DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on 10/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 9-11, and 13-20 remain pending in the current application. The amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujisawa et al. (US 2021/0093303).
Regarding claim 1, Fujisawa teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising (figure 1, para. 0024):
an ultrasound probe (figure 1, element 30, para. 0024; The ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus 1 includes a main body 10 as a medical image processing apparatus, an ultrasonic probe 30 as a scanner);
a position and posture sensing device configured to acquire position and posture information of the ultrasound probe (para. 0054; The type of the position sensor 40 attached to the ultrasonic probe 30 detects position data of itself, and outputs the position data to the main body 10. The position data of the position sensor 40 can also be regarded as the position data of the ultrasonic probe 30. The position data of the ultrasonic probe 30 includes a coordinate (X, Y, Z) of the ultrasonic probe 30 and a tilt angle (posture) from each axis); and
a processor configured to (para. 0025; The main body 10 of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus 1 includes a transmission/reception (T/R) circuit 11, a B-mode processing circuit 12, a Doppler processing circuit 13, an image generating circuit 14, an image memory 15, a network interface 16, processing circuitry 17, a main memory 18, an input interface 19, and a display 20.):
acquire an ultrasound image representing a tomogram of a subject by transmitting and receiving an ultrasound beam using the ultrasound probe (paras. 0026 and 0029; The T/R circuit 11 has a transmitting circuit and a receiving circuit (not shown). Under the control of the processing circuitry 17, the T/R circuit 11 controls transmission directivity and reception directivity in transmission and reception of ultrasonic waves. Under the control of the processing circuitry 17, the B-mode processing circuit 12 receives the echo data from the receiving circuit, performs logarithmic amplification, envelope detection processing and the like, thereby generate data (two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) data) which signal intensity is presented by brightness of luminance.);
generate three-dimensional ultrasound image data of the subject based on the position and posture information of the ultrasound probe acquired by the position and posture sensing device and the ultrasound image (paras. 0040 and 0104; the acquiring function 171 stores the ultrasonic image data acquired in step ST1 in a three-dimensional arrangement in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 on the basis of the position data of the ultrasonic image data (step ST3). );
extract three-dimensional structure information regarding a three-dimensional structure included in the three-dimensional ultrasound image data from the three-dimensional ultrasound image data (para. 0107; the deriving function 172 derives the organ shape of the entire target organ in the subject and the imaged organ region on the basis of the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 (step ST5).);
have a position estimation model trained in a position of the three-dimensional structure in the three-dimensional image data obtained by imaging the three-dimensional structure (paras. 0086 and 0107; the deriving function 172 derives the organ shape of the entire target organ in the subject and the imaged organ region on the basis of the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 (step ST5). he deriving function 172 inputs a large number of training data and performs learning to sequentially update the parameter data Pa. The training data is made up of a set of multiple ultrasonic image data (e.g., arbitrary cross-section data forming volume data) S1, S2, S3, . . . as training input data and organ shapes T1, T2, T3, . . . corresponding to each arbitrary cross-section data. The multiple ultrasonic image data S1, S2, S3, . . . constitutes a training input data group Ba. The organ shapes T1, T2, T3, . . . constitutes a training output data group Ca. The examiner notes that the deriving unit extracts the position and shape of structure from the three-dimensional images); and
estimate a position of an occupied region of the three-dimensional ultrasound image data of the subject by the position estimation model based on the extracted three-dimensional structure information (paras. 0107-0108; the deriving function 172 derives the organ shape of the entire target organ in the subject and the imaged organ region on the basis of the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 (step ST5). The determining function 173 determines a three-dimensional unimaged organ region on the basis of the partial organ shape included in the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally in step ST3 and the entire organ shape derived in step ST5 (step ST6). he determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ.),
wherein the processor is configured to, upon determining that the position of the occupied region of the three-dimensional ultrasound data is not able to be estimated (paras. 0082, 0095, 0107, and 0130; Note that the data-missing due to insufficient imaging is described, but the present invention is not limited to this case. For example, the present invention can be applied to the case where there is an artifact on the ultrasonic image data and a part of the tissue to be visually recognized cannot be visually recognized even if it is not the data-missing. In this case, the artifact portion on the ultrasonic image data can be detected and set the portion as the data-missing area. The examiner notes that the unimaged target region is a region that the processor cannot identify based on the image data and position data, which can be due to an artifact. Thus, the processor is unable to locate the missing target.), synthesize the three-dimensional ultrasound image data which the position is not able to be estimated with an occupied region that is adjacent to the three- dimensional ultrasound image data and of which a position has already been estimated (paras. 0130-0131; After the unimaged target region is determined, virtual ultrasonic image data may be displayed as a model assuming that the unimaged target region is imaged. The virtual ultrasonic image data may be generated by synthesizing pixel values at positions close to the unimaged target region in the already existing data area, or may be an MPR image generated from the volume data when the CT image volume data and the like already exist. The examiner notes that the processor is unable to estimate the position and locate the region due to an artifact in the image, therefore, the processor synthesize the unimaged region with a region adjacent to it that was located and the position of it was estimated.).
