Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021129882 A1 (hereinafter, WO’882).
Re claim 1: WO’882 discloses a foldable electronic device (1000 in figs 1A-1B) comprising:
a display (200 in fig 1A);
a first housing (11 in fig 1A) and a second housing (12 in fig 1A) facing the display and foldable together with the display;
a hinge structure (2 in fig 2) connecting the first housing to the second housing and foldable together with the display; and
a hinge housing (5 in fig 2) in which the hinge structure is seated, wherein the hinge structure includes:
rotation axes each extended in a rotation axis direction, the rotation axes including a first axis (axis of shaft 2477 in figs 21A, 25A), a second axis (axis of shaft 2483 in fig 25A), a third axis (axis of shaft 2478 in figs 21A, 25A) and a fourth axis (axis of shaft 2484 in fig 25A);
a fixing bracket (21 in figs 8A-8B) fixed to the hinge housing and including a first rail (wavy surface 2123 for slidably accommodating rotating end 2451 in figs 8A, 9B, 25A. Herein, gear teeth of 2451 meshes with gear 2473, and at the same time, rotating end 2451 slides in the wavy surface 2123 formed on bottom casing body 212) and a second rail (wavy surface 2123 for slidably accommodating rotating end 2461 in figs 8A, 9B, 25A. Herein, gear teeth of 2461 meshes with gear 2473; and at the same time, rotating end 2461 slides in the wavy surface 2123 formed on bottom casing body 212) adjacent to each other along a direction crossing the rotation axis direction;
a first rotation member (first swing arm 245 in figs 18, 25A-26A) including: a first rail structure (2451 in fig 18) at which the first rotation member is slidably fastened to the first rail (wavy surface 2123 for slidably accommodating rotating end 2451 in figs 8A, 9B, 25A) of the fixing bracket and rotatable about the first axis (axis of shaft 2477 in figs 21A, 25A), and a second rail structure (2452 in fig 18) extending from the first rail structure along the direction crossing the rotation axis direction and being rotatable about the second axis (axis of shaft 2483 in fig 25A);
a second rotation member (second swing arm 246 in fig 19) including: a third rail structure (2461 in fig 19) at which the second rotation member is slidably fastened to the second rail (wavy surface 2123 for slidably accommodating rotating end 2461 in figs 8A, 9B, 25A) of the fixing bracket and rotatable about the third axis (axis of shaft 2478 in figs 21A, 25A), and a fourth rail structure (2462 in fig 19) extending from the third rail structure along the direction crossing the rotation axis direction and being rotatable about the fourth axis (axis of shaft 2484 in fig 25A);
a first link member (first fixing bracket 241 in figs 14, 26B, 41A) including a third rail (first sliding slot 2412 in fig 26B) slidably fastened to the second rail structure (2452 in fig 26B) of the first rotation member and including a first slide holding part (first arc-shaped slot 2413 in fig 41A) adjacent to the third rail along the rotation axis direction;
a second link member (second fixing bracket 242 in figs 15, 41A) including a fourth rail (second sliding slot 2422 in fig 26B) slidably fastened to the fourth rail structure (2462 in fig 26B) of the second rotation member and including a second slide holding part (third arc-shaped slot 2423 in fig 41A) adjacent to the fourth rail along the rotation axis direction;
a first arm member (first rotating block 222 of the first support plate 22 in fig 41A) including a first slide structure (first arc-shaped arm 2223 in fig 41A) slidably held on the first slide holding part; and
a second arm member (second rotating block 232 of the second support plate 23 in fig 41A) including a second slide structure (third arc-shaped arm 2323 in fig 41A) slidably held on the second slide holding part.
Re claim 3: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the display (200 in figs 66, 68) which is folded about an axis extended along the rotation axis direction includes a folded area (bendable part 2006 in figs 66, 68);
the hinge structure further includes:
a first wing plate (first support plate 221 in fig 43A) fixed to the first rotation member (herein, the first support plate 22 is slidably connected to the sliding end 2452 of the first swing arm 245; see figs 43A-43B) and facing the folded area of the display;
a second wing plate (second support plate 231 in fig 43A) fixed to the second rotation member (herein, the second support plate 23 is slidably connected to the sliding end 2462 of the second swing arm 246; see figs 43A-43B) and facing the folded area of the display; and
a center plate (main support plate 211 in figs 9A, 9B) which is between the first wing plate and the second wing plate in the direction crossing the rotation axis direction and fastened to the hinge structure, the center plate including an upper surface which is formed flat; and the electronic device (see fig 66) which is folded (see fig 44B) and which is unfolded (see fig 44A) includes the center plate maintained at a fixed position.
Re claim 5: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, further comprising:
a first link cover (221 in fig 43A) which covers the first slide holding part (first arc-shaped slot 2413 in fig 41A); and
a second link cover (231 in fig 43A) which covers the second slide holding part (third arc-shaped slot 2423 in fig 41A).
