Response to Amendment
Request for Continued Examination
Claims 1-24 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 14, 16-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Cash et al., U.S. 2006/0202851 in view of Netgear 2011 (see IDS and as evidenced by Miyabayashi, U.S. 2009/0227282) and Atzmueller et al., U.S. 2004/0088279 (hereinafter 279) and Cencur, U.S. 2001/0045803.
On claim 1, Cash cites except as underlined:
A wallbox mountable control device,
Cash, figure 1, remote handheld programming device 101
comprising:
an airgap switch
[0011] A prior art electronic dimming ballast may comprise front end, which includes an a rectifier for producing a rectified DC voltage from an AC mains supply and a boost converter for generating a boosted DC bus voltage from the rectified DC voltage. The DC bus voltage is provided to a back end, which includes an inverter for generating a high-frequency AC voltage from the DC bus voltage and an output filter for coupling the high-frequency AC voltage to the lighting load for powering the lighting load. The front end and the band end of a prior art ballast is described in greater detail in U.S. Pat. No. 6,674,248, issued Jan. 6, 2004, entitled "Electronic Ballast", the entire disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.
a controllably conductive device
see [0011] above
first communication interface circuitry couplable to a first wireless network and configured to communicate using a first communication protocol;
control circuitry coupled to the first communication interface circuitry,
[0059] Continuing with reference to FIG. 1, the devices comprise, for example, one bus supply unit 114, ballasts 102, which may be electrically coupled to respective wall controls 110, and an infrared receiver 104 that is operable to receive infrared signals sent from the handheld programming device 101 and to send signals to an associated ballast 102.
the control circuitry to:
establish a wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device;
ballast 102 communicating with infrared receiver 104 and remote 101.
receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more network access credentials to access a first wireless network;
[0056] Further, the invention includes a security feature to ensure that properly authorized personnel are afforded access to perform the above tasks. For example, by password protecting the handheld programming device to exclude anyone other than an authorized user, the invention prevents unauthorized persons from configuring ballasts in the lighting control system.
establish a network connection with a network router via the first wireless network using the received one or more network access credentials;
receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more configuration parameters;
[0058] Further, the bus supply 114 is operable to store ballast programming information and to communicate with intelligent ballasts 102 over the link 116. Preferably, bus supply 1 14 includes a microcontroller or other type of processor that includes a memory that stores a database 118 of the system ballasts and corresponding settings and configurations. Database 1 18 preferably comprises one or more data tables that are populated either automatically by individual ballasts transmitting respective information over ballast link 116, or by receiving signals transmitted by a handheld programming device 101. The bus supply 1 14 is operable to receive a plurality of contact closure inputs 112, which each provide an input of a closed state or an open state to the bus supply. The bus supply 1 14 is operable to control the lighting loads attached to each of the ballast 102 in response to a change in state of the contact closure inputs 112.
and
terminate the wireless point-to-point communication.
279 cites:
[0003] Although the capability of executing a control program source is present in each machine control system, the execution is usually performed by a separate programming device provided specifically for that purpose. It can for instance be a PC, and in particular a notebook. This has the advantage that the execution/setup of the control program source can be done centrally on only a single programming device. This can also be done at a completely different place from where the applicable machine or machine control system is located. Another advantage is that both operation of the machine via the operation and visualization module of the machine control system and execution of the control program--in particular, a status display of control signals in debugging the control program--can be done simultaneously with the programming device. To that end, it is known to establish a connection between the programming device and the applicable machine control system, via a serial direct interface between these devices. This is followed by an upload of the control program source from the machine control system into the programming device. The execution is then done via a programming module in the programming device. Next, the executed/set-up control program source is compiled, and the compilate is downloaded into the machine control system. Next, the machine control system is provided with the executed compilate, and the user can disconnect the programming device from the machine control system.
Regarding the excepted:
the control circuitry to:
establish a wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device;
Cash discloses:
ballast 102 communicating with infrared receiver 104.
Cash doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the related art of network devices, Netgear 2011 discloses:
Page 6:
Set Up Two Wireless Connections
The first wireless connection is between the Extender and your
router. The second wireless connection is between your computer or
wireless device and the Extender. How you set up these connections
depends on whether or not your wireless equipment supports Wi-Fi
Protected Setup (WPS).
Using WPS to Connect the Extender to Your Router
1.
