DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 13-18, in the reply filed on 18 February 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 February 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malcolm (US 4,494,651) in view of Kritchevsky et al. (US 4,678,699).
Regarding Claim 13, Malcolm (US’651) teaches an enclosure comprising: an enclosure body (comprising top and bottom enclosure means 2, 3 connected by hinge means) formed integrally from conductive molding composition, including side walls (e.g. of bottom enclosure means 3) that extend integrally around an internal cavity 16 capable of containing electronics and that define an opening into the internal cavity (Figs. 1-7; col. 7, lines 1-5; col. 6, lines 23-28; col. 12, lines 3-12; col. 11, lines 51-55); and a cover (e.g. top enclosure means 2) formed from the conductive molding composition and sized to block the opening into the internal cavity (Figures; col. 4; lines 15-25; col. 6, lines 23-59). The conductive molding composition can comprise thermoplastic materials and conductive particles (e.g. carbon black) (col. 6, lines 23-59).
US’651 fails to teach a conductive sheet molding compound. Kritchevsky et al. (US’699) is analogous art in the field of manufacture of articles (including enclosures) from conductive molding compounds and for providing protection from electromagnetic fields (Abstract; col. 1, lines 10-68). US’699 provides evidence that as early as 1982, it was known to produce an enclosure for an electronic device (computer printer) from a sheet molding compound (col. 1, lines 63-68). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the conductive enclosure of US’651 by substituting one known conductive molding material for another (i.e. conductive sheet molding compound for conductive thermoplastic compound, containing carbon black), because US’699 suggests that both sheet molding compounds and thermoplastic composites can be used to form an enclosure to shield electronic equipment from electromagnetic fields.
Regarding Claim 14, US’651 teaches that the enclosure body is a body capable of being grounded via the conductive molding material, forming the enclosure, in order to bleed off internally generated static electrical charge (col. 12, lines 13-28). It would have been obvious to use the same technique of grounding with conductive enclosures in general in order to bleed off internally generated static electrical charge.
Regarding Claim 15, US’651 teaches that the enclosure body defines a conductive outer surface that extends onto protruding grounding attachment points 9 (e.g. “pole or rod-like configuration” to which alligator clips can be attached) (Figs. 1,6; col. 11, lines 11-24).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malcolm (US 4,494,651) in view of Kritchevsky et al. (US 4,678,699) as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of Drzal et al. (US 2008/0118736).
Regarding Claims 16-17, the combination of US’651 in view of US’699 fails to teach a cured powder coating on the surface of the enclosure (either body or cover). Drzal et al. (US’736) is analogous art in the field of conductive sheet molding compounds, including for EM shielding [0011], and pertinent to inventor’s problem of manufacturing paintable conductive objects, including for EM shielding applications, from conductive molding materials. US’736 suggests a reinforced conductive sheet molding compound (SMC) which is paintable and a cured powder coating to color (pigmented paint) an object made with SMC (Abstract; [0011-0012,0017,0021,0079,0082,0103]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the conductive enclosure of the combination of US’651 in view of US’699 with a cured powder coating on at least one surface of the enclosure (body or cover), because US’736 suggests a cured powder coating (also paint) on conductive objects as a paint, including in EM shielding applications, and painting an object is commonly understood to be a generally desirable aesthetic modification of an object.
Regarding Claim 18, US’651 (col. 6, lines 39-55) and US’699 (col. 5, line 18) both teach carbon black as a conductive additive for conductive molding compositions and US’699 teaches conductive sheet molding compound, reinforced with carbon pigment (col. 1, lines 65-67). The combination of US’651 in view of US’699 does not expressly teach carbon black specifically in SMC. US’736 teaches that conductive fillers, including carbon black, are typically dispersed in SMC [0012]. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the enclosure of the combination of US’651 in view of US’699 with SMC, including carbon black as a conductive filler, because US’736 suggests that carbon black is a typical conductive filler in SMC.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cohen (US 4,308,953) (electrically conductive container and evidence of prior art enclosures made entirely from electrically conductive plastic material)
Donalson et al. (US 4,763,781) (storage container for electrostatic discharge sensitive devices comprises an enclosable polymeric outer shell, comprising blow molded electrically conductive exterior)
Robinson et al. (US 4,426,675) (enclosure for circuit boards, including conductive foam)
No claim is allowed.
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712