DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed February 4, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0211684 A1 to OSCOMP HOLDINGS INC., (hereinafter Oscomp).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Oscomp teaches a defueling system and method (600a; Fig. 6a) comprising a compressor inlet (see compressor 613; an inlet is an inherent property of a compressor); a defuel inlet (see the end of the line connected to 622, connecting 622 and valves 688 & 689; an inlet is an inherent property of a fluid line) for connecting to and defueling a pressurized fuel source (622 Fig. 6a; para [0287]: “The mobile vessel 622 contains compressed gaseous fuel") having a pressure (vessel 622 contains compressed fluid, thus it inherently has a pressure); a heat exchange system (653,152, 153); Fig. 6a; para [0343}: “[a]s shown in FIG. 6a, an unload controller 694 may operatively connect to the various components involved in unloading (e.g., ... heater 653, 153, 152 ...")) connected to the defuel inlet (see that 613 is connected to the end of line that is connected to 622 is also connected to 653 through 689 and 613 Fig. 6a), wherein the heat exchange system comprises a plurality of staged heat exchangers (see [0228] where heat exchangers 152 and 153 comprise both active refrigeration and passive refrigeration; i.e., two stages of heat exchange) and is configured to prevent freezing from rapid depressurization during defueling (para [0313]: "the heater 152, 153 (e.g., heat exchangers, boilers, etc.) may heat the gas either upstream from or downstream from the pressure regulator 136. Heating the upstream gas may advantageously increase the minimum temperature of the gas, thereby possibly avoiding cryo temperatures anywhere in the flow path"); a pressure regulator (684, 136; Fig. 6a; para (0343): "[as shown in FIG. 6a, an unload controller 694 may operatively connect to the various components involved in unloading (e.g., ... pressure/temperature regulator 136, 684"), a defueling storage tank (143 in Fig. 6C, wherein 143 is part of 130 as shown in box 130b in Fig. 1a and wherein 630 in Fig. 6a is a supply line to connect 600a to a user site 130; para (0343): "the supply line 630 of the user site 130") having a pressure Spsi for storing defueled fuel from the pressurized fuel source (para [0299]: "top-off a back-up fuel vessel 143 from a lower pressure vessel 122, 142 of a mobile transport system 120" - wherein 122 is interchangeable with 622 - para [0287]: “at least one (e.g., multiple) mobile vessel 622 (e.g., also see 122 in FIG. 1 a)" and since 143 is filled with fuel from 122, it inherently has a pressure), wherein the pressure regulator is configured to depressurize a compressed gas (para [0287]: "The mobile vessel 622 contains compressed gaseous fuel") being defueled from the pressurized fuel source (para [0283]: "The P/T regulation system 136, 684 may include pressure regulation valves, ... Pressure control valves can be arranged in series to allow a smaller pressure drop per valve" – see that compressed gas from 622 has to pass 684 to get to 630, and thus will be depressurized as it passes 684), and wherein the defueling system comprises either a refueling outlet (see switching valve Fig. 6d) configured to refuel a fuel demand source (END USER Fig. 6d) with defueled fuel, a defuel storage for storing defueled fuel, or both.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Oscomp further teaches wherein the heat exchange system comprises from 2-3 heat exchange components (653, 152-153 as taught in para [0343]: "[a]s shown in FIG. 6a, an unload controller 694 may operatively connect to the various components involved in unloading (e.g., ... heater 653, 153, 152 ...").
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Oscomp further teaches wherein the heat exchange system comprises 3 heat exchange components (653, 152-153 as taught in para [0343]: "[a]s shown in FIG. 6a, an unload controller 694 may operatively connect to the various components involved in unloading (e.g., ... heater 653, 153, 152 ...").
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Oscomp further teaches wherein the defueling system uses a same line for refueling and defueling (para [0083]: "[t]he same type of oversized hoses ... may be used at any other connection point between two components in any of the disclosed embodiments to improve flow through those connections (e.g., ... between the vessel(s) 122, 142 and the user site 130) according to various embodiments").
