DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/16/2025 has been entered.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennemer et al. (US 2014/0268775 hereinafter refer as “Kennemer”) in view of Stein (US 7,419,286).
Regarding claim 19. Kennemer discloses a bendable light device (8, see Figs. 6 and 11, Para. 0020) for a vehicle (112, see Figs. 6 and 11, Para. 0026, 0036), the bendable light device comprising: a light kit (light housing, see Fig. 2, Para. 0020) comprising a plurality of light assemblies (16, 18, 20, see Fig. 2, Para. 0029) pivotally connected to each other (see Para. 0029), one of the plurality of light assemblies comprising: a light base (e.g. main housing portion 10, see Fig. 12, Para. 0031-0034) with opening; a light cover (94, see Figs. 2 and 12, Para. 0033) mounted on the light base; and a light emitting module (main light source 20 and auxiliary or wing light sources 22, 24, Para. 0033) disposed between the light base and the light cover.
However, Kennemer does not explicitly disclose the light base, an adjusting opening being formed on the light base
Stein teaches a light device for a vehicle that includes light assembly (16, see Fig. 9); a light base (10, see Figs. 2 and 9, Col. 2; lines 43-50) that includes an adjusting opening (36) on the base (see Col. 3; lines 46-67 and Col. 4; lines 1-14).
Therefore, in view of Stein, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kennemer’s opening to be an adjusting opening in order to arrange the light assembly in different location in the opening. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved arrangement of the light.
Regarding claim 23. Kennemer further discloses the one of the plurality of light assemblies further comprises a movable back plate (hanger 12, see Figs. 2 and 12, Para. 0020) movably disposed on the light base and for mounting the light emitting module (see Para. 0020, 0023), such that an orientation of the light emitting module in a vertical direction is adjustable by movement of the movable back plate.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennemer in view of Stein and further in view of CHEN.
Regarding claims 21 and 22. The teachings of Kennemer have been discussed above.
However, Kennemer does not explicitly disclose the light kit further comprises at least one sealing block, an edge protrudes from a side of the light base and is bent upwardly, and the at least one sealing block is disposed between the edge and the light cover; a sealing border is disposed on and protrudes from an outer periphery of the light base.
CHEN teaches the light kit further comprises a sealing block (e.g. waterproof shielding plate 244, raised edges 211, see Figs. 2 and 3), a first edge protrudes from another side of the first light base and is bent upwardly, and the sealing block is disposed between the first edge and the first light cover (241). CHEN further teaches a sealing border is disposed on and protrudes from an outer periphery of the light base.
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kennemer by forming the light housing to have a structure such as sealing block in order to prevent water from passing into the light emitting module. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved waterproof effect.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennemer in view of Stein and further in view of Tawa.
Regarding claim 26. The teachings of Kennemer have been discussed above.
However, Kennemer does not explicitly disclose the one of plurality of light assemblies further comprises a controller electrically connected to the light emitting module and a detector electrically connected to the controller, the detector is configured to detect an orientation of the light emitting module in a vertical direction, and the controller is configured to control one of a plurality of light emitting components to emit light according to the orientation of the light emitting module in the vertical direction detected by the detector.
Tawa teaches a light assembly comprising a controller (27, see Fig. 2, Para. 0034) electrically connected to a light emitting module (headlamp 2, see Fig. 2) and a detector (e.g. height sensor 37, see Fig. 2, Para. 0043, 0045) electrically connected to the controller, the detector is configured to detect an orientation of the light emitting module in a vertical direction (see Para. 0042-0043, 0057, 0064), and the controller is configured to control one of a plurality of light emitting components to emit light according to the orientation of the light emitting module in the vertical direction detected by the detector (see Para. 0064).
Therefore, in view of Tawa, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kennemer by including a controller and a detector configured to detect the orientation of the first light emitting module and adjust the lighting projection in a preferable direction, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to configure the light assemblies for vertical adjustment in order to achieve the desired light pattern.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 11, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (TW 404148 U) in view of Olsen et al. (US 2023/0036850 hereinafter refer as “Olsen”) and further in view of Stein.
