product using the protocol-associated port and predetermined product/service keywords searched in the response banner; each communication protocol has a unique port and acquires service information operating at a specific port. A character string is acquired from the banner of the open port and uses that string to identify the responding service/product. Kim describes applying its technique to different service and product types such as ProFTPD, OpenSSH, Microsoft FTP Service; MicroTik RouterOS. A CPE dictionary or tree includes multiple vendor and product candidates and selects the product matching the returned banner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik include wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria comprises a unique network port and an identifying string for each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types. One would have been motivated to perform overall keyword analysis for banner information based on a CPE dictionary (Kim, [0008]).
Regarding claim 18, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the building management system of claim 16.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria comprises a unique network port and an identifying string of the one or more strings.
However, in an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria comprises a unique network port and an identifying string of the one or more strings, (Kim, [0032], [0048], [0055]-[0056] describe associating a protocol-specific port with banner information and evaluates the returned banner using predefined product/service keywords. Each communication protocol has a unique port and acquires service information operating at a specific port. A character string is contained in the banner of the open port and searches that string for identifying keywords. Different banner strings are processed including 220ProFTPD; SSH-2.0 openssh, 220 Microsoft FTP service. The vendor and product keywords are matched in the banner and generates a CPE identifying the responding product or service)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria comprises a unique network port and an identifying string of the one or more strings. One would have been motivated to perform overall keyword analysis for banner information based on a CPE dictionary (Kim, [0008]).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Cole et al (“Cole,” US 20120144493).
Regarding claim 4, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria.
However, in an analogous art, Cole discloses wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria, (Cole in [0032], [0034] describes sets of TCP or UDP complaint data packets transmitted to a target computer. The packets function as commands or probes intended to elicit a response. Each packet is directed to a port represented by one of the stored port identifiers. Separate sets of port identifiers are stored for ports used to receive packets compliant with respective first and second protocols. Each identifier represents a port associated with a known network service; [0034] describes identifying TCP and UDP ports and sends protocol-compliant packets to those identified ports)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cole with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria. One would have been motivated to provide automatic detection, monitoring and reporting of network vulnerabilities (Cole, [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the building management system of claim 16.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria.
However, in an analogous art, Cole discloses wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria, (Cole, [0178]-[0179[ describes transmitting TCP or UDP service-discovery packets to interrogate services at selected ports. The packets function as the claimed commands. The TCP scan sends packets to identified TCP service ports, and the UDP scan sends the packets to identified UDP service ports. Separate TCP and UDP service-discovery lists identify the respective TCP and UDP service ports to be examined; [0163] describes the service-discovery table associated named services with their corresponding TCP and/or UDP port numbers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cole with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria. One would have been motivated to provide systems and methods for automatic detection, monitoring and reporting of network vulnerabilities (Cole, [0001]).
Claims 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Liu et al (“Liu,” US 20180092151).
Regarding claim 5, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose further comprising identifying a subset of the security devices within each security subsystem and obtaining device data for the security devices providing the device data to a data platform.
However, in an analogous art, Liu discloses further comprising identifying a subset of the security devices within each security subsystem and obtaining device data for the security devices providing the device data to a data platform (Liu discloses further comprising [0012] identifying a subset of the security devices [0012] within each identified security subsystem [0027] and obtaining device data [0028] for the security devices [0012] and providing the device to a data platform [0021], [0059])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria. One would have been motivated to provide manage IoT devices (Liu, [0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Duraisingh, Tawfik and Liu discloses the method of claim 5.
Liu further discloses wherein the data platform is a cloud-based data platform (Liu discloses [0021], [0027] wherein the data platform is a cloud-based data platform [0021], [0059])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein the data platform is a cloud-based data platform. One would have been motivated to provide manage IoT devices (Liu, [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Duraisingh, Tawfik and Liu disclose the method of claim 5.
Liu further discloses wherein the subset of the security devices is identified based on a status of the security devices provided in the plurality of responses, (Liu discloses wherein the subset is identified based on a status [0028], [0035] of the security devices [0035], [0059] provided in the plurality of responses [0067], [0069], [0092])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein the subset of the security devices is identified based on a status of the security devices provided in the plurality of responses. One would have been motivated to provide manage IoT devices (Liu, [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria are obtained from a data platform.
However, in an analogous art, Liu discloses wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria are obtained from a data platform, (Liu discloses [0091] wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria [0099], [0101] are obtained from a data platform [0021], [0059])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria are obtained from a data platform. One would have been motivated to provide manage IoT devices (Liu, [0027]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013), Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) in view of Liu et al (“Liu,” US 20180092151) and further in view of Zhang et al (“Zhang,” US 20200351156).
