DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are currently presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a missing word such as “of” in the phrase “from a front exterior surface the manifold body” at line 2.
Claim 14 appears to include an identical recitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the first inlet is configured to receive cutting fluid and the plurality of first outlets are configured to direct the cutting fluid at a plurality of positions around the central rotational axis at one or a plurality of discharge angles such that the cutting fluid contacts the workpiece and is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device” at lines 9-12. The workpiece, the guide bushing, and the collet of the device are not understood to be positively required, such that it is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art would determine that the plurality of first outlets are configured to perform the claimed function. Phrased differently: whether cutting fluid distributed by the first outlets contacts the workpiece and is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet depends at least in part on the shape and orientation of the workpiece and the positioning of the guide bushing and collet, not the positively required elements of the manifold body recited.
Claims 2-8 each depend from claim 1, and therefore are rejected for at least the reasons presented above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “wherein an exterior of the manifold assembly is configured with a profile that is less than a profile of a cutting tool for cutting the workpiece” at lines 1-3. The cutting tool is not understood to be positively required as part of the claimed manifold assembly, such that it is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art would determine whether the claimed limitation is met. Where the manifold assembly is in a storage facility or otherwise separated from a cutting device having a cutting tool, how would a person having ordinary skill in the art determine that the manifold assembly profile is less than a particular cutting tool profile?
Claim 8 depends from claim 7, and therefore is rejected for at least the reasons presented above with respect to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent 4,778,315 to Duffy et al. (hereinafter “Duffy”)
Regarding claim 1, Duffy discloses a cooling manifold assembly (20) configured to deliver cutting fluid (Col. 2, lines 66-67), comprising: a manifold body (22) comprising a coupling (flange 30 and fasteners 32; see Fig. 1), the coupling configured to fasten the manifold body to a non-movable portion of a device (10; see Fig. 1) configured to hold and rotate a workpiece (12) around a central rotational axis (Z) of a guide bushing or collet (chuck 16) of the device (10), wherein the manifold body (22) surrounds at least a portion of the central rotational axis (Z; see Fig. 2); a first inlet (40) fluidly coupled to a first channel (36) defined in the manifold body (22); and a plurality of first outlets (46L, 46R) of the manifold body (22), wherein the first channel ( 36) is fluidly coupled to the plurality of first outlets (see Col. 3, lines 33-36), wherein the first inlet (40) is configured to receive cutting fluid (see Col. 2, line 66 – Col. 3, line 4) and the plurality of first outlets (46L, 46R) are configured to direct the cutting fluid (see Col. 3, lines 46-47) at a plurality of positions around the central rotational axis (Z) at one or a plurality of discharge angles (see Fig. 1) such that the cutting fluid contacts the workpiece (fluid would exit nozzles 50, 50L, 50R1, 50R2 toward tool and workpiece 12 and 14) and is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device (chuck portion 16).
Regarding claim 2, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Duffy discloses the assembly further comprising a second inlet (38) fluidly coupled to a second channel (34) defined in the manifold body (22), the second channel (34) being fluidly isolated from the first channel (36), the second channel leading to at least one second outlet (44L, 44R) of the manifold body (22), wherein the second inlet (38) is configured to receive pressurized air or cutting fluid (see Col. 3, lines 2-8), and the at least one second outlet (44L, 44R; see Col. 3, lines 43-45) is configured to direct the pressurized air or cutting fluid at a position around the central rotational axis (Z) at a discharge angle such that the pressurized air or cutting fluid is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device (10).
Regarding claim 3, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Duffy discloses the assembly further comprising a second inlet (38) fluidly coupled to a second channel (34) defined in the manifold body (22), the second channel (34) being fluidly isolated from the first channel (36), the second channel leading to a second plurality of outlets (44L, 44R) of the manifold body (22), wherein the second inlet (38) is configured to receive pressurized air or cutting fluid (see Col. 3, lines 2-8), and the second plurality of outlets (44L, 44R; see Col. 3, lines 43-45) is configured to direct the pressurized air or cutting fluid at a plurality of positions around the central rotational axis (Z) at one or a plurality of discharge angle such that the pressurized air or cutting fluid is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device (10).
Regarding claim 4, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Duffy discloses that the manifold body (22) surrounds at least 120˚ of the central rotational axis (Z) of the guide bushing or collet of the device (see Fig. 2; manifold body shown as a full circular body).
