DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the search results for the elected claimed subject matter of Group I will likely overlap with search results for the claimed subject matter of Group II” (page 8 of the election filed 6/1/2026). This is not found persuasive, at least because the search for the different inventive groups is conducted primarily through different classifications. Moreover, the dryer and protective varnish applicators do not overlap in scope, are not obvious variants of each other, and have different functional utilities. This reasoning was indicated on page 2 of the Restriction Requirement.
Examiner notes Applicant’s election of Species B. However, this species election is moot because the species restriction was conditional upon the election of Group II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-16 are therefore withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/9/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6:
This claim recites the limitation "the single pass inkjet printing device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because this claim depends from claim 3. Please note that support for this limitation does appear in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Den Bergen et al. (US 2017/0297354 A1) in view of Crum (US 2007/0175350 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Van Den Bergen et al. disclose a combination for manufacturing printed material including:
piezoelectric through-flow print heads (paragraphs 42-43) having nozzles with an outer nozzle surface area smaller than 500 um2 (at least the 20 micron diameter nozzles have a surface area of about 300 um2: paragraphs 49, 163); and
a pigmented aqueous inkjet ink (paragraphs 146-220),
wherein the aqueous inkjet ink contains water in an amount A wt% that satisfies the claimed Formula I (i.e. 32.6 wt% ≤ A wt% ≤ 61 wt%, where A is 53 wt% as taken from the water balance in ink formulation TABLE 5),
wherein the wt% is based on the total weight of the aqueous inkjet ink (paragraph 240),
wherein the sqrt(NS) represents the square root of the outer nozzle surface area NS (sqrt(NS) = 17.72 for 20um diameter nozzles), and
wherein A wt% >= 40 wt% (water to complete = 53.09 wt%: TABLE 5).
Van Den Bergen et al. do not expressly disclose that the combination is used in the process of manufacturing printed corrugated cardboard.
However, Crum discloses a combination for printing that is used in the process of manufacturing printed corrugated cardboard (paragraphs 54-55) so as to enable high quality graphics on the corrugated cardboard (paragraphs 21-22).
Because both Van Den Bergen et al. and Crum disclose printing images on a liner paper before laminating to a core, and because Crum teaches the usefulness of printing graphics on corrugated cardboard, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of invention, to utilize Van Den Bergen et al.’s combination to form graphics on corrugated cardboard.
Regarding claims 2 and 4:
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified combination comprises all the limitations of claim 1/3, and Van Den Bergen et al. also disclose that the pigmented aqueous inkjet ink is from an aqueous inkjet ink set (paragraphs 149-150), the aqueous inkjet ink set comprising:
a cyan aqueous inkjet ink containing a beta-copper phthalocyanine pigment (paragraph 154);
a magenta or red aqueous inkjet ink containing CI Pigment Red 122 (paragraph 155);
a yellow aqueous inkjet ink containing CI Pigment Yellow 151 (paragraph 156); and
a black aqueous inkjet ink containing a carbon black pigment (paragraph 157),
wherein the aqueous inkjet inks contain water in an amount defined by Formula (I) (i.e. 32.6 wt% ≤ A wt% ≤ 61 wt%, where A is 53 wt% as taken from the water balance in ink formulation TABLE 5),
wherein the wt% is based on the total weight of the aqueous inkjet ink (paragraph 240),
wherein the sqrt(NS) represents the square root of the outer nozzle surface area NS (sqrt(NS) = 17.72 for 20um diameter nozzles), and
wherein A wt% >= 40 wt% (water to complete = 53.09 wt%: TABLE 5).