Regarding claim 2, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: extract a two-dimensional tomographic image from the three-dimensional ultrasound image data (para. 0042; in order to generate various 2D image data so as to display the volume data stored in the 3D memory on the display 20, the image generating circuit 14 performs processing for displaying the volume data on the 2D display and processing for displaying the 3D data three-dimensionally, with respect to the volume data. The image generating circuit 14 performs the processing such as volume rendering (VR) processing, surface rendering (SR) processing, MIP (Maximum Intensity Projection) processing, MPR (Multi Planer Reconstruction) processing, etc.); reconstruct the three-dimensional ultrasound image data of the subject based on the extracted two-dimensional tomographic image and the position and posture information of the ultrasound probe acquired by the position and posture sensing device (para. 0078; the deriving function 172 arranges the ultrasonic image data acquired by the acquiring function 171 in the image memory 15 as the 3D memory on the basis of the position data acquired by the position sensor 40); and extract the three-dimensional structure information from the reconstructed three-dimensional ultrasound image data (para. 0077; the deriving function 172 has a function of deriving a target shape and an imaged target region in the subject from multiple ultrasonic image data and multiple position data acquired by the acquiring function 171. For example, the deriving function 172 includes a function of deriving an organ shape and the imaged organ region in the subject from the ultrasonic image data of multiple cross-sections and their position data.).
Regarding claim 3, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a monitor (figure 1, element 20, para. 0025) and wherein the processor is configured to: display a three-dimensional schema image (para. 0108; Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape.); and display, in an emphasized manner in the three-dimensional schema image, the occupied region of the three-dimensional ultrasound image data (para. 0108; he determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ. Then, the determining function 173 determines, as an unimaged organ region, a region acquired by removing the organ contour included in the already existing data area from the organ contour of the 3D model. Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape. The examiner notes that the occupied region is emphasized by contouring the structure in the three-dimensional image and overlaying it with a 3D model).
Regarding claim 4, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: a monitor (figure 1, element 20, para. 0025) and wherein the processor is configured to: display a three-dimensional schema image (para. 0108; Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape.); and display, in an emphasized manner in the three-dimensional schema image, the occupied region of the three-dimensional ultrasound image data (para. 0108; he determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ. Then, the determining function 173 determines, as an unimaged organ region, a region acquired by removing the organ contour included in the already existing data area from the organ contour of the 3D model. Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape. The examiner notes that the occupied region is emphasized by contouring the structure in the three-dimensional image and overlaying it with a 3D model).
Regarding claim 5, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to sequentially synthesize the three-dimensional ultrasound image data based on the three-dimensional structure included in the three-dimensional ultrasound image data of which the position of the occupied region is estimated (para. 0108; The determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ.).