Regarding claim 5, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Duffy discloses that two or more of the first plurality of outlets (46L, 46R) are positioned at least 5˚ apart from one another around the central rotational axis (Z; see Fig. 6 and Col. 4, lines 28-32, understood to show each of the fluid outlets are at least five degrees apart).
Regarding claim 6, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Duffy discloses that the first plurality of outlets (46L, 46R) define extensions (see Fig. 1; nozzle portions 50 extend from body) that extend away from a front exterior surface of the manifold body (22).
Regarding claim 7, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Duffy discloses that an exterior of the manifold assembly (20) is configured with a profile that is less than a profile of a cutting tool for cutting the workpiece (intended use). The cutting tool is not understood to be positively required, such that this limitation depends entirely on a structure which is not part of the assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Duffy discloses the limitations of claim 7, and further Duffy discloses that the coupling (see Col. 2, lines 46-49) is configured to fasten the manifold body (22) to a housing of the device (10), the housing defining a compartment in which the workpiece is cut by the cutting tool while being rotated by the guide bushing or collet (intended use). The device, the housing thereof, the workpiece, the cutting tool, and the guide bushing or collet are not understood to be positively required, such that this limitation depends entirely on a structure which is not part of the assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter the “AAPA”) and further in view of United States Patent 6,457,919 to Sangster (hereinafter “Sangster”).
Regarding claim 9, Duffy discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a cutting tool (10); a fluid delivery system (see Col. 2, lines 66-67 and Col. 3, lines 5-8); and a cooling manifold assembly (20) configured to deliver cutting fluid (Col. 2, lines 66-67), comprising: a manifold body (22) comprising a coupling (flange 30 and fasteners 32; see Fig. 1), the coupling configured to fasten the manifold body to a non-movable portion of a device (10; see Fig. 1) configured to hold and rotate a workpiece (12) around a central rotational axis (Z) of a guide bushing or collet (chuck 16) of the device (10), wherein the manifold body (22) surrounds at least a portion of the central rotational axis (Z; see Fig. 2); a first inlet (40) fluidly coupled to a first channel (36) defined in the manifold body (22); and a plurality of first outlets (46L, 46R) of the manifold body (22), wherein the first channel ( 36) is fluidly coupled to the plurality of first outlets (see Col. 3, lines 33-36), wherein the first inlet (40) is configured to receive cutting fluid (see Col. 2, line 66 – Col. 3, line 4) and the plurality of first outlets (46L, 46R) are configured to direct the cutting fluid (see Col. 3, lines 46-47) at a plurality of positions around the central rotational axis (Z) at one or a plurality of discharge angles (see Fig. 1) such that the cutting fluid contacts the workpiece (fluid would exit nozzles 50, 50L, 50R1, 50R2 toward tool and workpiece 12 and 14) and is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device (chuck portion 16). Duffy teaches that its manifold assembly should be usable with a plurality of tools, permitting easy access to the tool for tool changes and cleaning (see Col.1 , lines 32-41) without being limited to use with a particular tool. Duffy teaches that use if its manifold in conjunction with a tool will allow for both lubricating and removing chips during operation of the cutting tool.
Duffy does not explicitly disclose that the cutting tool has an enclosure. However, it is known in the art of cutting tools for cutting tool assemblies to include enclosures.
The AAPA teaches that it is conventional and known to deliver cutting fluid during cutting operations within an enclosure of a CNC machine (see Instant Specification at paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the manifold assembly of Duffy to a cutting tool having or located within an enclosure, as taught by the AAPA. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting apparatus would reasonably be expected to deliver a cutting fluid in a predictable manner without modification of the principles of operation of Duffy.
The combination of Duffy and the AAPA does not explicitly disclose that the workpiece is configured to be supported and rotate around a central rotational axis of a guide bushing or collect of the cutting device. However, machine tools capable of rotating workpieces about a central axis are conventional and well-known.