First, press your router's WPS button.
2.
Within 2 minutes, press and hold the Extender's WPS button until
its WPS LED
on the front starts flashing.
When the Extender connects to your router, the Link Rate LED
lights up. The Extender's wireless network name (SSID)
changes to your router's SSID with _EXT at the end. The
Extender uses the same wireless security settings as your router.
3.
After the Extender is connected to your router, use your computer
or wireless device to join the Extender's wireless network.
Page 9:
When to Use the Extender Wireless Network
NETGEAR recommends that you connect to the Extender wireless
network only when a PC or wireless device is in a "dead zone" where
the network connection to your existing router is very poor or non-
existent. This is because data traffic routed through the Extender
wireless network is slower than traffic directly from the original
wireless router network.
If you cannot connect from your wireless device to the Extender,
move the Extender to a different location half-way between the device
and the router. If after you try several locations, the device cannot
connect to the Extender, move the Extender closer to the device.
Or
Page 10
Extender Performance
The Link Rate LED and PC to Extender LED
indicate performance. The best performance is delivered when both of these LEDs are
green. A workable performance is delivered when the Link Rate LED is
amber and the PC to Extender LED is green. If the Link Rate LED is red, that indicates a poor connection. If it is off, there is no connection between the Extender and the router.
If the PC to Extender LED is off, then the PC is not connected to the Extender.
To improve the Extender performance:
Move the Extender closer to the router or to a different location
with a better line of sight.
As you move the Extender, check the Link Rate and the PC to
Extender Connection LEDs on the front panel until you find a good
location as described in the previous section Place the Extender
and Apply Power.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Cash’s remote 101 and infrared wireless receiver 104 and include into Cash Netgear’s Extender Wireless Network device with PC such that the claimed invention is realized. Netgear discloses a known embodiment for coupling remote devices to a networked system and one of ordinary skill, apprised of this feature would have substituted Netgear’s known embodiment into Cash as a known alternative embodiment for remotely controlling a networked controlled device.
Regarding the excepted:
receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more network access credentials to access a first wireless network;
establish a network connection with a network router via the first wireless network using the received one or more network access credentials;
receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more configuration parameters;
Cash, as indicated in [0056 and 58], discloses an embodiment for providing security between the remote control 101 and the system coupled to the ballast receiver 104 as indicated in figure 1.
Cash doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the similar art of networking devices, Netgear discloses
Page 6:
Set Up Two Wireless Connections
The first wireless connection is between the Extender and your
router. The second wireless connection is between your computer or
wireless device and the Extender. How you set up these connections
depends on whether or not your wireless equipment supports Wi-Fi
Protected Setup (WPS).
(As evidenced by Miyabayashi)
[0312] The pre-WPS configuration method required the user to manually configure the AP to support a PSK and manually enter the SSID and PSK. The entry of the SSID and PSK are performed on both the AP and the client. This approach is subject to user errors. The user errors include mistyping, confusion of PSK and SSID, and so on. With WPS, however, the credentials exchange process requires little user intervention after the initial setup action is competed. Examples of the setup action include entering the PIN or pushing the PBC button. In this case, the network name and the PSK are automatically issued.
In other words, Miyabayashi discloses an exchange of credentials exchange procedure, which meets the claimed “receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more network access credentials to access a first wireless network;
establish a network connection with a network router via the first wireless network using the received one or more network access credentials.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Cash the key exchange process as disclosed in Netgear as evidenced by Miyabayashi such that the claimed invention is realized. One of ordinary skill, apprised of this feature, would have included this embodiment into Cash as a known alternative embodiment for providing networking and network security for a networked system.
Regarding the excepted: terminate the wireless point-to-point communication, Cash, as previously disclosed, provided for an embodiment wherein:
[0058] Further, the bus supply 114 is operable to store ballast programming information and to communicate with intelligent ballasts 102 over the link 116. Preferably, bus supply 1 14 includes a microcontroller or other type of processor that includes a memory that stores a database 118 of the system ballasts and corresponding settings and configurations. Database 1 18 preferably comprises one or more data tables that are populated either automatically by individual ballasts transmitting respective information over ballast link 116, or by receiving signals transmitted by a handheld programming device 101.
