DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breeze (US20190204010A1: cited by Applicant) in view of Lynch (US20220196332A1).
Regarding claim 1, Breeze teaches a heat exchanger (36: see Figure 2), comprising:
an outer body (42 and 44) having a centerline axis (11) and defining a flow passage (46) extending from an inlet (48) to an outlet (50) of the heat exchanger (see ¶ [0025]);
a first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) disposed within the flow passage (46), wherein the first annular fin is concentrically aligned with the centerline axis (11: see ¶ [0025]) and defines a first surface (60 outer surface of the first top one of 58); and
a second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) disposed within the flow passage (46), wherein the second annular fin is concentrically aligned with the centerline axis (11) and defines a second surface (60 outer surface of the second top one of 58), wherein the second annular fin is radially spaced from the first annular fin to define a flow channel (66) therebetween (see Figure 2 where 66 is defined between each two adjacent fins 58), and wherein the flow passage (46), the first annular fin, and the second annular fin diverge along the centerline axis (11) downstream from the inlet (see ¶ [0027]).
Breeze does not teach that the first and second surfaces of the fins define undulating surfaces.
Lynch teaches heat exchanger core (10: see Figures 4A-8B) comprising a plurality of annular fins (12) that define a flow channel (14) therebetween and define undulating surfaces.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fins of Breeze to define undulating surfaces, as taught by Lynch, such provision would provide the benefit of improving the heat transfer capabilities, see Lynch’s ¶ [0038].
Regarding claim 2, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the outer body (42 and 44) is bulbous shaped between the inlet (48) and the outlet (50: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first undulating surface is aligned circumferentially and axially with the second undulating surface with respect to the centerline axis (Examiner notes that Breeze’s fins are aligned circumferentially and axially and Lynch’s undulating surfaces are also aligned circumferentially and axially. Therefore, Breeze’s first undulating surface and second undulating surface as modified are aligned circumferentially and axially with each other with respect to the centerline axis 11).
Regarding claim 4, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first undulating surface and the second undulating surface are undulated in an axial direction with respect to the centerline axis (see Lynch’s Figures 4A-8B where the plurality of annular fins (12) is undulated in an axial direction with respect to the centerline axis (CA)).
Regarding claim 5, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first undulating surface and the second undulating surface are undulated in a circumferential direction with respect to the centerline axis (see Lynch’s Figures 4A-8B where the plurality of annular fins (12) is undulated in a circumferential direction with respect to the centerline axis (CA)).
Regarding claim 6, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first annular fin and the second annular fin (Lynch’s plurality of annular fins (12): see Figures 7A and 7B) are formed to turn flow of a first fluid through the flow channel about the centerline axis (Examiner notes that Lynch’s plurality of annular fins (12), as shown in Figures 7A and 7B, are formed to turn flow of a first fluid (i.e. air) through the flow channel (46 of Breeze) about the centerline axis (11 of Breeze) due to the twist in Lynch’s plurality of annular fins (12)).
Regarding claim 7, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) defines a first leading edge (62), and the second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) defines a second leading edge (62), wherein the first leading edge is axially offset from the second leading edge with respect to the centerline axis (see in Figure 2 where 62 of the first top one of 58 is axially offset from 62 of the second top one of 58 with respect to 11).
Regarding claim 8, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2 of Breeze) defines a first leading edge (62 of Breeze), and the second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2 of Breeze) defines a second leading edge (62 of Breeze), wherein at least one of the first leading edge and the second leading edge defines a plurality of circumferentially adjoining chevrons (see Lynch’s in Figures 7A and 7B where the plurality of annular fins (12) define the leading edges that form a plurality of circumferentially adjoining chevrons).
Regarding claim 9, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2 of Breeze) defines a first trailing edge (64 of Breeze), and the second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2 of Breeze) defines a second trailing edge (64 of Breeze), wherein the first trailing edge is axially offset from the second trailing edge with respect to the centerline axis (see in Figure 2 where 64 of the first top one of 58 is axially offset from 64 of the second top one of 58 with respect to 11).
Regarding claim 10, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2 of Breeze) defines a first trailing edge (64 of Breeze), and the second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2 of Breeze) defines a second trailing edge (64 of Breeze), wherein at least one of the first trailing edge and the second trailing edge defines a plurality of circumferentially adjoining chevrons (see Lynch’s in Figures 7A and 7B where the plurality of annular fins (12) define the trailing edges that form a plurality of circumferentially adjoining chevrons).
