DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/828,078 filed on 09/09/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (US 2021/0226689 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0308892 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 10, Farag teaches a first communication device of a communication system and a method, the first communication device comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor configured with processor-executable instructions to:
determine a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state update for an active
joint TCI state upon detecting or predicting a rotation of the first communication device around at least one rotational axis of the first communication device (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0071] UE moves around or rotates; beam management procedures; joint-TCI),
wherein the active joint TCI state associates:
at least one reception spatial filter of the first communication device with at least
one transmission spatial filter of a second communication device, or
at least one transmission spatial filter of the first communication device with at
least one reception spatial filter of the second communication device (Paragraphs [0072] to [0075] spatial filters; TCI state).
Farag does not explicitly disclose transmit a TCI update message to the second communication device, wherein the TCI update message indicates the TCI state update.
Li teaches transmit a TCI update message to the second communication device, wherein the TCI update message indicates the TCI state update (paragraph [0134] updated information; orientation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit a TCI update message to the second communication device, wherein the TCI update message indicates the TCI state update as taught by Li in the system of Farag for being adaptive to a dynamic environment see abstract of Li.
2. Regarding claims 2 and 11, Farag in view of Li teaches wherein the TCI state update indicates a shift in the association of the active joint TCI state of:
the at least one reception spatial filter of the first communication device with the at least one transmission spatial filter of the second communication device, or
the at least one transmission spatial filter of the first communication device with the at least one reception spatial filter of the second communication device (Farag, Paragraphs [0072] to [0075] spatial filters; TCI state).
3. Regarding claims 3 and 12, Farag in view of Li teaches wherein the TCI state update indicates the rotation of the first communication device (Li, paragraph [0134] updated information; orientation).
4. Regarding claims 4 and 13, Farag in view of Li teaches wherein the at least one processor further configured with processor-executable instructions to determine the TCI state update based on a reference joint TCI state (Farag, Fig. 11, Paragraph [0071] UE moves around or rotates; beam management procedures; joint-TCI).
5. Regarding claims 5 and 14, Farag in view of Li teaches wherein the reference joint TCI state comprises a latest joint TCI state indicated by the second communication device (Farag, Fig. 11, Paragraph [0071] UE moves around or rotates; beam management procedures; joint-TCI).
6. Regarding claim 6 and 15, Farag in view of Li teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured with the processor-executable instructions to:
detect or predict the rotation of the first communication device based on at least
reference signal measurements or an output from at least one internal sensor of the first
communication device (Farag, Fig. 11, Paragraph [0071] UE moves around or rotates; beam management procedures; joint-TCI).
7. Regarding claims 9 and 18, Farag in view of Li teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured with the processor-executable instructions to:
switch the at least one reception spatial filter of the first communication device or the at
least one transmission spatial filter of the first communication device based on the TCI state update (Li, paragraph [0134] updated information; orientation).
8. Regarding claims 19, Farag teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause at least one processor to:
determine a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state update for an active
joint TCI state upon detecting or predicting a rotation of the first communication device around at least one rotational axis of the first communication device (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0071] UE moves around or rotates; beam management procedures; joint-TCI),
wherein the active joint TCI state associates:
at least one reception spatial filter of the first communication device with at least
one transmission spatial filter of a second communication device, or
at least one transmission spatial filter of the first communication device with at
least one reception spatial filter of the second communication device (Paragraphs [0072] to [0075] spatial filters; TCI state).
Farag does not explicitly disclose transmit a TCI update message to the second communication device, wherein the TCI update message indicates the TCI state update.
Li teaches transmit a TCI update message to the second communication device, wherein the TCI update message indicates the TCI state update (paragraph [0134] updated information; orientation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit a TCI update message to the second communication device, wherein the TCI update message indicates the TCI state update as taught by Li in the system of Farag for being adaptive to a dynamic environment see abstract of Li.
9. Regarding claim 20, Farag in view of Li teaches wherein the TCI state update indicates a shift in the association of the active joint TCI state of:
the at least one reception spatial filter of the first communication device with the at least one transmission spatial filter of the second communication device, or
the at least one transmission spatial filter of the first communication device with the at least one reception spatial filter of the second communication device (Farag, Paragraphs [0072] to [0075] spatial filters; TCI state).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Grant et al. (US 2020/0280409 A1)
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466