DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I Figs. 1-3 in the reply filed on 11/05/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 5-8, 10-11, and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 9, 12-13 and 15-17 objected to because of the following informalities: the listed claims recite “an article carrier according to claim” and should instead recite “the article carrier according to claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4, 9, 12-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 18 recite “a web panel hingedly connected”, this is unclear. It is unclear if any additional type of structure is required in order for the panel to be a web panel. Web usually refers to a complex system of interconnected elements or a membrane connecting thicker adjacent parts. Does the applicant just mean that the web panel is just a panel between two similar panels? Is the web panel made from a different material or more complex than the adjacent panels? For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will treat this as a connecting panel in the same material.
Claim 13 recites “each receiver comprising an aperture struck at least in part from the side wall or the end wall to which a respective corner panel is hingedly connected”, this is unclear. Does this mean the receiver is just an aperture in the side wall? How is the aperture struck? What does that mean? Is it an opening that is die-cut from the panel? Does the receiver include more than an aperture? Additionally, the claim previously recites “wherein each of the side wall or the end wall to which a respective corner panel is hingedly connected comprises a receiver for receiving” and then again “in part from the side wall or the end wall to which a respective corner is hingedly connected”, is this jus the same limitation recited twice? It is unclear.
Claim 17 recites “ventilation opening comprises a cutaway struck, at least in part, from one or more of: the side wall, an adjacent end wall, and the base panel”, this is unclear. What is a cutaway struck? Does this just mean there is a ventilation opening/aperture in one of the listed walls? Does is have to die-cut? Is there perforations that are pushed/struck by the user? It is unclear if this is just an opening or a process of making an opening. Examiner will treat it as an opening.
Claims not mentioned specifically or included due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valencia US 2021/0031968 A1, herein after referred to as Valencia.
Regarding Claim 1 Valencia discloses an article carrier for packaging one or more articles (Figs. 1-5), the article carrier comprising:
a plurality of panels forming a tray, the plurality of panels comprising:
a base panel (14 and 114 base panel, Figs. 1-5);
a pair of opposed side walls (18, 20, 118 and 120 side panels), hingedly connected to the base panel; and
a pair of opposed end walls (12,16, 112 and 116 end panels) hingedly connected to the base panel, the carrier further comprising:
at least one corner structure (C1, C2, C3 and C4, Fig. 1) coupling one of the pair of opposed side walls to one of the pair of opposed end walls, the corner structure comprising:
a corner panel (26a-d outer corner panel) extending between said end wall and said side wall, when the article carrier is in an erected condition (Figs. 3-4),
wherein the corner panel (26a-d) is hingedly connected to one of said end wall or said side wall by a first hinged connection (27a-d fold line), the corner structure further comprising:
a web panel (24a-d web panel) hingedly connected to the corner panel by a second hinged connection (25a-d fold line); and
a securing panel (22a-d inner corner panel) hingedly connected to the web panel by a third hinged connection (23a-d fold line), wherein the securing panel is secured to the other one of said end wall or said side wall (secured to the end wall via the fold lines 21a-d) to which the corner panel is hingedly connected, and
wherein the article carrier is foldable into a flat collapsed state, in which the securing panel is disposed between the end wall and the side wall, and is erectable into a tray, in which the securing panel is disposed between the web panel and the end wall or the side wall to which it is secured (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 2 Valencia discloses the article carrier according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein, in the flat collapsed state, the web panel (24a-d) and the corner panel (26a-d) are disposed between the end wall and the side wall (Figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 3 Valencia discloses the article carrier according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein, in the erected condition ,the tray is nestable with one or more similar tray in an erected condition (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4 Valencia discloses the article carrier according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein the article carrier is formed from a substrate having a pair of opposed surfaces comprising a first surface forming an outer surface of the tray and a second surface forming an inner surface of the tray, wherein the outer surface of the securing panel (22a-d) is secured to the outer surface of one of the end wall and the side wall (the securing panel is secured along its entire edge including the inner surface and outer surface along the fold lines 21a-d, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15 Valencia discloses the article carrier according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein the article carrier comprises a plurality of the corner structure (C1-C4), wherein each corner structure couples one of the pair of opposed side walls to one of the pair of opposed end walls (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18 Valencia discloses a blank for forming an article carrier (Figs. 1-5), the blank comprising:
