Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2016/0100023).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by a system comprising a processor, a communication connection between a first network device (e.g., gateway 210) and a second network device (e.g., an access device 108) (see Kim, p. [0127], e.g., the access device (e.g., via the application, program, or the like) may instruct the network device to register with the cloud network upon receiving confirmation from the network device that it has been successfully paired with a gateway), wherein the second network device communicates with a user equipment that is associated with a private communication network (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0051], e.g., a user may communicate with the network devices 102, 104, 106 using an access device 108 , and Fig. 2, p. [0060-0061], e.g., a user may operate an access device to access one or more of the network devices 202, 204, 206, 228 by sending a message to the IoT network service provider. The IoT network service provider may receive and process the message, and forward the necessary information to the destination device (e.g., network device 202, 204, 206, 228) according to the contents of the message);
subsequent to the establishing, determining, by the system, that a location of the user equipment is within a defined range of a group of communication devices (see Kim Fig. 2, e.g., the network devices 202, 204, 206, 228, p. [0126], e.g., the login information may be the same information that was originally set up to access the gateway network signals (e.g., when the gateway was initially installed). Once entered, the access device may send the login information to the network device. The network device may use the login information to pair with the selected gateway, and Fig. 9, p. [0152], e.g., network devices 902-908 within network 900, and p. [0152-0153], e.g., an access device 108 has been turned on near the network 900, to which it is associated, or has entered an area to which the network 900 can reach) and
disabling, by the system and based on the determining, the communication connection, (see Kim, Fig. 9, p. [0154-0155], e.g., the access device 108 may not be required to communicate with cloud network 114 in order to obtain one or more of such statuses).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the establishing of the communication connection bypasses a public Internet network connection (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to the establishing of the communication connection, establishing, by the system, another communication connection between the first network device and the group of communication devices, wherein the first network device is located within the defined range of the group of communication devices (see Kim, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, p. [0060-0061], e.g., the network 200 includes network devices 202, 204, 206, 228, access devices 208, 212, gateway 210, and an external network 214, and Fig. 9, p. [0153-0155], e.g., network devices 902-908 and gateway 110).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the establishing of the another communication connection is based on a determination that an application is executing on the user equipment (see Kim, p. [0154-0155], e.g., network devices 902-908 and access device 108 may each receive communication from other devices around network 900).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the communication connection is facilitated via a cellular network (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0050-0051], e.g., the access device 108 may include a cellular or other broadband network transceiver radio or interface, and may be configured to communicate with a cellular or other broadband network using the cellular or broadband network transceiver radio).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second network device is associated with a first site and the group of communication devices is associated with a second site that is different from the first site (see Kim, Fig. 9, p. [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the location is defined by a home of a user of the user equipment (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0123]) or a business of the user.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses an apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: establishing a communication connection between a first network device and a second network device (see Kim, p. [0127], e.g., the access device (e.g., via the application, program, or the like) may instruct the network device to register with the cloud network upon receiving confirmation from the network device that it has been successfully paired with a gateway), wherein the second network device communicates with a user equipment (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0051], e.g., A user may communicate with the network devices 102, 104, 106 using an access device 108 , and Fig. 2, p. [0060-0061], e.g., a user may operate an access device to access one or more of the network devices 202, 204, 206, 228 by sending a message to the IoT network service provider. The IoT network service provider may receive and process the message, and forward the necessary information to the destination device (e.g., network device 202, 204, 206, 228) according to the contents of the message); subsequent to the establishing, determining that a location of the user equipment is within a defined range of a group of communication devices (see Kim Fig. 2, e.g., the network devices 202, 204, 206, 228, p. [0126], e.g., the login information may be the same information that was originally set up to access the gateway network signals (e.g., when the gateway was initially installed). Once entered, the access device may send the login information to the network device. The network device may use the login information to pair with the selected gateway, and Fig. 9, p. [0152], e.g., network devices 902-908 within network 900, and p. [0152-0153], e.g., an access device 108 has been turned on near the network 900, to which it is associated, or has entered an area to which the network 900 can reach); and disabling, based on the determining, the communication connection (see Kim, Fig. 9, p. [0154-0155], e.g., the access device 108 may not be required to communicate with cloud network 114 in order to obtain one or more of such statuses).