In other words, Cash discloses an embodiment in which external programming to the ballast programming is provided. Cash doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations. In the same art of networked operations, 279 disclosed:
[0003]Next, the machine control system is provided with the executed compilate, and the user can disconnect the programming device from the machine control system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Cash and Netgear the disconnecting features disclosed in 279 such that the claimed invention is realized. 279 discloses a known practice of disconnecting a programming device from a data connection module. One of ordinary skill would have implemented this feature to remove a power load and reduce unnecessary data transfer in the system.
Regarding the excepted:
A wallbox mountable control device, Cash, as disclosed above, includes a remote control 101. Cash doesn’t disclose the claimed “wallbox mountable” control device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Cash’s remote control as a known substitute for the claimed “wallbox mountable control device.” The claimed “wallbox mountable control device” is nothing more that a control device that has the ability to be mounted to a wall. Clearly, the cited remote control acts as the control device for Cash’s embodiment. Furthermore, requiring the remote control to be mounted to a wall is tantamount to making the remote control integral with a wall. However, merely making the wallbox mountable doesn’t necessarily make the device patentable subject matter if the cited remote control otherwise carries out the operations of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2144.04
B. Making Integral
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."); but see Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to a vibratory testing machine (a hard-bearing wheel balancer) comprising a holding structure, a base structure, and a supporting means which form "a single integral and gaplessly continuous piece." Nortron argued that the invention is just making integral what had been made in four bolted pieces. The court found this argument unpersuasive and held that the claims were patentable because the prior art perceived a need for mechanisms to dampen resonance, whereas the inventor eliminated the need for dampening via the one-piece gapless support structure, showing insight that was contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.).
One of ordinary skill would have provided an embodiment meeting the operation of the claimed invention notwithstanding its “mountability” to a wall.
Regarding the excepted: air gap switch, as disclosed previously, Cash included:
[0011] A prior art electronic dimming ballast may comprise front end, which includes an a rectifier for producing a rectified DC voltage from an AC mains supply and a boost converter for generating a boosted DC bus voltage from the rectified DC voltage.
Cash did not disclose an air gap switch. In the similar art of electrical control devices, Cencur cites:
[0075] Referring to FIG. 8b, the cover plate 36 has the elements 42 engaged to the switch actuator 39. Of course, there are different ways to translate movements of the cover plate to the switch 38, and the one shown in FIGS. 8a and 8b is merely illustrative. Different kinds of air gap switches with different actuator arrangements could also be used. The air gap switch can be connected so as to control the load directly and thus any unnecessary or duplicative components of the inventive switch can be omitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Cash’s load control device for the air gap switch disclosed in Cencur to produce an embodiment wherein the air gap switch is used to control an electrical load in place of the cited ballast. One of ordinary skill would have substituted the air gap switch in place of the ballast as a known alternative embodiment for load control.
On claim 2, Cash and Netgear cites:
The wallbox mountable control device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry to further:
provide a visible indicator responsive to establishing the network connection with the network router using the received network credentials. See the rejection of claim 1 citing Netgear
Within 2 minutes, press and hold the Extender's WPS button until
its WPS LED on the front starts flashing.
When the Extender connects to your router, the Link Rate LED
lights up.
On claim 3, Cash and Netgear cites:
The wallbox mountable control device of claim 1, wherein to establish the point-to-point communication with the portable network device, the control circuitry to further: create a WiFi® wireless access point; and
establish the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via the WiFi® wireless access point.
See the rejection of claim 1 citing Netgear
Within 2 minutes, press and hold the Extender's WPS button until
its WPS LED on the front starts flashing.
When the Extender connects to your router, the Link Rate LED
lights up.
On claim 6, Cash, Netgear (as evidenced by Miyabayashi), and 279 cites:
The wallbox mountable control device of claim 1, wherein to receive, the one or more configuration parameters, the control circuitry to further: receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, a unique identifier to associate with the wallbox mountable control device. See the rejection of claim 1 citing Miyabayashi.
The claimed “unique identifier” is the cited exchanged network key disclosed in Miyabayashi.
On claim 7, Cash cites except as underlined:
The wallbox mountable control device of claim 6, wherein to receive, the one or more configuration parameters, the control circuitry to further: receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, data representative of one or more motion sensor operating parameters.