Regarding claim 9, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to specify a region that is not displayed in an emphasized manner and notify a user of the specified region (paras. 0108-0109; The determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ. Then, the determining function 173 determines, as an unimaged organ region, a region acquired by removing the organ contour included in the already existing data area from the organ contour of the 3D model. Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape. The determining function 173 determines whether or not there is an unimaged organ region (step ST7). If it is determined as “YES” in step ST7, that is, if it is determined that there is the unimaged organ region, the display control function 71 displays information regarding the unimaged organ region on the display 20 for the operator (step ST8). The information regarding the unimaged organ region may be the range of the ultrasonic beam determined to fill the unimaged organ region (display example (1) described below), or may include the body surface coordinate and posture (display examples (2) to (4) described later) of the ultrasonic probe 30 for imaging an unimaged organ region. Further, the display control function 71 displays the information for imaging the unimaged target region, thereby displaying the information regarding the unimaged target region, and/or three-dimensionally displays the unimaged target region.).
Regarding claim 10, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to specify a region that is not displayed in an emphasized manner and notify a user of the specified region (paras. 0108-0109; The determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ. Then, the determining function 173 determines, as an unimaged organ region, a region acquired by removing the organ contour included in the already existing data area from the organ contour of the 3D model. Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape. The determining function 173 determines whether or not there is an unimaged organ region (step ST7). If it is determined as “YES” in step ST7, that is, if it is determined that there is the unimaged organ region, the display control function 71 displays information regarding the unimaged organ region on the display 20 for the operator (step ST8). The information regarding the unimaged organ region may be the range of the ultrasonic beam determined to fill the unimaged organ region (display example (1) described below), or may include the body surface coordinate and posture (display examples (2) to (4) described later) of the ultrasonic probe 30 for imaging an unimaged organ region. Further, the display control function 71 displays the information for imaging the unimaged target region, thereby displaying the information regarding the unimaged target region, and/or three-dimensionally displays the unimaged target region.).
Regarding claim 11, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to specify a region that is not displayed in an emphasized manner and notify a user of the specified region (paras. 0108-0109; The determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ. Then, the determining function 173 determines, as an unimaged organ region, a region acquired by removing the organ contour included in the already existing data area from the organ contour of the 3D model. Note that the 3D model may be generated by acquiring the organ contour from volume data such as 3D-CT image data acquired in advance from the same subject (same patient), or may be a 3D model showing a general organ shape. The determining function 173 determines whether or not there is an unimaged organ region (step ST7). If it is determined as “YES” in step ST7, that is, if it is determined that there is the unimaged organ region, the display control function 71 displays information regarding the unimaged organ region on the display 20 for the operator (step ST8). The information regarding the unimaged organ region may be the range of the ultrasonic beam determined to fill the unimaged organ region (display example (1) described below), or may include the body surface coordinate and posture (display examples (2) to (4) described later) of the ultrasonic probe 30 for imaging an unimaged organ region. Further, the display control function 71 displays the information for imaging the unimaged target region, thereby displaying the information regarding the unimaged target region, and/or three-dimensionally displays the unimaged target region.).
Regarding claim 13, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to present a reference ultrasound image to be observed in the specified region (para. 0109; The determining function 173 determines whether or not there is an unimaged organ region (step ST7). If it is determined as “YES” in step ST7, that is, if it is determined that there is the unimaged organ region, the display control function 71 displays information regarding the unimaged organ region on the display 20 for the operator (step ST8). The information regarding the unimaged organ region may be the range of the ultrasonic beam determined to fill the unimaged organ region (display example (1) described below), or may include the body surface coordinate and posture (display examples (2) to (4) described later) of the ultrasonic probe 30 for imaging an unimaged organ region. Further, the display control function 71 displays the information for imaging the unimaged target region, thereby displaying the information regarding the unimaged target region, and/or three-dimensionally displays the unimaged target region.).
Regarding claim 14, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the three-dimensional structure information includes a shape pattern of the three-dimensional structure (para. 0077; the deriving function 172 has a function of deriving a target shape and an imaged target region in the subject from multiple ultrasonic image data and multiple position data acquired by the acquiring function 171. For example, the deriving function 172 includes a function of deriving an organ shape and the imaged organ region in the subject from the ultrasonic image data of multiple cross-sections and their position data.).
Regarding claim 15, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the three-dimensional structure information includes a shape pattern of the three-dimensional structure (para. 0077; the deriving function 172 has a function of deriving a target shape and an imaged target region in the subject from multiple ultrasonic image data and multiple position data acquired by the acquiring function 171. For example, the deriving function 172 includes a function of deriving an organ shape and the imaged organ region in the subject from the ultrasonic image data of multiple cross-sections and their position data.).
