DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 09/06/24.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 06/02/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
5. The drawings filed on 09/06/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “CHANGING AN OPERATING SETTING OF A COMMUNICATION MODULE BETWEEN A FIRT MODE AND A SECOND MODE”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-7 & 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beghini et al. (hereinafter referred as Beghini) US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0021700 A1.
Regarding claim 1: Beghini discloses a communications module for facilitating mobile wireless communication (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0021; a portable radio 106 can establish a short range communication link with a mobile radio 108), the communications module comprising:
a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0032; portable radio 106 includes radio frequency transceiver 301 coupled to one or more antennas 328 for transmitting and receiving RF signals);
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0031; the portable radio 106 includes a controller 306 that controls the device including switches and transceiver);
a mode switch configured to change an operating setting of the communications module between a first mode (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links) and a second mode (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; a single actuation of switch element 118 during the pre-defined time interval results in portable radio 106 operating conventionally and establishing link 142);
wherein:
in the first mode, the transceiver is configured to communicate with a central communications unit (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links); and
in the second mode, the transceiver is configured to communicate with a corresponding communications module (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; a single actuation of switch element 118 during the pre-defined time interval results in portable radio 106 operating conventionally and establishing link 142 to connect with distant radio 104).
Regarding claim 2: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein the mode switch is selectable by a user (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015; portable radio 106 includes a switch element 118 can be actuated to operate the portable radio 106).
Regarding claim 3: Beghini discloses a communications module, further comprising an input member (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015; switch 118) configured to enable audio signals from the communications module (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; mobile radio 108) to be transmitted through an auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links).
Regarding claim 4: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein the auxiliary radio is communicatively coupled to the central communications unit and wherein the audio signals are transmitted through the central communications unit to the auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1, Para. 0021; audio information is exchanged between portable radio 106 and distant radio 104 via mobile radio 108).
Regarding claim 5: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein the transceiver is configured to receive transmissions from the auxiliary radio through the central communications unit (See FIG. 3, Para. 0021 & 0032; through the central communications unit (information is exchanged between portable radio 106 and distant radio 104 via mobile radio 108).
Regarding claim 6: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein, in the first mode, the communications module is configured to simultaneously communicate with the corresponding communications module and with the auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0023; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links).
Regarding claim 7: Beghini discloses a communications module, further comprising a push-to-talk (PTT button) (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015; the portable 106 includes a switch element 118 that can be actuated to operate the portable radio 106; switch element 118 can be used to start and end communication sessions) configured to transmit audio output from a microphone connected to the communications module through an auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1, Para. 0021 & 0023; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links. Audio information is exchanged between portable radio 106 and distant radio 104 via mobile radio 108).
Regarding claim 9: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein: in the first mode, the transceiver operates at a first power; in the second mode, the transceiver operates at a second power; and the second power is greater than the first power (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0013; transmit power).
Regarding claim 10: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein the transceiver is a first transceiver, the communications module further comprising a second transceiver configured to establish wireless communication with a mobile electronic device (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0030; secondary intercom devices 110).
Regarding claim 11: Beghini discloses a communications module, wherein the first transceiver is configured to operate according to Bluetooth LE, and the second transceiver is configured to operate according to Bluetooth classic (See Para. 0016 & 0026; Bluetooth).
9. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed et al. (hereinafter referred as Reed) US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0242148 A1.
Regarding claim 17: Reed discloses a mobile communication system (multi-mode wireless intercom system 100; Fig. 1 & Para. 0030), comprising:
a first intercom device configured to be carried by a first user (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0024; a first m-RAT device 104, which can be a cellular telephone or other wireless device);
a second intercom device configured to be carried by a second user (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0024; a second m-RAT device 104, which can be a cellular telephone or other wireless device); and
a base station (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0030; base intercom device) comprising: a wireless communications unit (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0030; (a routing module 117 configured to operate at the base intercom device routing audio data communicated between secondary intercom devices 110, base intercom device 102 and m-RAT devices 104) configured to:
establish a wireless connection with an electronic device (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0030; secondary intercom devices 110); and
enable full-duplex communication between the first intercom device and the second intercom device (See FIG. 1 & 0028; (the one or more microphones and one or more speakers can be configured to provide full duplex communication at the base intercom device 102 and the secondary intercom devices 110; the base intercom device 102 can also include one or more microphones that can be used to convert audio to an electronic format that can be transmitted to the one or more m-RAT devices 104);
wherein the base station is configured to share audio content from the electronic device with the first intercom device and the second intercom device while maintaining the full-duplex communication between the first intercom device and the second intercom device (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0030; the routing module 117 can be configured to route audio data, representing voice or other types of audio, communicated via the second WLAN 112 between the one or more secondary intercom devices 110 and the base intercom device 102 to the one or more m-RAT devices 104 via the first WLAN 109).
