Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 20110084337) in view of Voutsas (US 20040087066 A1).
a substrate (200) [0071-0075]; and a plurality of pixels on the substrate [0071-0075], the plurality of pixels (93) being arranged in an array (stacked ,[0065-0067] ,[0072]);
wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a light-emitting element (EL element 6404, Fig. 16), a drive transistor (6402), and a switch transistor (6401), wherein one of main terminals of the drive transistor is connected (electrically connected) to the light-emitting element ([0280-0283], Fig. 16).
Note that Yamazaki does not specifically disclose wherein diffusion regions of the drive transistor are of a first conductivity type, wherein a gate electrode of the drive transistor is of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type, and wherein the gate electrode of the drive transistor comprises doped semiconductor.
Voutsas (US 20040087066 A1) discloses the diffusion regions (diffusion region of Source or drain of NPN transistor 306, Fig. 6) are of a first conductivity type (i.e. n-type), wherein the gate electrode is of the drive transistor comprises doped semiconductor (e.g. p -type) opposite to the first conductivity type ([0035], [0046] and Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamazaki with the teaching of Voutsas , thereby providing a high image quality by using with reduce off current of a transistor in the display device.
Regarding claim 31:
Yamazaki discloses a control unit (control unit corresponding to voltage driver) configured to control driving of the light-emitting device ([0286]).
Regarding claim 32:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas discloses further comprising a switch transistor (602, see Fig. 6), wherein one of main terminals of the switch transistor is connected to another of the main terminals of the drive transistor (306), wherein diffusion regions of the switch transistor are of the first conductivity type, and wherein a gate electrode of the switch transistor is of the first conductivity type (see Voustas0035], [0046] and Fig. 6). Same motivation as applied to claim 18.
Regarding claim 33:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas discloses a capacitor element (606) connected to the gate electrode of the drive transistor (see Voustas0035], [0046] and Fig. 6). Same motivation as applied to claim 18.
2. Claim 19-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Voutsas (US 20040087066 A1) further in view of park (US 20060221662 A1).
Regarding claim 19:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas discloses wherein the drive transistor (6402) comprises a channel region (channel region of gate electrode) disposed between the diffusion regions of the drive transistor (i.e diffusion regions in source and drain region), wherein the switch transistor (6401) comprises a channel region (channel region with gate electrode of 6401) disposed between the diffusion regions of the switch transistor (i.e. diffusion region of 6401) (see Yamazaki ([0280-0283], Fig. 6), and Voutsas, ([0035], [0046] and Fig. 6). Same motivation as applied to claim 18.
Yamazaki in view of Voustas does not specifically disclose wherein an impurity concentration of the channel region of the drive transistor is lower than an impurity concentration of the channel region of the switch transistor.
Park (US 20060221662 A1) discloses wherein an impurity concentration of a channel (n channel) region of the first transistor (Qd) is lower than an impurity concentration of a channel (p channel) region of the second transistor (Qs1) ([0052] The switching transistor Qs1 P-channel transistor, and driving transistor Qd are n-channel transistor, impurity concentrations of n channel are lower in n-channel transistor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamazaki with the teaching of Voutsas and Park, thereby providing a high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 20:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein a channel region of the third transistor (Qs3) is of the first conductivity type (Park, [0052]), thereby providing and accurate data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 21:
wherein the drive transistor and the switch transistor are arranged in a well, and wherein an impurity concentration of a channel region of the drive transistor is lower than an impurity concentration of the well.
Yamazaki in view of Voutsus discloses the first transistor (306, Fig. 6) and the second transistor (600) are arranged in a well (see Fig. 8a) (see Voutus, [0035], [0046] and Fig. 6), and
park (US 20060221662 A1) discloses an impurity concentration of a channel region of the first transistor is lower than an impurity concentration of the well (gate channel is n type) (park, [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamazaki with the teaching of Voutsas and Park, thereby providing an accurate data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 22:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and park discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a select transistor (Qs5) configured to translate a signal voltage (Vgi, see Park Fig. 2), and wherein the gate electrode of the drive transistor (Td) is connected to the capacitor element (C2) (see Park, Fig. 2, [0051-0053]). Same motivation as recited in claim 19.
Regarding claim 23:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein diffusion regions (source and drain) of the select transistor (Qs5, Fig. 14) are of the first conductivity type (ntype), and a gate electrode of the third transistor is of the second conductivity type (ptype) (see, Park Fig. 2 [0052]. Same motivation as recited in claim 19.
Regarding claim 24:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein the select transistor (QS5) comprises a channel region disposed between the diffusion regions of the select transistor ([0100], Fig. 2), and wherein an impurity concentration of the channel region of the switch transistor is lower than an impurity concentration of the channel region of the select transistor (Park, Fig. 2, [0052 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 25:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein a channel region of the switch transistor (see switching transistors Qs1-Qs5 of the pixel shown in FIG. 14)) is of the first conductivity type (ptype) (Park, Fig. 2, [0052 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 26:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein one of main terminals of the select transistor (Qs5) is connected (connected through N2) to the gate electrode of the drive transistor (Qd) (Park, Fig. 2, [0052 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 27:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein an impurity concentration of a gate electrode of drive transistor (Qd) is lower than an impurity concentration of a channel region of the second transistor (Qs1) Park, Fig. 2, [0052 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 28:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein the drive transistor (Qd) is arranged between the light-emitting element and the switch transistor (Qs3). Park, Fig. 2, [0052 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 29:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein the substrate (110) comprises a semiconductor (Park, Fig.3, [0054 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 30:
Yamazaki in view of Voutsas and Park discloses wherein the drive transistor (Qd, Fig. 2, Park) comprises a channel region disposed between the diffusion regions of the drive transistor, wherein the switch transistor (Qs2) comprises a channel region disposed between the diffusion regions of the switch transistor wherein an insulation layer is arranged between the channel region and the gate electrode (see Fig.2, Park[) of the drive transistor and between the channel region of the switch transistor and the gate electrode of the switch transistor [(Park, Fig.3, [0054 - 0055]) and wherein the insulation layer comprises an oxide of the semiconductor ([0060] A gate insulating layer 140 made of silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x)) , (Park, Fig.3, [0054 - 0055]). Same motivation as applied to claim 19.
Responds to Applicant’s Argument
3. More specifically the Applicant argues that “Yamazaki in view of Voutsas does not specifically disclose the claim limitations as recited in claim 18.
In responds the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s point of view. Note that Examiner gives a broadest reasonable interpretation towards the claimed language as recited in the claims. wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a light-emitting element (EL element 6404, Fig. 16), a drive transistor (6402), and a switch transistor (6401), wherein one of main terminals of the drive transistor is connected (electrically connected) to the light-emitting element ([0280-0283], Fig. 16).
Note that Yamazaki does not specifically disclose wherein diffusion regions of the drive transistor are of a first conductivity type, wherein a gate electrode of the drive transistor is of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type, and wherein the gate electrode of the drive transistor comprises doped semiconductor.
Voutsas (US 20040087066 A1) discloses the diffusion regions (diffusion region of Source or drain of NPN transistor 306, Fig. 6) are of a first conductivity type (i.e. n-type), wherein the gate electrode is of the drive transistor comprises doped semiconductor (e.g. p -type) opposite to the first conductivity type ([0035], [0046] and Fig. 6). Thereby, combining the reference of Yamazaki and Voutsas would be obvious to meet the limitations as recited in claim 18.
Pertinent art of record
The pertinent art of record US 20070075937 A1 discloses display device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627