Regarding claim 16, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the three-dimensional structure information includes a shape pattern of the three-dimensional structure (para. 0077; the deriving function 172 has a function of deriving a target shape and an imaged target region in the subject from multiple ultrasonic image data and multiple position data acquired by the acquiring function 171. For example, the deriving function 172 includes a function of deriving an organ shape and the imaged organ region in the subject from the ultrasonic image data of multiple cross-sections and their position data.).
Regarding claim 17, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the three-dimensional structure information includes a shape pattern of the three-dimensional structure (para. 0077; the deriving function 172 has a function of deriving a target shape and an imaged target region in the subject from multiple ultrasonic image data and multiple position data acquired by the acquiring function 171. For example, the deriving function 172 includes a function of deriving an organ shape and the imaged organ region in the subject from the ultrasonic image data of multiple cross-sections and their position data.).
Regarding claim 19, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position and posture sensing device includes an inertial sensing device, a magnetic sensing device, or an optical sensing device (paras. 0054-0055; the posture of the ultrasonic probe 30 can be detected by a magnetic field transmitter (not shown) sequentially transmitting triaxial magnetic fields while the position sensor 40 sequentially receiving the magnetic fields.).
Regarding claim 20, Fujisawa teaches a control method of an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, the control method comprising:
acquiring position and posture information of an ultrasound probe (para. 0054; The type of the position sensor 40 attached to the ultrasonic probe 30 detects position data of itself, and outputs the position data to the main body 10. The position data of the position sensor 40 can also be regarded as the position data of the ultrasonic probe 30. The position data of the ultrasonic probe 30 includes a coordinate (X, Y, Z) of the ultrasonic probe 30 and a tilt angle (posture) from each axis);
acquiring an ultrasound image representing a tomogram of a subject by transmitting and receiving an ultrasound beam using the ultrasound probe (paras. 0026 and 0029; The T/R circuit 11 has a transmitting circuit and a receiving circuit (not shown). Under the control of the processing circuitry 17, the T/R circuit 11 controls transmission directivity and reception directivity in transmission and reception of ultrasonic waves. Under the control of the processing circuitry 17, the B-mode processing circuit 12 receives the echo data from the receiving circuit, performs logarithmic amplification, envelope detection processing and the like, thereby generate data (two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) data) which signal intensity is presented by brightness of luminance.);
generating three-dimensional ultrasound image data of the subject on the basis of the acquired position and posture information of the ultrasound probe and the acquired ultrasound image (paras. 0040 and 0104; the acquiring function 171 stores the ultrasonic image data acquired in step ST1 in a three-dimensional arrangement in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 on the basis of the position data of the ultrasonic image data (step ST3). );
extracting three-dimensional structure information regarding a three-dimensional structure included in the three-dimensional ultrasound image data from the generated three-dimensional ultrasound image data (para. 0107; the deriving function 172 derives the organ shape of the entire target organ in the subject and the imaged organ region on the basis of the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 (step ST5).); and
estimating a position of a region occupied by the three-dimensional ultrasound image data of the subject by inputting the extracted three-dimensional structure information to a position estimation model trained in a position of the three-dimensional structure in the three-dimensional image data obtained by imaging the three-dimensional structure (paras. 0086 and 0107-0108; the deriving function 172 derives the organ shape of the entire target organ in the subject and the imaged organ region on the basis of the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged in the 3D memory of the image memory 15 (step ST5). The determining function 173 determines a three-dimensional unimaged organ region on the basis of the partial organ shape included in the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally in step ST3 and the entire organ shape derived in step ST5 (step ST6). he determining function 173 extracts an organ contour from ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally, arranges the extracted organ contour in a three-dimensional manner, and collates the arranged one with a 3D model of the entire organ. The deriving function 172 inputs a large number of training data and performs learning to sequentially update the parameter data Pa. The training data is made up of a set of multiple ultrasonic image data (e.g., arbitrary cross-section data forming volume data) S1, S2, S3, . . . as training input data and organ shapes T1, T2, T3, . . . corresponding to each arbitrary cross-section data. The multiple ultrasonic image data S1, S2, S3, . . . constitutes a training input data group Ba. The organ shapes T1, T2, T3, . . . constitutes a training output data group Ca. The examiner notes that the deriving unit extracts the position and shape of structure from the three-dimensional images); and
