DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner would like Applicant to ensure the Remarks filed on June 17, 2026 are how Applicant expected because Examiner felt it may have been cookie cutter language that did not accurately respond to the Restriction sent April 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campfield (US 8,268,104) in view of Syfko (US 2020/0230900).
In reference to Claim 1, Campfield discloses a resin for glass repair (Abstract) (a resin material repairing defects in glass), comprising: a UV curable resin (Abstract) (a light-curable resin); injection of the UV resin (7:50-54) (said mixture of light curable resin and particulate forming a liquid solution for positioning into a resin injector for injection into a defect in glass).
Campfield does not disclose particulate material mixed into said light curable resin to form a mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate disbursed therein, said mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate forming said liquid solution when positioned within said defect being curable by light communicated thereto to thereby form a solid solution of cured light-curable resin and particulate within said defect whereby said particulate in said solid solution blocks reflections of sunlight emanating from said defect.
Syfko discloses photoinitiator particles within the resin ([0015]) (particulate material mixed into said light curable resin to form a mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate disbursed therein); when properly repaired the optical properties will match the glass being repaired ([0125]) (said mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate forming said liquid solution when positioned within said defect being curable by light communicated thereto to thereby form a solid solution of cured light-curable resin and particulate within said defect whereby said particulate in said solid solution blocks reflections of sunlight emanating from said defect).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the material of Campfield using the particles of Syfko because the wavelength needed to cure the particles is within the UV range. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the particles of Syfko in the material of Campfield because a single wavelength to cure the particles and resin base speeds up the process. The reasonable expectation of success would be a repaired section of glass with the same optical properties as before the defect occurred.
In reference to Claim 2, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 1, as described above.
Syfko discloses a portion of the resin is isobornyl acrylate ([0075]-[0097]) (light-curable resin is one or a combination of light-curable resins, from a group of light-curable resins including, Benzyl Methacrylate, 2-Hydroxyethyl methacrylate, Octyl Acrylate, Decyl Acrylate, Acrylic Acid, and Isobornyl Acrylate).
In reference to Claim 3, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 1, as described above.
Syfko discloses the particles being activated by the exposure to light ([0015) (particulate is formed of a particulate material which will not dissolve within the light curable-resin into which they are mixed).
In reference to Claim 4, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 2, as described above.
Syfko discloses the particles being activated by the exposure to light ([0015) (particulate is formed of a particulate material which will not dissolve within the light curable-resin into which they are mixed).
In reference to Claim 7, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 3, as described above.
Syfko discloses photoinitiator particles from 1-10% ([0059]-[0069]) (particulate material within said mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate material is at a ratio of .04 to 20% of particulate material by total volume of the mixture of light-curable resin and particulate material).
In reference to Claim 8, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 4, as described above.
Syfko discloses photoinitiator particles from 1-10% ([0059]-[0069]) (particulate material within said mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate material is at a ratio of .04 to 20% of particulate material by total volume of the mixture of light-curable resin and particulate material).
Claims 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campfield (US 8,268,104) in view of Syfko (US 2020/0230900) as applied to Claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Koep, et al. (US 2019/0308904).
In reference to Claim 5, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 3, as described above.
Modified Campfield does not disclose particulate material is one or a combination of particulate materials from a group of particulate materials including graphene, carbon, carbon black, graphite, and ceramics.
Koep discloses an acrylate based resin with carbon nanoparticles ([0049]) (particulate material is one or a combination of particulate materials from a group of particulate materials including graphene, carbon, carbon black, graphite, and ceramics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the material of modified Campfield using the particles of Koep because the carbon nanoparticles strengthen the resin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the particles of Koep in the material of modified Campfield because the strength improves the repair. The reasonable expectation of success would be a repaired section of glass with a strong resin.
In reference to Claim 6, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 4, as described above.
Modified Campfield does not disclose particulate material is one or a combination of particulate materials from a group of particulate materials including graphene, carbon, carbon black, graphite, and ceramics.
Koep discloses an acrylate based resin with carbon nanoparticles ([0049]) (particulate material is one or a combination of particulate materials from a group of particulate materials including graphene, carbon, carbon black, graphite, and ceramics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the material of modified Campfield using the particles of Koep because the carbon nanoparticles strengthen the resin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the particles of Koep in the material of modified Campfield because the strength improves the repair. The reasonable expectation of success would be a repaired section of glass with a strong resin.
In reference to Claim 9, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 5, as described above.
Syfko discloses photoinitiator particles from 1-10% ([0059]-[0069]) (particulate material within said mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate material is at a ratio of .04 to 20% of particulate material by total volume of the mixture of light-curable resin and particulate material).
In reference to Claim 10, modified Campfield discloses the material of Claim 6, as described above.
Syfko discloses photoinitiator particles from 1-10% ([0059]-[0069]) (particulate material within said mixture of said light curable resin and said particulate material is at a ratio of .04 to 20% of particulate material by total volume of the mixture of light-curable resin and particulate material).
Conclusion
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742