DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayer (US 11993428 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 10, 12-14, and 16, Mayer discloses a closeable carton and a blank for making comprising a floor panel (112); a plurality of side panels (116/114a-b) extending about a periphery of the floor panel (see Fig. 13), the plurality of side panels comprising a front side panel (114a), an opposing rear side panel (114b), a first side end panel (116), and an opposing second side end panel (116); corner gussets (118) extending between adjacent side panels, wherein the floor panel, side panels, and corner gussets are configurable to form a compartment region (see Figures 14-15); a closure portion (132/136), wherein the closure portion is configured to secure a top opening of the container portion; and an arrangement of vent openings (142).
Regarding claim 2, Mayer discloses a carton wherein the closure portion comprises, closure flaps (120/124/136; Examiner considers element 124 to extend as a flap) extending from an uppermost edge of the side panels forming a moveable joint where the closure flaps and corresponding side panels intersect (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Mayer discloses a carton wherein a first closure flap (136) and a second closure flap (124) are adapted to engage with one another when in a folded closed position.
Regarding claim 4, Mayer discloses a carton wherein the first closure flap and the second closure flap are configured to interlock with one another via a tab (124) formed on one of the first closure flap or the second closure flap and a corresponding slot (138) formed in the other of the first closure flap or the second closure flap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer in view of Hubbard, Jr. et al. (US 9309023 B2; hereinafter Hubbard).
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Mayer discloses the claimed invention except for vent openings in the closure. Hubbard teaches a food tray and blank for making with vent openings wherein one or more of the vent openings are formed substantially in the closure portion of the carton (Col 4 lines 44-65; Examiner notes that Hubbard contemplates putting vent openings anywhere along in the lid, or closure, side walls or end walls). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Mayer’s carton to move the vent openings anywhere along the carton, including the lid, as taught by Hubbard in order to optimize the ventilation of the carton.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer in view of Hanna et al. (US 7607563 B2; hereinafter Hanna).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 11, Mayer discloses the claimed invention except for vent openings along fold lines. Hanna teaches a food tray comprising circular vent openings (45) along a closure fold line (see Figures 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Mayer’s carton to include vent openings along fold lines, as taught by Hanna, in order to optimize the ventilation of contents (Hanna; Col 1 lines 35-50).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer in view of Sill et al. (US 2019/0322409 A1; hereinafter Sill).
Regarding claim 15, Mayer discloses the claimed invention except for closure flaps that are removable. Sill teaches a food carton wherein one or more moveable joints are weakened (120), and wherein one or more closure flaps (105) are configured to be removable from its respective side panel by tearing along a respective one of the weakened moveable joints (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to have Mayer’s closure flaps be removable in order to provide a means for gaining greater access to the food within (Sill; see Par. 0003-0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734