Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/10/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the annular side wall has an adjustable axial extension of Claim 10, and the welding torch of claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both “the lower circumferential groove” and “straight segments of the driving belts”. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “50” has been used to designate both “the upper lid wall” and “wire straightening group”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 2’. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardi, Foreign Patent Document, WO20181676806 in view of Hoover, US20230294955.
Regarding independent claim 1, Lombardi discloses a storage and feeding assembly for a wire to be fed to an apparatus (100, 2, 4, Fig. 1), comprising: a drum suitable for storing the wire wound in coils (2 for storing wire 1' wound in coils, Fig. 1), the drum extending about a drum axis (axis of 2, Fig. 2) between a resting base (60, Fig. 2) and an open upper end (top of 2, Fig. 1, 2); a wire handling device positioned between the drum and the apparatus and suitable for extracting the wire from the drum to feed the wire to the apparatus (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0020]); a lid placed above the drum (4, Fig. 1), wherein an outlet passage for the wire is provided in a top of the lid (2', Fig. 1).
Lombardi does not disclose wherein the storage and feeding assembly further comprises a spacer suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum and the lid, and wherein said spacer comprises a spacer body defining a spacer housing delimited by an annular side wall so as to act as an extension for the drum.
However, Hoover teaches a storage and feeding assembly for filamentary material, further comprising a spacer (25, 30, Fig. 2) suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum(15A, Fig. 2) and the lid (49, Fig. 2), wherein said spacer comprises a spacer body defining a spacer housing delimited by an annular side wall so as to act as an extension for the drum (30 has annular side wall acting as an extension for the drum, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a spacer as taught by Hoover to the wire storage and feeding assembly of Lombardi, to ensure space for the wire to properly uncoil. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spacer on top of the drum as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Further, adding a spacer is simply a mechanism for adjusting the longitudinal height of the drum along the drum axis, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the spacer as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a storage and feeding assembly.
Lombardi does not disclose wherein the spacer body comprises an upper base connected to the annular side wall.
However, Hoover teaches a storage and feeding assembly for filamentary material, wherein the spacer body comprises an upper base (44, Fig. 3) connected to the annular side wall (44 connected to 25, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the storage and feeding assembly of Lombardi to have the upper base connected to the annular side wall in order to support the wire handling device. One would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure the wire handling device is centered and supported inside the lid of the drum.
Regarding claim 4, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire handling device (100, Fig. 1) is positioned downstream of the lid (4, Fig. 1) along a feeding direction of the wire to the apparatus (100 is downstream of 4, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above and further comprising at least one wire unwinding accessory (3, Fig. 1) positioned at least partially in the housing (2, 4, Fig. 1).
Lombardi does not disclose a spacer.
However, Hoover teaches a storage and feeding assembly for filamentary material, further comprising a spacer (25, 30, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a spacer as taught by Hoover to the wire storage and feeding assembly of Lombardi, to ensure space for the wire to properly uncoil. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spacer on top of the drum as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Further, adding a spacer is simply a mechanism for adjusting the longitudinal height of the drum along the drum axis, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the spacer as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and an annular side wall.
Lombardi does not disclose the annular side wall has an adjustable axial extension.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the annular side wall adjustable, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954). One would have been motivated to make this modification to accommodate a variety of drums, wire packages, and straightening/pulling mechanisms to ensure adequate space for uncoiling of the wire.
Regarding claim 11, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10, and wherein the annular side wall of the lid is a telescopic wall (4, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire handling device comprises a wire straightening group and/or a wire pulling group (100, Fig. 1 comprises straightening group 50, and pulling group 10, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 12 and the wire straightening group (50, Fig. 3) comprises at least two roller straightening units placed in series with each other along a feeding direction of the wire (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 12, and wherein the wire pulling group (10, Fig. 2a) comprises two opposed driving belts (12, 12', Fig. 3a) forming two respective straight belt segments facing each other to receive therebetween and move the wire (14, 14', Fig. 3a) exiting from the drum (2, Fig. 2; Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding independent claim 15, Lombardi discloses a storage and feeding assembly for a welding wire for a welding or brazing system (Paragraph [0019]), comprising: a drum in which the welding wire wound in coils is stored (2 for storing wire 1' wound in coils, Fig. 1), the drum extending about a drum axis (axis of 2, Fig. 2) between a resting base (60, Fig. 2) and an open upper end (top of 2, Fig. 1, 2); a wire handling device positioned between the drum and the apparatus and suitable for extracting the wire from the drum to feed the wire to the apparatus (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0020]); a lid placed above the drum (4, Fig. 1) and comprising a top (4, Fig. 1) in which an outlet passage for the welding wire is provided (2', Fig. 1) wherein a ratio between a longitudinal dimension of the drum and a longitudinal dimension of the bundle ranges between 70% and 100% (Ratio between 1’ and 2 is between 70% and 100%, Fig. 1).
Lombardi does not disclose a spacer suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum and the lid so as to act as an extension for the drum.
