DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one claim limitations that does not use the word “means” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. In claim 1 states, “a pressurizing member that fastens the upper and lower pressure plates to each other and is configured to provide pressure to the all-solid cell.” The word pressurizing member is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language. But it is explained in the specification that the pressurizing member is a bolt, nut, and a coil spring to attach the upper and lower plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Kelly (US Patent No. 20220094009 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kelly discloses An all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus comprising: an upper pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2) and a lower pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2) that are spaced apart and face each other, the upper pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2) and the lower pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2) being configured to contact with opposite surfaces of an all-solid cell to apply pressure to the surfaces ; a pressurizing member 240, 270, 244, and 242 (Fig. 2) that fastens the upper and lower pressure plates to each other and is configured to provide pressure to the all-solid cell; and a thickness reinforcing member 210 (Fig. 2) positioned in a central area of an upper surface of the upper pressure plate.
Regarding claim 2, Kelly discloses the all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 1, wherein a shape of the thickness reinforcing member 210 (Fig. 2) is one of a rhombus shape, a circular shape, an elliptical shape, and a quadrangular shape. (The same as shown in the above figure is rectangular which is quad rectangular shape.)
Regarding claim 3, Kelly discloses all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 2, wherein the thickness reinforcing membrane 210 (Fig. 2) has a greater thickness than the upper pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kelly discloses the all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 2, wherein the pressurizing member includes a plurality of fastening members 240 and 242 (Fig. 2) positioned in an edge area of the upper pressure plate. (There are 6 bolts at the edge of upper plate.)
Regarding claim 5, Kelly discloses the all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 4, wherein the pressurizing member further includes a plurality of pressure adjustment members 242 and 270 (Fig. 2) respectively installed on the plurality of fastening members, the plurality of adjustment members being configured to adjust pressure applied to the all-solid cell. (There are washer located at bolt. They are pressure adjustments. The washers are chosen with a non-linear load/deflection curve, such that the effective spring rate, at the desired operating load, is minimized thereby minimizing load variation.)
Regarding claim 7, Kelly discloses the all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 5, wherein each of the fastening members includes a bolt 240 (Fig. 2) and nut structure 244 (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 8, Kelly discloses the all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 4, wherein the upper pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2) includes a plurality of fastening holes (illustrated in the above Fig. 2) into which the plurality of fastening members are respectively fastened, and wherein the plurality of fastening holes are formed along the edge area of the upper pressure plate. (The upper plate 2204 has 6 holes at the edge of the upper plate as illustrated in the above figure wherein the fastening member 240 will go through.
Regarding claim 9, Kelly discloses all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the upper pressure plate 220 (Fig. 2) and the thickness reinforcing member 210 (Fig. 2) are integrally connected to each other. (Integral means: made up of parts forming a whole. The upper plate and the reinforcing member are integrally connected to each other by the bolt 240, washers 270 and 244, and nut 242.
Regarding claim 10, Kelly discloses the all-solid rechargeable battery pressurization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the upper pressure plate 240 (Fig.2) and the thickness reinforcing member 210 (Fig.2) are separable from each other. See the above Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (UP Patent No. 20220094009 A1) in view of NAKANO (WO Patent No. WO 2021229683 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kelly discloses the router according to claim 1 but fails to disclose the pressure adjustment members include a coil spring. NAKANO discloses pressure adjustment member 40 (Fig. 1). Where “the pressure applying member 40 is composed of a bolt 41, a nut 42, and a coil spring 42, and the coil spring 42” (page 7 paragraph 6 lines 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the washers 270 (Fig. 1) with a spring. Relacing the washers with spring will allow the fasteners to apply different ranges of pressure.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to LEWIE S WELDEGIORGIS whose telephone number (571)270-
0872. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am-5pm.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Christopher Templeton can be reached at (571) 270-1477. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/L.S.W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725