DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12092350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim the same invention and the current application claims the invention broadly. A comparison between independent claim 8 of the US Patent 12092350 and independent claim 8 of the current application provided below for an example.
US Patent 12092350
Current Application 18828305
Claim 8. A method performed by a thermostat, comprising:
enrolling, by a processor of the thermostat, a security sensor, the security sensor actively enrolled with a security system;
receiving, by the processor via a wireless receiver coupled to the processor, a security alert from the security sensor; and
deactivating, by the processor, HVAC equipment in response to receiving the security alert.
Claim 8. A method performed by a thermostat having a wireless receiver , comprising:
receiving, via the wireless receiver, a security alert from a security sensor; and
deactivating a HVAC equipment in response to receiving the security alert.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young (US Patent 61964681).
As per claim 8, Young discloses a method performed by a thermostat having a wireless receiver , comprising:
receiving, via the wireless receiver, a security alert from a security sensor [Abstract; col. 1, lines 7-18, 33-44; col. 2, lines 15-20, 43-61; col. 4, lines 2-25; col. 5, lines 34-65; the system automatically wirelessly senses if a door or window is open]; and
deactivating a HVAC equipment in response to receiving the security alert [Abstract; col. 1, lines 7-18, 33-44; col. 2, lines 15-20, 43-61; col. 4, lines 2-25; col. 5, lines 34-65; “… a device for controlling an HVAC …” wherein the device is a thermostat and the thermostat is a wireless thermostat control system including a door sensor to detect whether a room door is open; “As can be seen in this embodiment, only a system timer is necessary, to turn off the solenoid S and fan if the door or windows are open for more than the shutoff delay period.”, i.e., deactivating a HVAC equipment in response to receiving the security alert (e.g., a door has been left opened for a certain amount of time)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US Patent 61964681) in view of Matsuoka et al (US Patent 10697662; hereinafter Matsuoka).
As per claim 9, Young discloses the invention substantially. Though Young does not specifically disclose regarding a communication interface, it is well known in the art that a thermostat having a communication interface to control a HVAC system. However, Matsuoka (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., a device for controlling an HVAC system (e.g., a thermostat)) discloses a thermostat having a first communication interface [Abstract; col. 22, lines 49-62; col. 34, line 20; col. 46, lines 24-26; col. 48, lines 22-24; claim 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are directed to control an HVAC system via a thermostat.
Claim 10, Young discloses wherein deactivating the HVAC equipment comprises: modifying a current setpoint temperature stored in a memory of the thermostat to generate a modified setpoint [col. 3, lines 37-43; thermostat with selectable settings for the HVAC system; col. 5, lines 34-49; thermostat can be set for energy saving temperatures; col. 5, lines 55-65; room temperature is controlled by a thermostat]; and controlling the HVAC equipment using the modified setpoint [Abstract; col. 1, lines 7-10; col. 2, lines 47-57; controlling an HVAC system].
As per claim 11, Matsuoka discloses further comprising: activating an indicator of the thermostat when the thermostat sends the signal to the HVAC equipment [col. 28, lines 1-4; col. 48, lines 2-11; an indication].
As per claim 12, Matsuoka discloses further comprising: sending, via a second communication interface of the thermostat, a notification that a door or a window is open [Abstract; col. 22, lines 49-62; col. 34, line 20; col. 46, lines 24-26; col. 48, lines 22-24; claim 1; a first communication interface, a second communication interface; para 15, lines 23-24; detecting openings and closing of doors; col. 31, lines 53-67; notification].
As per claim 13, Young discloses further comprising: sending, via the second communication interface, a notification that the current setpoint has been modified [Abstract; col. 22, lines 49-62; col. 34, line 20; col. 46, lines 24-26; col. 48, lines 22-24; claim 1; a first communication interface, a second communication interface; col. 31, lines 53-67; notification].
As per claim 14, Young discloses wherein deactivating the HVAC equipment comprises: starting a timer in response to receiving the security alert [Abstract; col. 2, lines 43-57; timer is provided to turn off the system]; and when the timer expires, deactivate the HVAC equipment if a second security alert from the security sensor has not been received [Abstract; col. 2, lines 43-67; timer is provided to turn off the system; the shutoff delay].
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seymour (US Patent 54762211) in view of Matsuoka et al (US Patent 10697662; hereinafter Matsuoka).
As per claim 1, Seymour discloses a thermostat, comprising:
a memory for storing processor-executable instructions [Fig. 1; col. 2, lines 10-17; inherent to a computer to have a memory];
a wireless receiver for receiving a security alert from a security sensor [Abstract; col. 1, lines 7-12, 62-67; a wireless thermostat];
an HVAC communication interface for sending control signals to HVAC equipment [col. 2, lines 55-66; HVAC unit 10]; and
a processor coupled to the memory, the wireless receiver and the communication interface, for executing the processor-executable instructions that causes the thermostat to:
receive, by the processor via the wireless receiver, a security alert from the security sensor [Abstract; col. 1, lines 62-67; the wireless thermostat includes a receiver to receive alert regarding a room door is opened]; and
deactivate, by the processor, the HVAC equipment in response to receiving the security alert [col. 5, line 54 – col. 6, line 44; turning off the HVAC if no one is detected for a predetermined period (timer expires)].
