DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 26 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Abstract, Drawings, Specification, and Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 26 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 18 recites the limitation “at least one surge-prevention opening”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear if this is the same at least one surge-prevention opening from Claim 1, line 7 or a different one. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim 13, line 4 recites the limitation “at least one surge-prevention opening”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear if this is the same at least one surge-prevention opening from Claim 1, line 7 or a different one. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as being the same.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piccirilli et al (US 6539899) in view of Breda (US 5275195).
Regarding Claim 1, Piccirilli et al disclose a multi-port valve (Figures 7-16). The valve comprising:
a valve housing (50) having an axial port (55) and a plurality of circumferential ports (51, 52, 53 and 54);
a valve member (56) having at least two flow channels therethrough (Figures 13 and 14 show multiple flow channels), the valve member (56) being movable within the valve housing (50) about an axis (see Annotated Figure A) to alter a fluid flow through the multi-port valve by changing the position of the at least two flow channels (by rotating the valve housing as disclosed in Col 4, lines 59-62), wherein at least one proportional flow condition is achievable between the plurality of circumferential ports (Figures 12-14; which discloses 51 functioning as an inlet with outlets at both 52 and 54, therefore allowing a proportion of the fluid through each 52 and 54), where the valve member includes at least one surge-prevention opening therein to provide a surge-prevention pathway to the axial port (Figure 7; at least the valve member opening 58 or 59 to the bypass port as taught in Col 5, lines 22-27 which prevents pressure or fluid surges as shown by the plateau portion of 37 in Figure 7 while the axial port is open with flow path 40 shown in Figure 7); and
a sealing arrangement (Col 3, line 67-Col 4, line 1)
but fails to expressly disclose where the sealing arrangement is positioned between the valve housing and the valve member, the valve member being movable relative to the sealing arrangement, the sealing arrangement comprising a seal associated with each of the plurality of circumferential ports;
characterised in that the seal associated with a second lower circumferential port is a surge seal which is provided as part of an elongate sealing element having a central seal and transitionary seal panels either side of a sealing rib of the central seal with respect to the circumferential direction;
wherein the elongate sealing element includes intermediate sealing ribs in the transitionary seal panels to prevent leakage between adjacent at least one surge- prevention openinq and at least one lower circumferential openinq of the valve member during movement of the valve member.
Breda teaches a multi-port valve (Figures 4-6) with a valve housing (20), a valve member (40) and a sealing arrangement (Figure 6 generally),
where the sealing arrangement (Figure 6 generally) is positioned between the valve housing (20) and the valve member (40; Figure 4), the valve member (40) being movable relative to the sealing arrangement (Col 6, line 67 – Col 7 line 1), the sealing arrangement (Figure 6 generally) comprising a seal (each 35 shown in Figures 5-6) associated with each of the plurality of circumferential ports (at least at 5a, 5b),
characterised in that the seal associated with a second lower circumferential port (47a) is a surge seal (39 and 38 in Figures 5-6; where the seal functions to prevent fluid flow when the port is closed, thereby function to prevent flow and/or pressure surges and therefore reads on the limitation) which is provided as part of an elongate sealing element (Figure 6) having a central seal (39) and transitionary seal panels (the portions of 35 on either side of 39b shown in Figure 6) either side of a sealing rib (39b) of the central seal with respect to the circumferential direction (Figure 5),
where the elongate sealing element (Figure 6) includes intermediate sealing ribs (at least the ribs for the other openings 5b or 33c) in the transitionary seal panels to prevent leak between adjacent the at least one surge-prevention opening and at least one lower circumferential opening of the valve member during movement of the valve member (Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piccirilli et al with the system as taught by Breda for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the sealing arrangement of Breda within the system of Piccirilli et al) to yield predictable results (to seal the flow ports).
Annotated Figure A - Piccirilli et al
Regarding Claim 3, Piccirilli et al disclose where the at least one surge-prevention opening is non-circular (Figures 9-10; Col 5, lines 62-67).
Regarding Claim 4, Piccirilli et al disclose where the at least one surge-prevention opening (opening 59 of the valve member) is trapezoidal in the circumferential direction of the valve member (Figure 9; Col 5, lines 62-67).
Regarding Claim 5, Piccirilli et al disclose where the plurality of circumferential ports comprises at least one upper circumferential port (either 51 or 52; Figure 8) and at least one lower circumferential port (53 or 54), the upper and lower circumferential ports being spaced apart in the axial direction of the valve member (Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 6, Piccirilli et al discloses there are two said upper circumferential ports (51 and 52 shown in Figure 8) and two said lower circumferential ports (53 and 54 shown in Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Breda teaches where the seal associated with a first one of the at least one lower circumferential port (39) is dimensioned to the first lower circumferential port (Figure 4; at 47a).
