Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 3/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the three groups of claims are not patentably distinct and do not constitute independent or distinct inventions requiring a serious search burden if examined together.”
This is not found persuasive because the Inventions, when given their broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, are distinct and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden should restriction not be required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/12/2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the election of species have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the requirement for an election of species is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein at least one parameter is predetermined, the at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of: dimensions of a zig-zag shape, length between neighboring pairs of the modules, a height between the sandwich planes, target vectors, dimensions of a lower base plane, inclination angle of rectangular faces, and any combinations thereof” which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear what structure the “at least one parameter” is attributed to. Additionally, it is unclear what is required by “predetermined” and how such a “predetermined” parameter would differ from all of the other parameters of a functioning product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Calisch et al. (USPN 11,433,633).
Calisch discloses a structure comprising: a core (Figs. 7A-7D, Column 7, line 25) assembled from modules (Figs. 22A-22B) having Kirigami expanded Miura crease patterns (Column 11, lines 5-17); and sandwich planes (Column 7 lines 21-25, Figs 7A-7D) with the core positioned therebetween and joined thereto; wherein at least one parameter is predetermined, the at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of: dimensions of a zig-zag shape (as best understood, Column 11, lines 5-17), length between neighboring pairs of the modules, a height between the sandwich planes, target vectors, dimensions of a lower base plane, inclination angle of rectangular faces, and any combinations thereof; wherein at least a portion of the modules exhibit double curvature (Fig. 17B depicts a module showing what is considered double curvature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calisch et al. (USPN 11,433,633) in view of Gogoana (US 2023/0270615 A1).
Calisch discloses the claimed invention, except for steel wire tendons routed across a surface of the core and/or at least one of the sandwich planes or further comprising at least one closed-loop brushed DC motor and a PID position controller, operative to tension the steel wire tendons.
The use of steel cable tendon actuators in robotic applications are old and well known in the art. Similarly, the use of PID control to control such actuators is old and well known in the art.
Gogoana discloses a steel cable tendon (222, Paragraph [0111]) routed across a surface of a core, driven by a DC motor (112) and PID controller (1012, Paragraph [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application as filed to have modified the structure of Calisch to have a steel wire tendon routed across a surface of the core and driven by a DC motor controlled by a PID controller, in order to allow for the structure to be selectively bent, effectively forming an actuator.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calisch et al. (USPN 11,433,633) in view of Rubio et al. (US 2023/0158692 A1).
Calisch discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the core is formed of polypropylene and the sandwich planes are formed of aluminum.
The selection of a known material suitable for a given intended use is within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Rubio discloses a material having a polypropylene core sandwiched between aluminum (Paragraph [0214]) is a composite material already produced and available, as well as demonstrating its use in a similar device (Figs. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the structure of Calisch to have a polypropylene core and aluminum sandwich planes, as such a material is known to be suitable for the given intended use, and such a selection only requires routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JAKE COOK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3618
/Jake Cook/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618