Re claim 6: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, the display which is folded about an axis extended along the rotation axis direction includes a folded area (see fig 68), further comprising:
a first wing plate (first connector 31 in figs 57A, 67-68) coupled to the first link cover and facing the folded area of the display; and
a second wing plate (second connector 32 in figs 57A, 67-68) coupled to the second link cover and facing the folded area of the display.
Re claim 8: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein
the electronic device which is unfolded includes the display in a plane (see fig 66), and along a thickness direction of the electronic device which is unfolded:
the first axis (axis of shaft 2477 in figs 21A, 25A) and the third axis (axis of shaft 2478 in figs 21A, 25A) are each in a first plane which is parallel to the plane of the display, and
the second axis (axis of shaft 2483 in fig 25A) and the fourth axis (axis of shaft 2484 in fig 25A) are each in a second plane which is parallel to the plane of the display.
Re claim 16: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the display (200 in fig 66) includes a first area (2001 in fig 66), a second area (2005 in fig 66) and a third area (2006 in fig 66) which is foldable about an axis extended along the rotation axis direction; and the foldable electronic device which is folded includes portions of the third area facing each other together with the first area and second area facing each other and being closer to each other than the portions of the third area (see 2007, 2008, 2002, 2004 in fig 68).
Re claim 17: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the rotation axes further include a fifth axis (axis of rotation of arc-shaped arm 2223 in arc-shaped slot 2413 in fig 41A) and a sixth axis (axis of rotation of arc-shaped arm 2323 in arc-shaped slot 2423 in fig 41A);
the first slide structure (first arc-shaped arm 2223 in fig 41A) and the second slide structure (third arc-shaped arm 2323 in fig 41A) are rotatable about the fifth axis and the sixth axis, respectively; and
the foldable electronic device which is folded slides the first slide holding part (first arc-shaped slot 2413 in fig 41A) and the second holding part (third arc-shaped slot 2423 in fig 41A) along the first slide structure and the second slide structure to increase distances of the first slide holding part and the second holding part from the fifth axis and the sixth axis, respectively.
Re claim 18: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the foldable electronic device which is folded further includes respective ends of the first slide holding part (first arc-shaped slot 2413 in fig 41A) and the second holding part (third arc-shaped slot 2423 in fig 41A) which are closest to the fixing bracket together with the third area of the display being closer to the fixing bracket than each of the respective ends (see third arc section R13 of display 200 in fig 68).
Re claim 19: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the display includes a periphery at each of opposing sides of the display along the direction crossing the rotation axis, the display being adhered to the first housing and the second housing at the peripheries (i.e., via first adhesive layer 61 and second adhesive layer 62 in fig 67), respectively; and
the foldable electronic device which is folded slides the first slide holding part (first arc-shaped slot 2413 in fig 41A) and the second holding part (third arc-shaped slot 2423 in fig 41A) along the first slide structure (first arc-shaped arm 2223 in fig 41A) and the second slide structure (third arc-shaped arm 2323 in fig 41A) to decrease a distance of the first slide holding part and the second holding part from the peripheries of the display, respectively (see fig 41B).
Re claim 20: WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the foldable electronic device which is folded includes: a change of curvature of the display at boundaries (see 2007 and 2008 in fig 68) respectively defined between the third area and each of the first area and the second area; and the boundaries corresponding to the second axis (2483 in fig 25A) and the fourth axis (2484 in fig 25A), respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20240357025 A1) in view of WO 2021129882 A1 (hereinafter, WO’882).
