DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 11558102 B2, hereinafter Li)
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches
transmitting, by a base station, first configuration information, the first configuration information comprising relative phase difference information to apply to a plurality of portions of a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) during each of a plurality of time slots;
(Li [Col. 2, line 11] the base station may transmit a quantity of reference signals that supports channel estimation via a signal path using the IRS device. [Co0l. 11, line 54] The time intervals for the base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit.)
during each of the plurality of time slots, transmitting, by the base station, reference signals that are redirected by the plurality of portions configured according to the first configuration information;
(Li [Col. 3, line 28] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the first portion corresponds to a quantity of layers of MIMO communications with the UE and the second portion corresponds to a quantity of the one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
receiving, by the base station from a user equipment (UE), first measurement feedback information pertaining to the reference signals received at the UE after being redirected by the plurality of portions of the RIS over each of the plurality of time slots; and
(Li [Col. 2, line 21] The UE may receive the reference signals and indicate the received reference signals to the base station (e.g., the UE may transmit feedback for the reference signals to the base station). The base station may estimate the channel conditions (e.g., channel state information) based on the received indication.
[Col. 11, line 65] Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration. In some examples, a frame may be divided (e.g., in the time domain) into subframes, and each subframe may be further divided into a number of slots.)
determining, by the base station, updated RIS configuration information for a beam transmitted by the base station and redirected by the RIS based in part on the first measurement feedback information.
(Li [Col. 2, line 39] determining a reference signal configuration based on the identified IRS device, the reference signal configuration including a first set of parameters associated with the IRS device, transmitting one or more reference signals in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration, and identifying a second set of parameters associated with one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
Regarding Claim 2 and as applied to Claim 1, Li teaches
wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
configuration information sent to the RIS for configuring the RIS; or
configuration information sent to the UE for configuring the UE.
(Li [Col. 2, line 18] The UE may receive the reference signals and indicate the received reference signals to the base station (e.g., the UE may transmit feedback for the reference signals to the base station). The base station may estimate the channel conditions (e.g., channel state information) based on the received indication.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 4 and as applied to Claim 2, Li teaches
wherein the first configuration information is the configuration information sent to the UE and indicates at least one of:
a number of time slots in the plurality of time slots; a type of the reference signals transmitted by the base station;
(Li [Col. 2, line 9] The base station may transmit the one or more reference signals to the UE in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration. For example, the base station may transmit a quantity of reference signals that supports channel estimation via a signal path using the IRS device and via a signal path that does not use the IRS device.)
a type of measurement to make at the UE;
(Li [Col. 2, line 51] identify an IRS device for communications with a UE, determine a reference signal configuration based on the identified IRS device, the reference signal configuration including a first set of parameters associated with the IRS device, transmit one or more reference signals in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration, and identify a second set of parameters associated with one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
a function to determine a phase difference estimate based on the reference signals; or
a type of information to be sent by the UE as the first measurement feedback information.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated two which are considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches
A device at a side of a base station, comprising: at least one processor; and
(Li [Col. 2, line 47] An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor.)
a computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer executable instructions.
(Li [Col. 2, line 49] memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.)
when executed by the at least one processor.
(Li [Col. 2, line 50] The instructions may be executable by the processor.)
cause the device to perform operations including: transmitting first configuration information, the first configuration information comprising relative phase difference information to apply to a plurality of portions of a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) during each of a plurality of time slots;
(Li [Col. 2, line 11] the base station may transmit a quantity of reference signals that supports channel estimation via a signal path using the IRS device. [Co0l. 11, line 54] The time intervals for the base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit.)
during each of the plurality of time slots, transmitting reference signals that are redirected by the plurality of portions configured according to the first configuration information;
(Li [Col. 2, line 15] the IRS device may relay one or more reference signals to the UE in accordance with the configuration (e.g., the IRS device may reflect the one or more reference signals to the UE.)
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), first measurement feedback information pertaining to the reference signals received at the UE after being redirected by the plurality of portions of the RIS over each of the plurality of time slots; and
(Li [Col. 2, line 21] The UE may receive the reference signals and indicate the received reference signals to the base station (e.g., the UE may transmit feedback for the reference signals to the base station). The base station may estimate the channel conditions (e.g., channel state information) based on the received indication.