Cash discloses:
[0012] Often, the ballast may include a processing section, for example, comprising a microprocessor, which receives multiple inputs. The inputs may be received from the ballast itself, e.g., an input concerning the magnitude of the DC bus voltage or an input concerning the output lamp current or the output lamp voltage. In addition, the inputs to the processing section may be received from an external sensor, such as an external photocell sensor or an external occupancy sensor. Furthermore, the processing section has a communication port that transmits and receives information via the DALI communications protocol. The processing section is powered by a power supply, which receives the rectified DC voltage from the rectifying circuit. An example of a ballast that comprises a microprocessor and in operable to receive a plurality of inputs, specifically, inputs from external sensors, is described in greater detail in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/824,248, filed Apr. 14, 2004, entitled "Multiple Input Electronic Ballast with Processor", the entire disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.
Cash doesn’t specifically disclose “motion sensor operating parameters.” However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Cash the operation of the cited one or more motion sensor operating parameters wherein the motion sensor is manifested in the cited “occupancy sensor.” In this instance, the occupancy sensor operates as a motion sensor. In one aspect, when a space is empty, the occupancy sensor would provide feedback that the room is vacant. When the space senses the presence of one or more persons in the room, the sensor would provide feedback that the room is occupied. The transition from vacant to occupied indicates at least a form of motion, that is, a room going from empty to occupied discloses a transition of nothing to something, which is motion being sensed. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill, apprised of the operation of an occupancy sensor, would surmise a motion detection of sorts is occurring based on the plain meaning of what a motion detector functions.
On claim 8, Cash cites:
The wallbox mountable control device of claim 7, wherein to receive, the one or more configuration parameters, the control circuitry to further: receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, data representative of one or more electrical dimmer operating parameters.
[0083] At step S208, the user makes a determination whether the desired ballast 102 is flashing. If not, then at step S2 10, the user selects a different ballast, for example, by selecting next or previous on handheld programming device 101. Alternatively, if the user determines that the correct ballast is flashing, then at step S212, the ballast attached to the daylight sensor outputs at its maximum intensity. In step S214, the user selects graphical controls on handheld programming device to adjust the sensor gain or low end. In this way, the user can define the degree of sensitivity of the sensor to detect when a particular amount of light, for example in a room, should cause a ballast to turn on or off or dim to a dimmed level. When the user is satisfied with the settings of the sensor, the user completes the process in step S218. Thus, using the graphical user interface provided on handheld programming device 101, a user can configure a photosensor 106.
On claim 9, Cash, Netgear (as evidenced by Miyabayashi), 279 and Cencur cites:
A wallbox mountable control device configuration method, comprising:
establishing, by control circuitry disposed in the wallbox mountable control device, a wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device;
receiving, by the control circuitry, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more network access credentials to access a first wireless network; establishing, by control circuitry, a network connection with a network router via the first wireless network using the received one or more network access credentials;
receiving, by the control circuitry from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more control device configuration parameters; and
terminating, by the control circuitry, the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device. See the rejection of claim 1 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 10, Cash, Netgear, and 279 cites:
The method of claim 9, further comprising: causing a change in an operating parameter of a visible indicator responsive to establishing the network connection with the network router using the received network credentials. See the rejection of claim 2 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 11, Cash, Netgear, and 279 cites:
The method of claim 9, wherein establishing the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device further comprises: creating, by the control circuitry, a WiFi® wireless access point; and establishing, by the control circuitry, the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device using the WiFi® wireless access point. See the rejection of claim 3 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 14, Cash, Netgear (as evidenced by Miyabayashi) and 279 cites: The method of claim 9, wherein receiving the one or more configuration parameters further comprises: receiving, by the control circuitry from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, a unique identifier to associate with the wallbox mountable control device.
See the rejection of claim 1 citing Miyabayashi.
On claim 15, Cash cites:
The method of claim 14, wherein receiving the one or more configuration parameters further comprises: receiving, by the control circuitry from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, data representative of one or more motion sensor operating parameters. See the rejection of claim 7 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 15 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 16, Cash cites:
The method of claim 15, wherein receiving the one or more configuration parameters further comprises: receiving, by the control circuitry from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, data representative of one or more electrical dimmer operating parameters.