Regarding claim 11, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the outer body (42 and 44) defines an inner wall (inner wall of 44), and the first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) defines a radially outer surface (upper 60 of first top one of 58), wherein a second flow channel is defined therebetween (see 66 that is between 44 and first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the outer body (42 and 44) defines a belly (56) at a mid-line (A2) of the outer body (see Figure 2), wherein the flow passage converges downstream from the belly and upstream from the outlet (see Figure 2 and ¶ [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein at least one of the first annular fin and the second annular fin (58) includes a cooling circuit therein (see Figure 3 and ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the cooling circuit (see Figure 3) is fluidly coupled to a thermal fluid source (70).
Regarding claim 16, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger (36) is configured to mount within a flowpath (F) of a gas turbine engine (10: see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the gas turbine engine (10) includes a turbomachine exhaust nozzle (area of 24: see Figure 1), wherein the heat exchanger (36) is configured to mount within the turbomachine exhaust nozzle (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first undulating surface is aligned circumferentially and axially with the second undulating surface with respect to the centerline axis (Examiner notes that Breeze’s fins are aligned circumferentially and axially and Lynch’s undulating surfaces are also aligned circumferentially and axially. Therefore, Breeze’s first undulating surface and second undulating surface as modified are aligned circumferentially and axially with each other with respect to the centerline axis 11).
Regarding claim 20, Breeze as modified further teaches wherein the first undulating surface and the second undulating surface are undulated in an axial direction with respect to the centerline axis (see Lynch’s Figures 4A-8B where the plurality of annular fins (12) is undulated in an axial direction with respect to the centerline axis (CA)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breeze (US20190204010A1: cited by Applicant) in view of Lynch (US20220196332A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kilchyk (US20230392621A1).
Regarding claim 13, Breeze does not teach further comprising a diffuser body extending downstream from the inlet into the flow passage along the centerline axis.
Kilchyk teaches a heat exchanger system (300: see Figures 4 and 6B-7B) comprising a diffuser body (408) extending downstream from an inlet (402) into a flow passage (F) along a centerline axis (C: see Figures 7A/7B).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the heat exchanger of Breeze with a diffuser body extending downstream from the inlet into the flow passage along the centerline axis, as taught by Kilchyk, such provision would provide the benefit of increasing the pressure ratio thus smoothing airflow distribution to optimize cooling performance.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breeze (US20190204010A1: cited by Applicant) in view of Lynch (US20220196332A1).
Regarding claim 18, Breeze teaches a gas turbine engine (10: see Figure 1), comprising: a fan duct (38 and/or 40); a heat exchanger (36), comprising: an outer body (42 and 44) having a centerline axis (11) and defining a flow passage (46) extending from an inlet (48) to an outlet (50) of the heat exchanger (36: see ¶ [0025]), wherein the inlet (48) is in fluid communication with the fan duct (38 and/or 40: see ¶ [0023]);
a first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) disposed within the flow passage (46: see Figure 2), wherein the first annular fin (first top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) is concentrically aligned with the centerline axis (11: see ¶ [0025]) and defines a first surface (60 outer surface of the first top one of 58); and
a second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) disposed within the flow passage (46), wherein the second annular fin (second top one of 58 as shown in Figure 2) is concentrically aligned with the centerline axis (11) and defines a second surface (60 outer surface of the second top one of 58), wherein the second annular fin is radially spaced from the first annular fin to define a flow channel (66) therebetween (see Figure 2 where 66 is defined between each two adjacent fins 58), and wherein the flow passage (46), the first annular fin, and the second annular fin diverge along the centerline axis (11) downstream from the inlet (see ¶ [0027]).
Breeze does not teach that the first and second surfaces of the fins define undulating surfaces.
Lynch teaches heat exchanger core (10: see Figures 4A-8B) comprising a plurality of annular fins (12) that define a flow channel (14) therebetween and define undulating surfaces.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fins of Breeze to define undulating surfaces, as taught by Lynch, such provision would provide the benefit of improving the heat transfer capabilities, see Lynch’s ¶ [0038].
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763