DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites a “second” ONU activation program. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (“Lee”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0161461) in view of Khotimsky et al. (“Khotimsky”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0006608).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an Optical Network Unit (ONU) activation method, comprising: activating, by a first Optical Line Terminal (OLT), a new-system ONU, and acquiring activation information of the new-system ONU, wherein the first OLT is an OLT in an existing system (paragraphs 0051-0052 and 0065 in light of fig. 1 and paragraph 0006, for existing TDM-PON OLT, and for ONU added, and where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity also reads on new-system); and sending, by the first OLT, the activation information of the new-system ONU to a second OLT in a new system through a predefined channel between the first OLT and the second OLT (paragraphs 0050 and 0065, the OLTs communicate with one another and fig. 5 and paragraphs 0057-0058 and 0066-0071). Lee does not disclose that the activation process of the ONU with the first OLT is specifically through a DAW channel. Khotimsky discloses a dedicated activation wavelength for ONU activation (paragraphs 0030-0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dedicated activation wavelength for the ONU activation with a first TDM-PON OLT in Lee, since the dedicated activation wavelength allows the ONU to tune to communicate with the OLT without having to receive instructions from the OLT in advance.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses the ONU activation method of claim 1, wherein the activation information comprises at least one of ONU identification information or a ranging result (Lee: paragraph 0053 in light of paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses the ONU activation method of claim 2, wherein activating, by the first OLT, the new-system ONU through the DAW channel comprises: receiving, by the first OLT, ONU identification information sent by the new-system ONU through the DAW channel (Lee: paragraph 0053 in light of paragraph 0014, as applicable for the combination); sending, by the first OLT, a ranging request to the new-system ONU, and receiving a ranging response returned by the new-system ON, and calculating, by the first OLT, a corresponding ranging result according to the ranging response (fig. 3 and paragraphs 0045-0046 and 0052, where the ONU responding to ranging grants is a response to the OLT).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses the ONU activation method of claim 1, wherein the predefined channel comprises any one of: an internal channel of a chip to which the first OLT and the second OLT belong, an internal channel of a line card to which the first OLT and the second OLT belong, an internal channel of a device to which the first OLT and the second OLT belong, a directly connected channel, or a channel established through a third-party system (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0052-0054, OLT communicators directly connected with each other).
Regarding claim 5. An ONU activation method, comprising: receiving, by a second OLT, activation information of a new-system ONU activated on a first OLT in an existing system (paragraphs 0051-0052 and 0065 in light of fig. 1 and paragraph 0006, for existing TDM-PON OLT, and for ONU added, and where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity also reads on new-system) through a predefined channel between the first OLT and the second OLT (paragraphs 0050 and 0065, the OLTs communicate with one another and fig. 5 and paragraphs 0057-0058 and 0066-0071), wherein the second OLT is an OLT in a new system (paragraphs 0052 and 0065, for existing TDM-PON OLT communicating with a TWDM-PON OLT, in light of fig. 1 and NGPON2 OLT [i.e., TWDM-PON OLT] and paragraphs 0006 and 0011 where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity read on new-system) and the activation information is generated in an activation process of the new-system ONU on the first OLT (paragraph 0065, ONU already registered to a TDM-PON OLT reads on having been activated for that OLT), and activating, by the second OLT, the new-system ONU according to the activation information (paragraph 0052). Lee does not disclose that the activation process of the ONU with the first OLT is through a DAW channel. Khotimsky discloses a dedicated activation wavelength for ONU activation (paragraphs 0030-0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dedicated activation wavelength for the ONU activation with a first TDM-PON OLT in Lee, since the dedicated activation wavelength allows the ONU to tune to communicate with the OLT without having to receive instructions from the OLT in advance.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses the ONU activation method of claim 5, wherein the predefined channel comprises any one of: an internal channel of a chip to which the first OLT and the second OLT belong, an internal channel of a line card to which the first OLT and the second OLT belong, an internal channel of a device to which the first OLT and the second OLT belong, a directly connected channel, or a channel established through a third-party system (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0052-0054, OLT communicators directly connected with each other).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses a network device, including a processor, a memory and a communication bus, wherein the communication bus is configured to enable connection and communication between the processor and the memory, the processor is configured to execute a first ONU activation program stored in the memory, so as to implement the ONU activation method of claim 1 (Lee: paragraph 0097, where the communication between processor and memory is inherently over some kind of bus).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses a network device, including a processor, a memory and a communication bus, wherein the communication bus is configured to enable connection and communication between the processor and the memory, the processor is configured to execute a second ONU activation program stored in the memory, so as to implement the ONU activation method of claim 5 (Lee: paragraph 0097, where the communication between processor and memory is inherently over some kind of bus).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses a PON system, comprising an existing system and a new system, wherein the existing system comprises a first OLT, and the new system comprises a second OLT and a plurality of ONUs (Lee: paragraphs 0051-0052 and 0065 in light of fig. 1 and paragraph 0006, for existing TDM-PON OLT, and for ONU added, and where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity also reads on new-system, and for existing TDM-PON OLT communicating with a TWDM-PON OLT, in light of fig. 1 and NGPON2 OLT [i.e., TWDM-PON OLT] and paragraphs 0006 and 0011 where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity read on new-system), the first OLT is the network device where the processor executes the first ONU activation program according to claim 13 (Lee: paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses a PON system, comprising an existing system and a new system, wherein the existing system comprises a first OLT, and the new system comprises a second OLT and a plurality of ONUs (Lee: paragraphs 0051-0052 and 0065 in light of fig. 1 and paragraph 0006, for existing TDM-PON OLT, and for ONU added, and where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity also reads on new-system, and for existing TDM-PON OLT communicating with a TWDM-PON OLT, in light of fig. 1 and NGPON2 OLT [i.e., TWDM-PON OLT] and paragraphs 0006 and 0011 where second-generation and expand a transmission capacity read on new-system), the second OLT is the network device where the processor executes the second ONU activation program according to claim 14 (Lee: paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses a non-transitory storage medium having a first ONU activation program stored therein, wherein when the first ONU activation program is executed by at least one processor, the at least one processor implements the ONU activation method of claim 1 (Lee: paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee and Khotimsky discloses a non-transitory storage medium having a second ONU activation program stored therein, wherein when the second ONU activation program is executed by at least one processor, the at least one processor implements the ONU activation method of claim 5 (Lee: paragraph 0097).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 8-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12120474. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are anticipated by the patent claims.