However, Hoover teaches a storage and feeding assembly for filamentary material having a spacer (25, 30, Fig. 2) suitable for being releasably positioned between the upper end of the drum(15A, Fig. 2) and the lid (49, Fig. 2), so as to act as an extension for the drum (30 has annular side wall acting as an extension for the drum, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a spacer as taught by Hoover to the wire storage and feeding assembly of Lombardi, to ensure space for the wire to properly uncoil. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spacer on top of the drum as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Further, adding a spacer is simply a mechanism for adjusting the longitudinal height of the drum along the drum axis, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the spacer as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 16, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the wire is a welding wire to be fed to a welding torch (Paragraph [0002], lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 17, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 15, and a ratio between the longitudinal dimension of the drum and the longitudinal dimension of the bundle (height of 1’ to height of 2, Fig. 1).
Lombardi does not disclose the ratio is 85%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a ratio of 85%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure adequate space for unwinding of coils while also maximizing the amount of wire held in each drum.
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardi, Foreign Patent Document, WO20181676806 and Hoover, US20230294955 as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Pan, Foreign Patent Document, CN115283793.
Regarding claim 3, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 2, and a wire handling device.
Lombardi does not disclose wherein the wire handling device is integrally fixed to the upper base, and wherein the lid defines a lid volume in which the wire handling device extends substantially coaxially to the drum axis.
Pan teaches a device for storing and feeding wire, wherein the wire handling device (251, 252, Fig. 5) is integrally fixed to the upper base (244, Fig. 6), wherein the lid defines a lid volume (volume contained beneath 110, Figs. 1-3), in which the wire handling device extends substantially coaxially to the drum axis (II shows 251, 252 extends coaxial to drum axis and located within lid volume, Fig. 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Lombardi to have the wire handling device fixed, and a lid covering the wire handling device as taught by Pan, in order to cover the wire handling device and drum and avoid contamination by dust or debris (Paragraph [0040], lines 4-5; Pan).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a storage and feeding assembly.
Lombardi does not disclose wherein at least one spacer opening for accessing the spacer housing is provided in the annular side wall of the spacer.
However, Hoover teaches a storage and feeding assembly for filamentary material, further comprising a spacer (25, 30, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a spacer as taught by Hoover to the wire storage and feeding assembly of Lombardi, to ensure space for the wire to properly uncoil. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spacer on top of the drum as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Further, adding a spacer is simply a mechanism for adjusting the longitudinal height of the drum along the drum axis, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the spacer as taught by Hoover, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Further, Pan teaches an opening for accessing the housing is provided in the annular side wall (140 in 110, Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the opening of Pan with the spacer of Hoover on the device of Lombardi to “facilitate observation of the wire feeding status” within the spacer volume (Paragraph [0040], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 3, and wherein the lid comprises a lid side wall (4, Fig. 1).
Lombardi does not disclose at least one lid opening for accessing the lid volume is provided in the lid side wall.
However, Pan teaches a device for storage and feeding of welding wire, wherein the lid comprises a lid side wall (110, Fig. 2) and wherein at least one lid opening (140, Fig. 1) for accessing the lid volume (operator can access the lid volume via 140, Fig. 1) is provided in the lid side wall (110, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lid of Lombardi to have the opening as taught by Pan, “to facilitate observation of the wire feeding status” (Paragraph [0040], lines 4-5).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardi, Foreign Patent Document, WO20181676806 and Hoover, US20230294955as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bae, Foreign Patent Document, KR100463375.
Regarding claim 6, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and the storage and feeding assembly.
Lombardi does not disclose further comprising first coupling means for releasably fastening the spacer to the drum, wherein said first coupling means comprise a first releasable clamping ring that couples adjacent end portions of the drum and of the annular side wall.
Hoover teaches a storage and feeding device for filamentary material, further comprising first coupling means for releasably fastening the spacer to the drum (26, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Lombardi to have a first coupling means as taught by Hoover to ensure the spacer is secured to the drum during operation.
Bae teaches a storage device for wire having coupling means, wherein said first coupling means comprise a first releasable clamping ring (160, Fig. 2b) that couples adjacent end portions of the drum and of the annular side wall (couples drum and annular side wall, Fig. 2b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling means of Hoover to have the releasable clamping ring as taught by Bae, so that the components can be "easily joined and disassembled" (Paragraph [27], lines 3-4; Bae).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lombardi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and the storage and feeding assembly.
Lombardi does not disclose further comprising second coupling means for releasably fastening the lid to the spacer, wherein said second coupling means comprise a second releasable clamping ring that couples adjacent end portions of the annular side wall and of the lid.
Hoover teaches a device for storage and feeding of filamentary material, further comprising second coupling means (45, Fig. 3) for releasably fastening the lid to the spacer (releasably fastens lid, 42, 44, 31, 35, Fig. 3 to spacer, 25, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Lombardi to have a second coupling means as taught by Hoover to ensure the lid is secured to the spacer during operation.
Bae teaches a device for storing wire, wherein said second coupling means comprise a second releasable clamping ring (160, Fig. 2b) that couples adjacent end portions of the annular side wall and of the lid (couples drum and annular side wall, Fig. 2b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling means of Hoover to have the releasable clamping ring as taught by Bae, so that the components can be "easily joined and disassembled" (Paragraph [27], lines 3-4; Bae).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 16 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-13 of Application No. 18828256. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18828256 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor-rewording of claim limitations. Therefore, the claims of Application No. 18828256 encompass the instant claims and render the instant claims unpatentable under anticipatory obvious type double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/WADE MILES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656