Regarding claim 18: Reed discloses a mobile communication system, wherein the wireless communications unit comprises: a first wireless communications chip configured to enable wireless communication with the first intercom device (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0024; (the base intercom device 102 can be configured to communicate with one or more multi-radio access technology m-RAT devices 104 via a first wireless local area network WLAN 109) and the second intercom device; and a second wireless communications chip configured to enable wireless communication between the base station and the electronic device (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0029 & 0136; secondary intercom devices 110 are configured to communicate with the base intercom device 102 via a second WLAN 112; the second WLAN 112 may be a different radio access technology RAT than is used in the first WLAN 109; Fig. 1. a module can be implemented as a hardware circuit comprising custom VLSI circuits or gate arrays, off-the-shelf semiconductors such as logic chips, transistors, or other discrete components).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beghini, in view of Fraser et al. (hereinafter referred as Fraser) US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0329610 A1.
Regarding claim 12: Beghini discloses a communication system (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0012; communication system 100), comprising:
a central hub (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0019; mobile radio 108) configured to communicatively couple with an auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0019; distant radio 104) capable of long range two-way communication (See FIG. 1, Para. 0013 & 0021; a first mobile intercom configured to be carried by a first user (portable radio 106 is a device designed to be carried by a person during its use);
a first mobile intercom configured to be carried by a first user, the first mobile intercom comprising:
a first output terminal configured to connect to a first speaker (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0014; speaker 114 for output of audio information);
a first input terminal configured to connect to a first microphone (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0014; portable radio includes microphone 112 for input of audio information);
a first wireless communications unit configured to establish wireless communication between the first mobile intercom and the central hub (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0031; mobile radio 106 includes one or more radio frequency transceivers 301 coupled to one or more antennas 328 for transmitting and receiving RF signals); and
a first input member configured to receive user input (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015; portable radio 106 includes a switch element 118 that can be actuated to operate the portable radio); and
the second mobile intercom (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0016; remote unit 120) comprising:
a second output terminal configured to connect to a second speaker (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0017; a remote speaker 128 for outputting audio information);
a second input terminal configured to connect to a second microphone (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0017; a remote microphone 124 for input of audio information);
a second wireless communications unit configured to establish wireless communication between the second mobile intercom and the central hub (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0018 & 0031; mobile radio 108 can be configured to support short -range communication with respect to portable radio and the remote unit 120); and
a second input member configured to receive user input (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0017; remote switch element 126 that can be actuated to operate the remote unit);
wherein, in response to receiving user input at the first input member (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015; portable radio 106 includes a switch element 118 that can be operated to operate the portable radio), the central hub transmits audio signals received by the first microphone and the second microphone through the auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015, 0023 & 0027; the switch element 18 can be used to start and end communication session; actuations of the switch element 118 configures the portable radio to begin in operating in a transmit mode, a receive mode, or both. two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links).
Beghini does not explicitly disclose a second mobile intercom configured to be carried by a second user.
However, Fraser from the same field of endeavor discloses a second mobile intercom configured to be carried by a second user (See FG. 8 & Para. 0074; the first multivoice radio 204-1 and the second multivoice radio 204-2 in the first synchronized group 804-1. The second SLR radio 212-2, a third multivoive radio 204-3. And fourth multivoive radio 204-4 operate in a second multivoice system from a second synchronized group 804-2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second mobile intercom configured to be carried by a second user as taught by Fraser in the system of Beghini in order to allow the user dual functionality of both short and long range communication means (See Para. 0006; lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Beghini and Fraser disclose the communication system.
Furthermore, Beghini discloses the communication system, wherein the first input member comprises push-to-talk (PTT) functionality (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0015; the portable 106 includes a switch element 118 that can be actuated to operate the portable radio 106; switch element 118 can be used to start and end communication sessions) and wherein the audio signals received by the first microphone or the second microphone are transmitted through the auxiliary radio while the first input member is actuated (See FIG. 1, Para. 0021 & 0023; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links. Audio information is exchanged between portable radio 106 and distant radio 104 via mobile radio 108).
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Beghini and Fraser disclose the communication system.
Furthermore, Beghini discloses the communication system, wherein the central hub is configured to: communicatively couple with a plurality of mobile intercoms (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0018; Mobile radio 108 can also be configured to support short-range communications, as described above with respect to portable radio 106 and remote unit 120); transmit audio output from the auxiliary radio to each of the plurality of mobile intercoms; and in response to receiving user input at the first input member, transmit audio input from each of the plurality of intercoms through the auxiliary radio (See FIG. 1, Para. 0015 & 0027; two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links. two actuations during the same time interval can instead cause portable radio 106 to establish link 146 and mobile radio 108 to establish link 144 and bridge the two communications links).
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Beghini and Fraser disclose the communication system.