[Col. 11, line 65] Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration. In some examples, a frame may be divided (e.g., in the time domain) into subframes, and each subframe may be further divided into a number of slots.)
determining updated RIS configuration information for a beam transmitted by the base station and redirected by the RIS based in part on the first measurement feedback information.
(Li [Col. 2, line 39] determining a reference signal configuration based on the identified IRS device, the reference signal configuration including a first set of parameters associated with the IRS device, transmitting one or more reference signals in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration, and identifying a second set of parameters associated with one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
Regarding Claim 7 and as applied to Claim 6, Li teaches
wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
configuration information sent to the RIS for configuring the RIS; or
configuration information sent to the UE for configuring the UE.
(Li [Col. 2, line 18] The UE may receive the reference signals and indicate the received reference signals to the base station (e.g., the UE may transmit feedback for the reference signals to the base station). The base station may estimate the channel conditions (e.g., channel state information) based on the received indication.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 9 and as applied to Claim 7, Li teaches
wherein the first configuration information is the configuration information sent to the UE and indicates at least one of:
a number of time slots in the plurality of time slots; a type of the reference signals transmitted by the base station;
(Li [Col. 2, line 9] The base station may transmit the one or more reference signals to the UE in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration. For example, the base station may transmit a quantity of reference signals that supports channel estimation via a signal path using the IRS device and via a signal path that does not use the IRS device.)
a type of measurement to make at the UE;
(Li [Col. 2, line 51] identify an IRS device for communications with a UE, determine a reference signal configuration based on the identified IRS device, the reference signal configuration including a first set of parameters associated with the IRS device, transmit one or more reference signals in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration, and identify a second set of parameters associated with one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
a function to determine a phase difference estimate based on the reference signals; or
a type of information to be sent by the UE as the first measurement feedback information.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated two which are considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), first configuration information;
(Li [Col. 6, line 4] A method of wireless communications at a UE is described. The method may include receiving one or more reference signals in accordance with a first set of parameters of a reference signal configuration.)
during each of a plurality of time slots, receiving, by the UE, reference signals that are redirected by a plurality of portions of a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)
(Li [Col. 7, line 3] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the first portion corresponds to a quantity of layers of MIMO communications with the base station and the second portion corresponds to a quantity of the one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.
[Col. 11, line 54] The time intervals for the base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit.)
wherein, during the plurality of time slots there is a relative phase difference applied to the plurality of portions during each of the plurality of time slots;
(Li [Col. 15, line 15] The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device.
[Col. 11, line 65] Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration. In some examples, a frame may be divided (e.g., in the time domain) into subframes, and each subframe may be further divided into a number of slots.)
measuring, by the UE, signal strength of the reference signals received at the UE during each of the plurality of time slots; and
(Li [Col. 6, line 7] the first set of parameters associated with reception of one or more reference signals using an IRS device, transmitting, to at least one of a base station, the IRS device, or a combination thereof, channel status information based on the received one or more reference signals, and communicating with the base station using the IRS device based on the channel status information.)
(Note: Channel State Information (CSI) — often referred to as “channel status information” of the reference — does include "signal strength" of the claim as one of its key components, along with other channel characteristics.)
transmitting, by the UE, first measurement feedback information to a base station, the first measurement feedback information based upon the signal strength of the reference signals received at the UE after being redirected by the plurality of portions over each of the plurality of time slots.
(Li [Col. 6, line 9] transmitting, to at least one of a base station, the IRS device, or a combination thereof, channel status information based on the received one or more reference signals, and communicating with the base station using the IRS device based on the channel status information.)
Regarding Claim 12 and as applied to Claim 11, Li teaches
wherein the first configuration information indicates at least one of:
a number of portions in the plurality of portions;
a number of time slots in the plurality of time slots;
phase shift information for use in phase shifting at least one of the plurality of portions with respect to at least one other portion in each time slot in the plurality of time slots;
a type of the reference signals transmitted by the base station;
(Li [Col. 2, line 9] The base station may transmit the one or more reference signals to the UE in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration. For example, the base station may transmit a quantity of reference signals that supports channel estimation via a signal path using the IRS device and via a signal path that does not use the IRS device.)
a type of measurement to make at the UE;
(Li [Col. 2, line 51] identify an IRS device for communications with a UE, determine a reference signal configuration based on the identified IRS device, the reference signal configuration including a first set of parameters associated with the IRS device, transmit one or more reference signals in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration, and identify a second set of parameters associated with one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
a function to determine a phase difference estimate at the UE based on the reference signals;
or a type of information to be sent by the UE as the first measurement feedback information.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated two which are considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 15 and as applied to Claim 11, Li teaches
receiving data that has been redirected by the RIS
or transmitting data to be redirected by the RIS based at least in part on the first measurement feedback information.
