DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 11,360,922), in view of Joy (US 12,176,663).
Regarding claim 1: Li teaches a single cable connector device (Fig. 1) comprising: a host connecting side and a device connecting side (e.g. see left and right side of device; Fig. 1); a PCB assembly (see Col. 4, lines 12-22 and Figs. 3-4) connected to: - a USB-C male connector 100 of the host connecting side; - an HDMI male connector 200 of a side; - a USB type-A male connecter 300 of the host connecting side; and - a USB-C male connector of the device connecting side.
Li does not explicitly teach a USB-C male connector of the device connecting side.
Joy teaches a USB-C male connector on a device connecting side (see Col. 1, lines 13-52 and Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with a USB-C male connector on the device connecting side as taught by Joy into the single cable connector device of Li in order to achieve the advantage of providing a high speed connector capable of transmitting desired signals from a selected socket connector.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 11,360,922), in view of Joy (US 12,176,663), further in view of Lai (US 10,152,447).
Regarding claim 2: Li, in view of Joy, teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the PCB comprises a switcher component and a signal converter component connected to said switcher component; wherein the switcher component is connected to the USB-C male connector of the device connecting side and to the USB-C male connector of the host connecting side; and wherein the converter component is connected to the HDMI male connector and to the USB type-A male connecter.
Lai teaches a PCB comprising a switcher component and a signal converter component connected to said switcher component; wherein the switcher component is connected to a USB connector and another connector; and wherein the converter component is connected to a HDMI male connector and to the USB connecter (see Figs. 2 and Col. 2, lines 60-67 and Col. 3, lines 1-40).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the PCB comprising a switcher component and a signal converter component connected to said switcher component; wherein the switcher component is connected to the USB-C male connector of the device connecting side and to the USB-C male connector of the host connecting side; and wherein the converter component is connected to the HDMI male connector and to the USB type-A male connecter as taught by Joy into the single cable connector device of Li in order to achieve the advantage of receiving, switching and converting signals in between two different connector ends.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for pertinent prior art, the following references being of closest relevance:
Chacon (US 7,318,750) teaches a cable connector comprising a plurality of different connector ends and a switching mechanism;
Liao (US 2020/0303885) teaches a cable connector comprising various male electrical connector ends;
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831