Regarding claim 8, Duraisingh, Tawfik and Liu disclose the method of claim 5.
Duraisingh, Tawfik and Liu fail to explicitly disclose wherein identifying the subset of the security devices within each identified security subsystem comprises receiving a selection from a user comprising the subset of the security devices.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang discloses wherein identifying the subset of the security devices within each identified security subsystem comprises receiving a selection from a user comprising the subset of the security devices, (Zhang, [0030]-[0032] describes reporting all discovered devices to a management application, displays them in a list and then identifies the user-selected device from that discovered population. The user selects a new device from the displayed list and acknowledges that selection to the management application. The selected device is one member or a subset of the larger set of discovered devices displayed to the user. The management application communicates which device was selected)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the method/system of Duraisingh, Tawfik and Liu to include wherein identifying the subset of the security devices within each identified security subsystem comprises receiving a selection from a user comprising the subset of the security devices,. One would have been motivated to provide systems and methods for automating an onboarding of a device to an existing network (Zhang, [0001]).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Anderson, Jr et al (“Anderson,” US 20130086066).
Regarding claim 12, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Tawfik further discloses performing a device scan for each security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems identified on the building network, (Tawfik in [0033]-[0036] describes the discovery subsystem listens for discovery messages, requests and service information, receives and aggregates discovered information and stores it in a generic format and supports multiple discovery protocols)
wherein each device scan comprises: selecting, from a plurality of connectors, at least one connector associated with a particular security subsystem; (Tawfik in [0022]-[0023] discloses discovery subsystem 202 includes multiple plug-ins 210. The policy manager manages communications through those plug-ins and may automatically use the appropriate plug-in. Each plug-in is associated with a particular discovery protocol and communicates with devices using that protocol)
scanning, using the at least one connector, the particular security subsystem for one or more security devices; and generating a device scan response including the one or more security devices and the particular security subsystem, (Tawfik in [0033]-[0036], [0018] discloses the selected protocol plug-in listens for discovery messages. Upon discovering a device, the system requests and receives the device’s offered services through the discovery protocol; discovers generic network devices and services including cameras. The system receives and aggregates the list of discovered services and stores the information in a generic format. The aggregated discovery information identifies devices and their available services. A record retains protocol/service information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tawfik with the method/system of Duraisingh include performing a device scan for each security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems identified on the building network, wherein each device scan comprises: selecting, from a plurality of connectors, at least one connector associated with a particular security subsystem; scanning, using the at least one connector, the particular security subsystem for one or more security devices; and generating a device scan response including the one or more security devices and the particular security subsystem. One would have been motivated to provide an extensible network discovery system (Tawfik, [0004]).
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose performing a device scan for each security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems identified on the building network; wherein each device scan comprises: at least one connector associated with a particular security subsystem; scanning, using the at least one connector, the particular security subsystem for one or more security devices; and generating a device scan response including the one or more security devices and the particular security subsystem
However, in an analogous art, Anderson discloses performing a device scan for each security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems identified on the building network; (Anderson in [0030], [0059]-[0062] describes the object-manager application searched for and discovers objects and devices on building networks and organizes the discovered objects into hierarchies)
at least one connector associated with a particular security subsystem; (Anderson in [0033]-[0034] describes that security devices and subsystems communicate on a building network including by BACnet and LonTalk)
scanning, using the at least one connector, the particular security subsystem for one or more security devices; (Anderson, [0024]-[0025], [0030] describes the security system includes security devices such as cameras, detectors, motion sensors, glass-break sensors, alarms, and door/window sensors. The object manager discovers corresponding devices and objects)
and generating a device scan response including the one or more security devices and the particular security subsystem (Anderson, [0059]-[0060] the discovery process returns names and objects associated with discovered devices, which are processed to determine type and location; [0025], [0059]-[0062] describe discovered objects correspond to security devices, and the resulting hierarchy includes objects associated with those devices; [0024]-[0025], [0059]-[0062] Object type and device location are identified and groups the discovered objects in a hierarchy. Its system architecture separately identifies the security system containing the security devices)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Anderson with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik include performing a device scan for each security subsystem of the plurality of security subsystems identified on the building network; wherein each device scan comprises: at least one connector associated with a particular security subsystem; scanning, using the at least one connector, the particular security subsystem for one or more security devices; and generating a device scan response including the one or more security devices and the particular security subsystem. One would have been motivated to provide automate discovery and generation of hierarchies for building automation and control network objects (Anderson, [0007]).
12. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013), Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) in view of Anderson, Jr et al (“Anderson,” US 20130086066) and further in view of Arnold et al (“Arnold,” US 20100223387).
Regarding claim 13, Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson disclose the method of claim 12.
Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson fail to explicitly disclose further comprising determining that the device scan response includes one or more duplicate security devices in the one or more security devices and removing the one or more duplicate security devices from the device scan `response.
However, in an analogous art, Arnold discloses further comprising determining that the device scan response includes one or more duplicate security devices in the one or more security devices and removing the one or more duplicate security devices from the device scan `response, (Arnold, [0041]-[0043] describes receiving network-resource response messages after issuing resource requests under multiple protocols. These responses are a device scan response and that the resources are security devices; [0030]-[0032], [0043]-[0044] describes the same node may return independent responses under multiple protocols, making one resource appear as multiple resources. The system compares response identifiers with duplicate suppression information to determine that separate responses correspond to the same network resource; [0044]-[0045] describes if the resource is already in the list, the system does not add it again; alternatively it removes the existing listing and replaces it with a preferred protocol listing; [0043]-[0047] creates a resource list from the received network-resource responses, with duplicate entries excluded or removed)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arnold with the method/system of Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson to include further comprising determining that the device scan response includes one or more duplicate security devices in the one or more security devices and removing the one or more duplicate security devices from the device scan `response. One would have been motivated to discover computer network resources and eliminate duplicate computer resources (Arnold, [0001])
13. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013), Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) in view of Anderson, Jr et al (“Anderson,” US 20130086066) and further in view of Nagabhairava et al (“Nagabhairava,” US 20200225725).
Regarding claim 14, Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson disclose the method of claim 12.
Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson fail to explicitly disclose further comprising: assigning the security devices within at least one identified security subsystem to at least one of a plurality of device categories based on the device scan response.
However, in an analogous art, Nagabhairava discloses further comprising: assigning the security devices within at least one identified security subsystem to at least one of a plurality of device categories based on the device scan response (Nagabhairava in [0062]-[0064] describes associating device with networks and locations; [0057]-[0058] describes the classification component checks each discovered device against multiple defined device types and creates the corresponding category-specific profile, such as power-monitor, VFD or smart-relay profile; [0055]-[0058] describes the discovery component pings network addresses and reads the device’s identify object. Classification is based on identity information returned from the discovered device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagabhairava with the method/system of Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson include further comprising: assigning the security devices within at least one identified security subsystem to at least one of a plurality of device categories based on the device scan response. One would have been motivated to catalog smart power and energy devices (Nagabhairava, [0003]).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013), Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) in view of Anderson, Jr et al (“Anderson,” US 20130086066) and further in view of Liu et al (“Liu,” US 20180092151).
Regarding claim 15, Duraisingh. Tawfik and Anderson disclose the method of claim 12.
Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson fail to explicitly disclose wherein the device scan response comprises at least one of an online status, firmware version, software version, model, serial number, disk space, video recording status, tamper status, or license expiration for at least one of the one or more security devices.
However, in an analogous art, Liu discloses wherein the device scan response comprises at least one of an online status, firmware version, software version, model, serial number, disk space, video recording status, tamper status, or license expiration for at least one of the one or more security devices, (Liu discloses collecting [0028], [0035] and reporting device status [0028], [0035] and data to the cloud platform [0021], [0059])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method/system of Duraisingh, Tawfik and Anderson to include wherein the device scan response comprises at least one of an online status, firmware version, software version, model, serial number, disk space, video recording status, tamper status, or license expiration for at least one of the one or more security devices. One would have been motivated to provide a method and system for remotely managing IoT devices (Liu, [0026]).
17. Claim 21 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Baskwill et al (“Baskwill,” US 20150006687)
Regarding claim 21, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein each string of the one or more strings further indicates a network port assigned to a corresponding security subsystem type.
However, in an analogous art, Baskwill discloses wherein each string of the one or more strings further indicates a network port assigned to a corresponding security subsystem type, (Baskwill, [0042], [0048]-[0049] describe named service instances in response to a query and sues the selected service-instance name with associated SRV/TXT records to construct a service endpoint identifier; [0032]-[0048] describes SRV records identify the host and port at which a service is accessible; processing produces server-name/port number tuples; [0042], [0048] describe the query is issued for services of a predetermined type; the returned named instances are associated with the SRV records identifying the port for that service instance/type)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baskwill with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik to include wherein each command is transmitted on a network port identified in the protocol-specific subsystem criteria. One would have been motivated to use DNS to retrieve application configuration settings (Baskwill, [0002]).
18. Claim 22 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013), Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) in view of Byrne et al (“Byrne,” US 20130116006) and further in view of Take et al (“Take,” US 20200387415).
Regarding claim 22, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein identifying the plurality of security subsystems comprises assigning, to each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types, a respective Application Programing Interface (API) with which to communicate.