[0083] At step S208, the user makes a determination whether the desired ballast 102 is flashing. If not, then at step S2 10, the user selects a different ballast, for example, by selecting next or previous on handheld programming device 101. Alternatively, if the user determines that the correct ballast is flashing, then at step S212, the ballast attached to the daylight sensor outputs at its maximum intensity. In step S214, the user selects graphical controls on handheld programming device to adjust the sensor gain or low end. In this way, the user can define the degree of sensitivity of the sensor to detect when a particular amount of light, for example in a room, should cause a ballast to turn on or off or dim to a dimmed level. When the user is satisfied with the settings of the sensor, the user completes the process in step S218. Thus, using the graphical user interface provided on handheld programming device 101, a user can configure a photosensor 106.
On claim 17, Cash, Netgear (as evidenced by Miyabayashi), 279 and Cencur cites:
A non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device that includes instructions that, when executed by control circuitry disposed in a wallbox mountable control device,
Cash cites:
[0121] In a preferred embodiment of the present invention, a user can use handheld programming device 101 to restore database 118 on power bus 114. For example, in case power bus 114 fails and requires replacement, the database 118 on the replaced power bus 114 may not be accessible. Preferably, once a replacement power bus 118 is physically installed and powered, the user selects one or more controls on handheld programming device 101 to instruct replacement power bus 114 to build database 118. Each ballast 102 preferably stores in its respective memory the configuration and setting information for that ballast 102. For example, a single ballast's values for high end trim, low end trim, emergency settings, grouping settings or the like are stored in the memory of the ballast 102. During a power bus 114 replacement process, power bus 118 preferably instructs each ballasts 102 on ballast link 116, one at a time, to transmit its respective configuration and setting information to the replacement power bus 114. Power bus 114 preferably assigns an identifier (i.e., the short address) to each ballast 102, and populates database 118 with the respective information of each ballast 102.
cause the control circuitry to:
establish a wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device;
receive from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more network access credentials to access a first wireless network;
establish a network connection with a network router via the first wireless network using the received one or more network access credentials;
receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, one or more control device configuration parameters; and
terminate the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device. See the rejection of claim 1 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 17 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 18, Cash, Netgear, and 279 cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, further cause the control circuitry to: cause a change in an operating parameter of a visible indicator responsive to establishing the network connection with the network router using the received network credentials. See the rejection of claim 2 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 18 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 19, Cash, Netgear, and 279 cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 17, wherein the instructions that cause the control circuitry to establish the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device further cause the control circuitry to: create a WiFi® wireless access point; and establish the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device using the WiFi® wireless access point. See the rejection of claim 3 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 19 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 22, Cash and Miyabayashi cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 17, wherein the instructions that cause the control circuitry to receive the one or more configuration parameters further cause the control circuitry to: receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, a unique identifier to associate with the wallbox mountable control device. See the rejection of claim 6, which discloses the same subject matter as claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 23, Cash cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 22, wherein the instructions that cause the control circuitry to receive the one or more configuration parameters further cause the control circuitry to: receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, data representative of one or more motion sensor operating parameters. See the rejection of claim 7, which discloses the same subject matter as claim 23 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 24, Cash cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 23, wherein the instructions that cause the control circuitry to receive the one or more configuration parameters further cause the control circuitry to: receive, from the portable network device via the wireless point-to-point communication, data representative of one or more electrical dimmer operating parameters.
[0083] At step S208, the user makes a determination whether the desired ballast 102 is flashing. If not, then at step S2 10, the user selects a different ballast, for example, by selecting next or previous on handheld programming device 101. Alternatively, if the user determines that the correct ballast is flashing, then at step S212, the ballast attached to the daylight sensor outputs at its maximum intensity. In step S214, the user selects graphical controls on handheld programming device to adjust the sensor gain or low end. In this way, the user can define the degree of sensitivity of the sensor to detect when a particular amount of light, for example in a room, should cause a ballast to turn on or off or dim to a dimmed level. When the user is satisfied with the settings of the sensor, the user completes the process in step S218. Thus, using the graphical user interface provided on handheld programming device 101, a user can configure a photosensor 106.
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Cash et al., U.S. 2006/0202851 in view of Netgear 2011 (as evidenced by Miyabayashi) and Atzmueller, U.S. US 2004/0088279 (hereinafter 279) and Cencur, and SMA Bluetooth Repeater 2011.
On claim 4, Cash and Netgear cites except as underlined:
The wallbox mountable control device of claim 1, wherein to establish the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device, the control circuitry to further: establish the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via a Bluetooth® connection with the portable network device.
