DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita (US 12675125 B2).
In regard to Claim 1:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein a linear power source circuit, comprising: an input unit (Fig 1; element 1) to which an input signal (Vin) and configured to output a first current signal (I_11); a current-voltage convertor (Fig 1; element 2) configured to convert the first current signal (I_11) into a first voltage signal (Fig 1; V1);
a voltage-current convertor (element 3) configured to convert the first voltage signal (V1) into a second current signal (I_31 & I_32); and
an output unit (element 5 in combination with element 4) configured to generate an output voltage signal (Vo) from the second current signal (I_31 & I_32) by a first current mirror unit (11), a second current mirror unit (41) and a third current mirror unit (42), and configured to output the output voltage signal (Vo) to an output terminal (out node), wherein the input unit (element 1) and the current-voltage convertor (element 2) constitute a current feedback type operational amplifier (I_err is a current feedback signal going back into the input unit).
In regard to Claim 2:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the second current signal (I_31 & I_32) includes a positive-side second current signal (I_31) flowing into the voltage-current convertor (element 3) and a negative-side second current signal (I_32) flowing from the voltage-current convertor (3), and the output unit comprises: the first current mirror unit (11) having a first transistor (Q1) through which the positive-side second current signal (I_31) flows and a second transistor (Q2) through which a third current signal (I_32) which is a mirror current of the positive-side second current signal flows (I_32 is a mirror of I_31 and they flow from current mirror 11 via element 3);
the second current mirror unit (41) having a third transistor (Q1) through which the third current signal flows (I_32) and a fourth transistor (Q2) through which a mirror current of the third current signal flows (I_41);
the third current mirror unit (42) having a fifth transistor (Q3) through which the negative-side second current signal (I_32) flows and a sixth transistor (Q4) through which a mirror current of the negative-side second current signal flows (I_42 is a mirror of I_32); and a series circuit in which the fourth transistor (Q2) and the sixth transistor (Q4) are connected in series (In Column 4 lines 11-16, Miyashita discloses that current mirror 41 and 42 are built according to the configurations of current mirrors 11 & 12 and the fourth transistor is part of current mirror 41 which is in series with the sixth transistor which is part of current mirror 42).
In regard to Claim 4:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the linear power source circuit (Fig 1) according to claim 3, wherein each of the first transistor (Q1) and the second transistor (Q2) is a P-channel MOS transistor (Fig 2A shows that Q1/Q2 are pmos transistors).
In regard to Claim 5:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein a second DC power source (Vcc1) for driving the first current mirror (11) unit has a voltage value higher than that of the first DC power source (Column 4 lines 17-20).
In regard to Claim 7:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the output unit (element 5 in combination with element 4) further includes a first resistor (R1) connected in parallel to the second current mirror (FIG 1; 41), and a second resistor (R2) connected in parallel to the third current mirror unit (FIG 1; 42).
In regard to Claim 8:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the input unit (Fig 1; element 1) includes an input terminal (Fig 1; INP/INN) to which the input signal (FIG 1; Vin) is input and a buffer circuit (FIG 1; element 10) connected to the input terminal (FIG 1; element 10 is connected to INN/INP), and outputs the first current signal (FIG 1; I_11/I_12) from the buffer circuit (FIG 1; I_11/I_12 flow out of element 10) to the current-voltage convertor (I_11/I_12 feeds into element 2).
In regard to Claim 9:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the buffer circuit (FIG 1; element 10) is formed of a single ended push-pull circuit (Column 2 lines 24-25).
In regard to Claim 10:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the voltage-current convertor (FIG 1; element 3) and the output unit (element 5 in combination with element 4) constitute a class-AB amplifier (Column 5 lines 8-9).
In regard to Claim 11:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein the current-voltage convertor (FIG 1; element 2) includes a bias circuit of the class AB amplifier (Column 2 lines 37-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita (US 12675125 B2), in view of Perisetty (US-20070205802-A1).
In regard to Claim 3:
Miyashita discloses, in figure 1, wherein a first end of the series circuit (top of element 41) is connected to a first DC power source (Vcc2), and a second end of the series circuit (bottom of element 42) is connected to a ground potential, each of the fifth transistor (Q3) and sixth transistor (Q4) are N-channel MOS transistors (in Fig 2B, Q3/Q4 are nmos transistors), and
the output voltage signal (Vo) is output to the output terminal (Out node) connected to a connection point between the fourth transistor (Q4) and the sixth transistor (Q3; current mirror 41 consists of the configuration shown in Fig 2A where the fourth transistor is Q2 and the sixth transistor is part of current mirror 42 which is in the configuration of Fig 2B where the sixth transistor is Q4; these two transistors meet at node I_o and lead to the output node; Column 4 lines 11-16).
Miyashita does not disclose wherein the third and fourth transistors are N-channel MOS transistors.
In a similar field of endeavor, Perisetty discloses wherein that pmos and nmos transistors may be interchangeable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the teaching of pmos/nmos interchangeability of Perisetty in combination with the teachings of Miyashita. One would be motivated to do so because Perisetty discloses in paragraph 55 lines 12-15 that pmos and nmos may be interchangeable, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to Claim 6:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein a third DC power source for driving the input unit, the current-voltage convertor, and the voltage-current convertor has a voltage value smaller than that of the first DC power source and the second DC power source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Minamizaki - (US 20010028273 A1), discloses a negative output voltage of a differential amplifier stage corresponding to an input signal voltage is supplied to the gate of output transistor for charging electrical charges to capacitive load.
/A.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/Jessica Han/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843