Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maak et al, WO 2007/008558.
Maak discloses an aqueous dispersion of a hot melt adhesive. See page 3, paragraph 0010 and page 4, paragraph 0018. The dispersion comprises one or more polymers, one or more tackifiers, one or more waxes and water. The dispersion has an average particle size of from 0.1-100 microns. See page 3, paragraph 0011. The adhesives can be applied to nonwoven hygiene products. See page 4, paragraph 00019 and page 46, paragraph 00151. With regard to the polymer employed in the dispersion, suitable polymers include polyolefins, ethylene vinyl acetate polymers, (see page 5, paragraph 0020), styrene butadiene styrene polymers, styrene butadiene rubber, styrene acrylates, ethylene acrylic resin and polyacrylic resins, as well as ionomers. See page 5, paragraph 0020-page 7, paragraph 0024. More than one polymer or ionomer can be employed in the composition. See page 5, paragraph 0019. In addition to the polymers, the composition can include waxes, such as Fischer-Tropsch waxes, petroleum derived waxes and synthetic waxes, as well as natural waxes. See paragraphs 0099 and 00100 on page 33. Additionally, the dispersions can include tackifiers such as aliphatic, cycloaliphatic and aromatic hydrocarbons; terpenes and modified turpenes; rosins and rosin derivatives. Note that the terpenes and modified turpenes and rosins correspond to the claimed emulsion tackifier and that the paragraph 00102 disclose partially hydrogenated cycloaliphatic petroleum hydrocarbon resins with softening points of 100-130 , such as EASTOTAC H-100, H-115 and H-130. H-130 is a C5 petroleum solid material. The tackifiers have a ring and ball softening point from 70-150 degrees C and a viscosity at 350F of not more than 2000 centipoise. See paragraph 00101 on page 34. The combination of polymer, ionomer, wax and tackifying resins are about 1-74 volume percent of the dispersion and water is about 26-99 volume percent See paragraph 00107.
Maak differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the claimed amounts of each of the polymer, ionomer, wax and two kinds of tackifiers, however, since Maak teaches the combination of polymer, ionomer, wax and tackifiers are about 1-74 volume percent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected ranges for each of the components within the broad ranges taught by Maak in order to provide a composition which had the desired degree of tack, (tackifier), viscosity, (wax) and adhesiveness, (polymer).
With regard to the size of the tackifiers and wax particles, Maak teaches that the dispersion components have a size of 0.1-100 microns, (see page 3, paragraph 0011). Further, while EASTOTAC tackifiers are solid materials or flakes, they are not disclosed as being microparticles, however, it would have been obvious to have ground the tackifiers to the desired size to form a mixture with the other components in the adhesive composition.
With regard to the glass transition temperature of the composition, wax particles, and polymer, since the same types of polymers, waxes and tackifiers are used in Maak as are claimed, it is reasonable to expect that they would have the claimed glass transition temperatures, since like materials must have like properties.
With regard to claim 16-18, Maak teaches that the composition can be applied to nonwoven hygiene products and is especially useful for bonding polyolefins. See paragraphs 00157 and 00151. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have applied the adhesive of Maak to spunbonded polyolefin nonwovens, in view of the teaching of Maak that the adhesive was suitable for bonding polyolefins and nonwovens and to have selected the amount of adhesive which produced a suitably durable bond without impairing breathability or using an excess amount of adhesive for reasons of economy.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in Maak the particle size is of the dispersion in water, rather than of the individual particles of wax. However, the particles of Maak include the wax and the instant claims include open language and do not preclude that the wax is in particulate form along with other components.
With regard to the unexpected results, Applicant argues that the prepared water based hot melt adhesive is suitable for medical packaging and provide sufficient gas permeability after heat sealing which allows for sterilization and which reduces the incidents of fiber tear contamination. However, none of these limitations are present in the claims. Further, there is no showing that is commensurate in scope with the claims establishing results which are significant and unexpected.
Applicant argues that Maak is not used for the same types of applications, but is instead used for wood, cardboard and films, which do not require considerations of gas permeability or fiber tear. However, the instant claims are drawn to a hot melt adhesive per se. Further, with regard to claims 16-18, Maak also teaches applying the adhesive onto nonwoven substrates. Since the adhesive composition as claimed appears to be the same as the composition of Maak, it would be reasonable to expect that the properties of gas permeability and seal strength would be present once the adhesive of Maak was coated onto the same type of nonwoven substrate.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previous 112 rejection.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789