Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10-11 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
.1.6.150
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wozich et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0417106 (hereinafter Wozich).
As per claim 1, Wozich teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system, network data collected by a plurality of network devices in a network ([24][25][27][38], e.g., receiving network data collected by a plurality of network devices of figure 1);
detecting, by the computing system, an anomaly in the network, the anomaly having an associated anomaly time period ([27][28][38], e.g., detecting an alarm of an issue associated with a piece of cellular equipment, wherein the alarm of an issue was detected and collected during a predetermined time period; the received network data includes anomalies in the network, alarms, faults, etc., which provide indications of network characteristics of parameters, components/UEs of the network);
determining, by the computing system and based on the network data, a representative value for each network device of the plurality of network devices based on a time series of statistics for each network device within the anomaly time period ([41][42][31][27][29][13][14][38], e.g., determining KPI values for each of UE operating within a geo-cluster based on time series of statistics for the UEs collected within the predetermined time period);
determining, by the computing system, a representative value for the network based on an aggregated time series of statistics for the network within the anomaly time period ([29][42], e.g., determining an overall KPI average of the KPIs for each UEs for a geo-cluster based on time-series of statistics collected within the predetermined time period); and
determining, by the computing system, that a first network device of the plurality of network devices is related to the anomaly based on the representative value for the first network device being more correlated to the representative value for the network than representative values for other network devices of the plurality of network devices ([42]-[51]; fig. 3; e.g., determining that a UE/cell of a plurality of UEs/cells is related to the anomaly based on KPI data/value for the UE/cell pulling down the overall KPI average for the geo-cluster the most (i.e., greater contribution to the overall average for the geo-cluster) compare to the KPI data/values for the other UEs).
As per claim 4, Wozich teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Wozich further teach determining an action to take with respect to the first network device of the plurality of network devices ([33][53], e.g., alert action, rollout function, etc.).
As per claim 5, Wozich teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. Wozich further teach wherein determining the action to take includes using one or more supervised machine learning models to determine the action to take ([29][40], e.g., ARIMA).
As per claim 6, Wozich teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. Wozich further teach wherein the action comprises one or more of: changing a configuration of the first network device of the plurality of network devices, changing a software version of the first network device, or restarting the first network device or a component of the first network device ([8][53]).
As per claims 9 and 17, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 above. (See [71][72] of Wozich for a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to perform the method of claim 1)
As per claims 12 and 20, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 above.
As per claim 13, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 above.
As per claim 14, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 above.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wozich in view of George et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0203563 (hereinafter George).
As per claim 7, Wozich teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Although Wozich teaches determining, from the network data, the time series of statistics for each network device of the plurality of network devices ([41][42][31][27][29][13][14][38], e.g., determining KPI values for each of UE operating within a geo-cluster based on time series of statistics for the UEs collected within the predetermined time period); aggregating the time series of statistics for each network device to produce the aggregated time series of statistics for the network ([29][42], e.g., determining an overall KPI average of the KPIs for each UEs for a geo-cluster based on time-series of statistics collected within the predetermined time period), however, Wozich is silent in regards to determining that the aggregated time series of statistics is outside a normal range. George teaches wherein detecting the anomaly includes: determining a predicted aggregated time series of statistics using the time series of statistics; and determining that the aggregated time series of statistics is outside a normal range based on the predicted aggregated time series of statistics [62]-[64][94].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate George’s teaching of determining a predicted aggregated time series of statistics using Wozich’s time series of statistics for each network device in order to allow Wozich’s system to recognize data trend to detect anomaly, thus improving the anomaly detection in Wozich’s system.
As per claim 15, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7 above.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wozich.
As per claim 8, Wozich teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Although Wozich teaches wherein detecting the anomaly includes using one or more neural networks and machine learning models and the like to identify the anomaly [29][40], however, Wozich is silent in regards to unsupervised machine learning models. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include neural network as unsupervised machine learning models because by doing so it would allow for automated handling of data, thus improving the efficiency of data preparation.
As per claim 16, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 above.
Conclusion
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454