Regarding claims 1 and 14. CHEN discloses a light device for a vehicle (e.g. vehicle roof), the light device comprising: a mounting plate (lower cover base plate 1, Fig. 2) comprising a main body portion; and a light kit comprising: at least one first light assembly (lamp assembly 2) comprising: a first light base (e.g. main base 21, see Fig. 2) and opening (hollow portion 212, see Fig. ) being formed on the first light base; a first light cover (e.g. a first lampshade 241 and a second lampshade 242) mounted on the first light base, a first assembling portion (light emitting device 23) being formed on a side of one of the first light base (e.g. main base 21) and the first light cover (241) and for assembling with the main body portion of the mounting plate (1); and a first light emitting module disposed between the first light base and the first light cover; wherein the mounting plate (1) is to be attached onto a vehicle body of the vehicle to attach the light device onto the vehicle. CHEN further discloses the mounting plate (1) is a one-piece structure.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose opening on the base adjusting; the light device is bendable and the mounting plate is bendable made of flexible or deformable material; wherein the mounting plate is bent to be attached onto a surface of a vehicle body of the vehicle to attach the bendable light device onto the surface of the vehicle body of the vehicle.
Olsen discloses a bendable light device for a vehicle (20, see Figs. 6 and 7) the bendable light device comprising: a bendable mounting plate (86, see Fig. 6, Para. 0023-0024) comprising a main body portion made of flexible or deformable material (para. 0005, and 0023); and a light kit; wherein the bendable mounting plate (86) is bent to be attached onto a surface of a vehicle body (10, see Figs. 4 and 5) of the vehicle to attach the bendable light device onto the surface of the vehicle body of the vehicle.
Therefore, in view of Olsen, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN’s light device to be bendable by forming the mounting plate to be bendable in order to provide a light device mountable onto a curved vehicle surface without cumbersome mechanical adapters, as suggested by Olsen (see Para. 0005). One would have been motivated to make this combination to allow the end user to use a single type of light device for mounting on both flat and curved services of a vehicle in locations that previously would have necessitated specialized bezels or a combination of different light module shapes.
Stein teaches a light device for a vehicle that includes light assembly (16, see Fig. 9); a light base (10, see Fig. 2, Col. 2; lines 43-50) that includes an adjusting opening (36) on the base (see Col. 3; lines 46-67 and Col. 4; lines 1-14).
Therefore, in view of Stein, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN’s opening to be an adjusting opening in order to arrange the light assembly in different location in the opening. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved arrangement of the light.
Regarding claim 3. CHEN discloses the light kit further comprises at least one second light assembly (e.g. the middle lamp assembly 2), the at least one second light assembly comprises: a second light base (secondary base 22, see Fig. 2); a second light cover (242) mounted on the second light base, a second assembling portion being formed on a side of one of the second light base and the second light cover and for assembling with the main body portion of the bendable mounting plate; and a second light emitting module (23) disposed between the second light base and the second light cover.
Regarding claim 5. CHEN further discloses the light kit further comprises at least one sealing block (e.g. waterproof shielding plate 244, see Fig. 3), a first edge protrudes from another side of the first light base (e.g. main base 21) and is bent upwardly, a second edge (raised edges 211) protrudes from another side of the second light base and is bent upwardly, and the at least one sealing block is disposed between the first edge and the first light cover and between the second edge and the second light cover (242, see Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 6. CHEN further discloses the light kit further comprises a sealing block (e.g. waterproof shielding plate 244, raised edges 211, see Figs. 2 and 3), a first edge protrudes from another side of the first light base and is bent upwardly, and the sealing block is disposed between the first edge and the first light cover (241).
Regarding claim 7. CHEN further discloses the at least one first light assembly comprises two first light assemblies (two end portions), and the at least one second light assembly is disposed between the two first light assemblies (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 11 and 12. Olsen further discloses comprises two lateral positioning portions extending from two lateral sides of the main body portion (1, see Fig. 2), and each of the two lateral positioning portions comprises a combining end for combining with an engaging component (14, see Fig. 2) disposed on the vehicle body of the vehicle; wherein a combining hole (holes for receiving the fasteners, see Fig. 1) is formed on of the combining end and for engaging with the engaging component.