Regarding claim 1, the patent claims an Optical Network Unit (ONU) activation method, comprising: activating, by a first Optical Line Terminal (OLT), a new-system ONU through a Dedicated Activation Wavelength (DAW) channel, and acquiring activation information of the new-system ONU, wherein the first OLT is an OLT in an existing system; and sending, by the first OLT, the activation information of the new-system ONU to a second OLT in a new system through an activation agent ONU or a predefined channel between the first OLT and the second OLT, wherein the activation agent ONU is one new-system ONU which has been activated on the second OLT (claims 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, the patent claims an ONU activation method, comprising: receiving, by a second OLT, activation information of a new-system ONU activated on a first OLT in an existing system through an activation agent ONU by a service channel, or through a predefined channel between the first OLT and the second OLT, wherein the second OLT is an OLT in a new system and the activation information is generated in an activation process of the new-system ONU on the first OLT through a DAW channel, the activation agent ONU is one new-system ONU which has been activated on the second OLT, and activating, by the second OLT, the new-system ONU according to the activation information (claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, the patent claims the ONU activation method of claim 5, wherein the activation information sent by the activation agent ONU to the second OLT is acquired by the activation agent ONU by checking the activation process of the new-system ONU on the first OLT, or the activation information sent by the activation agent ONU to the second OLT is received by the activation agent ONU from the first OLT (claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, the patent claims the ONU activation method of claim 5, before receiving, by the second OLT, the activation information of the new-system ONU activated on the first OLT in the existing system through the activation agent ONU by the service channel, or through the predefined channel between the first OLT and the second OLT, further comprising: activating, by the second OLT, one new-system ONU; and appointing, by the second OLT, the activated one new-system ONU as the activation agent ONU (claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, the patent claims the ONU activation method of claim 8, before appointing, by the second OLT, the activated one new-system ONU as the activation agent ONU, further comprising: determining, by the second OLT, whether the first OLT exists in a Passive Optical Network (PON) system (claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, the patent claims the ONU activation method of claim 9, wherein determining, by the second OLT, whether the first OLT exists in the PON system comprises: determining, by the second OLT, whether the first OLT exists in the PON system by determining whether the predefined channel exists between the second OLT and the first OLT or by determining whether the new-system ONU has received a message sent by the first OLT; and determining, by the second OLT, that the first OLT exists in the PON system in response to a case where the second OLT determines that the predefined channel exists between the second OLT and the first OLT or in response to a case where the second OLT determines that the new-system ONU has received a message sent by the first OLT (claim 5).
Regarding claim 11, the patent claims the ONU activation method of claim 5, before receiving, by the second OLT, the activation information of the new-system ONU activated on the first OLT in the existing system through the activation agent ONU by the service channel, or through the predefined channel between the first OLT and the second OLT, further comprising: notifying, by the second OLT, each new-system ONU of one piece of the following information through the service channel: information about a current activation agent ONU, information that the activation agent ONU is determined, or information about carrying out activation on the first OLT through the DAW channel (claim 6).
Regarding claim 12, the patent claims the ONU activation method of claim 5, wherein activating, by the second OLT, the new-system ONU according to the activation information comprises: determining, by the second OLT, a difference between activation information of the activation agent ONU activated on the second OLT and activation information of the activation agent ONU activated on the first OLT, wherein the activation agent ONU has been activated on the second OLT before the second OLT acquires the activation information of the new-system ONU activated on the first OLT; determining, by the second OLT, activation information of a non-activation agent ONU among new-system ONUs activated on the second OLT according to the difference and activation information of the non-activation agent ONU activated on the first OLT; and activating, by the second OLT, the non-activation agent ONU among the new-system ONUs according to the activation information of the non-activation agent ONU activated on the second OLT (claim 7).
Claims 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12120474 in view of Lee (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0161461).
Regarding claims 13-18, the corresponding patent claims 1 and 5 claim a network device and the ONU activation method of claim 1 (claims 1 and 2), but do not claim a processor, a memory and a communication bus, wherein the communication bus is configured to enable connection and communication between the processor and the memory, the processor is configured to execute a first ONU activation program stored in the memory, so as to implement the ONU activation method of claim 1. However, Lee discloses such a computer control approach (paragraph 0097, where the communication between processor and memory is inherently over some kind of bus, in light of paragraphs 0050-0052 and 0065 and fig. 1 and paragraph 0006, and fig. 5 and paragraphs 0057-0058 and 0066-0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim a processor, a memory and a communication bus, to execute the ONU activation program, since this provides the benefit of generic computer architecture automation and programmability.
Conclusion
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634