a plurality of primary panels for forming walls of a tray, the plurality of panels comprising:
a base panel (14 and 114 base panel, Figs. 1-5);
a pair of opposed side walls (18, 20, 118 and 120 side panels), hingedly connected to the base panel; and
a pair of opposed end walls (12,16, 112 and 116 end panels) hingedly connected to the base panel, the blank further comprising:
at least one corner structure (C1, C2, C3 and C4, Fig. 1) coupling one of the pair of opposed side walls to one of the pair of opposed end walls, the corner structure comprising:
a corner panel (26a-d outer corner panel) extending between said end wall and said side wall, when the article carrier is in an erected condition (Figs. 3-4),
wherein the corner panel (26a-d) is hingedly connected to one of said end wall or said side wall by a first hinged connection (27a-d fold line), the corner structure further comprising:
a web panel (24a-d web panel) hingedly connected to the corner panel by a second hinged connection (25a-d fold line); and
a securing panel (22a-d inner corner panel) hingedly connected to the web panel by a third hinged connection (23a-d fold line), wherein the securing panel is securable to the other one of said end wall or said side wall (secured to the end wall via the fold lines 21a-d) to which the corner panel is hingedly connected, and
wherein the blank is foldable into a flat collapsed tray, in which the securing panel is disposed between the end wall and the side wall, and is erectable into a tray, in which the securing panel is disposed between the web panel and the end wall or the side wall to which it is secured (Figs. 1-5).
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKenna US 2014/0061289 A1, herein after referred to as McKenna.
Regarding Claim 1 McKenna discloses an article carrier for packaging one or more articles (Figs. 1-17), the article carrier comprising:
a plurality of panels forming a tray, the plurality of panels comprising:
a base panel (11 bottom wall, Fig. 6);
a pair of opposed side walls (14 and 15 end walls), hingedly connected to the base panel (Figs. 6-9); and
a pair of opposed end walls (12, 13, 16 and 17 side walls) hingedly connected to the base panel, the carrier further comprising:
at least one corner structure (41 corner post panels, Fig. 6) coupling one of the pair of opposed side walls to one of the pair of opposed end walls (Figs. 9-11), the corner structure comprising:
a corner panel (26a-d outer corner panel) extending between said end wall and said side wall, when the article carrier is in an erected condition (Fig. 11),
wherein the corner panel (46 third rectangular panel) is hingedly connected to one of said end wall or said side wall by a first hinged connection (Figs. 6-11), the corner structure further comprising:
a web panel (45 second rectangular panel) hingedly connected to the corner panel by a second hinged connection (Fig. 6); and
a securing panel (44 first rectangular panel) hingedly connected to the web panel by a third hinged connection (44-46 are hingedly connected to each other by fold lines and to the side wall via those fold lines), wherein the securing panel (44) is secured to the other one of said end wall or said side wall (secured to the end wall via A adhesive, Fig. 7) to which the corner panel is hingedly connected, and
wherein the article carrier is foldable into a flat collapsed state, in which the securing panel is disposed between the end wall and the side wall, and is erectable into a tray, in which the securing panel is disposed between the web panel and the end wall or the side wall to which it is secured (Figs. 6-11).
Regarding Claim 9 McKenna discloses the article carrier according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein the side wall or the end wall (12 which includes) to which the securing panel is secured comprises at least one locking tab (20 locking tab) extending from a side edge thereof (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 12 McKenna discloses the article carrier according to claim 9 and further discloses wherein the side wall or the end wall to which the securing panel is secured comprises a pair of locking tabs (20) extending from opposed side edges thereof (on either side, Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valencia in view of Flaming US 2016/0144994 A1, herein after referred to as Flaming.
Regarding claim 16 Valencia discloses the article carrier according to claim 1. Valencia is silent to a ventilation opening formed in at least one of the plurality of panels.
Flaming discloses a tray like article carrier (Figs. 1-2B) with a plurality of panels that include a ventilation opening (116 holes) in the opposing side walls (Figs. 1-2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the ventilation opening in the side wall as taught by Flaming as doing so is well known in the art and would yield predictable results as shown by Flaming. Additionally, the vent holes with provide for air flow through the container to allow contents to stay dry.
Regarding claim 17 Valencia as modified discloses the article carrier according to claim 16 and further discloses wherein the ventilation opening comprises an opening, at least in part, from one or more of: the side wall (Figs. 1-2B Flaming), an adjacent end wall, and the base panel.
Conclusion
/L KMET/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735