Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/1`0/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the welding torch of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both “the lower circumferential groove” and “straight segments of the driving belts”. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “12” has been used to designate both “a bundle of wire” and “two opposing driving belts”. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “50” has been used to designate both “the upper lid wall” and “wire straightening group”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 2’, α. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan, Foreign Patent Document, CN115283793.
Regarding independent claim 1, Pan discloses a storage and feeding assembly for a wire to be fed to an apparatus (Paragraph [0005], lines 1-2), comprising: a drum suitable for storing the wire wound in coils (130, Fig. 1; Paragraph [0002], line 5), the drum extending about a drum axis (A-A, B-B, Fig. 3) between a resting base and an open upper end (bottom of 130 to open end of 130, Fig. 3); a wire handling device suitable for extracting the wire from the drum to feed the wire to the apparatus (251, 252, Fig. 6); a lid placed above the drum (110, Fig. 3) and comprising an upper lid wall in which an outlet passage for the wire is provided (110, 120, Fig. 3) and a lid side wall (110, Fig. 3), said upper lid wall and said lid side wall defining a lid volume (volume contained beneath 110, Figs. 1-3), wherein the wire handling device extends in the lid volume substantially coaxially to the drum axis (II shows 251, 252 extends coaxial to drum axis and located within lid volume, Fig. 5, 6), and wherein the lid side wall is at least partially made of a transparent material so as to allow a visual inspection of the wire handling device through said lid side wall (Paragraph [0014], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire handling device (251, 252, Fig. 6) is firmly fastened to the upper lid wall inside the lid volume (shown fastened to upper portion of lid wall, Fig. 5; Paragraph [0028], line 1).
Regarding claim 3, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire handling device (251, 252, Fig. 5) comprises a support base (244, Fig. 6) suitable for supportingly engaging and being fastened to the upper lid wall (244 is fastened to upper lid wall 110, Fig. 6; Paragraph [0028], line 1).
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein at least one lid opening (140, Fig. 1) is provided in the lid side wall (110, Fig. 1) to access the lid volume (operator can access the lid volume via 140, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the lid (110, Fig. 1) is releasably positioned at the upper end of the drum (Paragraph [0027], lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 10, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire handling device (251, 252, Fig. 6) comprises a wire straightening group (Paragraph [0028], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire is a welding wire to be fed to a welding torch (Paragraph [0040], lines 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan, Foreign Patent Document, CN115283793 in view of Bae, Foreign Patent Document, KR100463375.
Regarding claim 6, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 5, and fastening means (313, Fig. 4) for releasably fastening the lid to the drum (Paragraph [0027], lines 3-6).
Pan does not disclose wherein said fastening means comprise a releasable clamping ring that couples adjacent end portions of the drum and of the lid side wall.
Bae teaches a fastening means for a drum, wherein said fastening means comprise a releasable clamping ring (160, Fig. 2b) that couples adjacent end portions of the drum and of the lid side wall (couples drum and lid, Fig. 2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fastening means of Pan to use a releasable clamping ring as taught by Bae, so that the drum and lid can be "easily joined and disassembled" (Paragraph [27], lines 3-4). One would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify assembly and disassembly of the drum and lid.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan, Foreign Patent Document, CN115283793 in view of Hoover, US20230294955.
Regarding claim 7, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a storage and feeding assembly. However, Pan does not disclose a spacer suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum and the lid, wherein said spacer comprises a spacer body defining a spacer housing delimited by an annular side wall so as to act as an extension for the drum.
Hoover, teaches a storage and feeding assembly for elongated material stored in a drum, further comprising a spacer (30, Fig. 2) suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum(15A, Fig. 2) and the lid (49, Fig. 2), wherein said spacer comprises a spacer body defining a spacer housing delimited by an annular side wall so as to act as an extension for the drum (30 has annular side wall acting as an extension for the drum, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the storage and feeding assembly of Pan to have the spacer as taught by Hoover, to ensure space for straightening mechanism inside the lid. Further, the spacer as claimed simply provides for adjustability of the overall drum height, such a provision of adjustability involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 8, Pan modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 7, and at least one wire unwinding accessory (211, 220, Fig. 3) positioned at least partially in the spacer housing (between drum 130 and lid 110, thus partially in spacer housing, Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan, Foreign Patent Document, CN115283793 and Hoover, US20230294955 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Bae, Foreign Patent Document, KR100463375.