Regarding claim 6, Oscomp further teaches wherein the defueling system is configured to pressurize fuel being refueled to the fuel demand source from the defueling storage tank or a defueled vessel (para [0301]: “[a] steeple cylinder may be used to compress lower pressure gas to a higher pressure (e.g., 3600 psig) for injection into the stationary storage vessel 143” and thus the fuel will be pressurized prior to being refueled to END USER as shown in Fig. 6D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oscomp.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Oscomp teaches the defueling system of claim 1 and method of claim 12 (see above). Oscomp does not specifically teach wherein the pressure regulator reduces the pressure from about 4500psi to about 250psi. However, Oscomp teaches wherein the pressure regulator reduces the pressure from about 3600 psi to about 250 psi (the vessel 122, 142 are originally at 3600 psi and the final pressure in vessel 143 is 250 psig after the gas passes through pressure regulator 684 in Fig. 6a; para [0071]: “pressure of the vessel 122, 142 (e.g., 3600 psi)” - wherein 122 is interchangeable with 622 - para [0287]: "at least one (e.g., multiple) mobile vessel 622 (e.g., also see 122 in FIG. 1 a)" - and para [0380]: "vessels 143, the vessels' pressures may range from 250 to 6000 psig") and Oscomp further teaches another vessel 141 at 4500psi (para [0069): "a pressure in the vessel 141 is at least 1000, 1250, 1500, 2000, 2400, 3000, 3600, 3800, 4000, 4500, and/or 5000 psig") and wherein vessels 141, 122, and 142 could be the same (para [0138]: "the storage vessels 141, 143 and 122, 142 used may be the same" - and thus vessels 122, 142 can withstand pressure higher than 3600 psi). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have brought up the pressure in vessels 122, 142 to 4500psi in order to allow for greater pressure difference between vessels 122, 142 and 143 to increase the transfer flow rate of gas.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,619,351 (the ‘351 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-11 are recited by or inherent to claims 1-25 of the ‘352 patent. Therefore, in making or using the invention of the ‘351 patent, one of ordinary skill in the art would also make or use the invention of claims 1-11. The claim limitations of claims 1-11 use the same terminology and similar arrangement to claims 1-25 of the ‘352 patent, so detailed claim mapping of the limitations of claims 1-11 to the claims of the ‘352 patent is not necessary.
Claims 1-12 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,085,235 (the ‘235 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-12 and 18-20 are recited by or inherent to claims 1-20 of the ‘235 patent. Therefore, in making or using the invention of the ‘235 patent, one of ordinary skill in the art would also make or use the invention of claims 1-12 and 18-20. The claim limitations of claims 1-12 and 18-20 use the same terminology and similar arrangement to claims 1-20 of the ‘235 patent, so detailed claim mapping of the limitations of claims 1-12 and 18-20 to the claims of the ‘235 patent is not necessary.
Claims 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of the ‘235 patent in view of Oscomp. Regarding claims 13-16, all of the limitations are disclosed by or obvious in view of Oscomp (see the rejections of claims 13-16 in view of Oscomp above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of claim 17 of the ‘235 patent to include the limitations of claims 13-16 as taught by Oscomp to reduce the likelihood of freezing and to increase the transfer flow rate of the gas as set forth above.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of the ‘235 patent in view of claim 21 of the ‘351 patent. Claim 17 recites the same limitations as claim 12 of the ‘235 patent except for the heat exchange system comprises: a manifold regulator comprising an antifreeze tank and an antifreeze heater; a pump; and the pressure regulator comprising a plurality of pressure changing valves. Claim 21 of the ‘351 patent recites the heat exchange system comprises: a manifold regulator (claim 1) comprising an antifreeze tank (glycol tank) and an antifreeze heater (glycol heater); a pump (claim 1); and the pressure regulator comprising a plurality of pressure changing valves (claim 1) to help prevent freezing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the heat exchange system of claim 21 of the ‘351 patent into the method of claim 12 of the ‘235 patent to help prevent freezing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's argument that heat exchangers 653, 152 and 153 are alternative embodiments of the same heater/heat exchanger rather than 3 separate heat exchangers used in combination is not persuasive. Paragraph [0313] clearly sets forth that both heat exchangers 152 and 153 are used together (this is also clearly shown in the figures). Additionally, paragraph [0343] sets forth that heat exchanger 653 can also be used in combination with heat exchangers 152 and 153. Therefore, Oscomp clearly discloses the system having a plurality of heat exchangers (152 and 153) and shows at least one embodiment where 3 heat exchangers are used (where 152, 153 and 653 are used in combination and all three "heaters" are formed as "heat exchangers"). Further, as set forth above, at least heat exchangers 152 and 153 can be configured as staged heat exchangers (see [0228]) and given the placements of the 3 different heat exchangers in the system, the heat exchangers prevent freezing during rapid depressurization (the purpose of the heat exchangers is to prevent freezing; [0313]). Further, Applicant’s argument that Oscomp does not discloses “same line” is not persuasive because the phrase “same line” is broad enough to include two separate lines of the same type rather than a single performing both functions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 May 20, 2026