Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5,6,8-11,15-189 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (20250224785) in view of Lan (12046530).
Regarding claim 1, Moore shows a mobile phone [0010] that includes a display and a battery (abstract). The phone includes a front and rear housing (110 and 103). Moore has a chassis assembly 112, circuit board 104 and thermal layer 112c bridging the circuit board and the chassis and cover areas. Moore doesn’t teach through holes in the thermal layer where the holes interrupt heat flow.
Lan teaches holes in the thermal bridge of a circuit board. The through holes interrupt the thermal path to use Copper Bumps for mitigation. See col 3 lines 5-15. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have holes in the thermal bridge of Moore as taught by Lan to improve handling of heat.
Regarding claim 2, Moore shows a circuit board with a processor 106 mounted on a first surface. The battery is part of the chassis assembly with creates a thermal bridge and is connected to the circuit board 104.
Regarding claim 3, Moore’s chassis creates a thermal bridge that couples regions of the chassis.
Regarding claim 5, the circuit board and the battery are on the same side of the chassis which acts as the claimed thermal bridge.
Regarding claim 6, the thermal diffuser layer of Mooer is graphite. Paragraph [0018]
Regarding claim 8, Moore shows an enclosure for a portable electronic device that has a front and rear housing (110 and 103). Moore has a chassis assembly 112, circuit board 104 and thermal layer 112c bridging the circuit board and the chassis and cover areas. Moore doesn’t teach through holes in the thermal layer where the holes interrupt heat flow.
Lan teaches holes in the thermal bridge of a circuit board. The through holes interrupt the thermal path to use Copper Bumps for mitigation. See col 3 lines 5-15. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have holes in the thermal bridge of Moore as taught by Lan to improve handling of heat.
Regarding claim 9, Moore includes a battery as claimed (108).
Regarding claim 10, Moore multiple exterior surfaces since the housing is a three-dimensional box. The examiner takes official notice that since the device 100 is a phone, it inherently includes a circuit that includes a wireless communication circuit. Additionally, the phone housing would inherently include an antenna to communicate as a mobile phone.
Regarding claim 11, Moore further includes a display as discussed in paragraph [0010]. Inherently there would be a frame support for such a display to exist inside the phone housing.
Lan teaches holes in the thermal bridge of a circuit board. The through holes interrupt the thermal path to use Copper Bumps for mitigation. See col 3 lines 5-15. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have holes in the thermal bridge of Moore as taught by Lan to improve handling of heat.
Regarding claim 15, Moore shows a thermal chassis for an electronic device. Moore teaches a housing that includes a front cover (110, that includes a display [0015]) and a rear cover (103). Moore includes a circuit board that is connected to the chassis assembly. Moore also includes a battery (108) connected to the chassis. Moore shows a Thermal diffuser 112 to transfer heat.
Regarding claim 16, the thermal diffuser is for spreading heat.
Regarding claim 17, the thermal diffuser is made of graphite. See paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 18, Lan teaches holes in the thermal bridge of a circuit board. The through holes interrupt the thermal path to use Copper Bumps for mitigation. See col 3 lines 5-15. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have holes in the thermal bridge of Moore as taught by Lan to improve handling of heat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,7,12-14,19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686