Regarding claim 9, Pan modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 7, and first coupling means (313, Fig. 4) for releasably fastening the drum and the lid (Paragraph [0027], lines 3-6).
Pan does not disclose first coupling means for releasably fastening the spacer to the drum, wherein said first coupling means comprise a first releasable clamping ring that couples adjacent end portions of the drum and of the annular side wall, and second coupling means for releasably fastening the lid to the spacer, wherein said second coupling means comprise a second releasable clamping ring that couples adjacent end portions of the annular side wall and of the lid.
Hoover teaches a storage and feeding assembly for elongated material stored in a drum, further comprising a spacer (30, Fig. 2) suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum(15A, Fig. 2) and the lid (49, Fig. 2) that couples adjacent end portions of the drum and of the annular side wall (26 couples end portion of 30 to end portion of 15, 15a, Fig. 2) and second coupling means (45, Fig. 3) for releasably fastening the lid (49, Fig. 3) to the spacer (30, Fig. 3) that couples adjacent end portions of the annular side wall and of the lid (45 couples side wall of lid 49 and spacer 30, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the storage and feeding assembly of Pan to have the spacer with releasable fastening mechanisms as taught by Hoover, to ensure space for straightening mechanism inside the lid. Further, the spacer as claimed with releasable fastening mechanism simply provides for adjustability of the overall drum height, such a provision of adjustability involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Bae teaches a drum having a lid with fastening means wherein said fastening means comprise a releasable clamping ring (160, Fig. 2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fastening means of Pan to use a releasable clamping ring as taught by Bae, so that the drum and lid can be "easily joined and disassembled" (Paragraph [27], lines 3-4). One would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify assembly and disassembly of the drum and lid. Additionally, although Bae teaches a single clamping ring for clamping of the lid and drum, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have two clamping rings to secure the spacer to the lid and drum, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan, Foreign Patent Document, CN115283793 in view of Lombardi, Foreign Patent Document, WO2018167806.
Regarding claim 11, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10, and a wire straightening group.
However, Pan does not disclose the straightening group comprises at least two roller straightening units placed in series with each other along a feeding direction of the wire.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least two roller units instead of just one, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Alternatively, if applicant does not agree that such a modification is considered duplication of parts, it is noted that Lombardi teaches the wire straightening group (50, Fig. 3) comprises at least two roller straightening units placed in series with each other along a feeding direction of the wire (Paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wire straightening group of Pan to have at least two roller straightening units as taught by Lombardi because "an arrangement of the straightening rollers, it has been experienced that the memory of the welding wire 1 exiting drum 2 is completely eliminated" (Paragraph [0038])
Regarding claim 12, Pan discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10, and the storage and feeding assembly.
Pan does not disclose wherein the wire pulling group comprises two opposed driving belts forming two respective straight belt segments facing each other to receive therebetween and move the wire exiting from the drum, or wherein the wire pulling group comprises a plurality of motorized wire pulling rollers facing one another to receive therebetween and move the wire exiting from the drum.
However, Lombardi discloses a wire storage and feeding assembly wherein the wire pulling group (10, Fig. 2a) comprises two opposed driving belts (12, 12', Fig. 3a) forming two respective straight belt segments facing each other to receive therebetween and move the wire (14, 14', Fig. 3a) exiting from the drum (2, Fig. 2; Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the storage and feeding assembly of Pan to have the pulling group of Lombardi, because "welding wire is therefore not deformed by passing between the conveying belts 12; 12' and even the possible sediment of dust or other external agents on the belts has no effect on the wire surface" (Paragraph [0032], Paragraph [0031]; Lombardi).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-9, 12-14, and 16 of Application No. 18828283. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-14, and 16 of copending Application No. 18828283 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor-rewording of claim limitations and the claims of Application No. 18828283 are narrower in scope than the instant claims. Therefore, the claims of Application No. 18828283 encompass the instant claims and render the instant claims unpatentable under anticipatory obvious type double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KATELYNNE BURRELL whose telephone number is (703)756-1344. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00am - 6:00pm EST.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615