(Li [Col. 17, line 18] the IRS device may relay one or more reference signals to the UE 115 in accordance with the configuration (e.g., the IRS device may reflect the one or more reference signals to the UE 115). The UE 115 may receive the reference signals and indicate the received reference signals to the base station 105 (e.g., the UE 115 may transmit feedback for the reference signals to the base station 105).)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches
A device at a side of a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor;
(Li [Col. 6, line 16] An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor.)
a computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer executable instructions, that,
(Li [Col. 6, line 17] memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.)
when executed by the at least one processor,
(Li [Col. 6, line 20] The instructions may be executable by the processor.)
receiving first configuration information;
(Li [Col. 6, line 4] A method of wireless communications at a UE is described. The method may include receiving one or more reference signals in accordance with a first set of parameters of a reference signal configuration.)
during each of a plurality of time slots, receiving reference signals that are redirected by a plurality of portions of a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)
(Li [Col. 7, line 3] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the first portion corresponds to a quantity of layers of MIMO communications with the base station and the second portion corresponds to a quantity of the one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.
[Col. 11, line 54] The time intervals for the base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit.)
wherein, during the plurality of time slots there is a relative phase difference applied to the plurality of portions during each of the plurality of time slots;
(Li [Col. 15, line 15] The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device.
[Col. 11, line 65] Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration. In some examples, a frame may be divided (e.g., in the time domain) into subframes, and each subframe may be further divided into a number of slots.)
measuring signal strength of the reference signals received at the UE during each of the plurality of time slots; and
(Li [Col. 6, line 7] the first set of parameters associated with reception of one or more reference signals using an IRS device, transmitting, to at least one of a base station, the IRS device, or a combination thereof, channel status information based on the received one or more reference signals, and communicating with the base station using the IRS device based on the channel status information.)
(Note: Channel State Information (CSI) — often referred to as “channel status information” of the reference — does include "signal strength" of the claim as one of its key components, along with other channel characteristics.)
transmitting, by the UE, first measurement feedback information to a base station, the first measurement feedback information based upon the signal strength of the reference signals received at the UE after being redirected by the plurality of portions over each of the plurality of time slots.
(Li [Col. 6, line 9] transmitting, to at least one of a base station, the IRS device, or a combination thereof, channel status information based on the received one or more reference signals, and communicating with the base station using the IRS device based on the channel status information.)
Regarding Claim 17 and as applied to Claim 16, Li teaches
wherein the first configuration information indicates at least one of:
a number of portions in the plurality of portions;
a number of time slots in the plurality of time slots;
phase shift information for use in phase shifting at least one of the plurality of portions with respect to at least one other portion in each time slot in the plurality of time slots;
a type of the reference signals transmitted by the base station;
(Li [Col. 2, line 9] The base station may transmit the one or more reference signals to the UE in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration. For example, the base station may transmit a quantity of reference signals that supports channel estimation via a signal path using the IRS device and via a signal path that does not use the IRS device.)
a type of measurement to make at the UE;
(Li [Col. 2, line 51] identify an IRS device for communications with a UE, determine a reference signal configuration based on the identified IRS device, the reference signal configuration including a first set of parameters associated with the IRS device, transmit one or more reference signals in accordance with the first set of parameters of the reference signal configuration, and identify a second set of parameters associated with one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device.)
a function to determine a phase difference estimate at the UE based on the reference signals;
or a type of information to be sent by the UE as the first measurement feedback information.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated two which are considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 20 and as applied to Claim 16, Li teaches
receiving data that has been redirected by the RIS
or transmitting data to be redirected by the RIS based at least in part on the first measurement feedback information.