upon determining that the position of the occupied region of the three-dimensional ultrasound data is not able to be estimated (paras. 0082, 0095, 0107, and 0130; Note that the data-missing due to insufficient imaging is described, but the present invention is not limited to this case. For example, the present invention can be applied to the case where there is an artifact on the ultrasonic image data and a part of the tissue to be visually recognized cannot be visually recognized even if it is not the data-missing. In this case, the artifact portion on the ultrasonic image data can be detected and set the portion as the data-missing area. The examiner notes that the unimaged target region is a region that the processor cannot identify based on the image data and position data, which can be due to an artifact. Thus, the processor is unable to locate the missing target.), synthesizing the three-dimensional ultrasound image data which the position is not able to be estimated with an occupied region that is adjacent to the three- dimensional ultrasound image data and of which a position has already been estimated (paras. 0130-0131; After the unimaged target region is determined, virtual ultrasonic image data may be displayed as a model assuming that the unimaged target region is imaged. The virtual ultrasonic image data may be generated by synthesizing pixel values at positions close to the unimaged target region in the already existing data area, or may be an MPR image generated from the volume data when the CT image volume data and the like already exist. The examiner notes that the processor is unable to estimate the position and locate the region due to an artifact in the image, therefore, the processor synthesize the unimaged region with a region adjacent to it that was located and the position of it was estimated.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa et al. (US 2021/0093303) in the view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0229796).
Regarding claim 18, Fujisawa teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 14, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the three-dimensional structure information includes a brightness pattern of the three-dimensional structure.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches three-dimensional structure information includes a brightness pattern of the three-dimensional structure (paras. 0023-0024; 3D ultrasound can be used to measure aorta boundaries, such as estimate the AAA diameter perpendicular to the centering as well as the AAA volume. The systems and methods may perform 3D abdominal aorta segmentation based on a 3D vascular shape model and intensity model. The intensity model can also be defined by analyzing the ultrasound image brightness inside and outside the aorta structures.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the three-dimensional structure information of Fujisawa to incorporate the teaching Yang to include a brightness pattern. Doing so will help in accurate segmentation of the structure based on intensity model as disclosed within Yang in para. 0023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the unimaged target region is not the same as the three dimensional ultrasound image which the position is not able to be estimated. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Fujisawa teaches a deriving function 172 performs a process of deriving a shape of the organ such as the liver in the subject from the ultrasonic image data of cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally and from position data, thereby derives the organ shape and the imaged organ region. Then, the determining function 173, which will be described later, determines a region excluding the derived imaged organ region from the entire derived liver region R1 as an unimaged target region. The unimaged target region is a portion of the entire target region that cannot be visualized based on the data-missing area where the data areas P are insufficient. The unimaged target region means a region that should be continuously imaged in the present examination. The determining function 173 determines a three-dimensional unimaged organ region on the basis of the partial organ shape included in the ultrasonic image data of one or multiple cross-sections arranged three-dimensionally in step ST3 and the entire organ shape derived in step ST5 (step ST6). Note that the data-missing due to insufficient imaging is described, but the present invention is not limited to this case. For example, the present invention can be applied to the case where there is an artifact on the ultrasonic image data and a part of the tissue to be visually recognized cannot be visually recognized even if it is not the data-missing. In this case, the artifact portion on the ultrasonic image data can be detected and set the portion as the data-missing area [see paragraphs 0082, 0107, and 0130]. The examiner notes that the processor determines the position of an occupied region in the three dimensional ultrasound image and contours the organ and then determine a region that cannot be contoured or localized within the three dimensional image due to the organ being partially imaged or has an artifact as an unimaged target region. Hence, the unimaged target region is a region in the three-dimensional ultrasound image where its position can not be estimated and cannot be contoured due to missing data. Thus, Fujisawa teaches determining a region in the three dimensional ultrasound image that cannot be contoured or located and define this region as unimaged target region.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795