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the establishing of the communication connection bypasses a public network connection (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the establishing of the communication connection, establishing another communication connection between the first network device and the group of communication devices, wherein the first network device is located within the defined range of the group of communication devices (see Kim, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, p. [0060-0061], e.g., the network 200 includes network devices 202, 204, 206, 228, access devices 208, 212, gateway 210, and an external network 214, and Fig. 9, p. [0153-0155], e.g., network devices 902-908 and gateway 110).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the establishing of the another communication connection is based on a determination that an application is executing on the user equipment (see Kim, p. [0154-0155], e.g., network devices 902-908 and access device 108 may each receive communication from other devices around network 900).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the communication connection is facilitated via a cellular network (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0050-0051], e.g., the access device 108 may include a cellular or other broadband network transceiver radio or interface, and may be configured to communicate with a cellular or other broadband network using the cellular or broadband network transceiver radio).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second network device is associated with a first site and the group of communication devices is associated with a second site that is different from the first site (see Kim, Fig. 9, p. [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the location is defined by a home of a user of the user equipment (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0123]) or a business of the user.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: establishing a communication connection between a first device and a second device (see Kim, p. [0127], e.g., the access device (e.g., via the application, program, or the like) may instruct the network device to register with the cloud network upon receiving confirmation from the network device that it has been successfully paired with a gateway), wherein the second device communicates with a user equipment (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0051], e.g., A user may communicate with the network devices 102, 104, 106 using an access device 108 , and Fig. 2, p. [0060-0061], e.g., a user may operate an access device to access one or more of the network devices 202, 204, 206, 228 by sending a message to the IoT network service provider. The IoT network service provider may receive and process the message, and forward the necessary information to the destination device (e.g., network device 202, 204, 206, 228) according to the contents of the message); subsequent to the establishing, determining that a location of the user equipment is within a defined range of a group of communication devices (see Kim Fig. 2, e.g., the network devices 202, 204, 206, 228, p. [0126], e.g., the login information may be the same information that was originally set up to access the gateway network signals (e.g., when the gateway was initially installed). Once entered, the access device may send the login information to the network device. The network device may use the login information to pair with the selected gateway, and Fig. 9, p. [0152], e.g., network devices 902-908 within network 900, and p. [0152-0153], e.g., an access device 108 has been turned on near the network 900, to which it is associated, or has entered an area to which the network 900 can reach); and
disabling, based on the determining, the communication connection (see Kim, Fig. 9, p. [0154-0155], e.g., the access device 108 may not be required to communicate with cloud network 114 in order to obtain one or more of such statuses).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the establishing of the communication connection bypasses a public Internet network connection (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the establishing of the communication connection, establishing another communication connection between the first device and the group of communication devices, wherein the first device is located within the defined range of the group of communication devices (see Kim, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, p. [0060-0061], e.g., the network 200 includes network devices 202, 204, 206, 228, access devices 208, 212, gateway 210, and an external network 214, and Fig. 9, p. [0153-0155], e.g., network devices 902-908 and gateway 110).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the establishing of the another communication connection is based on a determination that an application is executing on the user equipment (see Kim, p. [0154-0155], e.g., network devices 902-908 and access device 108 may each receive communication from other devices around network 900).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the communication connection is facilitated via a cellular network (see Kim, Fig. 1, p. [0050-0051], e.g., the access device 108 may include a cellular or other broadband network transceiver radio or interface, and may be configured to communicate with a cellular or other broadband network using the cellular or broadband network transceiver radio).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the second device is associated with a first site and the group of communication devices is associated with a second site that is different from the first site (see Kim, Fig. 9, p. [0060-0061]).
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477