(Li [Col. 17, line 18] the IRS device may relay one or more reference signals to the UE 115 in accordance with the configuration (e.g., the IRS device may reflect the one or more reference signals to the UE 115). The UE 115 may receive the reference signals and indicate the received reference signals to the base station 105 (e.g., the UE 115 may transmit feedback for the reference signals to the base station 105).)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 11558102 B2, hereinafter Li) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20240204398 A1, hereinafter Zhu)
Regarding Claim 3, Li discloses the method of Claim 2, but fail to teach
wherein the first configuration information is the configuration information sent to the RIS and indicates at least one of:
phase shifts at RIS elements in different portions in the plurality of portions;
a number of portions in the plurality of portions;
a number of time slots in the plurality of time slots; or
phase shift information for use in phase shifting at least one of the plurality of portions with respect to at least one other portion in each time slot in the plurality of time slots.
In a similar endeavor, Zhu teaches
a number of portions in the plurality of portions;
(Zhu [0005] In various embodiments, a method for controlling a reconfigurable intelligent surface device includes receiving a control signal from a base station to control a parameter of at least one element of a plurality of elements of a reconfigurable intelligent surface device, wherein the parameter comprises information indicating a phase angle.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Zhu to have the first configuration information sent by the base station to the RIS is one of number of possibilities related to the division of the physical portion, time slot or phase shift.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the signal reflected by the RIS to the target UE.
Regarding Claim 8, Li discloses the method of Claim 7, but fail to teach
wherein the first configuration information is the configuration information sent to the RIS and indicates at least one of:
phase shifts at RIS elements in different portions in the plurality of portions;
a number of portions in the plurality of portions;
a number of time slots in the plurality of time slots; or
phase shift information for use in phase shifting at least one of the plurality of portions with respect to at least one other portion in each time slot in the plurality of time slots.
In a similar endeavor, Zhu teaches
a number of portions in the plurality of portions;
(Zhu [0005] In various embodiments, a method for controlling a reconfigurable intelligent surface device includes receiving a control signal from a base station to control a parameter of at least one element of a plurality of elements of a reconfigurable intelligent surface device, wherein the parameter comprises information indicating a phase angle.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Zhu to have the first configuration information sent by the base station to the RIS is one of number of possibilities related to the division of the physical portion, time slot or phase shift.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the signal reflected by the RIS to the target UE.
Claims 5,10, 13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 11558102 B2, hereinafter Li) in view of DUAN et al. (WO 2022186933 A1, hereinafter Duan)
Regarding Claim 5, Li discloses method of Claim 1 and also teaches
receiving, by the base station, second measurement feedback information, the second measurement feedback information comprising measurement information pertaining to a channel on a link between the base station and the UE via redirection by the RIS
(Li [Col. 2, line 27] the base station may determine a second set of parameters for one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device based on the estimated channel conditions (e.g., the base station may determine a reflection coefficient for each reflecting element of the IRS). The base station may indicate the second set of parameters to the IRS device. Such techniques may enable the base station to communicate with the UE via the IRS relatively efficiently, which may improve reliability and coverage in the system, among other advantages.)
or a channel on a link between the RIS and the UE, wherein the second measurement feedback information is used in part to determine the first configuration information.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
But Li fails to teach
transmitting, by the base station, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
transmitting, by the base station, the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
In a similar endeavor Duan teaches
transmitting, by the base station, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
(Duan [Page 5, para 0014] transmit one of the first DL-PRS or the second DL-PRS to the UE using the second transmission beam that is quasi co-located with the first transmission beam.)
transmitting, by the base station, the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
(Duan [Page 6, para 0017] transmitting a first source signal of a first type of source signal; and transmitting, to the RIS, a second source signal of a second type of source signal. The method includes: receiving an indication, at the network entity from a UE, indicating a first transmission beam corresponding to a received source signal; and transmitting a QCL indication to the UE indicating a QCL type of a second transmission beam relative to the first transmission beam.)
(Note: source signal in the reference is the "reference signal" of the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Duan to have the second configuration information sent by the base station indicating the identification of plurality of beams and receiving the feedback on the reference signal sent.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the signal reflected by the RIS to the target UE and the feedback information sent to the base station by the target UE.
