CTNF 18/827,616 CTNF 80373 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoder et al. (US 20200195025 A1; hereinafter “YODER”) in view of Allore et al. (US 20160021226 A1; hereinafter “ALLORE”) . Regarding claim 1 , YODER teaches a mobile phone (YODER discloses an electronic device 100 which may be a mobile phone, para. 0015-20) comprising: an enclosure (YODER discloses a "device case 104" and "device case 520"); and a housing structure defining a side exterior surface of the enclosure (YODER discloses a "device case 104" and "device case 520"), the housing structure comprising a conductive mounting structure (YODER describes a device case 520 that features a "conductive surface" acting as an electrode, para. 0042-51); a battery within the enclosure (YODER discloses a rechargeable battery 102/502 within the device case, para. 0015-20,42-46); and an electrically debondable adhesive structure removably coupling the battery to the conductive mounting structure (YODER discloses an interface stack 506 coupling the battery 502 to the device case 520, para. 0042-46) and comprising: a conductive layer coupled to the battery (YODER describes a conductive layer 510 that is coupled to the battery 502 via an insulating adhesive 514, para. 0042-46); and an electrically debondable adhesive layer adhered to the conductive layer and to the conductive mounting structure (YODER discloses an interface stack 506 coupling the battery 502 to the device case 520, para. 0042-46) and defining: a first surface adhered to and conductively coupled to the conductive layer; and a second surface adhered to and conductively coupled to the conductive mounting structure (YODER discloses an electro-adhesive layer 508 layered on the device case 520 and in contact with the conductive layer 510, utilizing the conductive surface of the device case 520 as a secondary electrode, para. 0042-51), the electrically debondable adhesive layer configured to reduce its adhesive strength along at least one of the first surface or the second surface in response to a voltage potential applied across the electrically debondable adhesive layer via the conductive layer and the conductive mounting structure (YODER discloses a predetermined voltage differential between the conductive layer 510 and the device case 520 generates a localized charge build-up causing a chemical reaction that weakens the bond at the interface, para. 0042-51). YODER is silent to teaching that the enclosure comprising: a front cover assembly defining a front exterior surface of the enclosure; and a housing structure coupled to the front cover assembly. In the same field of endeavor, ALLORE teaches an enclosure comprising: a front cover assembly defining a front exterior surface of the enclosure; and a housing structure coupled to the front cover assembly (ALLORE discloses the front housing 310 and the rear housing 311, para. 0025, fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of YODER with the teaching of ALLORE in order to allow various batteries to be incorporated into various devices (ALLORE, para. 0002). Regarding claim 3 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the mobile phone of claim 1, wherein the conductive layer is adhesively coupled to the battery along a first side of the conductive layer and adhesively coupled to the electrically debondable adhesive layer along a second side of the conductive layer (YODER discloses the conductive layer 510 is adhesively coupled to the battery 502 via an insulating adhesive 514 on one side, and coupled to the electro-adhesive layer 508 on the other side, para. 0042-51). Regarding claim 7 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the mobile phone of claim 1, wherein the electrically debondable adhesive layer is configured to reduce its adhesive strength along the second surface in response to a voltage potential applied across the electrically debondable adhesive layer via the conductive layer and the conductive mounting structure (YODER discloses that the voltage differential causes a chemical reaction that weakens the bond at the specific interface between the device case 520 (the second surface) and the electro-adhesive layer 508, para. 0042-51). Regarding claim 8 , YODER teaches a portable electronic device (YODER, fig. 1, 8) comprising: a display (YODER, fig. 8, display 806); a housing structure comprising a conductive mounting structure (YODER describes a device case 520 that features a "conductive surface" acting as an electrode, para. 0042-51); a battery (YODER discloses a rechargeable battery 102/502 within the device case, para. 0015-20,42-46); an electrically debondable adhesive coupling the battery to the conductive mounting structure (YODER discloses an interface stack 506 coupling the battery 502 to the device case 520, para. 0042-46); a first electrode conductively coupled to a first surface of the electrically debondable adhesive, the first electrode defined by the conductive mounting structure; and a second electrode conductively coupled to a second surface of the electrically debondable adhesive (YODER discloses an electro-adhesive layer 508 layered on the device case 520 and in contact with the conductive layer 510, utilizing the conductive surface of the device case 520 as a secondary electrode, para. 0042-51), the electrically debondable adhesive configured to decouple the battery from the conductive mounting structure in response to a voltage potential applied between the first electrode and the second electrode (YODER discloses a predetermined voltage differential between the conductive layer 510 and the device case 520 generates a localized charge build-up causing a chemical reaction that weakens the bond at the interface, para. 0042-51). YODER is silent to teaching that comprising a front cover defining a front exterior surface of the portable electronic device; a display coupled to an interior surface of the front cover; and a housing structure coupled to the front cover and comprising a conductive mounting structure below the front cover. In the same field of endeavor, ALLORE teaches a device (ALLORE, fig. 9) comprising a front cover defining a front exterior surface of the portable electronic device (ALLORE, fig. 9, front housing 310); a display coupled to an interior surface of the front cover (ALLORE, fig. 9, display 330); and a housing structure coupled to the front cover and comprising a conductive mounting structure below the front cover (ALLORE, fig. 9, rear housing 311). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of YODER with the teaching of ALLORE in order to allow various batteries to be incorporated into various devices (ALLORE, para. 0002). Regarding claim 11 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the portable electronic device of claim 8, wherein the second electrode is defined by a conductive layer positioned between the electrically debondable adhesive and the battery (YODER discloses the second electrode is defined by a conductive layer 510 positioned between the electro-adhesive layer 508 and the battery 502, para. 0042-51). Regarding claim 12 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the portable electronic device of claim 8, wherein: the housing structure comprises: a first wall section defining at least a portion of a first side exterior surface of the portable electronic device; and a second wall section defining at least a portion of a second side exterior surface of the portable electronic device opposite the first side exterior surface; and the conductive mounting structure extends from the first wall section to the second wall section (ALLORE, fig. 9, para. 0025). Regarding claim 14 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the portable electronic device of claim 8, further comprising switching circuitry operably coupled to the battery and to the first electrode and the second electrode and configured to apply the voltage potential between the first electrode and the second electrode from the battery (YODER discloses using the internal voltage source of the battery 502 for the de-bonding process utilizing an integrated control circuit that includes switching circuitry. This is further detailed as switching circuitry 426 controlled by a battery control module 404, para. 0042-51). Regarding claim 15 , YODER teaches an electronic device (YODER, fig. 1, 8) comprising: a touchscreen display (YODER, para. 0045); a battery (YODER discloses a rechargeable battery 102/502 within the device case, para. 0015-20,42-46); an enclosure enclosing the touchscreen display and the battery (YODER discloses a "device case 104" and "device case 520") and comprising: a housing structure (YODER discloses a "device case 104" and "device case 520") comprising: a conductive chassis section (YODER describes a device case 520 that features a "conductive surface" acting as an electrode, para. 0042-51); an electrically debondable adhesive coupling the battery to the conductive chassis section and conductively coupled to the conductive chassis section (YODER discloses an interface stack 506 coupling the battery 502 to the device case 520, para. 0042-46); and a conductive layer between the electrically debondable adhesive and the battery and conductively coupled to the electrically debondable adhesive, the electrically debondable adhesive configured to debond from the conductive chassis section in response to a voltage potential applied between the conductive chassis section and the conductive layer (YODER discloses a predetermined voltage differential between the conductive layer 510 and the device case 520 generates a localized charge build-up causing a chemical reaction that weakens the bond at the interface, para. 0042-51). YODER is silent to teaching that comprising a front cover assembly defining a front exterior surface of the enclosure; a housing structure coupled to the front cover assembly and comprising: a first wall section defining at least a portion of a first side exterior surface of the enclosure; a second wall section defining at least a portion of a second side exterior surface opposite the first side exterior surface; and a conductive chassis section coupled to the first wall section and to the second wall section. In the same field of endeavor, ALLORE teaches a device comprising a front cover assembly defining a front exterior surface of the enclosure; a housing structure coupled to the front cover assembly and comprising (ALLORE, fig. 9, para. 0025); a first wall section defining at least a portion of a first side exterior surface of the enclosure (ALLORE, fig. 9, para. 0025); a second wall section defining at least a portion of a second side exterior surface opposite the first side exterior surface (ALLORE, fig. 9, para. 0025); and a conductive chassis section coupled to the first wall section and to the second wall section (ALLORE, fig. 9, para. 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of YODER with the teaching of ALLORE in order to allow various batteries to be incorporated into various devices (ALLORE, para. 0002). Regarding claim 17 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein: the electronic device further comprises: a charging port configured to receive a charging cable configured to supply the voltage potential (YODER, fig. 1, power supply 816, external power, para. 0064); and the charging port is operably coupled to the conductive chassis section and the conductive layer (YODER, fig. 1, power supply 816, external power, para. 0064); and the electronic device is configured to apply the voltage potential from the charging cable to the conductive chassis section and the conductive layer in response to a user input (YODER, para. 0045). Regarding claim 18 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the user input is provided to the touchscreen display (YODER, para. 0045). Regarding claim 19 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the conductive chassis section defines an electrical ground of