DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Somes (US 2011/0051714).
Regarding claim 1, Somes teaches a method comprising:
removing call origin information from a call message (i.e., receiving a call originating from a VoIP customer; para. [0023] and [0045] and removing the tgrp, tgrp-context from the request URI; para. [0026] and [0027], or stripping trunk group information; para. [0045] and [0047]);
adding a trunk group identifier (TGRP) to a header of the call message to create a modified call message that identified origin carrier information (i.e., "tgrp" and
'tgrp-context' is added; para. [0031]-[0032] and [0073]); and
forwarding the modified call message to a destination network associated with
the call recipient (i.e., the SIP tgrp and/or tgrp-context received in the VoIP R-URI
signaling of the call may be forwarded to a routing device; para. [0034]-[0035], to
international carrier, etc.; para. [0036], network element or gateway, para. [0040]-[0041] or to a NGW; para. [0073] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Somes further teaches a "SIP R-URI userinfo" as a payload portion of an X-header of the request URI of the call (para. [0032]). Also, the setting "DeliverTrunk-Groupinfo", etc. is used as the payload portion of the X-header in para. [0048].
Regarding claim 5, Somes further teaches the limitations of the claim in para. [0045].
Regarding claim 6, Somes further teaches the "tgrp" or "tgrp-context" for identifying TN, originating IP and location identifier such as a country code, etc. in settings (para. [0029] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Somes teaches an apparatus (i.e., TRE controller 901 as
shown in figure 9; para. [0092]) comprising:
a processor (i.e., CPU 903; para. [0093] and [0098]) configured to
remove call origin information from a call message (i.e., receiving a call originating from a VoIP customer; para. [0023] and [0045] and removing the tgrp, tgrp-context from the request URI; para. [0026] and [0027], or stripping trunk group information; para. [0045] and [0047]);
add a trunk group identifier (TGRP) to a header of the call message to create a modified call message that identified origin carrier information (i.e., "tgrp" and 'tgrp-context' is added; para. [0031]-[0032] and [0073]); and
forward the modified call message to a destination network associated with the call recipient (i.e., the SIP tgrp and/or tgrp-context received in the VoIP R-URI signaling of the call may be forwarded to a routing device; para. [0034]-[0035], to international carrier, etc.; para. [0036], network element or gateway, para. [0040]-[0041] or to a NGW; para. [0073] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 11, Somes further teaches a "SIP R-URI userinfo" as a payload portion of an X-header of the request URI of the call (para. [0032]). Also, the setting "DeliverTrunk-Groupinfo", etc. is used as the payload portion of the X-header in para. [0048].
Regarding claim 12, Somes further teaches the limitations of the claim in para. [0045].
Regarding claim 13, Somes further teaches the "tgrp" or "tgrp-context" for identifying TN, originating IP and location identifier such as a country code, etc. in settings (para. [0029] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Somes teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor (i.e., a memory 929, ROM 906, RAM 905 in figure 9; para. [0098] and [0099]) to perform:
removing call origin information from a call message (i.e., receiving a call originating from a VoIP customer; para. [0023] and [0045] and removing the tgrp, tgrp-context from the request URI; para. [0026] and [0027], or stripping trunk group information; para. [0045] and [0047]);
adding a trunk group identifier (TGRP) to a header of the call message to create a modified call message that identified origin carrier information (i.e., "tgrp" and
'tgrp-context' is added; para. [0031]-[0032] and [0073]); and
forwarding the modified call message to a destination network associated with
the call recipient (i.e., the SIP tgrp and/or tgrp-context received in the VoIP R-URI
signaling of the call may be forwarded to a routing device; para. [0034]-[0035], to
international carrier, etc.; para. [0036], network element or gateway, para. [0040]-[0041] or to a NGW; para. [0073] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 18, Somes further teaches a "SIP R-URI userinfo" as a payload portion of an X-header of the request URI of the call (para. [0032]). Also, the setting "DeliverTrunk-Groupinfo", etc. is used as the payload portion of the X-header in para. [0048].
Regarding claim 19, Somes further teaches the limitations of the claim in para. [0045].
Regarding claim 20, Somes further teaches the "tgrp" or "tgrp-context" for identifying TN, originating IP and location identifier such as a country code, etc. in settings (para. [0029] and [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somes (US 2011/0051714) in view of Bunch et al. (US 2011/0252154).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Somes further teaches SIP mechanism, SIP, SIP Request-URI (para. [0013]-[0014]) and VoIP R-URI signaling (para. [0027]). Somes failed to describe one of SIP mechanism, SIP, SIP Request-URI and/or VoIP R-URI signaling as a call message comprising a SIP INVITE. However, Bunch et al. (hereinafter “Bunch”) teaches a call message comprising a SIP INVITE in paragraph [0098].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of a call message comprising a SIP INVITE, as taught by Bunch, into view of Somes in order to transmit the signaling information between the network nodes in the VoIP telecommunications network.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somes (US 2011/0051714) in view of Bunch et al. (US 2011/0252154), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Christopher et al. (US 2020/0153875).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Somes and Bunch, in combination, failed to teach the header to be added to the SIP INVITE. However, Christopher teaches the feature, such as additional information as a separate SIP header to be added to the SIP invite in paragraph [0098], as taught by Christopher, into Somes and Bunch in order to transmit the signaling information between the network nodes in the VoIP telecommunications network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of a call message comprising a SIP INVITE, as taught by Christopher, into view of Somes and Bunch, in order to transmit the signaling information between the network nodes in the VoIP telecommunications network.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somes (US 2011/0051714) in view of Davis (US 10,708,417).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Somes teaches all subject matters, such as adding the modified tgrp and tgrp-context to the call message as claimed above, except for the features of determining an origin carrier network based on an operating company number parameter from an external data source based on a telephone number identified by the TGRP in the header of the call message. However, Davis teaches a system comprising a traffic control module 102 to query a LNP database 712 for routing information based on a given phone number, i.e., a telephone number of a recipient. The routing number may include the OCN of a network device, such as network device 708, as shown in figure 7 (col.25, lines 10-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of the features of determining an origin carrier network based on an operating company number parameter from an external data source based on a telephone number identified by the TGRP in the header of the call message, as taught by Davis, into view of Somes in order to determine route path to route the call message to the next carrier network and/or designed destination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,766. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader in scope than the claims of the patent and/or recited in different words (In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,546,766. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader in scope than the claims of the patent and/or recited in different words (In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,979,565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader in scope than the claims of the patent and/or recited in different words (In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)).
Any response to this action should be mailed or handed carry deliveries to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300
/Binh Kien Tieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694
Date: July 2026