However, in an analogous art, Byrne discloses wherein identifying the plurality of security subsystems comprises assigning, to each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types, a respective Application Programing Interface (API) with which to communicate, (Byrne [0018], [0016], [0020] describes determining the respective type of a discovered electronic device based on an initial communications link. There are multiple device types-types A, B and C and a plurality of application modules associated with the respective types; Respective application modules are associated with respective device types and after determining the type, causes the corresponding module to communicate with that device. The control-module may be implemented as a part of an API. The corresponding application module is used to establish the subsequent communication link)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik include wherein identifying the plurality of security subsystems comprises assigning, to each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types, a respective Application Programing Interface (API) with which to communicate. One would have been motivated to provide wireless communications devices and related methods (Byrne, [0002]).
Duraisingh, Tawfik and Byrne fail to explicitly disclose a respective Application Programing Interface (API) with which to communicate
However, in an analogous art, Take discloses a respective Application Programing Interface (API) with which to communicate, (Take, [0046], [0049], [0060]-[0061] describe separate APIs and API adapters corresponding respectively to different service providers; A respective API adapter converts an order into the API call for the corresponding provider and returns the response)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Take with the method/system of Duraisingh, Tawfik and Byrne include wherein identifying the plurality of security subsystems comprises assigning, to each security subsystem type of the plurality of security subsystem types, a respective Application Programing Interface (API) with which to communicate. One would have been motivated to provide an API adapter, an API adapter creation method, and a program capable of efficiently creating an API adapter unit for use in a new wholesale service/specification change (Take, [0025]).
19. Claim 23 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Park et al (“Park,” US 20120011126).
Regarding claim 23, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein the asset hierarchy represents one or more relationships that represent how information is shared between the building management system and the plurality of security subsystem types.
However, in an analogous art, Park discloses wherein the asset hierarchy represents one or more relationships that represent how information is shared between the building management system and the plurality of security subsystem types, (Park, [0043]-[0044], [0040] describes the fact database stores projected semantic type strings based on a hierarchical BAS model. Each string can communicate the full hierarchy from a root node to a particular object or attribute. The hierarchy represents relationships. Is A Kind of and has Attribute are examples and uses different delimiters to represent different relationship types. The BAS includes access-control, video-surveillance, and intrusion subsystems, as well as other building subsystems. These are separate security-subsystem types and use disparate protocols. Subsystem specific information is used to find the corresponding hierarchical record. The projected hierarchy information is appended to the subsystem message; and the message is forwarded to an application or other process. The hierarchy therefore descries the type and context of the information being shared; the semantic mediator receives subsystem information, makes the messages semantically complete and provides them through the BMS integration architecture to other subsystems or applications)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik include wherein the asset hierarchy represents one or more relationships that represent how information is shared between the building management system and the plurality of security subsystem types.. One would have been motivated to facilitate information between a plurality of building automation subsystems (Park, [0001]).
20. Claim 24 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh et al (“Duraisingh,” US 20190108013) in view of Tawfik et al (“Tawfik,” US 20100057827) and further in view of Kim et al (“Kim,” US 20180129810).
Regarding claim 24, Duraisingh and Tawfik disclose the method of claim 1.
Duraisingh and Tawfik fail to explicitly disclose wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a first security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types includes (1) an indication of a port to which the first security subsystem type is connected and (2) one or more sets of information to be included in a response from the first security subsystem type.
However, in an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a first security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types includes (Kim, [0032], [0040], [0048] describes associating a communication protocol with a particular port and uses a CPE tree containing predetermined vendor, product, version, update, edition, and language information as criteria for evaluating returned service information and a particular network product or service type from information returned by the service)
(1) an indication of a port to which the first security subsystem type is connected and (Kim, [0032] describes the service-information acquiring unit obtains information from a specific port. Each communication protocol has a unique port and that open TCP/UDP ports may be identified using a port scan or commands. The service being identified operates at the specific open port of the network-connected computer system)
(2) one or more sets of information to be included in a response from the first security subsystem type, (Kim, [0040], the CPE Tree contains organized sets or levels of identifying information: vendor, product name, product version, update, edition and language; [0032], [0048] describes the system searches the predetermined vendor/product keywords from the CPE tree in the returned banner, which is the service response obtained from the open port; [0056] describes searching a banner for Microsoft, ftp, and service and selects a CPE matching those multiple pieces of returned information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the method/system of Duraisingh and Tawfik include wherein the protocol-specific subsystem criteria for a first security subsystem type of a plurality of security subsystem types includes (1) an indication of a port to which the first security subsystem type is connected and (2) one or more sets of information to be included in a response from the first security subsystem type. One would have been motivated to identify vulnerability information by performing keyword analysis for a banner of an open port (Kim, [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J WILCOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439