DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 arerejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,086,035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims a broader or obvious variation of the invention over U.S. Patent No. 12,086,035. All claimed limitations are disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 12,086,035. Mapping shown below.
18/828,089
US 12,086,035
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fachan (US 2008/0046667).
As to claim 1, Fachan discloses a method, comprising:
logging I/O operations, received by a node of a distributed storage architecture, for subsequently updating a distributed file system (¶0061 & ¶0041);
grouping the logged I/O operations into a first group and a second group based upon processing states of the logged I/O operations (¶0156);
determining a rebuild order to rebuilt in-memory representations of the logged I/O operations (¶0087 & ¶0152);
implementing a rebuild process to rebuild a first set of in-memory representations irrespective of the rebuild order and to rebuild a second set of in-memory representations according to the rebuild order based upon the first set of in-memory representations corresponding to the first group and the second set of in-memory representations corresponding to the second group (¶0151 & ¶0188); and
updating the distributed file system with metadata using the first and second set of in-memory representations (¶0154 & ¶0195).
As to claim 2, Fachan discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: utilizing in-memory representations to execute log structures of logged I/O operations according to an execution order for updating the distributed file system with the metadata and persisting data to persistent storage of the distributed storage architecture, wherein the execution order is defined based upon the processing states of the log structures and non-volatile write index values assigned to the I/O operations (¶0087 &¶0089).
As to claim 4, Fachan discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining that a log structure has a processing state indicating that metadata within the log structure has been used to update the distributed file system and that data within the log structure has not yet been stored to persistent storage of the distributed storage architecture (¶0156).
As to claim 5, Fachan discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining that a log structure has a processing state indicating that metadata within the log structure has not yet been used to update the distributed file system and that data within the log structure has not yet been stored to persistent storage of the distributed storage architecture (¶0168).
As to claim 6, Fachan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the rebuild order comprises: determining the rebuild order based upon an ordering of non-volatile write index values assigned to I/O operations logged within a set of log structures having a processing state (¶0087).
As to claim 7, Fachan discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: rebuilding a first in-memory representation and a second in-memory representation in parallel based upon the first in-memory representation and the second in-memory representation corresponding to log structures of I/O operations that are non-overlapping within the distributed file system and have no dependencies with respect to one another (¶0187-¶0191).
As to claim 8, Fachan discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: in response to identifying a set of in-memory representations corresponding to log structures of logged I/O operations that target different files that are independent of one another, utilizing the set of in-memory representations to execute the logged I/O operations in parallel (¶0187-¶0191).
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (¶007/0245095).
As to claim 11, Watanabe discloses a computing device, comprising:
a memory comprising machine executable code; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to execute the machine executable code to cause the machine to (¶0023):
perform a consistency point operation to replay logged I/O operations to update a distributed file system of a distributed storage architecture with metadata of the logged I/O operations and to store data of the logged I/O operations to distributed storage (¶0038);
transition the distributed file system into a consistent state with respect to the I/O operations based upon the data being stored to a non-temporary storage location within the distributed storage by the consistency point operation (¶0038); and
replay the I/O operation according to an order of ordering values so that the distributed file system is maintained in the consistent state with respect to the I/O operations being executed according to the order with which a node receives the I/O operations (¶0013, ¶0035, ¶0038)).
As to claim 12, Watanabe discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to: in response to the metadata and data of a logged I/O operation being replayed, reclaim storage space used to log the logged I/O operation from persistent memory for storing other data (¶0008).
As to claim 13, Watanabe discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to: detect that the distributed file system encountered a failure before the consistency point has completed; and initiate a recovery process to bring the distributed file system into the consistent state (¶0038-¶0039).
As to claim 14, Watanabe discloses the computing device of claim 13, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to: perform the recovery process by replaying the logged I/O operations stored within log structures in persistent memory (¶0007-¶0009).
As to claim 15, Watanabe discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to: rebuild a key value map and in-memory representations of log structures within volatile memory of the node within the distributed storage architecture (¶0043).
As to claim 16, Watanabe discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a machine, causes the machine to:
replay, as part of a consistency point operation, logged I/O operations to update a distributed file system of a distributed storage architecture with metadata of the logged I/O operations and to store data of the logged I/O operations to distributed storage (¶0038);
in response to the data being stored to a non-temporary storage location within the distributed storage by the consistency point operation, place the distributed file system into a consistent state with respect to the I/O operations based upon (¶0038);
in response to detecting that the distributed file system encountered a failure before the consistency point has completed, initiate a recovery process to bring the distributed file system into the consistent state (¶0038-¶0039).
As to claim 17, Watanabe discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the machine to: utilize in-memory representations to organize, validate, and replay the logged I/O operation within log structures (¶0042-¶0046).
As to claim 18, Watanabe discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the machine to: utilize a key value map to locate the data of the logged I/O operations during replay (¶0043).
As to claim 19, Watanabe discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the machine to: perform the recovery process by replaying the logged I/O operations stored within log structures in persistent memory (¶0038-¶0039).
As to claim 20, Watanabe discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the machine to: rebuild a key value map and in-memory representations of log structures within volatile memory of a node within the distributed storage architecture (¶0042-¶0043).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. All outstanding rejections must be overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art Kesvan (US 2017/0344282) discloses a storage server computing device that determines when a generated storage operation corresponds with one of a set of predefined storage operations. The storage operation is executed and a result of the execution of the storage operation is withheld from a file system, when the determining indicates that the storage operation corresponds with one of the set of predefined storage operations. A determination is made when a consistency point operation has completed. The result of the execution of the storage operation is presented to the file system, when the determining indicates that a consistency point operation has completed (Abstract).
/CHARLES EHNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113