Though Seymour does not specifically disclose regarding a communication interface, it is well known in the art that a thermostat having a communication interface to control a HVAC system. However, Matsuoka (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., a device for controlling an HVAC system (e.g., a thermostat)) discloses a thermostat having a first communication interface [Abstract; col. 22, lines 49-62; col. 34, line 20; col. 46, lines 24-26; col. 48, lines 22-24; claim 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are directed to control an HVAC system via a thermostat.
As per claim 2, Seymour discloses wherein the processor-executable instructions for deactivating the HVAC equipment comprises instructions that cause the thermostat to send, by the processor via the HVAC communication interface, a signal to the HVAC equipment for the HVAC equipment to stop heating or cooling [col. 5, line 54 – col. 6, line 44; turning off the HVAC].
As per claim 3, Seymour discloses wherein the processor-executable instructions for deactivating the HVAC equipment comprises instructions that cause the thermostat to: modify, by the processor, a current setpoint temperature stored in the memory to generate a modified setpoint [col. 3, lines 6-24; temperature setting]; store, by the processor, the modified setpoint in the memory [col. 3, lines 6-24; inherent to the system to store the temperature setting to apply it for future control]; and control, by the processor, the HVAC equipment using the modified setpoint [Abstract; col. 1, lines 62-67; col. 5, line 54 – col. 6, line 44].
As per claim 4, Seymour discloses further comprising: an indicator coupled to the processor; wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further processor-executable instructions that causes the thermostat to: activate, by the processor, the indicator when the processor sends the signal to the HVAC equipment to stop heating or cooling in response to receiving the security alert from the security sensor [Abstract; col. 1, lines 62-67; signals indicating].
As per claim 5, Matsuoka discloses further comprising: a second communication interface coupled to the processor [Abstract; col. 22, lines 49-62; col. 34, line 20; col. 46, lines 24-26; col. 48, lines 22-24; claim 1; a first communication interface, a second communication interface]; wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further processor-executable instructions that causes the thermostat to: send, by the processor via the second communication interface, a notification that a door or a window is open [col. 31, lines 53-67; notification].
As per claim 6, Matsuoka discloses further comprising: a second communication interface coupled to the processor [Abstract; col. 22, lines 49-62; col. 34, line 20; col. 46, lines 24-26; col. 48, lines 22-24; claim 1; a first communication interface, a second communication interface]; wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further processor-executable instructions that causes the thermostat to: send, by the processor via the second communication interface, a notification that the current setpoint has been modified [col. 31, lines 53-67; notification].
As per claim 7, Seymour discloses wherein the processor-executable instructions that cause the thermostat to deactivate the HVAC equipment in response to receiving the security alert comprise further processor-executable instructions that causes the thermostat to: start a timer in response to receiving the security alert [col. 5, line 54 – col. 6, line 44; turning off the HVAC if no one is detected for a predetermined period (timer expires)]; and when the timer expires, deactivate the HVAC equipment if a second security alert from the security sensor has not been received [col. 5, line 54 – col. 6, line 44; turning off the HVAC if no one is detected for a predetermined period (timer expires)].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-4948045 discloses an electronic control apparatus which will shut off a heating or air-conditioning system when a door or window is left open.
US-20220120464 discloses thermostats have evolved over the years, allowing users to maximize energy conservation by turning HVAC systems off when heating or cooling is not needed.
US-201903009971 discloses a thermostat may include a communication interface communicatively coupled to a processor that may enable the thermostat to send and receive signals to and from, for example, an HVAC system.
US-20180299159 discloses a thermostat includes a communication interface configured to receive one or more measurements from a number of sensors and a processing circuit including a processor and memory.
US-20180087793 discloses combination of a thermostatic controller with additional sensors, transducers, radios, rich user interfaces and other components in order to provide a centralized tool for accomplishing a wide range of tasks related to home comfort, convenience and security.
US-20160327294 discloses a system including a second communications interface; a second processor and a second memory associated with the second communication interface and operable to receive, from the thermostat device, the ecorank target setting.
US-20130261809 discloses an HVAC control system and method for modifying at least one of the first temperature setpoint, the second temperature setpoint, the first time period setpoint, and the second time period setpoint.
US-20120181342 discloses an HVAC Energy Saver Control Unit that is designed for any application in which user wishes to shut off an HVAC system automatically when doors and/or windows are opened.
US-10253995 discloses systems and methods for mitigating smoke damage to a property wherein in response to receiving an alert and/or intelligent home telematics data, a controller is further configured deactivate an air circulation function of an HVAC system to mitigate smoke or fire damage to the property.
Conclusion
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 Prior art cited by applicant in submitted information discloser statement.