Regarding Claim 10, Li discloses method of Claim 6 and also teaches
receiving, by the base station, second measurement feedback information, the second measurement feedback information comprising measurement information pertaining to a channel on a link between the base station and the UE via redirection by the RIS
(Li [Col. 2, line 27] the base station may determine a second set of parameters for one or more reflecting elements of the IRS device based on the estimated channel conditions (e.g., the base station may determine a reflection coefficient for each reflecting element of the IRS). The base station may indicate the second set of parameters to the IRS device. Such techniques may enable the base station to communicate with the UE via the IRS relatively efficiently, which may improve reliability and coverage in the system, among other advantages.)
or a channel on a link between the RIS and the UE, wherein the second measurement feedback information is used in part to determine the first configuration information.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
But Li fails to teach
transmitting, by the base station, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
transmitting, by the base station, the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
In a similar endeavor Duan teaches
transmitting, by the base station, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
(Duan [Page 5, para 0014] transmit one of the first DL-PRS or the second DL-PRS to the UE using the second transmission beam that is quasi co-located with the first transmission beam.)
transmitting, by the base station, the reference signals on the plurality of beams;
(Duan [Page 6, para 0017] transmitting a first source signal of a first type of source signal; and transmitting, to the RIS, a second source signal of a second type of source signal. The method includes: receiving an indication, at the network entity from a UE, indicating a first transmission beam corresponding to a received source signal; and transmitting a QCL indication to the UE indicating a QCL type of a second transmission beam relative to the first transmission beam.)
(Note: source signal in the reference is the "reference signal" of the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Duan to have the second configuration information sent by the base station indicating the identification of plurality of beams and receiving the feedback on the reference signal sent.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the signal reflected by the RIS to the target UE and the feedback information sent to the base station by the target UE.
Regarding Claim 13, Li discloses the method of Claim 11, but fails to teach
receiving, by the UE, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of reference signals on the plurality of beams;
receiving, by the UE, the reference signals on the plurality of beams; and
transmitting, by the UE, second measurement feedback information, the second measurement feedback information comprising measurement information pertaining to a channel on a link between the UE and the base station via redirection by the RIS or a channel on a link between the RIS and the UE, wherein the second measurement feedback information is used in part to determine the first configuration information.
In a similar endeavor, Duan teaches
receiving, by the UE, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of reference signals on the plurality of beams;
(Duan [Page 9, para 0026] attempt to measure at least one downlink reference signal reflected by the RIS using a plurality of UE receive beams; determine a selected receive beam of the plurality of UE receive beams that corresponds to a strongest signal measurement of the at least one downlink reference signal; and determine a UE transmit beam of the UE corresponding to the selected receive beam.)
receiving, by the UE, the reference signals on the plurality of beams; and
(Duan [Page 9, para 0026] To determine a direction of the RIS the processor is configured to: attempt to measure at least one downlink reference signal reflected by the RIS using a plurality of UE receive beams; determine a selected receive beam of the plurality of UE receive beams that corresponds to a strongest signal measurement of the at least one downlink reference signal.)
transmitting, by the UE, second measurement feedback information, the second measurement feedback information comprising measurement information pertaining to a channel on a link between the UE and the base station via redirection by the RIS
or a channel on a link between the RIS and the UE, wherein the second measurement feedback information is used in part to determine the first configuration information.
(Duan [Page 9, para 0025] Implementations of such a UE may include one or more of the following features. The processor is configured to transmit the second UL-PRS with a different carrier frequency than the first UL-PRS, or a different bandwidth than the first UL-PRS, or one or more different timing characteristics than the first UL-PRS, or a different codeword than the first UL-PRS, or any combination thereof. The processor is configured to: measure a type-2 path loss reference signal received from the RIS; and transmit the second UL-PRS using a transmission power based on a path loss of the type-2 path loss reference signal. The path loss of the type-2 path loss reference signal is a second path loss and the transmission power is a second transmission power, and the processor is configured to: measure a type- 1 path loss reference signal received from the RIS; and transmit, concurrently with the second UL-PRS, the first UL-PRS using a first transmission power based on a first path loss of the type- 1 path loss reference signal.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Duan to have the second configuration information received by the target UE indicating the identification of plurality of beams and transmitting the feedback on the reference signal sent.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the signal reflected by the RIS to the target UE and the feedback information sent to the base station by the target UE.
