DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “incudes” is mistyped. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US Patent No. 11,515,918 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 31, UE 200) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 31, transceiver 206) configured to receive information about (i) a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig. 28, block S2801, UE receives configuration information including CSI reporting settting), (ii) Ks CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (col. 2, lines 23-39, the configuration information includes information on a CSI-RS resource set. The CSI-RS resource set may include M, M is a natural number, CSI-RS resource groups), and (iii) a value of M (col. 2, lines 23-39, N, N is a natural number, CSI-RS resource groups for reporting the CSI), where Ks>1 (Fig. 9, resource set includes 3 resource groups), 1<M≤min(X,Ks) (col. 2, lines 23-39, N ≤ M), and X is an integer (Fig. 9, X may be 1 resource group and is an integer); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 31, processor 202), the processor, based on the information, configured to:
measure the Ks CSI-RS resources (Fig. 28, block S2804, UE performs CSI measurement on M resource set, illustrated in Fig. 9), and
determine the CSI report associated with M CSI-RS resources out of the Ks CSI-RS resources (Fig. 28, block S2805, UE transmits CSI report including N resource groups of out of M resource groups of resource set), where the CSI report (col. 17, line 52) includes:
M CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (col. 17, lines 55-65, N CRIs),
M precoding matrix indicators (PMIs) (col. 17, lines 55-65, N PMIs), and
M channel quality indicators (CQIs) (col. 17, lines 55-65, N CQIs),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI report (Fig. 28, block S2805 and Fig. 31, transceiver 206 for transmitting CSI report).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Kim discloses that wherein the information further incudes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, report quantity, set to ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’ (col. 32, lines 34-38, configuration includes reportQuantity set to “cri-RI-PMI-CQI” or “cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses that wherein the information includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, codebookConfig, set to ‘typeI-SinglePanel’ or ‘typeII-r16’ (col. 36, Table 13, codebook Type is set to typeI SinglePanel).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses that wherein a supported value of Ks is subject to a first UE capability (col. 19, lines 12, M depends on UE capability), and a supported value of M is subject to a second UE capability (col. 91, lines 52-57, N resource groups configured based on UE capability).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses that wherein the value of X corresponds to 2 or 4 (Fig. 9. M resource groups can be 1, 2, 3 or others).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a base station (Fig. 31, BS 100) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 31, processor 102); and
a transceiver (Fig. 31, transceiver 106) coupled to the processor (Fig. 31), the transceiver configured to:
transmit information about (i) a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig. 28, block S2801, UE receives configuration information including CSI reporting settting), (ii) Ks CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (col. 2, lines 23-39, the configuration information includes information on a CSI-RS resource set. The CSI-RS resource set may include M, M is a natural number, CSI-RS resource groups), and (iii) a value of M (col. 2, lines 23-39, N CSI-RS resource groups for reporting the CSI), where Ks>1 (Fig. 9, resource set includes 3 resource groups), 1<M≤min(X,Ks) (col. 2, lines 23-39, N ≤ M), and X is an integer (Fig. 9, X may be 1 resource group and is an integer); and
receive the CSI report associated with M CSI-RS resources out of Ks CSI-RS resources (Fig. 28, block S2805, UE transmits CSI report including N resource groups of out of M resource groups of resource set), where the CSI report (col. 17, line 52) includes:
M CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (col. 17, lines 55-65, N CRIs),
M precoding matrix indicators (PMIs) (col. 17, lines 55-65, N PMIs), and
M channel quality indicators (CQIs) (col. 17, lines 55-65, N CQIs).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses that wherein the information further incudes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, report quantity, set to ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’ (col. 32, lines 34-38, configuration includes reportQuantity set to “cri-RI-PMI-CQI” or “cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses that wherein the information includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, codebookConfig, set to ‘typeI-SinglePanel’ or ‘typeII-r16’ (col. 36, Table 13, codebook Type is set to typeI SinglePanel).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses that wherein a supported value of Ks is subject to a first UE capability (col. 19, lines 12, M depends on UE capability), and a supported value of M is subject to a second UE capability (col. 91, lines 52-57, N resource groups configured based on UE capability).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses that wherein the value of X corresponds to 2 or 4 (Fig. 9. M resource groups can be 1, 2, 3 or others).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 10-11, 13, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Lee et al (US 2025/0088246 A1), same assignee, discloses CSI reporting (Fig. 17).
Lee et al (US 2026/0066971 A1), same assignee, discloses CSI reporting (Figs. 12-13).
Hao et al (US 2023/0254022 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses CQI reporting (Figs. 14-17).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472