DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the present application, claims 1-17 have been admitted in the claim set dated 09/09/2024 and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the term “gradually” in line 2, which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, it is unclear the exact amount of how much the width of the first surface increases in relation to the distance between the nozzle and an outer periphery of the first surface. It is suggested to omit the term “gradually” from the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the term “gradually” in line 2, which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, it is unclear the exact amount of how much the width of the second surface increases in relation to the distance between the nozzle and an outer periphery of the first surface. It is suggested to omit the term “gradually” from the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the term “gradually” in line 2, which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, it is unclear the exact amount of how much the width of the first surface decreases in relation to the distance between the nozzle and the outer periphery of the first surface. It is suggested to omit the term “gradually” from the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the term “gradually” in line 2, which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, it is unclear the exact amount of how much the width of the second surface decreases in relation to the distance between the nozzle and the outer periphery of the first surface. It is suggested to omit the term “gradually” from the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tajima et al. (US2020/0000320) hereinafter Tajima.
Regarding Claim 1, Tajima discloses an endoscope (Fig. 1 endoscope 10) comprising:
an observation window (Figs. 1-9 observation window 51) disposed in a distal end portion (Figs. 1-9 distal end portion 23) of an insertion portion (Figs. 1-9 insertion unit 20);
a nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) disposed in the distal end portion (Figs. 1-9 distal end portion 23); and
a cover (Figs. 1-9 distal end member 56) configured to cover the distal end portion (Figs. 1-9 distal end portion 23), a distal end surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of distal end member 56) of the cover (Figs. 1-9 distal end member 56) includes:
a first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) surrounding the observation window (Figs. 1-9 observation window 51), the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) having a first planar shape when viewed in a cross-section taken about a line(Fig. 2 near line VIII) connecting the observation window (Figs. 1-9 observation window 51) and the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54);
a second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) disposed radially outside the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65), the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) having a curved shape when viewed in the cross-section (Fig. 2 near line VIII); and
a third surface (Figs. 1-9 surface 561) disposed radially outside of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571), the third surface (Figs. 1-9 surface 561) having a second planar shape.
Regarding Claim 2, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) is an inside rounded corner region (Figs. 1-9 first chamfer 571, [0036] “The first chamfer 571 is a conical surface.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) comprising a first width (see annotated Fig. 3) where a distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to an outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) of the first surface is longest and a second width (see annotated Fig. 3) where the distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to the outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) is shortest, the first width (see annotated Fig. 3) is greater than the second width (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein a width (see annotated Fig. 3) of the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) gradually increases as a distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to an outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) of the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) becomes longer.
Regarding Claim 5, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) comprising a first width (see annotated Fig. 3) where a distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to an outer periphery of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) is longest and a second width (see annotated Fig. 3) where the distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to the outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) is shortest, the first width (see annotated Fig. 3) is greater than the second width (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein a width (see annotated Fig. 3) of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) gradually increases as a distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to an outer periphery of the first surface (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) becomes longer.
Regarding Claim 7, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein one or more of a first outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) of the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) and a second outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) are circular (Figs. 1-9) .
Regarding Claim 8, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein one or more of a first outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) of the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) and a second outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) are elliptical.
Regarding Claim 9, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the distal end surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of distal end member 56) of the cover (Figs. 1-9 distal end member 56) further comprises a fourth surface (Fig. 5 surface of edge 513), an inner periphery of the fourth surface (Fig. 5 inner periphery of the surface of edge 513) contacts the observation window (Figs. 1-9 observation window 51), and an outer periphery of the fourth surface (Fig. 5 outer periphery of the surface of edge 513) contacts the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65).
Regarding Claim 10, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the first surface (Figs 1-9 portion of surface of observation bonding portion 65) and a portion of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 portion of surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) extend in a direction toward the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54).
Regarding Claim 11, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 10, wherein in the portion of the first surface (Figs 1-9 portion of surface of observation bonding portion 65) and the portion of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 portion of surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) are each equidistant from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54).
Regarding Claim 12, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) comprising a first width (see annotated Fig. 3) where a distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to an outer periphery of the first surface (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) is shortest and a second width (see annotated Fig. 3) where the distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to the outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) is longest, the first width (see annotated Fig. 3) is greater than the second width (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 12, wherein a width of the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) gradually decreases (Fig. 3 illustrates the surface of portion 65 having a downward slope) as the distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to the outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) becomes longer.
Regarding Claim 14, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 12, wherein a width of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) gradually decreases (Fig. 3 illustrates the surface of body 57 and chamfer 571 having a downward slope) as the distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to the outer periphery (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) becomes longer.
Regarding Claim 15, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 1, wherein:
the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) comprising a first width (see annotated Fig. 3) where a first distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to a first outer periphery of the first surface (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of observation bonding portion 65) is longest, and a second width (see annotated Fig. 3) where the first distance is shortest,
the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) comprising a third width (see annotated Fig. 3) where a second distance from the nozzle (Figs. 1-9 nozzle 54) to a second outer periphery of the second surface (Figs. 1-9 outer periphery of the surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) is longest, and a fourth width (see annotated Fig. 3) where the second distance is shortest,
the first surface (Figs 1-9 surface of observation bonding portion 65) having a fifth width (see annotated Fig. 3) in a first portion of the first surface (Figs 1-9 a portion of surface of observation bonding portion 65) between the first width (see annotated Fig. 3) and the second width (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the first width (see annotated Fig. 3) and the second width (see annotated Fig. 3) are greater than the fifth width (see annotated Fig. 3); and
the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) having a sixth width (see annotated Fig. 3) in a second portion of the second surface between the third width (see annotated Fig. 3) and the fourth width (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the third width (see annotated Fig. 3) and the fourth width (see annotated Fig. 3) are greater than the sixth width (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 2, wherein the second surface (Figs. 1-9 surface of cylindrical body 57 to include first chamfer 571) is with a radius of curvature of more than 0.5 mm ([0070] “…the observation window 51 and the illumination window 52 are recessed from the end surface. It is desirable that C be 0.2 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less. It is desirable that C be 0.01 mm or more and 0.3 mm or less.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Tajima discloses the endoscope according to claim 9, wherein the fourth surface (Fig. 5 surface of edge 513) has a third planar shape parallel to the second planar shape of the third surface (Figs. 1-9 surface 561).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Yagyu et al. (US2024/0188811);
Horie et al. (US2023/0113437); and
Kawamoto et al. (US2022/0304553).
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795