DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,732 B2 in view of Zhang (US 2022/0046604 A1). Claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,732 B2 disclose a method, a user equipment, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing program for canceling random access message transmission when a time domain resource of the PRACH conflicts a time domain resource indicated by DCI. Claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,732 B2 do not disclose that the time domain resource for the PRACH overlaps with at least one of the following resources indicated by the network side message: a downlink transmission resource, a downlink time domain resource, or a flexible time domain resource. Zhang discloses that the terminal receives, via higher layer signaling, first indication information for receiving downlink transmission, e.g., PDSCH, which overlaps with PRACH, obtained from second indication information (256th – 258th paragraphs). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,732 B2 to cancel random access message transmission when a time domain resource of the PRACH overlaps with a downlink transmission resource, a downlink time domain resource, or a flexible time domain resource, as suggested by, to prevent collisions in downlink and uplink transmissions simultaneously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhang (US 2022/0046604 A1) in view of Hakola et al (US 2020/0267768 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a random access method, applied to user equipment and comprising:
in a case that a time domain resource for a random access message conflicts with a time domain resource indicated by a network-side message (188th, 189th and 192nd paragraphs, when the first time domain resource used to send the PRACH, either completely or partially, overlaps with the second time domain resource used to receive/transmit SL data. The second time domain resource is indicated by second indication information and carried in DCI), canceling transmission of the random access message (272nd paragraph, the terminal may cancel the sending of PRACH on the first time domain resource);
that the time domain resource for the random access message conflicts with the time domain resource indicated by the network-side message comprises: that a time domain resource for the PRACH conflicts the time domain resource indicated by the network side message (188th, 189th and 192nd paragraphs, when the first time domain resource used to send the PRACH, either completely or partially, overlaps with the second time domain resource used to receive/transmit SL data. The second time domain resource is indicated by second indication information and carried in DCI).
Zhang discloses PRACH transmission (60th paragraph). Zhang does not disclose that wherein the random access message comprises a random access channel (PRACH) and an uplink data channel (PUSCH). Hakola discloses two-step random access procedure wherein the random access message includes PRACH and PUSCH in first and second portions of the message (29th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two step random access procedure in Zhang’s system, as suggested by Hakola, to reduce signaling.
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, Zhang discloses that wherein that the time domain resource for the PRACH conflicts with the time domain resource indicated by the network-side message comprises: the time domain resource for the PRACH at least partially overlaps with at least one of the following resources indicated by the network-side message: a downlink transmission resource; a downlink time domain resource; or a flexible time domain resource (188th, 189th and 192nd paragraphs, when the first time domain resource used to send the PRACH, either completely or partially, overlaps with the second time domain resource used to receive/transmit SL data. The second time domain resource is indicated by second indication information and carried in DCI).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Zhang discloses that wherein the network side message is downlink control information (DCI) (192nd paragraph, the second time domain resource is indicated by second indication information and carried in DCI).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Zhang discloses user equipment (Fig. 17), comprising: a processor (Fig. 17, processor 1701), a memory (Fig. 17, memory 1702), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, a random access method is implemented, and the random access method comprises:
in a case that a time domain resource for a random access message conflicts with a time domain resource indicated by a network-side message (188th, 189th and 192nd paragraphs, when the first time domain resource used to send the PRACH, either completely or partially, overlaps with the second time domain resource used to receive/transmit SL data. The second time domain resource is indicated by second indication information and carried in DCI), canceling transmission of the random access message (272nd paragraph, the terminal may cancel the sending of PRACH on the first time domain resource);
that the time domain resource for the random access message conflicts with the time domain resource indicated by the network-side message comprises: that a time domain resource for the PRACH conflicts the time domain resource indicated by the network side message (188th, 189th and 192nd paragraphs, when the first time domain resource used to send the PRACH, either completely or partially, overlaps with the second time domain resource used to receive/transmit SL data. The second time domain resource is indicated by second indication information and carried in DCI).
Zhang discloses PRACH transmission (60th paragraph). Zhang does not disclose that wherein the random access message comprises a random access channel (PRACH) and an uplink data channel (PUSCH). Hakola discloses two-step random access procedure wherein the random access message includes PRACH and PUSCH in first and second portions of the message (29th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two step random access procedure in Zhang’s system, as suggested by Hakola, to reduce signaling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 10-12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Lin (US 2019/0313462 A1), generally related, discloses handling of simultaneous transmission of PRACH and PUSCHs in mobile communications (Figs. 3-4).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472