In the rejection of claim 1, Cash and Netgear disclosed using a WiFi range extender. Neither reference discloses using a Bluetooth connection range extender. However, in the same art of range extension devices, SMA Bluetooth Repeater, discloses:
Page 9, paragraph 3.1 Applications
The SMA Bluetooth Repeater is used to close dead zones under unfavorable installation conditions between SMA Solar Technology AG devices with Bluetooth Wireless Technology or to improve poor wireless connections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Cash and Netgear the Bluetooth range extender device disclosed in SMA Bluetooth Repeater such that the claimed invention is realized. SMA Bluetooth Repeater discloses a known alternative embodiment of a range extension device that operates using Bluetooth communications instead of WiFi. One of ordinary skill would have implemented SMA Bluetooth Repeater’s embodiment as another form of networked control features for a networked system.
On claim 12, Cash, Netgear, 279, and SMA Bluetooth Repeater cites:
The method of claim 9, wherein establishing the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device further comprises: establishing, by the control circuitry, the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via a Bluetooth® connection with the portable network device.
See the rejection of claim 4 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 20, Cash, Netgear, 279, and SMA Bluetooth Repeater cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 17, wherein the instructions that cause the control circuitry to establish the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device further cause the control circuitry to: establish the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via a Bluetooth® connection with the portable network device.
See the rejection of claim 4 which discloses the same subject matter as claim 20 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 5, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Cash et al., U.S. 2006/0202851 in view of Netgear 2011 (as evidenced by Miyabayashi) and Atzmueller, U.S. US 2004/0088279 and Cencur, and Park et al., U.S. 2011/0093704.
On claim 5, Cash, Netgear, and 279 cites except as underlined: The wallbox mountable control device of claim 1, wherein to establish the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device, the control circuitry to further:
establish the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via an IEEE 802.15 compliant Near Field Communication (NFC) connection with the portable network device.
In the rejection of claim 1, Netgear, pages 6, 9, and 10, disclosed an embodiment in which a wireless connection is established using Wi-Fi communications. However, neither Cash, Netgear, nor 279 discloses the use of Near Field Communications to carry out data transfers.
In the related art of network devices, Park, discloses
[0008] CPNS refers to a service in which one personal network is formed, which is a combination of a device serving as a gateway in charge of communication with an external network and a device for actually playing service and content with access to a service/content provider existing in the external network through the device serving as a gateway, thereby allowing a user to utilize the service or content. In CPNS, a device serving as a gateway is called a Personal Network Gateway (PN gateway), and a device being connected to the PN gateway by near-field communication and accessing the external network via the PN gateway is called a Personal Network Entity (PNE). In addition, a Personal Network server, which serves to provide content and service of the external network to a device in the personal network upon request of the PN gateway, is called a CPNS server. Generally, the PN gateway may include a mobile phone or a PC, and the PNE may include a PMP and an MP3 player.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Park’s NFC communication feature in place of Netgear’s Wi-Fi communications feature such that the claimed invention is realized. Park discloses a known alternative embodiment for exchanging wireless data and one of ordinary skill, apprised of this feature, would have incorporated this known means of communication as an added way to allow smartphones to exchange data.
On claim 13, Cash, Netgear (as evidenced by Miyabayashi), 279, Cencur, and Park cites:
The method of claim 9, wherein establishing the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device further comprises: establishing, by the control circuitry, the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via an IEEE 802.15 compliant Near Field Communication (NFC) connection with the portable network device.
See the rejection of claim 5, which discloses the same subject matter as claim 13 and is rejected for the same reasons.
On claim 21, Cash, Netgear (as evidenced by Miyabayashi), 279, and Cencur, and Park cites:
The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 17, wherein the instructions that cause the control circuitry to establish the wireless point-to-point communication with the portable network device further cause the control circuitry to: establish the wireless point-to-point communication with a portable network device via an IEEE 802.15 compliant Near Field Communication (NFC) connection with the portable network device.
See the rejection of claim 5, which discloses the same subject matter as claim 21 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Remarks
Due to the submission of the reference submitted under the Information Disclosure Statement submitted 31 March 2026, which includes matter material to the patentability of the claimed invention, prosecution is reopened.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAL EUSTAQUIO whose telephone number is (571)270-7229. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Zimmerman, can be reached at (571) 272-3059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application lnformation Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAlR only. For more information about the PAlR system, see http:/lpair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAlR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-91 99 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CAL J EUSTAQUIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686