Regarding claim 3:
Van Den Bergen et al. disclose an inkjet printing device comprising a combination for manufacturing printed material including:
piezoelectric through-flow print heads (paragraphs 42-43) having nozzles with an outer nozzle surface area smaller than 500 um2 (at least the 20 micron diameter nozzles have a surface area of about 300 um2: paragraphs 49, 163); and
a pigmented aqueous inkjet ink (paragraphs 146-220),
wherein the aqueous inkjet ink contains water in an amount A wt% that satisfies the claimed Formula I (i.e. 32.6 wt% ≤ A wt% ≤ 61 wt%, where A is 53 wt% as taken from the water balance in ink formulation TABLE 5),
wherein the wt% is based on the total weight of the aqueous inkjet ink (paragraph 240),
wherein the sqrt(NS) represents the square root of the outer nozzle surface area NS (sqrt(NS) = 17.72 for 20um diameter nozzles), and
wherein A wt% >= 40 wt% (water to complete = 53.09 wt%: TABLE 5).
Van Den Bergen et al. do not expressly disclose that the combination is used in the process of manufacturing printed corrugated cardboard.
However, Crum discloses a combination for printing that is used in the process of manufacturing printed corrugated cardboard (paragraphs 54-55) so as to enable high quality graphics on the corrugated cardboard (paragraphs 21-22).
Because both Van Den Bergen et al. and Crum disclose printing images on a liner paper before laminating to a core, and because Crum teaches the usefulness of printing graphics on corrugated cardboard, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of invention, to utilize Van Den Bergen et al.’s combination to form graphics on corrugated cardboard.
Regarding claims 5-6 (as best understood):
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified inkjet printing device comprises all the limitations of claim 3, and Van Den Bergen et al. also disclose that the inkjet printing device is a single pass inkjet printing device that uses multiple staggered inkjet print heads (paragraph 51).
Regarding claim 7:
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified inkjet printing device comprises all the limitations of claim 3, and Van Den Bergen et al. also disclose that A wt% ≥ 44 wt% (water to complete = 53.09 wt%: TABLE 5).
Regarding claim 9:
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified inkjet printing device comprises all the limitations of claim 3, and Van Den Bergen et al. also disclose that the pigmented aqueous inkjet ink has a viscosity between 3 and 8 mPa-s at 32°C at a shear rate of 1,000 s-1 (TABLE 5).
Regarding claim 10:
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified inkjet printing device comprises all the limitations of claim 3, and Van Den Bergen et al. also disclose that the printing device further comprises a NIR dryer (paragraph 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Bergen et al. as modified by Crum, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of McMullen et al. (US 2020/0009866 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified inkjet printing device comprises all the limitations of claim 3, but does not expressly disclose that the outer nozzle surface area NS is smaller than 300 um2.
However, McMullen et al. disclose a piezoelectric through-flow print head (1) having nozzles (18) with an outer surface area NS smaller than 300 um2 (nozzles having an outlet diameter of 15 microns comprise NS = 176.6: paragraph 69).
Because both Van Den Bergen et al. and McMullen et al. disclose piezoelectric through-flow print heads, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of invention, to utilize the particular piezoelectric through-flow printhead taught by McMullen et al. for the print head in Van Den Bergen et al.’s inkjet printing device, so as to produce the expected result of ejecting aqueous pigment inkjet ink.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Bergen et al. as modified by Crum, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kusukame et al. (US 2017/0073535 A1).
Regarding claims 17-18:
Van Den Bergen et al.’s modified inkjet printing device comprises all the limitations of claims 3/4, but does not expressly comprise an ink that comprises more than 60 wt% of organic solvents having a boiling point higher than 150C at standard atmospheric pressure based on the total weight of the organic solvents present in the aqueous inkjet ink.
However, Kusukame et al. disclose safe aqueous inkjet inks (paragraph 13) that comprise more than 60 wt% or organic solvents having a boiling point higher than 150C at standard atmospheric pressure (at least glycerin) based on the total weight of the organic solvents present in the aqueous inkjet ink (TABLE 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the safe inks taught by Kusukame et al. in the Van Den Bergen et al’.s inkjet printing device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-6, 7-8, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12115797. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the instant claims.
Conclusion
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853