Regarding Claim 9, Breda teaches where the elongate sealing element (Figure 6) further comprises a partially perimetric seal (35x in Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Breda teaches where the seal associated with at least one of the first and/or second upper circumferential ports (at least 34b of Figure 6) is provided on a seal element (the top seal of Figure 6) having a single transitionary seal panel (35) to one side of a sealing rib (34b) of the seal element in one circumferential direction (35 is a single panel in one circumferential direction as seen in Figure 6, even if it is the same panel in the other direction).
Regarding Claim 11, Breda teaches where the seal associated with the first and/or second upper circumferential ports (at least 34b of Figure 6) further comprises a partially perimetric seal (5x).
Regarding Claim 12, Piccirilli et al disclose where the at least two flow channels include first and second said flow channels (Figures 12-17), the first flow channel extending from a first lower circumferential opening (to 54 of Figure 14) to a first upper circumferential opening of the valve member (to 51), and the second flow channel extending from a second lower circumferential opening (53; Col 6, lines 8-10) to a second upper circumferential opening of the valve member (Figure 7 with flow to radiator port 52 as shown in line 36).
Regarding Claim 13, Piccirilli et al disclose where the at least two flow channels include a third flow channel formed as a void (61 in Figures 12-17) extending from a third lower circumferential opening to an axial opening (to 55), the at least one surge-prevention opening being fluidly communicable with the void (via 61; Figure 7; at least the valve member opening 58 or 59 to the bypass port as taught in Col 5, lines 22-27 which prevents pressure or fluid surges as shown by the plateau portion of 37 in Figure 7 while the axial port is open with flow path 40 shown in Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Breda teach where each seal is provided as a protruding rim relative to a surface of an associated sealing element (Figures 5-6 via surface 35).
Regarding Claim 16, Piccirilli et al disclose a coolant system for a motor vehicle (abstract) and Piccirilli et al, as modified by Breda teach, the coolant system comprising at least one multi-port valve as claimed in claim 1 (as discussed above).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Piccirilli et al (US 6539899) in view of Breda (US 5275195).
Regarding Claim 14, Piccirilli et al, as modified by Breda disclose at least one proportional flow condition (Figures 13-14), but fails to expressly disclose where there is at least one proportional flow condition from a first one of the at least one lower circumferential port to first and second ones of the at least one upper circumferential port, and at least one proportional flow condition from a second one of the at least one lower circumferential port to the first and second ones of the at least one upper circumferential port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the ports of the multi port valve such that the ports are located such that there is at least one proportional flow condition from the first lower circumferential port to the first and second upper circumferential ports, and at least one proportional flow condition from the second lower circumferential port to the first and second upper circumferential ports since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimal arrangement of the ports based on user defined criteria, to provide port connections to the system in an easy and efficient matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Piccirilli et al, as modified by Breda fails to teach the limitations of amended Claim 1 since Breda fails to teach (i) a surge seal associated with a lower circumferential port; (ii) a central seal forming part of an elongate sealing element; (iii) transitionary seal panels extending from the central seal; (iv) intermediate sealing ribs positioned within the transitionary seal panels; or (v) a sealing arrangement configured to cooperate with surge-prevention openings to prevent leakage during movement of the valve member. However, as discussed above, Breda teaches (i) a surge seal associated with a lower circumferential port (39 and 38 in Figures 5-6; where the seal functions to prevent fluid flow when the port is closed, thereby function to prevent flow and/or pressure surges and therefore reads on the limitation); (ii) a central seal (39) forming part of an elongate sealing element (Figure 6); (iii) transitionary seal panels (the portions of 35 on either side of 39b shown in Figure 6) extending from the central seal (Figure 6); (iv) intermediate sealing ribs positioned within the transitionary seal panels (at least the ribs for the other openings 5b or 33c); or (v) a sealing arrangement configured to cooperate with surge-prevention openings to prevent leakage during movement of the valve member (Figure 6). Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that the transitionary seal panels of Breda do not function as a central seal associated with a lower circumferential port. However, the entire seal structure of Breda, including the transitionary seal panels surrounding the lower circumferential port function to seal the valve throughout the valve’s movement, thereby functioning to prevent leakage during movement of the valve member. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753