Regarding Claim 14, Li discloses the method of Claim 11, but fails to teach
wherein the first measurement feedback information comprises one or more of:
signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
a function based on signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
channel phases of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
or phase difference information between the reference signals redirected by different RIS portions, determined based on the signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots or other combination of the reference signals of the plurality of time slots.
In a similar endeavor Duan teaches
signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
(Duan [Page 22, para 0059] first resources of a first DL-PRS of the first signal type such that the first resources of the first DL-PRS span no more than the first PRS symbol duration. The first PRS symbol duration is a quantity of slots and the second PRS symbol duration is a sub-slot quantity of symbols.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Duan to have the first measurement information criteria defined.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the feedback information sent to the base station by the target UE.
Regarding Claim 18, Li discloses the method of Claim 16, but fails to teach
receiving, by the UE, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of reference signals on the plurality of beams;
receiving, by the UE, the reference signals on the plurality of beams; and
transmitting, by the UE, second measurement feedback information, the second measurement feedback information comprising measurement information pertaining to a channel on a link between the UE and the base station via redirection by the RIS or a channel on a link between the RIS and the UE, wherein the second measurement feedback information is used in part to determine the first configuration information.
In a similar endeavor, Duan teaches
receiving, by the UE, second configuration information, the second configuration information indicating identification of a plurality of beams, each beam of the plurality of beams having an associated direction, and the second configuration information further indicating identification of reference signals on the plurality of beams;
(Duan [Page 9, para 0026] attempt to measure at least one downlink reference signal reflected by the RIS using a plurality of UE receive beams; determine a selected receive beam of the plurality of UE receive beams that corresponds to a strongest signal measurement of the at least one downlink reference signal; and determine a UE transmit beam of the UE corresponding to the selected receive beam.)
receiving, by the UE, the reference signals on the plurality of beams; and
(Duan [Page 9, para 0026] To determine a direction of the RIS the processor is configured to: attempt to measure at least one downlink reference signal reflected by the RIS using a plurality of UE receive beams; determine a selected receive beam of the plurality of UE receive beams that corresponds to a strongest signal measurement of the at least one downlink reference signal.)
transmitting, by the UE, second measurement feedback information, the second measurement feedback information comprising measurement information pertaining to a channel on a link between the UE and the base station via redirection by the RIS
or a channel on a link between the RIS and the UE, wherein the second measurement feedback information is used in part to determine the first configuration information.
(Duan [Page 9, para 0025] Implementations of such a UE may include one or more of the following features. The processor is configured to transmit the second UL-PRS with a different carrier frequency than the first UL-PRS, or a different bandwidth than the first UL-PRS, or one or more different timing characteristics than the first UL-PRS, or a different codeword than the first UL-PRS, or any combination thereof. The processor is configured to: measure a type-2 path loss reference signal received from the RIS; and transmit the second UL-PRS using a transmission power based on a path loss of the type-2 path loss reference signal. The path loss of the type-2 path loss reference signal is a second path loss and the transmission power is a second transmission power, and the processor is configured to: measure a type- 1 path loss reference signal received from the RIS; and transmit, concurrently with the second UL-PRS, the first UL-PRS using a first transmission power based on a first path loss of the type- 1 path loss reference signal.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Duan to have the second configuration information received by the target UE indicating the identification of plurality of beams and transmitting the feedback on the reference signal sent.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the signal reflected by the RIS to the target UE and the feedback information sent to the base station by the target UE.
Regarding Claim 19, Li discloses the method of Claim 16, but fails to teach
wherein the first measurement feedback information comprises one or more of:
signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
a function based on signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
channel phases of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
or phase difference information between the reference signals redirected by different RIS portions, determined based on the signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots or other combination of the reference signals of the plurality of time slots.
In a similar endeavor Duan teaches
signal strength measurements of the reference signals in each of the plurality of time slots;
(Duan [Page 22, para 0059] first resources of a first DL-PRS of the first signal type such that the first resources of the first DL-PRS span no more than the first PRS symbol duration. The first PRS symbol duration is a quantity of slots and the second PRS symbol duration is a sub-slot quantity of symbols.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find at least one of the limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one which is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li by incorporating Duan to have the first measurement information criteria defined.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the method to have improved accuracy in determining the feedback information sent to the base station by the target UE.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644