DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 11, and 13-19 are pending and have been examined in this Office Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data compression unit” in claim 10. The “data compression unit” is interpreted as, for example, software running on a processor, or structural equivalent thereof, similar to that described in at least paragraph(s) 15 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0035632 to Silvernail et al. in view of “Privacy-Aware Event Data Recorders: Cryptography meets the Automotive Industry Again” to Patsakis et al.
As per claim 1, Silvernail discloses a data recorder (Silvernail; At least the abstract) comprising:
a cyclic buffer configured to store vehicle sensor data received from one or more vehicle sensors (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 3 and 53); and
a non-volatile storage configured to store the vehicle sensor data from the cyclic buffer in response to an event (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 55).
Silvernail discloses encrypting data streamed from the event recorder (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 45), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle sensor data is encrypted prior to being stored in the cyclic buffer.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Patsakis (Patsakis; At least page 126). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Patsakis into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting data enhances the privacy of the driver.
As per claim 3, Silvernail discloses wherein the event comprises a collision involving a vehicle in which the one or more vehicle sensors are installed, and wherein the data recorder receives a signal indicative of the event from a controller of the vehicle (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11 and 126).
As per claim 4, Silvernail discloses wherein in response to the event, the data recorder is configured to store the vehicle sensor data from the cyclic buffer into the nonvolatile storage (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11 and 55).
As per claim 5, Silvernail discloses wherein the data recorder receives a signal indicative of the event from a controller of a vehicle, the signal further indicative of a measurement from an inertia sensor being above a predetermined threshold and/or an application of an emergency braking system (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11, 23, 26, and 29).
As per claim 6, Silvernail discloses a data recorder (Silvernail; At least the abstract) comprising:
a non-volatile memory (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10 and 88), wherein:
at least a portion of the non-volatile memory is configured to operate as a cyclic buffer (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10); and
the cyclic buffer is configured to store vehicle sensor data received from one or more sensors of a vehicle (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10).
Silvernail discloses encrypting data streamed from the event recorder (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 45), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle sensor data is encrypted prior to being stored in the cyclic buffer.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Patsakis (Patsakis; At least page 126). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Patsakis into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting data enhances the privacy of the driver.
As per claim 7, Silvernail discloses wherein the non-volatile memory is configured to receive a signal indicative of an event from a controller of the vehicle (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11 and 126).
As per claim 13, Silvernail discloses a data recorder (Silvernail; At least the abstract) comprising:
a cyclic buffer configured to store raw vehicle sensor data received from one or more vehicle sensors (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 53); and
a non-volatile storage configured to store the raw vehicle sensor data in response to an event (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 55).
Silvernail discloses encrypting data streamed from the event recorder (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 45), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle sensor data is encrypted prior to being stored in the cyclic buffer.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Patsakis (Patsakis; At least page 126). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Patsakis into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting data enhances the privacy of the driver.
As per claim 14, Silvernail discloses further comprising a non-volatile memory to store compressed data received from the one or more vehicle sensors (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 54).
As per claim 15, Silvernail discloses wherein the event comprises a collision involving a vehicle in which the one or more vehicle sensors are installed (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11).
As per claim 17, Silvernail discloses wherein the one or more vehicle sensors comprise at least one of a camera, an infrared camera, a sonar, a radar, or a lidar (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 9).
As per claim 18, Silvernail discloses wherein the cyclic buffer comprises volatile memory (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 35; a volatile memory is used prior to saving to the HCS).
As per claim 19, Silvernail discloses wherein the cyclic buffer comprises non-volatile memory (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail, in view of Patsakis as applied to claim 7, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0302758 to Wright.
As per claim 8, Silvernail discloses storing the vehicle sensor data in response to the event (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11), but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a non-volatile storage configured to store the vehicle sensor data in response to the event.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Wright (Wright; At least paragraph(s) 23). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Wright into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Sending the data and storing in a remote storage would provide a more robust storage system and the data could be accessed by third parties, such as emergency or insurance services, as discussed in at least paragraph(s) 32 of Wright.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail, in view of Patsakis as applied to claim 6 or 13, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0007323 to Botusescu et al.
As per claim 10, Silvernail discloses further comprising a data compression unit configured to compress the vehicle sensor data (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 54),
Silvernail discloses that the video can be compressed into low, medium, and high quality (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 54), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle sensor data stored in the cyclic buffer comprises the compressed vehicle sensor data.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 20). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Compressing the data in the cyclic buffer, for example using a medium compression in the buffer, would reduce the storage capacity needed and, thus, reduce space and cost.
As per claim 11, Silvernail does not explicitly disclose wherein the data compression unit is further configured to encrypt the vehicle sensor data in response to compression of the vehicle sensor data, wherein the vehicle sensor data stored in the cyclic buffer is compressed and encrypted.
However, the above feature(s) are taught as discussed above; the data is compressed and encrypted. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to and within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined which operation to perform first. One of the operations needs to occur prior to the other and it would be within the art during normal design to test and determine which order to perform the operations in. Compressing the data first would save processing time since the later operations would be performed on less data.
As per claim 16, Silvernail discloses wherein the event comprises receiving a signal from an inertial sensor (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11, 22, and 23).
Silvernail does not explicitly disclose and an application of an emergency braking system. However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 16 and 17). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Using both accelerations and braking signals would provide more information to achieve a more accurate representation of the situation. Further, the exact types of signals used to determine an event would be a design choice and within the skill of one in the art during design.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/14/2026 and 08/27/2026, with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s remarks acknowledging the 112(f) interpretation are acknowledged.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. The prior art shows the state of the art.
/David P. Merlino/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665