Furthermore, Fraser discloses the communication system, wherein the central hub is configured to: communicatively couple with a plurality of mobile intercoms; transmit audio output from the auxiliary radio to each of the plurality of mobile intercoms; and in response to receiving user input at the first input member, transmit audio input from each of the plurality of intercoms through the auxiliary radio (See FG. 8 & Para. 0074; the first multivoice radio 204-1 and the second multivoice radio 204-2 in the first synchronized group 804-1. The second SLR radio 212-2, a third multivoive radio 204-3. And fourth multivoive radio 204-4 operate in a second multivoice system from a second synchronized group 804-2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the central hub is configured to: communicatively couple with a plurality of mobile intercoms; transmit audio output from the auxiliary radio to each of the plurality of mobile intercoms; and in response to receiving user input at the first input member, transmit audio input from each of the plurality of intercoms through the auxiliary radio as taught by Fraser in the system of Beghini in order to allow the user dual functionality of both short and long range communication means (See Para. 0006; lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Beghini and Fraser disclose the communication system.
Furthermore, Fraser discloses the communication system, wherein the first mobile intercom prioritizes audio from a telephone call from a paired personal electronic device over audio from the auxiliary radio (See FG. 8 & Para. 0074; the first multivoice radio 204-1 and the second multivoice radio 204-2 in the first synchronized group 804-1. The second SLR radio 212-2, a third multivoive radio 204-3. And fourth multivoive radio 204-4 operate in a second multivoice system from a second synchronized group 804-2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first mobile intercom prioritizes audio from a telephone call from a paired personal electronic device over audio from the auxiliary radio as taught by Fraser in the system of Beghini in order to allow the user dual functionality of both short and long range communication means (See Para. 0006; lines 3-4).
12. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed, in view of Fraser.
Regarding claim 19: Reed discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein: the electronic device is a first electronic device; and the second intercom device is configured to wirelessly pair with a second electronic device and to prioritize audio content from the second electronic device over audio content from the first electronic device.
However, Fraser from the same field of endeavor discloses the electronic device is a first electronic device; and the second intercom device is configured to wirelessly pair with a second electronic device and to prioritize audio content from the second electronic device over audio content from the first electronic device (See FG. 8 & Para. 0074; the first multivoice radio 204-1 and the second multivoice radio 204-2 in the first synchronized group 804-1. The second SLR radio 212-2, a third multivoive radio 204-3. And fourth multivoive radio 204-4 operate in a second multivoice system from a second synchronized group 804-2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the electronic device is a first electronic device; and the second intercom device is configured to wirelessly pair with a second electronic device and to prioritize audio content from the second electronic device over audio content from the first electronic device as taught by Fraser in the system of Beghini in order to allow the user dual functionality of both short and long range communication means (See Para. 0006; lines 3-4).
13. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beghini, in view of Reed.
Regarding claim 8: Beghini discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein: the first mode enables full-duplex communication between the communications module and the central communications unit; and the second mode enables full-duplex communication between the communications module and the corresponding communications module.
However, Reed from the same field of endeavor discloses the first mode enables full-duplex communication between the communications module (See FIG. 1 & 0028; (the one or more microphones and one or more speakers can be configured to provide full duplex communication at the base intercom device 102 and the secondary intercom devices 110; the base intercom device 102 can also include one or more microphones that can be used to convert audio to an electronic format that can be transmitted to the one or more m-RAT devices 104) and the central communications unit; and the second mode enables full-duplex communication between the communications module and the corresponding communications module (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0030; the routing module 117 can be configured to route audio data, representing voice or other types of audio, communicated via the second WLAN 112 between the one or more secondary intercom devices 110 and the base intercom device 102 to the one or more m-RAT devices 104 via the first WLAN 109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first mode enables full-duplex communication between the communications module and the central communications unit; and the second mode enables full-duplex communication between the communications module and the corresponding communications module as taught by Reed in the system of Beghini in order to provide significant enhancements to the intercom system (See Para. 0019; lines 3-4).
14. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed, in view of Fraser, further in view of Chew t al. (hereinafter referred as Chew) US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0053434 A1.
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Reed and Fraser disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the second intercom device is configured to prioritize audio signals transmitted through the base station from the first intercom device over audio content from the second electronic device.
However, Chew from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the second intercom device is configured to prioritize audio signals transmitted through the base station from the first intercom device over audio content from the second electronic device (See FIG. 2, Para. 0051 & 0125; a subscriber terminal is configured to prioritize audio signals transmitted through the base station from the first intercom device over audio content from the second electronic device (VoIP service supersedes the IPP2T service on the device; when there is an incoming call, the IPP2T will be temporarily pre-empted to allow servicing of incoming VoIP calls. VoIP call signals are transmitted via a AP 215 and will come from another subscriber terminal 220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second intercom device is configured to prioritize audio signals transmitted through the base station from the first intercom device over audio content from the second electronic device as taught by Chew in the combined system of Reed and Fraser in order to provide a method for providing IPP2T services using a WLAN (See Para. 0022; line 1).
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Mcnulty et al. 2026/0122440 A1 (Title: Audio capability discovery…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Mcnulty et al. 2026/0119185 A1 (Title: Dynamic switching of ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Kumar et al. 2026/0120546 A1 (Title: Electronic device, system, and corresponding method for managing alarms ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469