the electronic device (YODER, fig. 6, ground 614, para. 0051) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YODER and ALLORE as applied to claim s 1, 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Khonsari (US 20110113616 A1; hereinafter “KHONSARI”) . Regarding claim 2 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the mobile phone of claim 1, wherein: the conductive mounting structure comprises an aluminum alloy (ALLORE, para. 0019). The combination of YODER and ALLORE is silent to teaching that defines: a first surface region having an anodized surface; and a second surface region having a passivated conductive surface; and the electrically debondable adhesive layer is adhered to the passivated conductive surface. In the same field of endeavor, KHONSARI teaches a device wherein the structure defines: a first surface region having an anodized surface (KHONSARI, para. 0059); and a second surface region having a passivated conductive surface (KHONSARI, para. 0060, a protective passivation layer); and the electrically debondable adhesive layer is adhered to the passivated conductive surface (KHONSARI, para. 0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of YODER and ALLORE with the teaching of KHONSARI in order to improve material characteristics (KHONSARI, para. 0004). Regarding claims 13 and 16 , the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 2 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4-6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YODER and ALLORE as applied to claim s 1, 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Akamatsu et al. (US 20210002516 A1; hereinafter “AKAMATSU”) . Regarding claim 4 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the mobile phone of claim 1. The combination of YODER and ALLORE is silent to teaching that wherein the conductive layer comprises: a flexible substrate; and a conductive material disposed on the flexible substrate. In the same field of endeavor, AKAMATSU teaches a device wherein the conductive layer comprises: a flexible substrate; and a conductive material disposed on the flexible substrate (AKAMATSU discloses that the substrate for voltage application 112 can have a "multilayer structure including an electroconductive layer 112a and a base layer 112b", where the base layer 112b functions as a support and can be "plastic bases, fibrous bases, paper bases", reading on the claimed flexible substrate with a conductive material disposed on it, para. 0063-71). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of YODER and ALLORE with the teaching of AKAMATSU in order to improve adhesive properties and debonding (AKAMATSU, para. 0007-8). Regarding claim 5 , the combination of YODER, ALLORE and AKAMATSU teaches the mobile phone of claim 4, wherein the conductive layer defines a tab extending from the electrically debondable adhesive structure, the tab including a conductive terminal for coupling to a voltage source (AKAMATSU discloses that to facilitate contact with a terminal of a voltage application device, the adhesive sheet 110 may "have a portion which protrudes from the first adherend 120 in a plan view" containing an exposed area of the electroconductive surface of the substrate for voltage application 112 , mapping to the claimed extending tab including a conductive terminal, para. 0084-90). Regarding claim 6 , the combination of YODER, ALLORE and AKAMATSU teaches the mobile phone of claim 5, wherein: the conductive terminal is a first conductive terminal; and the housing structure defines a second conductive terminal for coupling to the voltage source (AKAMATSU discloses applying a voltage by contacting terminals with the first adherend 120 (mapping to the housing structure) and the substrate for voltage application 112, para. 0084-90). Regarding claim 20 , the dependent claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 4 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YODER and ALLORE as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lau et al. (US 20150008870 A1; hereinafter “LAU”) . Regarding claim 9 , the combination of YODER and ALLORE teaches the portable electronic device of claim 8. The combination of YODER and ALLORE is silent to teaching that wherein: the battery comprises: a conductive battery enclosure; and a battery cell within the conductive battery enclosure; and the second electrode is defined by the conductive battery enclosure. In the same field of endeavor, LAU teaches a device wherein: the battery comprises: a conductive battery enclosure; and a battery cell within the conductive battery enclosure; and the second electrode is defined by the conductive battery enclosure (LAU, fig. 4, 5, para. 0019-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of YODER and ALLORE with the teaching of LAU in order to improve mobile device user experience and convenience (LAU, para. 0008). Regarding claim 10 , the combination of YODER, ALLORE and LAU teaches the portable electronic device of claim 9, wherein: the conductive battery enclosure comprises: a lower enclosure structure formed from metal; and an upper enclosure structure formed from metal and welded to the lower enclosure structure (LAU, para. 0020); the battery comprises a positive terminal conductively coupled to a cathode of the battery cell and conductively isolated from the conductive battery enclosure; and the conductive battery enclosure is conductively coupled to an anode of the battery cell (LAU para. 0020, upper and lower casings) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang (US 20220247025) teaches mobile devices . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEN WU HUANG whose telephone number is (571)272-7852. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 10-6. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley Kim can be reached at (571) 272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 12 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/827,616 Page 13 Art Unit: 2648