Regarding claim 15. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose the bendable mounting plate comprises a plurality of plate-shaped segments pivotally connected to each other.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by forming the mounting plate to be formed as a plurality of plate-shaped segments pivotally connected to each other, such that each light assembly may have a separate mounting plate, since it has been held by the courts making an integral structure separable (e.g. in a plurality of pieces), if so is desired, would require only ordinary skill. In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 16. CHEN in view of Olsen further discloses comprising at least one attaching component (e.g. fixing brackets 14, see Fig. 2) for adhesively or magnetically attaching the bendable mounting plate onto the surface of the vehicle body of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 17. CHEN further discloses the light kit further comprises a sealing block (e.g. waterproof shielding plate 244, see Fig. 3), a first edge protrudes from another side of the first light base and is bent upwardly, and the sealing block is disposed between the first edge and the first light cover (241).
Regarding claim 18. Olsen further discloses a first sealing border (waterproof frame 25, see Fig. 2) is disposed on and protrudes from an outer periphery of the first light base.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Olsen, Stein, and further in view of Tawa et al. (US 2003/0039124 hereinafter refer as “Tawa”).
Regarding claim 8. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose the at least one first light assembly further comprises a movable back plate movably disposed on the first light base and for mounting the first light emitting module, such that an orientation of the first light emitting module in a vertical direction is adjustable by movement of the movable back plate.
Tawa teaches a light assembly comprising a movable back plate (bracket 6, see Fig. 2, Para. 0042) that is tiltably supported on the lamp body (4) such that an orientation of the first light emitting module in a vertical direction is adjustable by movement of the movable back plate (see Para. 0048).
Therefore, in view of Tawa, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by enabling the light assembly to move angularly in a vertical direction for lighting purposes, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one would have been motivated to make this combination in order to provide a lighting assembly capable of adjustable illumination in any desired direction.
Regarding claim 13. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose a controller and a detector electrically connected to the controller, the detector is configured to detect an orientation of the first light emitting module in a vertical direction, and the controller is configured to control one of a plurality of light emitting components to emit light according to the orientation of the first light emitting module in the vertical direction detected by the detector.
Tawa teaches a light assembly comprising a controller (27, see Fig. 2, Para. 0034) electrically connected to a light emitting module (headlamp 2, see Fig. 2) and a detector (e.g. height sensor 37, see Fig. 2, Para. 0043, 0045) electrically connected to the controller, the detector is configured to detect an orientation of the light emitting module in a vertical direction (see Para. 0042-0043, 0057, 0064), and the controller is configured to control one of a plurality of light emitting components to emit light according to the orientation of the light emitting module in the vertical direction detected by the detector (see Para. 0064).
Therefore, in view of Tawa, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHEN by including a controller and a detector configured to detect the orientation of the first light emitting module and adjust the lighting projection in a preferable direction, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to configure the light assemblies for vertical adjustment in order to achieve the desired light pattern.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 9-10, 20, and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 2, 4, and 20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest “the at least one first light assembly further comprises a first back plate disposed on another side of the first light base for mounting the first light emitting module, a first positioning block protrudes from the first back plate, a first positioning recess is formed on the first back plate and located beneath the first positioning block, the first light emitting module comprises a first assembling plate, a first circuit board assembled with a side of the first assembling plate and at least one first light emitting component disposed on the first circuit board, a first positioning resilient plate extends from another side of the first assembling plate and is bent downwardly and obliquely, a first accommodating slot is formed on the first positioning resilient plate and for accommodating the first positioning block, and a first positioning portion is disposed on the first positioning resilient plate and located beneath the first accommodating slot and configured to engage with the first positioning recess by passing over the first positioning block” and as specifically called for the claimed combinations.
With respect to claims 9 and 24, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest two positioning columns are disposed on a side of the light base, the two positioning columns are located beside the adjusting opening and opposite to each other, the movable back plate comprises a base portion located between the two positioning columns and two mounting portions extending from two lateral sides of the base portion and respectively assembled with the two positioning columns, a base plate extends from a bottom side of the base portion and is located above the adjusting opening, and a mounting block protrudes from the base portion and for mounting the light emitting module, and as specifically called for the claimed combinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as a new basis of rejection is being applied in response to the applicant's amendment to the claims.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 9 the claims were amended to include partial limitations from the allowable subject matter of claims 9 and 24. However, the applicant is respectfully reminded that claims would have been allowable if the entire allowable subject matter had been incorporated, as explicitly stated in the objection. Therefore, the amendments made to the claims have not placed them in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875