Re claim 1: Zhang discloses a foldable electronic device (see fig 2 and paragraph 55) comprising:
a display (4000 in fig 2);
a first housing (2000 in fig 2) and a second housing (3000 in fig 2) facing the display and foldable together with the display;
a hinge structure (1000 in fig 2) connecting the first housing to the second housing and foldable together with the display; wherein the hinge structure includes:
rotation axes each extended in a rotation axis direction, the rotation axes including a first axis (left m2 in figs 3, 12), a second axis (left m3 in figs 3, 12), a third axis (right m2 in figs 3, 12) and a fourth axis (right m3 in figs 3, 12);
a fixing bracket (bracket 10 in figs 4, 11-12 and paragraph 103) fixed to the hinge housing and including a first rail (left accommodating slot 10a provided with a first curved concave region 10b and a second curved concave region 10c in figs 11-12) and a second rail (right accommodating slot 10a provided with a first curved concave region 10b and a second curved concave region 10c in figs 11-12) adjacent to each other along a direction crossing the rotation axis direction;
a first rotation member (left swing arm 23 in figs 4-6, 11-12 and paragraphs 104-109) including: a first rail structure (connecting part 231+ rotating shaft 233 in figs 10-12 and paragraphs 106-109) at which the first rotation member is slidably fastened to the first rail of the fixing bracket and rotatable about the first axis (m2 in figs 3, 12 and paragraph 108), and a second rail structure (recess 23a in figs 11-12 and paragraph 95) extending from the first rail structure along the direction crossing the rotation axis direction and being rotatable about the second axis (m3 in figs 3, 12);
a second rotation member (right swing arm 23 in figs 4-6, 11-12 and paragraphs 104-109) including: a third rail structure (connecting part 231+ rotating shaft 233 in figs 10-12 and paragraphs 106-109) at which the second rotation member is slidably fastened to the second rail of the fixing bracket and rotatable about the third axis (m2 in figs 3, 12 and paragraph 108), and a fourth rail structure (recess 23a in figs 11-12 and paragraph 95) extending from the third rail structure along the direction crossing the rotation axis direction and being rotatable about the fourth axis (m3 in figs 3, 12);
a first link member (left first support 21 in fig 10 and paragraph 94) including a third rail (curved arms 216 in fig 10 and paragraph 95) slidably fastened to the second rail structure (recess 23a) of the first rotation member and including a first slide holding part (guide limiting structure 211 including two ribs 213 in figs 8-9 and paragraphs 79, 90) adjacent to the third rail along the rotation axis direction;
a second link member (right first support 21 in fig 10 and paragraph 94) including a fourth rail (curved arms 216 in fig 10 and paragraph 95) slidably fastened to the fourth rail structure (recess 23a) of the second rotation member and including a second slide holding part (guide limiting structure 211 including two ribs 213 in figs 8-9 and paragraphs 79, 90) adjacent to the fourth rail along the rotation axis direction;
a first arm member (left second support 22 in figs 4-9 and paragraph 90) including a first slide structure slidably held on the first slide holding part; and
a second arm member (right second support 22 in figs 4-9 and paragraph 90) including a second slide structure slidably held on the second slide holding part.
Zhang fails to disclose a hinge housing in which the hinge structure is seated.
WO’882 discloses a hinge housing (5 in fig 2) in which a hinge structure is seated.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the foldable electronic device of Zhang with a hinge housing for accommodating the hinge structure in order to protect components of the hinge structure from environmental impurities and improve appearance of the foldable electronic device.
Re claim 4: Zhang in view of WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein
the first slide holding part (Zhang: guide limiting structure 211 including two ribs 213 in figs 8-9 and paragraphs 79, 90) includes a rail groove (Zhang: guide slot 21c in figs 8-9) extended in a direction in which the first slide structure extends;
the second slide holding part (Zhang: guide limiting structure 211 including two ribs 213 in figs 8-9 and paragraphs 79, 90) includes a rail groove (Zhang: guide slot 21c in figs 8-9) extended in a direction in which the second slide structure extends; and
the electronic device which is folded and which is unfolded linearly moves the first slide structure (Zhang: left 22) in a first direction along the rail groove (Zhang: 21c) of the first slide holding part together with linear movement of the second slide structure (Zhang: right 22) in a second direction which is different from the first direction and along the rail groove (Zhang: 21c) of the second slide holding part.
Re claim 7: Zhang in view of WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, further comprising a bracket cover (WO’882: main support plate 211 in figs 9A, 9B) which overlaps the fixing bracket (Zhang: 10) and to which the first rotation member (Zhang: left swing arm 23) and the second rotation member (Zhang: right swing arm 23) are fastened at opposing sides of the bracket cover, respectively.
Re claim 9: Zhang in view of WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, further comprising:
the rotation axes further including a fifth axis (Zhang: left m1 in fig 12) and a sixth axis (Zhang: right m1 in fig 12);
each of the first arm member (Zhang: left second support 22) and the second arm member (Zhang: right second support 22) further including a shaft holding part (Zhang: i.e., hole for supporting hinge pin 30; see paragraph 93);
a first shaft (Zhang: left hinge pin 30 in paragraph 93) which is rotatably engaged with the first arm member at the shaft holding part of the first arm member and defines the fifth axis (Zhang: left m1 in fig 12); and
a second shaft (Zhang: right hinge pin 30 in paragraph 93) which is rotatably engaged with the second arm member at the shaft holding part of the second arm member and defines the sixth axis (Zhang: right m1 in fig 12).
Re claim 14: Zhang in view of WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the electronic device which is unfolded includes shortest distances from the fifth axis and the sixth axis (Zhang: left and right m1 in fig 12) to a rear surface of the display, respectively, being greater than shortest distances between the second axis and the fourth axis (Zhang: left and right m3 in fig 12) to the rear surface of the display, respectively.
Re claim 15: Zhang in view of WO’882 discloses the foldable electronic device, wherein the electronic device which is unfolded includes a shortest distance between the fifth axis and the sixth axis (Zhang: left and right m1 in fig 12) being greater than a shortest distance between the first axis and the third axis (Zhang: left and right m2 in fig 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841