DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncaglione (4,513,467) in view of Holbus (2010/0031459) and Gray (4,007,053).
Regarding Claim 1, Roncaglione teaches A pivot arm assembly (Fig. 1) for a washing apparatus (Ref. 10, Fig. 1, [Col. 3, Lines 60-63]), the pivot arm assembly comprising:
a vertical support (Ref. 2, Fig. 1);
a pivot arm (Ref. 20, Fig. 1) extending from said vertical support (2) and pivotable with respect to said vertical support (Fig. 1);
a spindle (Ref. 30&34, Fig. 2) extending from said pivot arm (Fig. 1), wherein said spindle includes an upper spindle portion (Ref. 30, Fig. 1&2) and a lower spindle portion (Ref. 34, Fig. 1-2), and wherein said lower spindle portion (34) is arranged at an acute angle (Fig. 4) with respect to said upper spindle portion (Fig. 1&4 shows the lower spindle portion is capable of being arranged at an acute angle when tilted during cleaning, Examiner notes arranged is interpreted as being put in an order); and
a car cleaning apparatus (Ref. 10, Fig. 3) coupled to said pivot arm at said lower spindle portion (34, fig. 3); and
wherein said pivot arm (20) is pivotable about some range of motion with respect to the vertical support ([Col. 3, Lines 60-62], Fig. 1).
Roncaglione fails to explicitly teach a mitter frame coupled to said pivot arm at said lower spindle portion and a plurality of mitter strips attached to and extending downward from said mitter frame. Holbus teaches a washing apparatus for a vehicle with a spindle and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Holbus teaches a vehicle cleaning apparatus (fig. 3) with a spindle (Ref. 34, Fig. 3) with a lower spindle portion (Fig. 3 shows a lower spindle) and a mitter frame (Ref. 26, Fig. 3) coupled to said pivot arm at said lower spindle portion (Ref. 34, fig. 3 shows a lower spindle) and a plurality of mitter strips (Ref. 28, Fig. 2, [0023]) attached to and extending downward from said mitter frame (Fig. 2 shows the strips 28 extend down from the frame). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the car cleaning apparatus, as taught by Roncaglione, with the clearing apparatus having a mitter frame and a plurality of mitter strips, as taught by Holbus, by simple substitution since such a modification is merely an alternate equivalent structure attached to a spindle to clean a car and since such a modification would yield the predictable results of cleaning a vehicle.
Roncaglione as modified further fails to explicitly teach wherein said pivot arm is pivotable about at least a 90 degree range of motion with respect to said vertical support. Gray teaches a washing apparatus for a vehicle with a spindle and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gray further teaches a pivot arm assembly for a washing apparatus (Fig. 1-17) comprising a pivot arm (ref. 12, fig. 6&18) wherein said pivot arm (Ref. 12, fig. 1) is pivotable about at least a 90 degree range of motion (Ref. 45, Fig. 1-18 shows the range of motion is at least 90 degrees) with respect to said vertical support (Ref. 13, Fig. 19). Therefore, given the teachings of Gray, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the degree range of motion, as taught by of Roncaglione, to be at least a 90 degree range of motion, as taught by Gray, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and since such a modification would achieve the predictable result of moving around a vehicle to clean a surface. Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0044] indicating the angle “could be” greater or less as desired).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith (4,239,551), Holbus (4,359,796), and Hanna (2006/0260076) teaches a pivot arm assembly for a washing apparatus comprising a pivot arm and a spindle and can be considered analogous art because they are within the same field of endeavor.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723