For example, Sangster teaches a machine tool (see Title) having a platform (2) with a workpiece spindle (14) for supporting a workpiece (100) supported in a rotatable collet holder (6). Sangster teaches an enclosure (see Fig. 1) surrounding the workpiece and a cutting tool (42). Sangster teaches that alternative configurations of its machine tool may be utilized to lower costs and increase efficiency of machining operations (Col. 1, lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the cooling manifold assembly taught by the combination of Duffy and the AAPA for use with other conventional tool assemblies, such as the cutting tool assembly including an enclosure as taught by Sangster. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting apparatus would advantageously allow for lubricating and cleaning the tool taught by Sangster, allowing for improved efficiency during cutting operations while reducing machining downtime needed to clean the tool.
Thus, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9, and further Duffy teaches the manifold assembly further comprising a second inlet (38) fluidly coupled to a second channel (34) defined in the manifold body (22), the second channel (34) being fluidly isolated from the first channel (36), the second channel leading to a second plurality of outlets (44L, 44R) of the manifold body (22), wherein the second inlet (38) is configured to receive pressurized air or cutting fluid (see Col. 3, lines 2-8), and the second plurality of outlets (44L, 44R; see Col. 3, lines 43-45) is configured to direct the pressurized air or cutting fluid at a plurality of positions around the central rotational axis (Z) at one or a plurality of discharge angle such that the pressurized air or cutting fluid is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device (10). One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that fluid distributed by the manifold’s outlets will be transmitted away from the guide bushing during use.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9, and further Duffy teaches the manifold assembly further comprising a second inlet (38) fluidly coupled to a second channel (34) defined in the manifold body (22), the second channel (34) being fluidly isolated from the first channel (36), the second channel leading to a second plurality of outlets (44L, 44R) of the manifold body (22), wherein the second inlet (38) is configured to receive pressurized air or cutting fluid (see Col. 3, lines 2-8), and the second plurality of outlets (44L, 44R; see Col. 3, lines 43-45) is configured to direct the pressurized air or cutting fluid at a plurality of positions around the central rotational axis (Z) at one or a plurality of discharge angle such that the pressurized air or cutting fluid is transmitted away from the guide bushing or collet of the device (10). One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that fluid or air distributed by the manifold’s outlets will be transmitted away from the guide bushing during use.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9, and further Duffy teaches that the manifold body (22) surrounds at least 120˚ of the central rotational axis (Z) of the guide bushing or collet of the device (see Fig. 2; manifold body shown as a full circular body).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9, and further Duffy teaches that two or more of the first plurality of outlets (46L, 46R) are positioned at least 5˚ apart from one another around the central rotational axis (Z; see Fig. 6 and Col. 4, lines 28-32, understood to show each of the fluid outlets are at least five degrees apart).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9, and further Duffy teaches that the first plurality of outlets (46L, 46R) define extensions (see Fig. 1; nozzle portions 50 extend from body) that extend away from a front exterior surface of the manifold body (22).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 9, and further Duffy teaches that an exterior of the manifold assembly (20) is configured with a profile that is less than a profile of a cutting tool (10) for cutting the workpiece (see Figs. 1 and 2; at least outermost dimensions of tool 10 shown to exceed innermost profile of manifold device at radial interior shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Duffy, the AAPA, and Sangster teaches the limitations of claim 15, and further Duffy teaches that the coupling (see Col. 2, lines 46-49) is configured to fasten the manifold body (22) to a housing of the device (10). The AAPA teaches that its cutting tool is located within an enclosure, such that the tool of the combination would be understood to be within the enclosure. Sangster teaches that the housing defines a compartment (best seen in Fig. 1; working space delimited by supports 20) in which the workpiece is cut by the cutting tool (42) while being rotated by the guide bushing or collet (6; see Col. 5, lines 60-66). The apparatus of the combination would include the manifold coupled to the machine tool body, including the housing or enclosure, such that the machine tool body would include the enclosure surrounding or protecting the collet-type tool taught by Sangster.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
United States Patent 9,931,723 to Mohr et al. teaches a cutting fluid assembly (see Fig. 1) for use with a cutting tool (6), the cutting fluid assembly including a plurality of outlets (118) for directing fluid at a cutting tool or workpiece.
United States Patent Application Publication 2007/0053757 to Toncelli teaches a cutting fluid apparatus (16) which directs cutting fluid toward a cutting tool (14) during cutting operations.
United States Patent 5,993,121 to Fiesta teaches a cutting fluid manifold assembly (20) which may be used with a cutting tool (40) to direct fluid at a cutting tool (see Fig. 3).
/DARRELL C FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3726